(2011) 2011 Brides

Thanks PinkGlove - I shall check my email when I get home.

Hi Kass - No worries. Since Ive already got the quotation, you girls can have it too. But mine is just those email-ask-for quote, so there isnt any kind of special freebies. I was just checking out the rates and making comparison. Let me know where I can send you Conrad's quotation. My AD is on 11.11.11
And for this date, Conrad & Oriental is slapping a 5K surcharge which I find it ridiculous...

Hi Marian - yes, please share with me/us on 2ofUs.. I love their journalistic style.

Hi CheryLight - Ive forwarded you the quotations.

Hi everyone...

Happy new year.. I am new here with nothing prepare yet.. We have a tight budget and wonder how we can do a grand wedding with minimum cost... =( Btw.. My wedding is a mixed wedding.. Eurasian with chinese.. and Singaporean with Malaysian...

Anyone taking PS in JB, perth or Phuket? Mind sharing the researches with me?

As for banquet, any 2011 menu and packages to share?

And do you guys know of any fairs coming up? =)

cow cow: you can always tell your HTB that it's once in a lifetime and you want to make sure everything is perfect ;)

I have absolutely no idea what I want my EG to be like. I'm thinking of wearing a bustier but it'll be similar to my WG. What are your EGs like?

pinkglove, i support you!! get andrew!! hehe... hmm.. red is quite nice as well.. fiance's fav color... hehe.. ha hoping that i will get the red EG we saw n we both like... but that's a huge gown for me.. it will be very heavy for me to move around... I saw another green EG from LaBelle but my sisters and frenz are discouraging me to get that color... coz they say i will be a walking tree...

purplebottle, haha... fiance will not care bout what i say already... coz i used the magic phrase too many time and he will definately use honeymoon destination in exchange for more stuffs... so i think honeymoon is more worth the amount spent... buahahaha!!

I am thinking of a halter or speg strap EG... so there will be a contrast with WG.. I only know that the green EG i like has lotsa crystals..

zhuzhu2, welcome to the thread!

Oh, i get wat u mean.. I wish I can have a cheong sum lo but my figure no good so confirm cannot carry it off. Ya, agree, kai gowns very flowy type..
purplebottle, I can't imagine my evening gowns too, have been only trying out WGs mainly..I hope there's OTR for me to choose from, then things'll be so much easier.

pinkglove,
hehehe...nope...i have no idea what color i want...Minda will be showing me different cloths and colours when i meet her on thursday...
i am also considering red colour...hehehe...cause i think the colour stands out a lot...also considering blue...i wanted black with some white actually...but my mom doesn't allow...but all i know is i want dramatic gowns... :P this is my dream evening gown...trying to ask minda if she can do something like this...

http://www.b-angel.jp/list/detail.php?_kind=c_dress&id=8&PHPSESSID=b1a6344a33fe52a42d658c9a7ef24404

cow cow,
hehehe...oh...yup, that's true also...
i'm designing my WG and EG with the help of Minda and my mom...

my fiance and me don't really fancy C&T animation...that's why i'm not very keen on them...

hehehe...yup...we are getting the LOVE rings as well...but then we're not sure whether to get the platinum or the white gold...the price difference is really great...which metal did you get?

lol cowcow,i'll tell my fiance u provide mental support but he has to provide financial support.. haha, green's quite a unique colour, will u be taking photos in this EG? If there's greeneries in the back den better don't bah..

