(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

Sherlyn, I don't have that sheet of paper but I checked with my friend and it is what you have said.

But guess it's reasonable cos the gatecrash will try to do it before the auspicious time before letting the groom in! Hehez. Then just go over and finish the tea ceremony with his parents by that time and everyone else can dilly dally.

Anyway for Ted Collection, the package includes a Wedding Gown for rental, a Tea Dress and an Evening Gown for keep. All of them are MTM. The package cost 2.7k 'cos we went earlier to book with them. The shorter the dateline, the more expensive it will be since they got to rush through the sewing and all for you. Somemore I let Yap had a look at the design I want for my WG and he said no need for additional cost. To keep the WG will need to pay an additional 300 bucks.

For additional materials needed for the sewing onto the gowns, the designer will go shopping with us at Arab Street at bargain for the best price to get them. So all these additional will be paid by us and they will not charge anything additional for sewing them on the gowns. So no hidden cost!

So I'm in safe hands! Hehez. I currently have an international team of vendors. My photographer is from Malaysia, Yap is a Malaysian and not sure 'bout Don so my designers are not local too and my MUA is from Taiwan!

Sherlyn, yup my package includes a cinematic express highlight. Thanks for sharing..hehe didn really read thru the pink notes, ya u are rite
Hehe, u're also a 'feel' person...we've afew perfectionist & feel brides here..high five!!! Most important u've to be comfortable with the environment.

Gate-crash..we can discuss on this topic too...i've helped as jiemei twice recently, currently the trend still remain as:
food: suan, tian, ku, la (more creative) - juz to eat / use as forfeit
Forfeit: excercise, balloons, dancing, give bigger angbao
games: singing, dancing while dressing up
love vows: read out the list of dos & don't loudy
Ladies, pls add on the gate-crash list / describe in details or if u've any special, interesting ideas to share

Kat, i like ur style..international team of vendors hehe, that's great
Less than $3k for designer gowns package..quite worth it.

Hi theshepthia, i went to Holiday Inn Atrium to view the ballrooms. Was so upset with the person attitude. He wasnt flexible for anything and tell us he going to bill us additional if we request for something.

My HTB was damn angry. He like mock at us saying "if you are paying 1000 / 1300 +++ price for per table the hotel will definitely provide you with whatever you have requested!

So disappointed overall the day was spoil by all his words.. So hurt. hahas this hotel is strike off from my lists.

Hi kat, the Ted Collection package 2.7k is quite okay! the Tea Dress and Evening Gown can keep! Is your HTB's pants and shirt included in the package?

Hey Septhia ! Congrats !

I missed the proposal feeling . hahaz.. My fiance did his proposal this year on April fool's day .My 2 best friends n fiance had worked behind my back & came back with all the plan . It was a huge proposal plan which involved many people, my family, my besties & alots of Marina Mandarin Staff. I was caught off guard.

So Jim have u met up with Sen ?

Congrats Kat, 1 thing off you mind now.

Sherlyn > u are a feel person too ? hahaz.. same as our dear Lydia here. She is a feel person too.

MC: Hehez. Just so happened they are all not local. So is rather interesting to think 'bout it that way.

Jim, how 'bout other hotels that you have visited? The co-ordinator doesn't sound like he is good service stuff. Zzz. I'm sure there are better hotels out there! No worries!

Anyway the package only includes the 3 gowns. So the suit will either have to MTM outside by another tailor or can ask Ted Collection to MTM one set for my hubby.

Thanks Cherry! Sure is relaxing to think that the major items are off the list for now. Now just looking through photos of wedding gowns to see what kind of design I want. Thinking of a non-white Wedding Gown!

Anyway still have not thought of what exactly to do during gate-crashing. I have been a jiemei once and all thanks to my friend's MUA coming in late, we didn't get to play much.

Kat Ted Wu Collection package sounds really reasonable! Glad you've found a good catch. (:

Btw, which MUA have you confirmed on? I'm still undecided to use MUA from my BS or should I go source for another one. BS will only offset 200bucks for MUA, which I think is not worth it to offset lor. ):

Saw that you're thinking of a non-white gown? How about bright red? I saw one, super chio la!

