(2011) 2011 Brides

hmm... i will custom make my wedding ring for my left hand. when making the vows, JP will ask to put ring on left hand rite? I'm blur now.. haha~ seems like many ppl are getting wedding rings to fit the shape of their e-rings.

wear wedding ring on left and e-ring on right?

actually my ring fits both left and right 4th finger. does ur rings fit both too?

I intend to wear both my rings on my left hand too, hence both rings must fit nicely together when worn. Wedding ring should be worn on left hand, according to "tradition".

Cuz now got no wedding band yet, sometimes when I feel like it will change my e-ring to right hand.

morning girls..

I wear my e-ring together with the couple ring on my right hand..not very used to wearing ring on the left hand..

those friends that I know who are married, they wear their e-ring on the right finger & wedding bands on the left finger..

I'm also planning to get the bands when I go to US since the bigger brands are cheaper there..but wondering how to keep them till wedding date, which is in 1.5yrs time..

Kass, i am not quite sure if the room is big enough because i only saw the ballroom since i am not having my solemn on the same day.. You may want to give Fullerton a call?

purplebottle, i had not tried the rings wih my E rings before.. fiance's only concern is if the color will match since i am chosing yellow gold for the rings and my E ring is white gold.

joyle_t, i am currently wearing my E ring on my right 4th finger as fiance said it is suppose to be the engagement hand... not sure if its true.. but he said his engaged colleagues are wearing on their right.. after the solemn, i will be changing it to left 4th finger and wear it with the wedding band..

Morn all!

joyle: my ring fits both fingers as well.. Yup, I would want my wedding ring to fit my e-ring well since im gg to wear them tgt..hehe

Haha, I'll just wear e rings on my left because I'm more comfortable with it & I'm a right handed, if i wear on my right hand,will scratch e rings even more..

clint: Ya, that's what my fiance says also. He doesnt like e idea of buying things then leave them to collect dust for 1 yr.. hehe..but i don't tink i'll have lots of time to shop in paris also so i'll prob just customize them in spore =)

pinkglove: oohh, where will you be customising yours? I think I'll not get the bands before PS as well because ROM & AD will be half a year after PS. Don't want them to look old. Hee!

j0yle_t: I wear my e-ring on my left because I want to wear it together with my WB. However, I've seen many of my friends wear their e-ring on their right. I guess it's individual preference? My e-ring seems a little tighter on my right finger though.

purplebottle: I've heard a few places which're not bad, fairy's inc, e-clarity, josi gems, have not checked out these shops yet.. But heard tat fairy's inc is slighty more pricey but gd reviews from my cousin n friends who did theirs there.. I'm hoping not to spend too much on my WB though.. U getting urs at fairy's inc?

morning all,

I'm confused now... e-ring and wedding ring.. supposed to be worn on which hand, right or lefT? I thought that they were supposed to be worn together on the left?

purplebottle: Ling jewellery also have nice designs, can consider them....

pinkglove, like what prisci11a had suggested, Ling is quite nice as well. Initially wanted to get Ling to help me custom make my WB but decided to go ahead with Cartier instead.

prisci11a, it is up to individual on where they wana wear the e-ring and WB..

hey pris, u are here...lol

did u get my email? hope u can find HL...

both rings supposed to be worn on ur left hand...but my wife wore her proposal ring on her right, wedding band on her left.

prisci11a, yup, agree with cowcow.. up to individual, i don't tink there's any hard and fast rule.. only tat traditionally pple wear their WB on their left hand. e-ring is also like a modern thing cos in e past also not common to have e-ring as well. So can be individual preference =)

hmmm. traditionally the wedding ring is worn on the left ring finger because the vein in the left ring finger, referred to as the vena amoris was believed to be directly connected to the heart, a symbol of love. =)

hi thomas, yup, i'm here
i called HL already and she will be replying me by today...

rachel, wah, makes wearing the WB on the left hand soo meaningful

pinkglove, hmm...den i stick to wearing both together unless i cannot get a WB to match my e-ring... den e-ring will be relegated to right hand... :D

haha! i am not wearing my e-ring daily now actually.. coz i scared i will scratch it before my solemn.. hehe.. So before my solemn i will just wear it on the right as advised by fiance.. still prefer to wear it on the left since i had resized it to the left hand size..

pinkglove: ya, I guess I will only look for WB next year.. no point keeping them for so long..I have yet to set a budget for them too..

priscilla: initially I short-listed NCQ, but the parking problem there kind of turned me away.. coz majority of my friends drive..

