(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

wow thanks gals, thanks everyone for all your words of wisdom....

yes, agree with all of you...the wearability of the wedding band is much more important .will let you gals know what I choose after this weekend...thanks once again

VG must get 1.. if not later regret then no turning back already. i'm also struggling whether to get VG anot, in the end i decided to get an affordable VG. He is new to the industry so charge cheaper.

My VG is lawrence from Screencraft. His portfolio can be found at http://www.vimeo.com/screencraft

Joos W> initially didnt expect expenses to be so high 1.. it was after impulse that we signed up pre-wed@ taiwan then realise AD package cost so much. so choice lor...

my diamond ring is only a small D color VS2 0.3c. have not decided on wedding band yet.

ooo.. nice.. i wish i have that budget to splurge too..
Yes yes, AD videography is v impt.. cuz it will capture the moments more precisely..

Thanks for ur info, genie!

wow genie, D colour is already very good, colourless, a very good colour and VS2 clarity is also deemed very good...

I am thinking of compromising on diamond's colour, as it can really drop the price by quite substantially, what do you gals think? Can we tell the difference between D, E, F, G, H or I coloured diamonds? Or must you look real closely to tell the difference..thanks once again for sharing with me your experience

Hi carebear, d e f has no diff if you do not use special equipments to view it. Actually unless u see very clearly, you might not notice that g onwards is a little yellowish. I saw my two colleagues wear diamonds of different grades. One is 0.5 grade d while the other is 0.7 grade g. Grade g one looks v nice n big but it paled in comparison w the smaller grade d diamond cuz the more colourless it is, the brighter it will be. I personally prefer colorless ones, but I know of people who like diamonds w colour.. So it's personal pref. Remember that the cut will also determine how bling your diamond is so gotta bear that in mind too..
Depends on what u prioritise. Some people wants bigger carat n r willing to compromise on colour while others r particular on the colour n cut so that diamond will look sparkly all the time. Price can vary according to the 4 c (cut, clarity, colour, cut).. Unless u have a bigger budget, u can buy one with big carat, colorless, perfect cut n totally flawless! Hee, I hope mine's like that too..

Hope the info helps.. :D

i met my fren who wears a 1 carat ring jus nw n i put it on to compare wif mine a .55..
ther is realli a diff in colour even wif naked eyes..

mine's a D-E - very white n bright

while hers a G - white on its own, but whn put side by side wif mine, can straight away see its yellow

interestin hor.. den again, i think the less one noe the more easily contented we will be..

True, that was what happened when we saw our two colleagues diamonds. But if no one say or put both together to compare, one can't really tell the diff. Usually ppl can tell the diff either by obvious comparison side by side or that they already know sth abt diamonds then their 'radar' will b stringer.. Hee.

Thanks for the link Lydia! Actually I appreciate the ring htb bought for me too after I found out abt the science of diamonds! Actually, diamonds really v ex.. Lol

Hi ladies!! this thread moves real fast..

my wedding band is from Lee Hwa.. my engagement/proposal ring is from 18Karaats..
it's a diamond ring in tiffany setting.. only difference is, it's simulated diamond.. in the best 4Cs.. =)
and it's at a fraction of the price for real diamond..
i dun really fancy diamonds.. i prefer gold.. hehe!!

if i dun say, most ppl couldn't tell the difference.. hehe!!
so i happily enjoy my 1 carat.. =)
mayb going back to get another eternity ring.. enjoying diamond at a fraction of the price..

http://www.18karaats.com/18_karaats_home.html

Hi to all, I am also planning my wedding on Oct 2011. I have not decided on the date but hope that it's a sat. Not sure if venue will be available. Anyway, I am just starting to source for hotel venue. Any experiences to share?

Genie I emailed Lawrence quite a while back. And his assistant quite me $1.4K! I know why already! Cos yours is the 8 hrs one, I'm looking at 10hrs. (:

Lee For venue, you need to first get down to know your number of tables minimum and maximum. Then set a budget. Emails those hotels/restaurants that fits your criteria. See if their menu fits your budget/nego. Then have a trip down to the place to look see. (:

wow. thanks gals once again, really appreciate all your enlightening statements, otherwise, I would have compromised the colour for the price....coz I thought I could not visually tell any difference...now that i hear all your comments, I kind of think the colour affects the sparkle etc, so it does make a difference....

coz I was quoted ~$10K for a G colour, 0.63carat, VVS1, Tiffany ring...versus a Soo Kee 1 carat, G colour, VS2 ring for ~$8K. But the Tiffany sales person told me a better deal would be the ~$9K 0.7 carat, I colour diamond ring...my husband doesn't like the idea that it was I colour, but the sales told me it look the same....so that's why I asked you girls for opinion...looks like, the 0.7carat I colour ring is now struck off my list, I am left with compromising the carat size, the brand etc haha =) Such a headache

Mornin' peeps!!