Michelle I've never been a jiemei before. Very wasted la, don't have the fun to tekan a groom. LOL! I've seen photos of groom wearing disposable undies and dance 'Nobody' by Wonder Girls. And eating celery spread with wasabi. Using toes to 'pick out' mahjong tiles from a tub of iced water, etc.

Some very fun some very kelian la. LOL

Jim That was quite untactful of the coordinator. I've got quite a few of package details with me. What's your budget like? See if I can help you out. (:

Cherry Your proposal sounds like very sweet and touching! I would have cried big time if I were you. (: So memorable.

Yeah, I'm a super feel person, my husband everytime -.- me when I say these kinda feel thingie to him. He don't get it. LOL

Btw, how many months should we go BS for fitting to get those gowns that we want? I very kiasu one. Very scared cannot get those that I like. (:

Hey Sherlyn, my MUA is Dana. Hehez. Decided to go ahead and use her for my AD 'cos really like her makeup for me for my solemnization.

Not thinking 'bout bright red 'cos it's just too not me! Hahaha! I'm thinking of going for something softer like light baby blue or light cyan. Gown design might be going for something that is always seen for beach wedding, so it will be less princessy but more flowy. Hehez. Hope to bring these ideas to Ted Collection next year and see what they suggest!

Poor Jim,

guess the coordinator is still wary of me, becos i still decide whether their hotel get to stay or get out of the hotel corporate program, therefore wun dare to offend me loh.

plus i went during bridal showcase, where they need to sign up as many ppl as possible.

before i went down, i already start talking to the coordinator on all the details, and on actual day just ask for more

michelle chong > hey, haven been following this thread for a while & yes, have confirmed my PS with SG Bridal, updated the list

a lot of 30 Oct brides!

October 2011 BTB List:

1 Oct 2011, HelovesmiIlovehim (lydia)
Venue: Mandarin Oriental Hotel
PG: Derrick Than
VG: Ideal productions, Stanley Oh
BS:

8 Oct 2011, Michelle Chong (michi aka MC)
Venue: The Amara Hotel
PG: RMG
VG: RMG
BS: SG Bridal House (JB)

8 Oct 2011, Calister Dyeo (cali)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

8 Oct 2011, Jaslyn (jaslynhy)
Venue: Grand Park City Hall
PG: Simonvideo
VG: Simonvideo
BS: Venus Bridal(JB)

8 Oct 2011, YJZL (Shanny)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS: Selatar Broadway studio

8 Oct 2011, Sherlyn ♥♥ (sherlynliang)
Venue: Pan Pacific Orchard
PG: Envisage Photography
VG:
BS: Cangai Bridal

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
Venue: Grand Copthorne Waterfront
PG:
VG:
BS: Amanda Lee Weddings (ala carte)

9 Oct 2011, TheSepthia
Venue: Holiday Inn Atrium
PG: Blissful Reminiscence
VG: NA
BS: NA (ala- carte)

15 Oct 2011, Piggypong
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Kat (piggeekgirl)
Venue: M Hotel
PG: Grace (MY)
VG:
BS: Ted Collection (ala-carte)

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
Venue: Grand Park City Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Jim (Jellycheese)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS: Selatar Broadway

22 Oct 2011, Bridestobe
Venue: Orchard Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS: Golden Horse Awards

23 Oct 2011, Cherrychripy
Venue: Marina Mandarin Hotel
PG: Eulee
VG: Damon Low
BS: My Bridal Room

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
Venue: Swissotel the Stamford/Fairmont
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, dyleen (dyleen)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
PG:
VG:
BS:SG Bridal House (JB)

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, carebear (meteor_starry)
PG: Lighted Pixels and Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
VG: Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
BS: Cangai

30 Oct 2011, Michelle Lim (michimichi)
Venue: The Amara Santuary
PG:
VG:
BS: Thomson Wedding Design (TP)

Hi blurkitty! Welcome to the Oct 2011 BTB thread! Do update the list with your information and join in our discussion!