I will stick to the WB on left and e-ring on right..so used to having a ring on my right finger liao..now ask me not to wear it..will feel very bare there..

cowcow: haha.. wah.. must endure for like so many mths den can wear ur e-ring ah..hehe.. my e-ring is like my daily accessories now and i told my fiance it's worth it forhim to spend on e ring because im wearing it everyday! haha..

pinkglove, i only wore it during cny coz fiance think i should just wear it as he gave me so i can wear but just don't bear to coz i am a very "chor lor" woman.. will sure scratch it one.. Now will wear it occassionally when there is a request.. even at this moment i am thinking if i should change the setting of the ring..

clint, ya, other forums also mentioned this problem....but i like the menu and also that the reception area is private...

still ding donging between OH and NCQ...

cow cow / pinkglove, i only wear my e-ring on weekends, but already got some scratches.. so xing tong...

cowcow & prisci11a: I'm also very "chor lor".. haha.. my fiance says he will heart pain if he knows there's scratches and ask me what if the diamond falls off..lol . i said the quality won't be so bad one..then he ask if im only gg to wear it when im not working to minimize damage but I told him my rationale is I must wear it everyday to make ur $ spent worth while..haha..

cowcow: u so funny la, wear at request..haha.. oh, u didn't like e present ring setting?

pinkglove, i like the current setting.. previously was thinking to change to 4 prongs and after fiance's friend saw it he said 6 prongs looks just nice for the ring and 4 rongs will make the diamond look squarish.. now i am thinking whether to change to channel setting.. with the diamonds on the band but fiance dun like.. he think the small diamonds will drown the solitaire and too many diamonds don't look nice..

haha! wear on request coz some of his friends wana see then i will wear out whne there are request from people.. else i will keep it at fiance's place.. Buahahaha!!

I also don't wear my e-ring everyday becoz of the nature of my work..if I wear everyday confirmed scratch one.. so only wear on wkends..but sometimes I also forget to take out & wear.. :X

prisci11a: thanks! I'll keep Ling in mind

pinkglove: HTB kind of has his mind set on fairy's inc because the service we enjoyed when getting my e-ring was really splendid. However, I'm contemplating because I've heard that their WBs are quite pricey.

Btw, I wear my e-ring everyday too. Heehee! I'll feel that something's missing if I do not wear it. I'm constantly keeping a lookout for it though :P

cowcow: I also tink 4 prongs make e diamond squarish.. I like 6 prongs setting =) But it's individual preference la =)

purplebottle: Yup, my cousin did his WB there and it was really exp.. Did u see their WB designs when u were there for ur e-ring? I saw nice WBs at Love&Co when we were looking ard for e-ring. And ya, same feeling now.. initially will feel paranoid n check my finger every now n then for the ring but now it's like norm le... ;p

pris: Will shortlist Ling too =) Tks!

pinkglove, will you check if the diamond is still around when you wear your e-ring? I thought i was very paranoid to do that though... and its not that i don't trust the quality of the ring but given fiance's serious warning on losing the ring i felt safer to check it once in a while when i was wearing it...

How was your cousin's WB like? How much did he pay? I didn't really look at the WBs when I was there because I was focusing on my e-ring. Hah!

Yeah, it has become the norm for me to wear the ring too but I'll still get paronoid once awhile ;)

cowcow: I made a conscious effort to check every now and then especially when i first wore it, now after wearing for 3 mths, felt quite normal le.. haha.. my fiance also gave me serious warning fearing that i'll lose e ring!! haha...

purplebottle: My cousin's WB very elaborate & unique.. his band consist of 3 thick WB (can be worn individually as 3 different rings as well) made of 3 diff types of material ,gold, rose gold, platinum & they fit in nicely tgt and there were some diamonds. I didn't see his wife's WB but tgt their bands cost ard $6k. But i think his shld b unique case cos his bands have a much larger surface area than normal bands..haha.. so like 3 times more exp?

cow cow >> I do check the ring is still around my 4th finger and also if the diamond is still there. I've heard horror stories of ppl losing their diamond before (claws became loose and diamond dropped), hence am more paranoid about that than about the ring...

