(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

Oh Kat , sure i understand. hahahz I just curious la. haha. No problem if it not convenient to say .

Hey MC ! hahahz.. I have the same thinking as u . I also wanna to take pic with horses ! hee . I am asking my friends, whether know anyone who own horses. hahahz.. Cos going Turf club doesnt mean u will have the chance to take pics with horses. It really depend on luck ..

Cherry, are u thinking of the horses & carriage hehe...our fairytale theme! I know taiwan BS, can even bring horses to beach for PS..so romantic!
I'm tot of checking out riders cafe area where the horses are..or ask my cousin's hubby who owns a cafe, think they own horse too =)

MC > thanks for the invite
Joined! For SG Bridal, you need to pay add RM300 to go turf club. Cuz I gg Desaru & SG, so I cant take Turf Club unless I replace one location due to the distance.

Caihonglim, u are welcome
I think RM300 is exp, hopefully there are more places to go in Jb for PS next yr. I think Desaru is worth it, no extra cost, more places to shoot & 1 more set of gown & coat to change.

Hey MC ! Yeah I am thinking of our fairy tale theme
hee . Yes I love horses , it will b great if u can have a horse . If not nvm , I will ask my PG to design 1 pic of v dreamy pic of me with unicorn . Hee
saw his work before super
Love it

Cherry Chirpy: I saw one BTB's blog that she went to the zoo to take photos with horses.. apparently they have those horse carriage rides.. very princessy.. But not too sure about their photo taking policy.. U can check it out!

I also saw 1 btb's blog with carriage, think its at botanic garden.. wish i can take with horse & carriage too
Cherry, if we managed to find 1 in s'pore...let each other know k? =)

wah this thread is movin super fast!!

jim-> my fren used douglas fun and she hates him la.. maybe he was troubled on tt day or somethin.. he needs to be prompted to tk pics.. doesnt mingle with the jiemeis / brothers
my fren was disappointed utterly considerin the huge cheque she has to sign for him..

Hi Lydia. Really? I'm not using him anyway. Dun worry. Hahas their charges is super duper expensive I think. Hahas. But just that there's alot of photo of gate crash AD dinner and get to see brides gown in the website! For information. Actually I encounter such unfriendly photographer at one of my friend wedding too. Ask him take photo he say no need to take all the same photos journalist photographer Tend to have this kind of weird attitudes !

Dear everyone, I am in the midst of finalising some of the terms with the hotel co-ordinator before signing the agreement. Need some tips. The hotel offered me 70% of invitation cards(exclude printing). Should I negotiate more ???
Complimentary self-parking for 30% of guests.Is that enough or should I negotiate more as well? Pls advise as I understand once I sign the agreement, I can't negotiate more.
Thanks a lot

Hi joy ! Which hotel u r considering ?
I find that 70% of invitation cards n 30% of complementary carpark is good enough .
Mine perks are e same as u.
my hotel are easily accessed by mrt. Most hotels only 20% for carkparks .

Joy79: How many guest u have for ur wedding banquet? If let assume u have 300 guest, 70% invitation card is 210cards and 30% complimentary carpark coupon is about 90! That should be enough I think!

Perhaps you can ask for perks like additional night stay at the bridal suite, any canapé at the reception cos most hotel only provide nuts n drinks only. Free flow of beer n wine? Etc etc..

Joy79 when's ur AD? R u oct 2011 btb?

It's been some time since I posted! And it seems like the number of posts has decreased here? Hehez. Hope everyone is doing fine!

Hey joy79, my package also includes 70% invitation cards and I only got 20% carparks only. Hehez. I guess should be good enough? I didn't bargain on that portion 'cos didn't bother to bargain for this not knowing the certain number that we might need.

Usually perks to ask for are like what Jim has suggested, free flow beer and wine and if not, ask for waiver of wine corkage. Additional stay in bridal suite or extension of helper's room to a night's stay instead of the few hours? We didn't really bargain 'cos quite satisfied with our package. Hehez.

Hope you will be able to finalize the details soon!

On a sidenote, we just got our hotel package contract mailed to my hubby! Gonna sign and return to the hotel co-ordinator soon! And it seems like life without much homework to do for AD is a bit boring now. Haha!

Thanks for all your advice. I am considering Fullerton. AD 2nd Oct 2011. Hmm...don't think my guests drink lots of wine I may not need free flow of beer n wine.
Need some advice about MUA. Do we need to book MUA more than 1 year ahead? As I have not signed the hotel package contract yet, I was thinking no need to book or look for MUA so soon?

joy79: Are you signing with any bridal studio 'cos if you are then I think you can ask them. If not, it's always better to book earlier of 'cos. 'Cos like for my case, I booked Dana way earlier so she's charging me for last year's price instead of the new price.