We sure have a lot of brides on the 8, 22 and 30 October 2011 eh?

Welcome back caihonglim, been some time since you posted here eh? Hehez.

Welcome blurkitty!

Hi Sheryln you mention that you saw photo of jiemei tekan the groom pickup MJ tiles from tube of ice water. Sound familiar to me. Where you see that? Maybe we got a common friend!! And thank you for willing to help me for the banquet. Hahas becos 22oct11 is a hot date like ur. Most hotel is book and not book de the ballroom not nice! So sucky but will try our best to find one. Most probably we will go for parkroyal on beach road. Hahas.

Cherry / Kat / Thesepthia : hahas. Thanks no worries will try to find one!! Yeah!

October 2011 BTB List:

BS:

Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

Venue:
PG:
VG:

VG:

8 Oct 2011, Blurkitty
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
PG:
VG:

9 Oct 2011, TheSepthia

15 Oct 2011, Piggypong
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

VG:

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
PG:
VG:
BS:

Venue:
PG:
VG:

22 Oct 2011, Bridestobe
PG:
VG:

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
PG:
VG:
BS:

Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
PG:
VG:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
PG:
VG:
BS:

PG:
VG:

ADDED - Blurkitty !

Welcome blurkitty !
another 8th Oct 2011 BTB.
I have added u in our long list . hee
Have u confirm your venue & BS?

Wow really lot of 8 , 22 & 30 Oct 2011 BTBs. .. These dates are really hot !

Why noone same dates as me ? Sighz sooo sad.

October 2011 BTB List:

BS:

Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

Venue:
PG:
VG:

VG:

8 Oct 2011, Blurkitty
Venue: Orchid Country Club
PG:Whitelink
VG:A Team will be arranged by my Bro
BS:Whitelink (local) & Mikan (overseas)

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
PG:
VG:

9 Oct 2011, TheSepthia

15 Oct 2011, Piggypong
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

VG:

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
PG:
VG:
BS:

Venue:
PG:
VG:

22 Oct 2011, Bridestobe
PG:
VG:

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
PG:
VG:
BS:

Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
PG:
VG:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
PG:
VG:
BS:

PG:
VG:

Hi Cherry, thanks for the add...
I gotten my venue - OCC and BS will be whitelink... so far everything had been done.. waiting for next yr to arrive and we can start our bridal shoots and stuffs...

Kat I'm not sure how much my BS can offset for my MU. So I'm quite hesitant to source for one or not. I heard superb reviews of Dana's MU! (:

I guess light cyan really goes well with beach weddings. For more flowy maybe can have a soft chiffon dress? Looks very elegant and classy! (:

Jim I saw the photos from some photographer's portfolio from some of those which I met up with. Actually I don't quite fancy this idea, no idea why. LOL.

You let me know if you need any package details, cos I've got quite alot of hotel quotes in my mailbox. (: Wish you all the best in hunting for your dream venue!

blurkitty You're having wedding say day as me! (: Whitelink gowns are prettilicious.

So when are you going to choose your gowns? I'm thiking of doing PS during end-June. How about you?

Kat > ya! been quite a while and this thread is moving fast!

A lot of brides have settled their PG & VG ... making me stressed now!

Any brides getting keys to their love nests soon?

Cherry: No sad no sad! Your date is special like that since you're the only one on that day for now!

Sherlyn: Yah. I have intentions to have a soft chiffon A-Line gown. Hehez. But guess I will discuss with the designers at Ted Collection next year to get their advices on what can be done for the gown then.

caihonglim: Yah! This thread is moving so fast that just need to miss a few days and you will be lost. Hahaha! No stress over the PG and VG. You still have time to look for them.
Anyway I will be getting my keys hopefully by next Jan/Feb. Hehez. Can't wait to see it!

caihonglim No fretting! PG & VG shldn't be a problem, so far I checked all got October dates. (:

Kat Great! It's gonna be so much fun having a MTM gown for yourself to keep! (:

hey kat ! yeah I hope so . I guess saturday is always a hot date!
How I wish my AD is on a Sat too . But too bad I can't the timing is too weird.