I just got NCQ wedding promo for BOWS:

- Complimentary two table with minimum guaranteed of 35 tables confirmed
- Free flow of beer from 8pm to 11pm
- Helper's Room from 2pm to 7pm
- If you confirmed your wedding on 26 Feb 10, you will enjoy an additional of $10nett off per table confirmed

cowcow: It's like the trinity ring with 3 diff types of metals but the ring design is very diff from cartier's. =) I like it cos it's very unique hehe..

Prisilla, wow.. so what do you get in all? Mind sharing it with me? You can pm me. Thanks.
So you are taking the Grand ballroom right..

Everyone is moving fast.. I am not sure of my venue yet..

Hi Zhu zhu,i getting the promo for bows as well as the normal things in the std package. cos of 35 tables, will be getting the phoenix ballroom..

But i will discuss with HTB what more we want to get from NCQ.. anything u think will be good to have?

Its a relief to get the hotel confirmed... every thing we need to look for is like another big job... tired..

have you narrowed down on the hotels you are keen on? Go BOWS to see what is avaiable as well...

zhuzhu: when is your AD? I have not settle my venue also.. Just take your time to look thru those venues that u're interested in.. most importantly must enjoy the process of planning and not just rushing thru it

Pris: I think you should ask for a stay for helper instead of just a day room. Then also, if can throw in free flow of wine then will be good. Of course, another extra night for couple. I kind of like NCQ but the parking is a problem.. i went there once and was a bit upset with it. Another one i am looking at is FuramaRF and Traders. Will see for more options at BOW tml. Hope my HTB can make it..

Oh, where to take the freebies ar? Any ideas?

Clint: Tentatively is 18 June but need to confirm again. I am trying to stay cool too.. Kind of stress up these few days with the meetup with parents and these preparation.. Too many things to consider.. I am trying to break them into pieces...

I am kind of worry that i couldn't get a great deal later if i don sign up at BOWs. But my date is not confirmed yet. How ar?

Besides the BS package, the rest are still not done.

sometimes BOWS may not give u the best deal zhux2.

after I signed up mine during BOWS, all the better deals then came along.

get yr date first, that's most important. w/o it u can't do anything.

lastly, all the other good things abt NCQ overrides the parking prob that's why I ended up with them eventually =)

yup zhu zhu. i also think that u have to get a date first.

anyway these kinda conventions, they usually tell u have to sign up by a certain date to qualify for the promo. but in actual fact, they will be able to extend the offer.

when i confirmed RTC last year, i went for their bridal fain in OCT. but i only confirmed in end Nov and still get the bridal fair rates.

Hi Thomas, thanks. How is NCQ service like? Are they flexible in giving perks? My case is a bit different, i may need to extend the time of my wedding to at least 12mn..

When is your AD?

zhux2: service is not bad, although sometimes coordinator is a bit slow in replying emails but overall still ok. To be honest, they are rigid when it comes to perks so dun expect to squeeze anything more out from them other than the standard perks given.

I believe 12mn shld be ok, just convey to yr coordinator and let her know, if she is able to arrange for her staff to stay back later I'm sure she will.

My AD is less than 3wks away

Zhu zhu, agree with the rest, the BOWS fair not necessarily has the best packages. also not all the hotels are there..Only beginning of the year, there will be some more wedding shows, take yor time to see what you like first la....

OH offer was extended from last year and still having the same promo at BOWS lo....

yup after I signed up, few mths later came a promo which was $100 lesser per table as compared to mine...damn sian when I saw it haha

however if u play the waiting game, u risk having ur date being snapped up by others, esp more so if ur date is an auspicious one. so u decide ba...

oh ok... Thanks for your advices.. So Priscilla, let me know what you can squeeze out of NCQ..

Thomas, so which room you are taking? So it is easy to get free flow of wine and beer from them?

BOWS is not the only wedding fair now.. most imptly get your dates confirmed first..try to look for venues and once u're comfortable with the venue, den perhaps can sign up during wedding fairs or shows..

like what Rachel says, most of the time, they will try to use their sales tactics which is to sign up on the promotion period to enjoy the perks..but never believe that..confirm will extend one

Thomas: congrats! must be feeling very excited right :P