I think my end product of EG might be similar in terms of the top just tat diff colour.. and not so long train..

welcome zhuzhu2 =)

Marian, hehe... i getting the yellow gold... coz my ex boss had the duno is white gold or platinum one... i suppose its platinum ba since he is rich... hehe.. i think the design stands out in yellow gold and rose gold... dont really like rose gold coz it looks like bronze.. hmm.. which color do you prefer?

pinkglove, i saw the EG from the EG album at LaBelle.. i haven tell the boss i like this yet.. will give it a try and see if it suits me.. I just have this mood to get my design settled... buahahaha!! anyone MTM-ing jie meis dresses?

hello zhuzhu2

A big warm welcome to you!

sapphire05,
omg...the 5K surcharge is really unreasonable!!

purplebottle,
that's what i always tell my fiance...hehehe...

cow cow,
hehehe...i like the rose gold with pink sapphire...but my fiance wants white gold/platinum...but i'm very worried about getting scratches on the rings or the rings tarnishing...

sapphire05, previously i wanted 11.11.11 as well for solemnization and dinner... but GWP was charging me 1.5k+ per table which is super off or budget.. that's the main reason why we moverf the solemnization to this year and banquet next year coz we wanna capture the special date.. if you dont mind can take fullerton.. they wont be raising their price for this date.

Marian, hmm... is platinum scratch proof? my sisters platinum ring still looks silver after so many years.. my white gold ring already is turning yellow gold at the underside...

marian, i also like rose gold! my proposal ring's platinum so Im also wondering if i wan platinum / rose gold for my wedding bands.. cowcow, can u ask ur sis if platinum'll easily have scratches? I think u can replate ur white gold ring so that it can look new.

pinkglove, i just asked my sis.. she said still will get scratches... think the color for pltinum can last longer than white gold.. i am very lazy to replate my ring... buahahaha!! this ring is a daily accessory to me.. so its ok..

cow cow & pinkglove,

platinum scratches too but i think it's harder to see...and when platinum is worn for long, it becomes more of a greyish tinge...
my fiance's engagement ring is platinum...while mine is white gold...and his ring is still so pretty and white...while mine is slowly turning yellow with more scratches than his..

cartier told me that their white gold is special in that they add palladium so that it doesn't tarnish that easily...

another thing to consider is that each time the white gold ring is polished, gold is being removed

however, for platinum, each time the ring is being polished, will not lose metal...

cow cow,
yup...i also noticed that for the cartier love rings...must ask them why...hehehe...
white gold, yellow gold and pink gold are all still gold...should be the same price...but then they're not...really weird...

ya lor... so when are you getting your rings?? i thinking of buying on Apr... so wont seem too KS... otherwie my sisters sure laugh at me one..

I'm supposed to be studying now, but just can't help but have a peek here.. u girls are moving the thread real fast!

I've gotten myself a red/black mermaid EG from SIL.. and another fushia pink/black short bubble EG from Vaughn.. both of us are black fanatics.. so we love black contrasting with loud colours..

I pale in comparison to u girls when it comes to research for gowns etc..haha

pinkglove: thanks! gotten the email.. will drop Andrew an email soon

Marian: are you planning to have your wedding done by NCC? I have just submitted my date to them

zhuzhu2: welcome!

clint, wow! your gowns are all ready! think its better you give Andrew a call.. the respond will be faster.. hehe.. wow... really envy you.. can have black for your gowns... my MIL is a super traditional woman.. cannot have black... but i am still gonna get black rubbon for my WG during dinner... day will get other color depending on the choice of my Jie Meis dress..

I shld be getting my ring end this yr if not my bank account cannot take it.. Must give time for it to recuperate..haha..I think Apr just nice for u, 6mths before u need it, very safe =p

clint: Thats so cool, black! My mum's against black one lo so I no chance..Btw, I send u the contacts for OH also.

Any body know how does a Teochew wedding work?
I was jiemei for my fren's and we had to go to and fro due to timings and tea ceremony.. It was too exhausting and my HTB is also a teochew... so i'm hoping there is a short cut... heee

eg:
0630 depart bride's place
0700 reach new house and pray
0845 reach groom's house
0930 got take photos
1000 go to groom place for bride to change clothes
1030 go to bride's home for tea ceremony
1200 go to groom's home for tea ceremony

cowcow, u going to get dresses for ur jiemeis? I'm not intending to, only asking them wear same colour tone ok liao cos every one of them is just so different.

pinkglove,
platinum is also so expensive cause it's 30 times more rarer than gold...