Caihonglim , don't stress ! u still have plenty of time. The most important thing is the venue & you already settle.

Wow ladies, I just counted we have 20 Oct BTB now. hee

Blurkitty > One of my friends chosen whitelink . She was soo upset initally cos her coordinator was not very good until she changed a new coordinator and she is a happy btb now.
Hope u meet a nice coordinator.
White link has lots of beauiful designs for Groom too. Did u take the higher range package for gowns? I understand that they have some kind of tiers like if u sign the VIP package u entitled to all the beautifuls gowns. If not , you can only choose some normal range . I found this a bit turn off , don't like BS who categories their gowns in these manner.

So Sherlyn, have u shortlist any venue that u really like ?

Cherry. Hmm shortlisted some but my HTB very funny sometimes say budget cannot over 1k pet table. Den later say okay lah can over 1k! Hahas. Dun worry will update the list when I find one. So paisei to trouble u girls!! but realize all the Oct 2011 BTB are kind and helpful!!

Pan pacific orchard and The pan pacific are two different hotel? Hahas blur lei.

Jim> yeah . The Pan Pacific is at Marina square there.
Pan Pacific Orchard is near 313 .

I heard that the food at The Pan Pacific hotel is good.
I think the food is served from Hai Tian lou . No worries Jim. U can check with us anything . We will be glad to help if we know.

Sherlyn: It's good to keep but I think they will be collecting dust somewhere. Haha!

Cherry: Yah. All the Saturday dates are really hot. Haha! But Sunday better than a weekday! Look on the brighter side!

Jim: I guess sometimes your HTB think the place is okie then think think maybe over 1k is okie lah. Haha! Happens to me and my hubby that time too. Anyway no need to be paiseh, we are all here to help each other to have a smoother and easier wedding planning!

I also heard of the food being nice at The Pan Pacific from others. Maybe you can check out The Pan Pacific thread for more information? Hehez.

Wah 8th & 30th Oct are so popular =)

Caihonglim, who is ur coordinator at SG Bridal?..nicole left already sob...when are u taking ur PS & any location in mind..
Don't be stress, take ur time to search for ur ideal PG & VG package...i signed up too fast, sometimes feel abit regret haha.

Blurkitty, which ballroom are u taking at OCC? Previously i pre-book the grand ballroom on 8 Oct..but end up i go for Amara

Jim, we are here to help each other & to share our thoughts..since most of us have gone thru the searching stage, know its not easy. How many tables are u looking at?..hehe we can give u suggestions, if u don't mind :D

Yup Amara is taken by me hee..Ya so coincidence, we've shortlisted the same venues =D At least u can have the buggy ride for march-in

Jim: If you need any hotel pricings, I can help as well ... received a lot when I was sourcing for location

Michelle: I didnt receive call from Nicole when she left ... so I called & asked and now Ivy is my co-ordinator. Going for gown fitting this Sunday. Location wise shld be desaru & SG (most prob NTU & Raffles Place)
PS will be over national day wkend. When you gg for yours?

Kat: You went BTO? From your keys collection date, seems to be v near to my place
You mind telling which location?

Kat > yup! next yr will concentrate on Reno + dinner, so wanted to finish what we can this yr
We will be close-by! I'm @ punggol vista

caihonglim: That's cool! Hahaha! Now I have lots of friends living in Punggol!
But wow. That's more than one year before your AD. Hehez. I'm planning for June/July for my photoshoot next year so first half of the year will be used for renovation and also preparing for AD.

Thanks girls all kind hearted BTB!!

Alright the max table I need is 25. Most 5stars hotel with nice and pillarless ballroom is strike off le.