Wah~ this thread is fast~~

carebearz: actually both of us not particular on the stone... it is more on the design and how it looks on me~ keke.... And i dun fancy solitaire at all... so that's out for me.... that's the only criteria for him.... but for proposal, i think it is the ambience and process that is important though.. it's not like if he give u less than what u expect, you are not going to say yes loh~ my fiance alwiz tell me "this is not going to be the only diamond from me"... so sweet when i heard it loh

Lee: Set the date 1st. you cannot confirm the venue booking without a date in mind, especially if you need to calculate the dates. meanwhile, try to gauge how many tables you need, +/- 3 to 4 tables for amendments here and there

Hey carebear! It will b nice if u can place both grades side by side to see if you really mind! Actually soo Kee alr has v nice diamonds n v affordable too! I support soo Kee Heee

Ooo it seems like most people shop for proposal rings with htb.. Is there a reason y? I feel so swa ku cuz I always thought ppl dun shop w htb n just sit there shake leg n wait
for proposal.. :/

Hey Maggie, u seem to have a good deal for the diamond.. I
might go to them to get an eternity ring then.. Really love
eternity rings..!

Queen, u have a v sweet htb!

Hi Lee! Welcome....! Oo, u cam start by emailing the hotels
for their quotations. If you dun wanna b overwhelmed, u can
streamline who to contact based on the budget u have..
Contact the hotel n go chk out their ballrooms.. Good to go
when there's a wedding dinner so u can c the actual set up. U can also discuss w htb on some factors to consider or prioritize.. Like ballroom type(high ceiling or nice interior), food, service, location of hotel/ restaurant, price per table, bridal suite, etc..

Good to also read on forums people's opinions so y get a grasp of what to look out for.. Have fun!!

Joos: haha~ my htb is very farnie de... u noe when guys shop for the bling bling, they will also get a 'lecture' on diamonds and how to choose etc etc.. so when i asked him how much he knows about the bling, he juz say "i was on log off mode during the talk loh" and he interrupted the fella giving the talk... whahaha... i really dunno wat to say |||

Haha! V cute ur htb! My htb says he had multiple lectures at the different stores he went to! Hehe.. Have u started looking for wedding bands?

Hi gals, just sharing my opinion.. I got my proposal ring last dec, Solitaire, 0.7carat, I colour (can't remb VS what,haha) only at $2938! I went to check out the prices of diamonds recently it has increased tremendously! I guess partly was bcos the time i bought was during the economic crisis..

Joos: I saw a simple band from T&C that i liked alot but hated the engraving of company name outside the band and the price tag of a branded name~ may custom make with my cousin-in-law's friend.

1555233.jpg

Wow, this thread is moving real fast again. Hahaha!

Unfortunately I don't remember the exact 4Cs for my proposal ring anymore. Oops. Is a Brilliant Rose from Soo Kee, 0.42 carat and other information need to go home check. Haha! It's around $4k+. My hubby went to buy it secretly and done his proposal on the day I thought we celebrating our anniversary last year. Haha! Evil evil him.

For our wedding band, we got it from Soo Kee. Mine is the Jac Laurent series while my hubby's one is from the Brilliant Rose series. The total cost adds up to ~1.5k. Since mine has 12 small diamonds so it cost 'bout 900+ while my hubby's one is cheaper cos there is no diamond! Hehez.

Lee: Like advices given, the date is very important. You probably can't plan if you don't have an exact date since hotels will surely ask for your date upon making an appointment to visit their hotel ballrooms. So do confirm on the date first. Then is the decision of how many tables and your budget. And you're good to go!

Anyway I wouldn't be having a VG for my wedding. For the most crucial moment, I might be asking my photographer to get her assistant photographer to help me capture a video moment using their Canon DSLR. Hehez. So I'm kind of putting all my money into my photographers since my hubby and I decided we probably wouldn't have much to capture with a VG since we got 2 photographers for the day.