cow cow,
i'll be buying my rings in feb before i go back to perth...hehehe...
april is a good time to get your rings...hehehe...cause i think they need 3-4 months to order the rings if they don't have it in the store...

clint,
i also really envy you...i want to wear a black&white or black&red evening gown too...hehehe...
nope, we'll not be doing out wedding with NCC although i wish to...
my fiance is kinda afraid they won't agree to us getting married cause both of us are still students and we're not earning

pinkglove, yep... i getting dresses for them.. my frenz said no need... but i wanted them to wear the same thing..

prisci11a, you can have the tea ceremony at the groom's home when you went there to change the clothes.. then go back to brides home... usually is tea ceremony at groom's place before bride's place.. that's the sequence for my sisters and also myself...

hi priscilla, for me, the seq should be go to groom's place, serve tea, get changed then back to bride's place to serve tea. But I know teochew brides have to leave home super early...something like must be before sunrise..

omg i was just away for awhile & i need to open the old thread...seems like we got so much to discuss.

meeting up seems to be an idea now for me. gals, anyone care to meet up perhaps either weekday evening or weekend? we can bring all our photos, findings to share ard. & perhaps can get someone to go gown shopping ard. got an idea, we can arrange those PG/VG up & sign up for a few couples to get special rates??? volume deal since most will not be on the same date
))

any venues or ideas to share?
Bugis/City Hall/Orchard?

Yes, this thread seems to be moving fast.

zhuzhu2 >> welcome =) I heard from Orchard Hotel when i visited a few days ago that there will be a wedding show at Vivo City 8-10 Jan. OH will be offering the same perks as in their 19 Dec promo.

clint >> i love mermaid gowns! But i don't have the figure to wear it so will have to choose something that drapes (a.k.a. "hides") over my flaws hehe.

HTB and I have tentatively booked Marriott and will probably put down the deposit very shortly. They are hosting a wedding show on 7 Feb and will be offering really good perks:
* 2 bottles of house wine per confirmed table
* pay for 10 tables, get 1 free

Apparently you can also get this promo if you sign up with them from now until their show.

Oh, and I recently meet Shaun from Walldrobe photography - he does photojournalistic style work and has amazing albums (the best i have seen in terms of quality, colour reproduction and paper types). His suede-like textured / embossed album covers are to die for.

If you like 2 of us photography you might also want to consider Walldrobe. He is running a promo now too =)

i agree with Siy :D
i can ask 2ofus, dreamzcoffee and moomedia if they're willing to have special rates for more couples...
i'll be meeting 2ofUs tomorrow, dreamzcoffee on saturday and moomedia on sunday...
anyone wants to come along? hehehe... :D

Sapphire05 > Can u send the Conrad package to strikingreality[at]gmail.com

I'll reply with the contact for NCQ, since u dun accept PMs.

moss389 > can u give me ur contacts for Marriott?

Thanks all!

Hi pinkglove - I think I must have got so blur during work. You actually sent me the email but yet I asked again if anyone has the contact for NCQ. HAHA>.... so much for multi-tasking. So embarrassing.. haha

Thanks for your email.... I got the contact

Sapphire05 >> Realised I put my email wrongly. It should be strikingreality[at]hotmail.com.

Btw, FH signed us up for marriage preparation course with Touch Community and we are kind of looking forward to it. With all the stress with planning a wedding (and a life together after), we hope tt the course will help us understand each other better, improve our communication and remind ourselves why we are in this in the 1st place

Sapphire, no worries, glad u've the contacts =)

Siy, I prefer weekday evenings, but have to see which day. Anywhere central is good,like City hall ;p

Kass, that sounds good! Is the course spread over a couple of weeks or a few days?

both of our parents are not "pang tang".. so they just let us do what we want.. we are also not planning to do the chinese customary stuff like GDL, an chuang etc.. just going to have our Holy Matrimony and banquet that's all.. htb wants to do away with gate crashing.. but I will still want to keep to let my jie meis have fun..