Alright 22october 2011 btb this will be useful:-

Hotel that is not available and taken:-
1. Conrad centennial Singapore
2. Crowne plaza changi
3. Carlton hotel
4. Orchard hotel
5. Amara hotel
6. Goodwood park hotel
7. Grand park cityhall
8. M hotel

Hotel that is strike off from list becos of various reasons
1. Hotel rendezvous
2. Holiday inn atrium
3. Furama riverfront
4. Copthorne king hotel
5. Novotel Clarke quay

Hotel price exceeded 1000++ but still available
1. Grand copthorne waterfront hotel
2. Hilton hotel
3. Pan pacific orchard
4. Fairmount Singapore / swissotel the Stamford
5. Marina oriental
6. The regent
7. Intercontinental

Hotel still available below 1k
1. Holiday inn orchard city centre
2. Traders hotel
3. Furama city centre
4. Parkroyal on beach road
5. Parkroyal on Kitchener road
6. York hotel
7. Hotel re!

Hahas. So pathetic only left 7 hotel. Our budget is below 1k. And max 25.

Any comment on traders hotel and parkroyal on beach road?

Furama city centre min table is 30! Hotel re! Is at pearl hill my htb dun like. Holiday inn orchard city centre grandballroom is nice but booked left with a smaller ballroom not very nice. Parkroyal on Kitchener road is the cheapest hotel so far from research but hee...

Jim: I been to traders's hotel before ... there are 2-3 large pillars (v thick) in the ballroom, so may obstruct audience's view. However, they assured me that they have video cam to project the walk-in ceremony onto the LCD screens for the guests. Somehow, HTB & me feel that its weird and eventually drop this out from our list.

Jim: What's wrong with Furama Riverfront? Rather interested to know that 'cos I have attended 3 weddings there and a coming one this September so just wondering.

Anyway have you made a visit to York Hotel? Heard that it's not bad though I have not personally visited it before. So will you consider those 1000++ hotels too? Sorry can't give much feedback on the hotels you want 'cos I have not visited any of them before (missed 2 weddings at Furama City Centre!). Anyway hope you will find your venue soon ya? BTBs here will definitely answer your questions.

Hi kat, becos my HTB's brother held their wedding before. Plus I check with the hotel. Their ballroom all booked! Hahas. The hotel not bad and their package very good also. Free flow beer n wine!! But dun wan same venue with them. Tat why! Hahas. Thanks kat and caihonglim!

Caihonglim I'm not sure how trader ballroom look like but read forum realize their food not bad. Hahas but thanks will strike it off. Cos it's not easily accessible if not driving. I think lah. Hahas

Jim: no prob! Let me give u a quick summary on the hotels that you've listed above to help u (based on ballroom only)

Hotel price exceeded 1000++ but still available

1. Grand copthorne waterfront hotel
> The grand ballroom requires min of 40 tables for wkends (i think) but its super nice!
> The smaller ballroom has 2 pillars at the side (which will obstruct view for certain tables) > Reception area is big & cosy.

2. Hilton hotel
>Grand ballroom shares the same floor as the smaller ballroom.
>Min table requirement is 30 (I think)
> Reception area is quite cramped, as you have to share with the smaller ballroom
> Not sure abt the other ballroom located on lvl 20++

5. Marina oriental
> Ballroom is nice, high ceiling & pillarless with mirrors along the walls.
> Min table is 30-35 (I think)

6. The regent
> 2 pillars at the sides, same case as Grand copthorne waterfront hotel, but the space is spacious!

Maybe can consider those very slightly above 1K?

As for hotels below 1K, I only seen Traders' ballroom, so cant help much ...

Have you tried Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel? Not too sure abt their ballroom & food though.

Jim: Oh... No wonder you not taking Furama Riverfront into consideration 'cos thought the ballroom looks okie and the package is quite attractive also.

Anyway to add on to caihonglim's feedback for her list, my hubby and I have went to Hilton hotel to have a look at the ballrooms, excluding the ballroom at level 24 (if I never remember wrongly).

Anyway there was 2 weddings going on that day for the Grand Ballroom and the Vista Room so we had a first-hand experience of what will happen if this happens.

Firstly there is only one lift lobby shared by both ballrooms if I'm not wrong. So guests might be confused on which reception area to go to. And you wouldn't want to have 2 brides in the same small space!

