(2011) 2011 Brides

Morning, went to BOWS and I did not encounter any bad experience.

I've confirmed my dinner with Novotel as the staff is friendly. Though I prefer GCW, but too expensive.

Anybody sign up for montage and videography? The montage I signed up for is a DIY love story.

j0yle_t, i just checked.. the photos taken by my friend's BS is CL studio...

pinkglove, it is ok to get different bands as WB.. my sister and BIL got different design rings as WB as well. you can get an eternity while your fiance can get a classic ring.. coz some guys don't like to have blings on their ring..

Ok alright, I will try to bargain for more stuff when I meet up with the coordinators..

I'm planning to get my own invitation card designs, perhaps wedding favours & cake too.. Will also discuss see if can exchange for other stuff.. I think my fiance will faint when he know I wanna personalised so many stuff.. haa

Kass: now its down to Concorde & OH.. not planning to see any more hotels.. if not I will become very indecisive.. I can be very fickle-minded when I'm given too many choices.. hee

clint: depends on the hotel coordinator, i was able to change my wedding favor to additional beer barrel.

som im sure u can bargain for more perks too!

thnks girls for e advices,im prob gg to get an eternity band elsewhere cos cartier's eternity band are too exp! haha..

clint: have u gone down to concorde to see e place?

clint >> I sneaked into Concorde to have a look at the ballrooms before, since my BS is located there. Quite nice, though a bit dated. My personal preference is OH, between the two hotels.

Btw, In case anyone is interested in Pan Pac's weekend prices for 2011

Pacific Ballroom > $1168++
Ocean Ballroom > $1068++

Let me know if you would like to see the full package.

All the hotels increased by a lot!

I was at Concorde to attend a marriage seminar this past weekend. I agree with pinkglove, the exterior of the hotel and the carpark leave much to be desired for, but the interior is still alright.

The manager told us that they are renovating the hotel in phases. So if any brides are booking them, do check if the reno works are completed during your wedding day. Otherwise find out which part of the hotel they be carried out in.

ya, muz take note of wat pinkcoral says on e renovation part, if not if the renovation takes place during e wedding period, i tink many brides will be unhappy because of the works around..e.g like unglam lobby..hehe..

yeap, I went there last Sat before heading for BOWs.. I like the layout of the ballroom.. pillarless and spacious.. no wedding setup when I was there, coz the opposition party was having their anniversary dinner..

agree that the exterior looks very old.. will check out with the coordinator about the reno works.. thanks for the info pinkcoral!

fiance had his D&D in Concorde before and he commented that the food served are not too bad..
pinkglove, how's the standard of the food in OH?

guess everywhere has its pros & cons.. will update once again after meeting both coordinators!

Yep.. the manager who spoke with us told us that Concorde has impeccable standards for their food. He also mentioned that even in singaporebrides, they also received positive feedback for their food. ;)

OH food quite good for our standard la cos it's from Hua Ting, a reputable cantonese restaurant.. my frens who ate at OH like the food. But food standard can change also..haha..

pinkcoral: the guy gave me 2 diff eternity rings to match my e-ring. one was $5k & e other $7k.. haha.. I think it's overly expensive for me le lo.. but i tink it matches very well, so maybe i'll get from somewhere else..hehe..
but psychologically i dunno if i'll be a bit not balanced if my fiance's ring's from cartier but mine's not..lol.. how eh..haha

pinkglove, perhaps u can get some1 to replicate Cartier's design or make a similar looking one?

my fiance is asking me to make a decision..and I hate to make decisions! usually, the big items he will make, but he say since its wedding and I'm the star of the night, I will need to decide..aRgh!

Lol!! I'll definitely be imbalanced and a little psychotic if that be the case. I'll be paying for my FH's ring, and he'll pay for mine. So I don't mind if mine is Cartier and his isn't. :p But in reality, it would be best to get both from the same place. Everything same same better mar.

I'll skip Cartier too. That money could be better off being part of a bigger e-ring or baby or housing fund.

clint: I dun like to replicate items leh.. hehe.. if i customize must be special design then..keke..anyway, that's nice of him to let u decide, but i know what u mean..it's like when needed to make a big decision, it's kinda stress.. does he have any preference though?

pinkcoral: haha... Ok, so im not e only one..hoho.. anyway, the normal wedding bands are not as exp, the classic one is $1.3k+ i think.. but with diamonds and other designs $2k+. nvm..will slowly choose and not rush into decision then..im also thinking of paying for his ring and he pay for mine since he has already paid for my e-ring, i shld buy something for him too..

cowcow: i only like e colour and because it'll be e same as his.. haha.. and i dunno how can guys like something so simple lo! lol..