I saw the ad on ST today and there's a wedding exhibition at Vivo.. planning to drop by OH booth to have a look too..

Siy: I'd prefer weekday evenings to meet up

omg, I haven't checked this thread for a few hours and there are so many posts

cow cow & pinkglove: I hope to get a red EG as well because it's my favourite colour. I can't take halter so I guess my only choice is spag unless I go for bustier. I need to start doing research for gowns! You girls are very fast!

cow cow: your banquet is at GWP? Have you made your booking?

sapphire: i'm a teochew btb but since we didn't calculate an auspicious date, my mother feels that there's no need for me to leave the house so early. My AD schedule should be something like this:
- gate-crashing
- tea ceremony at HTB's place
- tea ceremony at my place
- soleminzation at hotel
- dinner

Btw girls, I received an email from Orchard Hotel with their promotion:

Couples who confirm their wedding banquet (dinner) at Orchard Hotel from 8th January to 10th January 2010 are entitled to:

© Cash rebate of $39.00nett off per table
(Monday – Thursday Wedding Dinner)
© Cash rebate of $49.00nett off per table
(Friday - Saturday Wedding Dinner)
© Cash rebate of $59.00nett off per table
(Sunday Wedding Dinner)
© Free flow of beer for 3 hours during wedding banquet consumption only
© Free flow of house wine for 3 hours during wedding banquet consumption only

Every couple confirmed for wedding packages for wedding lunch or dinner will entitle for SURE WIN LUCKY DIP, the prizes for the lucky dip will consist of the following

* Cash rebate from $388nett up to S$1888nett for your wedding banquet bill.
* Complimentary wedding card printing voucher of S$100nett from T-Dragon
* Complimentary day use room at our standard room for your helper room during your wedding day.
* Complimentary one night stay at our standard room for your helper during your wedding day.
* Complimentary one night stay at our Executive Suite as 2nd night stay during your wedding day.
* Complimentary afternoon tea for 6 persons at Orchard Cafe.
* Complimentary buffet lunch for 4 persons at Orchard Café.
* Complimentary buffet dinner for 2 persons at Orchard Cafe.

wow! you gals are up till late!

purplebottle, i had placed a tent booking at Fullerton... fiance fell in love immediately with the place and confirmed he want the place even when the price was abit off budget after the price increase... buahaha.. men and their fickle-mindedness.. initially he still wanted GWP and MIL like GWP also... we haven divulge that we had booked Fullerton... scared she will nag again.. hehehehe..

siy, meeting up is great! hmm... i am fine with weekday evening or weekends..

Moss389 n Purplebottle: Thanks for the tips.. Guess will go down to vivo this weekend and find out more...

Hmm... how about PS? Anyone taking in JB or Phuket?

Morn gals!

Hi zhuzhu, looking at the spreadsheet, I don't think anyone's going JB or phuket at the moment bah.. I remb I saw X-zen at a wedding show recently and they were having promotions like free PS at Phuket or something lidat .. U may wanna find out more.

zhuzhu2 >> I know ppl who go to Bali for PS though.If u wanna do PS in JB, are u thinking of getting a JB bridal house to do it?

My thinking is that if u wanna go JB to do ur PS, u might as well engage a JB photographers, cuz they know the place better, so they will know where are the good places for phototaking.

Kass: yup.. i am thinking of that too. Maybe i will drive in one day and check out the promotions they have.. JB photographers can be quite good too... =)

Hello ladies

I met up with Cole and Soon from 2ofUs photography in the evening...they're really friendly!! :D this is the most important aspect for both my fiance and me...that the PG&VG we are engaging can connect with us...

they showed us their photos and one video...we were happy with their photo album and video...their video is quite basic...their photography is more outstanding...

however, the only thing my fiance and I are concerned about is their videographer...Cole & Soon are both photographers...they engage a partner for the videos...
we'll probably ask them to provide more information about the videographer that they are using...