The reception is shared between the two ballrooms also but I will have to say the Grand Ballroom has a disadvantage of the reception area 'cos it has the escalator taking up 'bout half of the reception area that belongs to it. Zzz. Moreover to separate the guests of both ballrooms, the hotel has used the queue barrier/rope to divide the reception area which I thought doesn't look very nice.

The Vista Room also has a low ceiling if you're considering it for your lesser number of tables 'cos the Grand Ballroom needs a minimum of 30 tables as what caihonglim said. The Grand Ballroom has 2 pillars inside and we saw tables placed behind the pillars so not very view-friendly.

I have read in the Hilton hotel thread 'bout the level 24 ballroom (Panorama Room) which couples usually choose for the outdoor pool. But seems like Hilton hotel is going to renovate that area and have a restaurant outside so the outdoor pool will no longer be accessible for the Panorama Room. And seems like Hilton hotel is renovating soon which a lot of couples are not happy 'cos they were not informed of this before signing the contract but only know recently.

You can read up more I guess. But personally I don't think I will go for Hilton hotel 'cos I don't like to share my space. Haha!

Sorry for this long feedback! :X

Caihonglim, Nicole didn call me..my hubby received call from SG Bridal to inform us instead but didn tell us who is our coordinator. My PS is in Jan..i tot i'm already quite early...but u are faster hehe. Can u share ur photo for me to view after ur album is ready?..hee

Blurkitty, OCC is also quite popular..most important that u like the venue

Jim, Parkroyal on beach rd is 1 of my shortlisted choice, coz i like their food. Attended wedding there few yrs bk, food is good, ballroom is low ceiling, i think there are 2 pillar which might block the view but overall still not bad

U can also try Orchard parade hotel, Peninsula Excelsior hotel, Hotel Royal (newton), River view hotel, RELC Int hotel or other venues like Megu & Asian civilisations museum :D

Michelle - occ is nt bad but still not a hotel status overall but like the big ballroom and the big cocktail area. High ceiling etc.

Whoa, thread is sure moving fast!
Hope Jim can find a hotel of your dream choice! I can't help much cos my budget us much smaller and number of tables is only 12. (: Still wish you all the best!

Any opinions if I should engage a MUA instead of using the one by BS? Haven't gone for the trial, very afraid that if after the trial with BS MUA turns out bad, then I wanna offset to money, they wouldn't allow.

Quite dilemma, cos I need MUA for my mummy's MU too. Any kind suggestions?

Michelle > sure, once I have the pictures ready!
I've already seen some pics from BTBs using SG Bridal in the SG Bridal thread ... v nice! Have you decided on where u wanna go for ur PS?

Sherlyn > Will your PS MUA be the same as the AD MUA? Cuz if the same, you can tell if you like the style or not during PS ... if dont like, maybe can consider to engage a MUA for ur AD?

Sherlyn: You can only offset to money before the trial makeup? Not sure can you ask them 'bout it. But have you read up on the MUA of the BS in their thread? I'm sure there are people with feedbacks on them. Guess from there you can decide.

The day before emailed the M Hotel wedding co-ordinator of ours 'cos he said to email us the details of the contract to confirm before signing. So he apologized for the delay and emailed us the contract details. And to our surprise, he mentioned he has extended additional perks to us and it's added into the contract!

So honestly my hubby and I are like so happy now that we got to save more money. Hahaha!

Hey Cherry! Not very convenient to say 'cos the co-ordinator said before not to tell others when we signed for the package and some simple perks were given. Let's just say we saved some money from there!

Caihonglim, i've invited u to join SG Bridal group in FB..can view some photos there & Kevin will update his new work here: http://sgbridalhouse.blogspot.com/
Mostly i'll take in sg & jb..botanic garden, the place i had my rom..& may be jb turf club but need to pay.

Anyone has idea of any places that i can take PS with horses..turf club, riders cafe..?

Sherlyn, is Cangai mua from taiwan or local? If the mua is taiwanese, usually their style shld be quite nice, may be different from local style, like Dana...hehe.