If you're interested in any MUA, why not ask them 'bout their availability and price first? Then ask when are they increasing their price. In that way I'm sure you can make a better judgement.

Hihi, I have just finalised and made my booking of wedding venue today after 3 days of negotiation. At first thot of getting Traders Hotel but their suite is rather disappointing.

22 Oct 2011, Bridestobe
Venue: Hotel Re!
PG: TBA
VG: TBA
BS: Bridal Concept

hihi cheri congrats on gettin ur venue boooooked!

my sis jus spent her anni. stay at hotel RE!
she totalli likes the hotel la.. i've seen the ballroom in magazines it looked pillarless n broad!

u mus have a very gd deal wif em! cos they promotin lk siao! even at my home's bus stop in hougang

Hey Cheri congrats !
I have checked out Hotel Re website , look super nice esp the suite !
Envy u ! hee

They have a plunge pool in the room ? sooo good !! hee . u are another 22 Oct btb .
We have quite a numbers here.

BTW, ladies anyone here gg to do a cheongsam ?

BTW, Kat I have called up Ted collection to ask for their tailor maded Cheongsam price. I wanna faint .. they charge at least 600 plus onwards.. sooo ex..

Congrat Cheri! It's very hard to find wedding Venue on 22 Oct next year! I still haven confirm my banquet venue yet. After so long! Hahas. Welcome and congrat!

Anyone know the cost of hiring photographer on AD? Their charges range? Any good recommendation?

Jim ! It really depend on your budget . It can be as cheap as 1K++ to the range of $4k ++ . For mine, my AD PG costs me bout $2.7k including a coffee album table + Free 300 pcs of 4R size comes in a ablum too. I got quite a good deal cos it was having a promotion when I was looking for a AD PG that time.

It important to find PG who works well VG before, cos they will know each other working syle & most importantly that they must have great chemistry that your videograghy n photographs will look very nice !

Cheri: Congratulations dear! And welcome to the Oct 2011 BTB thread! We have the same date for our AD! Hehez. 22nd Oct sure is another hot date for all the BTBs here.

Cherry: Hey, think the individual price at Ted Collection is expected to be more expensive than their package price. Hehez. Since they specialize in tailoring cheong sum, of 'cos you can be assured they will make a lovely one for you.

Otherwise I'm sure there are other alternatives out there! Don't be dishearten ya?

Jim: Like what Cherry said, it depends on your budget since there are a lot of photographers out there who just started out and looking to have more portfolio so will charge cheaper. There are also really more professional ones who have a lot of awards under their name and will charge more. So I guess besides the money consideration, it's important that you like what they present to you in their portfolio and of 'cos being able to communicate well so they can capture the best moments for you.

For mine, I came back a Malaysian photographer's portfolio accidentally when my friend is looking for ideas to night-shots, and she is currently located in Selangor. I feel in love with all her photos in her blog and after checking out her price, decided to go for her. Of 'cos there's the travelling and all but both my hubby and I thought it's worth it 'cos she's really fun and lovely and we can communicate well with her! And of 'cos I like the fact that she's a lady. Haha!

There are many choices out there, I guess you need to come up with a budget first before we can give you some ideas? Alternatively, can look at Clubsnap in the wedding section for more portfolios. Not forgetting the photography section in SgBrides.

Sherlyn: Doubt I will be going. Nothing to check out now. Hahaha! Somehow feel so empty doing nothing now. Hehez.

Thanks kat and cherry!

Actually my htb got a photographer friend. His charges is just 1k ++ only. I saw the photo he took there's some problem which I dun really like.

My fren told me if u pick a photographer rmb to see the corner of the photo. If the corner of pic the things curved and enlarge that is not a good photo.

I saw his portfolio most of the photo got this problem. The arm of the last person become so big or the face become curve.

I'm not sure is photographer skill or the camera probs. Hahas.

But I envy all the Btb who got high budget. Hahas. I'm a poor bride! My htb and me have just work for two years plus only. And I thought just go for honeymoon and rom do without all the tradition banquet n stuff. But hor my bf got 'uncle' mindset no banquet consider not married yet. Hahas I say him uncle becos he just 22. Cannot stop laughing at him!!

hey kat ! Yeah , I have went to this Max Couture, and the charge for the cheongsam is bout $500 for a short one. I love his work .. but I think I will also check out Ted Collection and do a comparsion . I want a lovely sexy cheongsam for my tea ceremony . hehe so determined to get one. hee

Hey Jim ! Wow.. u sooo young ! so jealous of your age ! How I wish I am still early 20+ lor.. I am coming 28 soon .. sighz soo sad.