pinkglove, ya.. that's the problem when i first chose wedding bands with fiance as well. I wanted someting with diamonds and wanted something exactly the same as his. It took me quite some time to accept something plain as WB coz both my sisters had diamond rings as WB. This is one reason i wana change the setting of my ring to channel setting because vanity is acting up and asked me to own a band with onerow of diamonds... still thinking of changing my e-ring setting...

cowcow: so is urs exactly e same as his now? haha..vanity acting up..keke... haha, up till now u still can't decide on ur e-ring setting?

pinkglove, ya... my design is exactly the same as his.. just that our rings are of different thickness.. at first wanted to get the one with 1 diamond but the diamond is too small n my e-ring diamond will sure cover it.. so don't bother..

ya.. i am still pending approval from fiance to change the setting of my e-ring.. though he will sure say up to me but i want him to say it whole-heartedly instead of just to please me... BUAHAHA!! Think i am asking too much from him..

pinkglove: nope he doesn't have any preference, as long it fits into the budget.. guys are always not so fussy as the ladies.. he say I very troublesome, ballroom muz be pillarles, must look at march-in format.. haa

I think a plain ring would be nice if you're planning to wear together with the e-ring.. Since your e-ring has already a solitaire diamond, might be abit distracting when ur WB has diamonds too.. should let the solitaire diamond stand out..

If wearing the 2 rings seperately, then it would nice to have some diamonds on it, or if you are daring enough, can try other precious stones..

clint>> go for OH!

hi ladies, i've seen many couples doing their ROM with real gold/platinum rings, then later resorted to getting sliver couple rings (like those from couple Lab) to wear long term. when i asked them, they say "don't want to spoil/tarnish their WB".

would u do that?

the nature of my job, sure scratch my ring like mad... but i think i still want to wear my original WB.

i read this blog before, very interesting couple..hehe..

j0yle: I've not known of frens who do this..hehe.. i won't get other rings cos if e rings are tarnish, i can just send it for polishing lo..hehe..yup, i'll still wear e original WB.

clint: my fiance's particular abt pillars as well..haha.. cos he attended a wedding whereby there's pillars and he just couldn't participate in e wedding at all cos he can't see e montages, can't see the couples etc..
i also usually go for classic stuff so prob won't try precious stones..hehe.. but ya, u are right to point out e part if i wanna wear e ring separately.. btw, ur AD still some time away so u can just make tentative bookings with both hotels n take ur time to consider rite?

cowcow: tat means u prob gg to change le lor since u just pending approval..haha.. i think u not asking too much la, it's not often u will re set ur ring also mah..keke..

joyle: I don't have any friends who do that yet.. most of them wear their WBs.. if not they don't wear at all..

My job also very "rough" one, but will still wear my original WB.. like what pinkglove say..still can send for polishing when it doesn't look nice..

OH only accepts booking for my AD around Apr.. so have to wait till that period then can talk to them again.. I liase with Xue Ling since I met her during the vivo wedding fair.. will Haze be more flexible?

Clint >> Xue Ling does great follow up. Even though I just enquired once with her, she did quite a few follow up, which I felt was really good. In terms of flexibility, i think both are the same, since how flexible they have is already set by the hotel? Perhaps u are looking for someone who is good at giving advice etc?

Wah free flow of wine n beer for m hotel...i missed it...I went to bows alone cause bf was on the way , none of the staff came to me. All like don't see me at all hahaî‰

Kass: yep, I agree that Xue Ling does really good follow up.. and her email replies are prompt!

Haven't really seen the wedding setup for OH, the day I went to recce, it was NIE's D&D..

pris: seems like u managed to get quite a lot of perks...well done

michelle: welcome to the NCQ family..see u over at NCQ thread soon

Halo all BTB..been so long since i chat here as i was busy with work and studies.

I also attended the BOWS and visited some of the booth.

I am also intereted in NCQ? Anyone booked Cinnamon room for AD, can share your package with me?

Hey everyone !
I am new here. I am recently went to My Dream Wedding & Di Gio . My Dream Wedding gowns are not bad, the photography & album are very nice I feel. Have a very dreamy & romantic feel .

For Di Gio , I love their service & their gowns.Their gowns are very beautiful , however their photography is not nice at all . Really not up to my standard.

I am choosing between My Dream Wedding & Di Gio Bridal . Anyone has use them before? Any comments ? Please share with me . Thanks .

Cherry Chirpy >> Welcome to Sgbrides!

You might want to consider taking an actual day package with Di Gio instead and then hiring your own photographer?

However, do remember to check with Di Gio on the dry cleaning and/or rental costs for the wedding gowns if you choose to engage your own PG and are thinking of taking out the gowns for PS. Some bridal shops do not allow the actual day gowns to be worn for their PS. Can only choose the "outdoor" gowns.

clint/pinkglove>> just happen to know quite a few, so I thot that was the trend.. haha~ polishing is gd! can't wait to polish my ring cos' the one I wear to work is distinctively more yellow gold now!

cherry chirpy>> di gio and mdw has beautiful gowns, but di gio has MTM services, while mdw's main focus is their overseas shoot as well as the different type of album material they use and imported gowns. if u dun mind getting OTR at all, i think mdw wld be a better choice.