Sherlyn> your 10hrs package comes with free montage! i don't need the montage as i'm doing it myself. His extra charges is $80/hr. so if u dont need the montage, it is better to get the 8hrs package at $950. even if you extend to 10hrs, pay $160 for 2hrs extra only.

Kat> you need to check if your photographer is willing to do videography for u anot cos not all DSLR comes with HD video recording and their memory cards might not be enough to store alot of videos. another point to consider is the lighting, DSLR uses flash, so under low light conditions, the result might not be good enough since it cant be flashing all the way during recording. VG normally attach an external LED for contant lighting.

genie: Thanks for your advice. Hehez. No worries on the videography since we only want to capture one segment of the wedding dinner and nothing more. We will probably discuss with her on that when we meet her up for our pre-wedding photoshoot next year. Anyway they are using Canon 5D Mark II which is good for HD recording so that I'm sure is good enough for the segment we want. Like I said since we only need it for one segment of probably 5-10 minutes, we don't see the need for VG and put more money into photography. My photographer is a nice lady so can't be too tough to talk to her! :P

Hey Queen, Nice band! I agree with you.. I dun like the tiffany name there too.. It's abit "extra"..

Thanks Genie, for your advice! I think I will contact your VG for more info..

Hi Shirley, Queen, Joo, Kat,

I am currently studying overseas and cant go down to look at the ballrooms. So it's hard to decide.

I am looking at 30-35 tables. Prefer Sat but I think it's hard to get a weekend date now. How much ahead do you all book the venue? Am I a bit late to secure a date on sat?

Is there any details on description of ballrooms, food and services that's compiled by someone? I have emailed a few hotels but the quotes cant help me to decide. Kind of overwhelmed and this is only the start.

What have you girls choosen?

Lee: Oh dear. What about your other half or any family member who can help you a bit on the planning side in Singapore? 'Cos it's a bit tough if you don't have a look at the location before choosing since you wouldn't be sure if it passes your standard. Anyway depending on what hotels you have in mind, weekends might still be available for booking. I guess most of us started booking our venue as early as the 1st quarter of this year? But still a lot of BTBs still planning their venues. Unfortunately I have not much details on hotels. Usually we based our choices by going down to the place or the best you can do is read up the hotel threads in SGBrides to get a better idea.

I've just updated mine on the spreadsheet...

Lee: best that you can view the place yourself, if not, get someone to go for appointments on your behalf and snap pictures for you. 30-35 tables is the normal range and most popular hotels would have been booked by now. Genie is right, set a budget 1st so that you no need to waste time in searching for something that you cannot afford....

I did coordination for my friend as she and her hubz were studying overseas 2 years back and although it was tiring for both of us to stay up wee hours for video chats and confirming stuff thru me, i think it is do-able to plan when both leads are overseas.. but a note though, the person must be willing to go extra mile to help you with bargaining and of course, u will need to put 120% trust in her/him.......

Hi all.. Can I have some advice on what is the standard package of VG?

I jus saw 8 hours / 10 hours with montage.. Is there more freebies to go along with?

Kat: yar both of us are overseas.

Genie: I'm considering 1k nett. I think quite a lot of hotels can fit my requirements since i am flexi on the dates. Thanks for the excel. Wow, everyone booked so early. I thought a yr in advance is good enough.

Queen: Impressive that you helped your fren. I think it's hard to get someone to do it for me. It's a big commitment.

I think i have a lot of research to do and exam is coming. =(

Amy> different VG provides different no of filming hrs. standard package should provide 10hrs filming by 1 VG, express highlight and DVD with raw cuts in chapters after dinner.

Hi Everyone, i'm new here! Also an OCT BTB

Anyone holding their actual day on 29 Oct? Me and my HTB has no intention to check on which date is a good date for us so just choose any available date that falls on a sat on Oct...wonder if 29 Oct is a bad date cos from the spreadsheet nobody AD is on tat day...

Woah!! Very fast the thread has moved from VG to proposal rings ahahah! =) Everytime i come back to the forum *hear attack* abit ahahahha Xp

My htb spent two months researching and reading about all the aspect of a diamond and finding the perfect piece for my proposal ring~ My ring actually has no brand one... cause apparently he research and bought a loose diamond from Blue Nile and then got the band cast by some jeweller~ lolx~
He was mentioning some triple excellence thingy and color D which till now i think i know nuts about...

Ahahahha sadly to say i only know that its very "bling" and luving it.

Lee: think its gd to mass email all the hotels you have shortlisted. Since your flexible on date maybe ask them which date of the month has not been booked yet. Easier for you to plan also and decide. Wonder if the hotels will let your friends maybe do abit of filming of the hall and stuff then at least u can view via video?

Welcome Dreamwithgoal!!

thanks gals... thanks for sharing so much insights about wedding bands and proposal rings...guess I learnt a lot from you gals...

Welcome peakaboo to our thread!! maybe your VG wants to build his profile, so he is charging a lower than market rate? It may be a good thing for you....coz u'll be the one benefiting =)

Welcome dreamwithgoal also to our thread!! 29th Oct, not too sure, the other time I wanted to pick the date, but my geomancer advised me to pick 30th, so I just went with my geomancer's advice, and it may be "not good" for others, but it may be "good" or "excellent" for you...just go by your gut feelings....trust your choice!!

Lee: well~ friends for 12years leh~ how can i refuse? plus i did get a big big angpow from the couple for helping~~~

Michelle: if you explain to the coordinator, they usually will.. coz during wedding show, they also allow pple to snap pictures~~ I din video the ballroom though, juz took pics of different angles in ballroom, reception.

Dreamwithgoal: Welcome Welcome~~ my fren once said that if you believe in this kinda things, better to believe all the way and do everything "by the book"~~~ if you are a non-believer, just heck care and choose something you like~ initially I wanted to take 19 Nov (1911 is a combination of our bdays) for our wedding, but then parents jump up to tell me need to calculate, so bo bian~ go calculate loh~ turns out that 1911 is ok for us.. but clashes monkey (his dad) so cannot use.... so if u & HTB(and families)not those pantang type, just do on the date you like

Peakaboo: welcome welcome~~~ $500 is cheap~ can I have the contact also?

To all, good morning and have a wonderful weekend ahead!

Agree with Queen..
If you are a non-believer, then dun be burdened by these beliefs..
But if you are (or your parents are), then just go pick an auspicious date for a peace of mind..

Have a great friday everyone!!

Im gg overseas next weeeeeek. heheheeee! Will catch u girls when Im back!

Peakaboo> if the VG charge u $500, u should view his portfolio to see if u like his work and also check if it includes express highlight. sometime they charge separately.

Tiffany> if the VG is new, probably they are not registered with RIPS etc and they will tell you to bring orginal CD for them to put into the video.

Some hotels also close 1 eye, as long as u have the original CD, they let you play the video.

Ladies, my husband just told me his new budget is 3K for VG. FML max lor, I research until hair all pull out for those 1.2-1.4K ones. Now he happy just drop bomb say 3K. -.-"

He likes Academy Video one, but if I didn't remember wrongly, want Hanxiong to do VG cost 4.2K!

actually i know nuts about this VG too.

you can go to this web to find out about his service:
http://affinityvideography.com/
however when i follow the link to vimeo, he really only got 1 video to show only. So seriously if u're skeptic like me.. please don't sign up yet. hahaha. I am going to meet up with him this sunday and ask more questions.

he did mentioned in his email that if i would like to use commercial artist's songs then there will be a charge imposed.

anyway besides him, there are afew more VG that are quite budget too.
like the montage guy, and mervin lee (i contacted hong ray, he is not available on my AD, so he recommended his friend).
as you know.. i'm reading oct btb 2011, i was abit slower. hehe. it seems like most of the VG mentioned on previous pages were booked on my AD already!

Hi Peekaboo, i contacted affinity video this guy called Eric, wanted to meet up with him cos i like the style of his video and he's cheap, i emailed him he replied 2 days later,tats acceptable, so i sms-ed him, no reply,then email him again, again 2 days later reply, so i called him, didn't pick up, then sms-ed him 2nd time then he replied like few hours later, so we agreed to meet and so i replied him to confirm venue he didn't reply again. The next day that we're supposed to meet @ 7.30pm then he sms-ed me in the afternoon about 2.45pm saying he got urgent personal matters can re-arrange to meet?

I was like fed-up already, if he's sincere these wouldn't happen, imagine arranging to meet up to view his works already so terrible,imagine him cancelling or no show for my AD? So i just told him, its ok, will let him know again if i need his service.

Its just what i experience but i don't know if the same happened to you =) End up i took iBen, although nothing fanciful but at least he's responsible in contacting me and re-confirming if we are meeting and replies me. But sometimes unexpected things may happen.

At the end of the day, what we want is just for our AD to turn out well. Its once in a lifetime!! =P