Hey Kass , Di Gio allows me to bring actual day gowns for oversea shoot. =) Mm.. I am not looking at taking al carte cos very expensive.

Hey Pink Coral, my actual day hasn't fixed. hahahz.. Eh should be around next year Sep - Nov 2011.

hey Joyle_t , yes MDW & DiGio really have very beautiful gowns
I am so in love with their gowns. yeah I agreed that MDW their albums are really really nice. I don't mind OTR, so that MDW only can take 3 gowns for pre wedding shots , however, DI gio allos 5- 6 gowns for pre wedding shots. 1 thing bout MDW is that their gowns will update every 3 months and they bought from overseas, so u also don't know by then can you really find a nice gown u really love. Di Gio on other hand, u still have MTM to fall on , beside their gowns design really v nice & consistent. Di Gio has lots of hidden costs while MDW all the cost have already been shown . MDW is more transparents.

Hmm.. so which 1 is more important ? Nicely Pre-wedding shots album or Beautiful gowns through out ?

Cherry: I think both are as important. You still have time.. shop around somemore until you find one that you feel firm about.
My AD is in Jan and I only just confirmed on my BS last week in BOWS, going for my prewed next month.

Welcome Cherry chirpy!

I'm also a Sep 2011 BTB.. where will u be going for your overseas PS?

I'm a ala carte BTB, going to DIY my own wedding
I booked my own PG for my oveseas PS and got the gowns from different BS.. ala carte doesn't mean it comes with a hefty price tag.. through research and going thru reviews, it may be able to fit nicely into my budget.. Thou some stuff may overshoot the budget by a little, but if it worth the quality, I will still go for it..

I'd go for MDW, if you asked my opinion.. I prefer OTR gowns, coz I'm more of a visual person.. also worried that the MTM gown may not turn to be the design I envision..

joyle: my couple ring now also very yellowish.. no choice lar.. the nature of my work very "chor lor" one..

thinking should we wear our couple rings for our PS.. I'm wearing it together with e-ring on right finger..

cherry chirpy, hi n congrats, have you gone down to look at the gowns at both shops?

What i think is that if you see designs that you like more 1 of the shop den go for that one.. but since Di Gio is not very transparent, try to get everything clearly indicated in the contract before you make deposit. i think that MTM is not really necessary unless you have a very elaborate design in mind or if the shop does not carry your size.. my thinking is that if the shop does not have a design that you like, you will not be considering them already right?

sorry to go out of topic for awhile.

wonder if any of u here knows of Vitacreme B12 - a skin regenerative creme which i realized works very well for me. Online reviews even compared it with Cream de Lamer.

As i needed to replenish my stock and have also promised to buy for family and friends, i have negotiated a special price with suppliers and i invite all of u to take a look at my BP thread in motherhood forum.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3687927.html?1267593516#MT

Thank you! =)

Priscilla >> ahahaz.. make sense babe !
Thanks for the reminder. True la, if I don't like the designs I wont choose there. hahahaz..

Clint >>> Congrats
I am not firm with the dates yet . I prefer more to year end cos has the festive moods. hee Anyway, yeah I will still look around more and see how . Going to Divine , Ted Wu & Blue Bay this week . I agree there no rush for bridal search but I am excited . Beside I am going for Bali in April , I foreseen I will get very tan so I want to settle my bridal shops before I turn dark .

I want to take my shoot by this year end so I will have more time to do other stuff like housing & renovation .
By taking photoshoot earlier, u also don't need to worry that the album not in time not the actual day . Cos album needs bout 4- 5 months.

clint>> yah.. my e-ring is always on my ring finger unless at work, then couple ring on right finger. cos' my cousin say save the left finger for WB. if my WB ready for PS, i will wanna wear it.

cherry chirpy>> yah.. like what all btbs say, do go look at other BS since u have the time, so that u get the one u like most. actually, most of them have gowns that are quite similar, or can do similar ones... just that some more expert at particular types. so check out the forums for the types u one to narrow down ur search!

Thanks Joyle . I think i am more or less confirm which bridal shops I wan
It should be Di Gio .

Oh I have went Ted Wu today , the gowns are really very beautiful , Ted Wu focus on the details on the train , it gorgeous ! But well the price also very "nice" hahahaz For those who have the budget to spare, I think Ted Wu gowns are really very nice , can go and take a look . =)

Hi anastasiazen, Cherry's my friend so i can answer on her behalf cos we were chatting abt it.. hehe.. She went to Di Gio and they did let her try on some gowns =)
Anyway, it's definetly better to try on e gowns before deciding to sign with the BS!