My fiance has also just worked for 2 years+ .. hahahz.. when there is a will , there is a way to still have a grand wedding !
hee

Mm I am not sure bout the photographs that you are saying , for my case, I like my AD PG style cos he capture the emotions and yeah we really enjoy talking to him , very friendly & nice.

Jim, are you going to have any Videography ?

Hey Sherlyn, May i ask what is BOW ?? I am trying to figure out ..

Jim: Oh... Have no idea 'bout the corner of the photo thing but mainly just love the work of my photographer and of 'cos great communication with her so we decided on her.

Anyway my hubby and I also worked for 3 years, not too far from your 2+ years. Hehez. Somemore with a flat coming up next year, we also trying to budget out wedding. We don't really have a high budget also. Hehez. Just make full use of the budget you have, I'm sure will be able to have a grand wedding still.

Cherry: Me too! I'm thinking of sexy cheongsum also. Hahaha! My mum said don't reveal so much but I'm not gonna care. Once in a lifetime thing so I don't really want to compromise on that! Hehez.

No sad on the age! I'm going 26 this year, also around your age oh. Hehez. Doesn't matter the age! Just be a happy bride!

Hi Cherry no sad no sad! Its doesn't really matter the age! Hahas. Just like what Kat said!

We plan to settle down early becos we plan to have dragon babies on 2012! Funny. Three dragons!! Hahas.

Cheongsam. Both of u kat and cherry choose to wear cheongsam? Oh i once read a btb blog and she recommend a tailor expert in cheongsam. I go search for info. Since u all give me so much advice. I wanna help u girls too!

Thanks Kat & Jim !
I am ok la.. just grumbling .. hahahaz.. but I am lucky in a sense that I don't look like my age. hee

BTW Kat, I have made an appointment with Ted Collection this sat to see their works on cheongsam . After that, I will decide which shops I want to go to make my cheongsam. hee.

Jim: That's fast in planning! Hehez. Three somemore. Amazing. Haha!

Anyway no problem on giving advice 'cos we are all here to share. Hehez. Anyway Ted Collection will be tailoring cheongsam for me since I took their package.

Cherry: Have fun at Ted Collection! I love the people there when I last went for my appointment. I met up with Yap and Alice during then. Don was overseas on that day. But be ready to receive their very straight-forward comments 'cos sometimes the way they say things can be really direct.

Anyway I came by this website that specialize in cheongsam also >> http://mazzario.blogspot.com/. Maybe you can consider checking it out or find out more feedback on them? Hehez.

hey kat ! Thanks !
I have came across this website before but I don't like their style .

Yeah , I will mentally prepared myself when I go Ted collection. U said till a bit scary.. hahaz.. anyway , I might not take them . Just see see look look so that I have more options.
So far, I really love Max courture works.

Hahas. Cherry That tailor thats I say earlier I found his name Wilson and he's from Max couture. Lols. He's quite famous but his charges is high becos he use high end material for CS.

Hi All, thanks for welcoming me here.
I was so worried if my decision Hotel Re! is it correct or not cos they somehow not those well known hotels. But after seeing the comments and feedback, seem I have made a right choice and is still within our budget..

Has anyone start looking for AD photographer & Videographer? My best fren intro me www.2ofusphotography.com, I saw their works are not bad. Quite like it..

Cherry: Not scaring you lah. Hahaha! Prepared 'cos not everyone likes people who are straight-forward. They are really funny people, no worries!

Cheri: Hotel Re! is actually quite new right? So I guess if feedbacks and all are good, just go ahead with it and don't be worried anymore!

Hey Jim! Same taste . Haha . Yeah max couture definely will be one of my choices
hey kat , ok noted
hey Cheri , yes some of us here have already settled our actual day photography n videography .
but some are looking around too .
u can take a look at our list .

BOWS is a outdoor wedding showcase by Blissful Brides.

www.bows.sg

I might not be going too, very tempted to go see wedding cakes by Pine Garden. But the thought of going there and having to be touted by the people are really scary. (:

Hi Cheri, I'm also in the process of selecting photographer and videographer. So far, we have also shortlisted 2ofusphotography. We like their photography style... seems not bad from their portfolio...

Hi Cheri_Evo i saw your posting at master tong thread asking for auspicious date for wedding. He say that day clash with dragon and advised you not to have key person to be zodiac dragron! I going to have same wedding date as u, my bf and me is dragon so that means we clash? Not sure how ppl read and say date that's good and bad. Just be a happy bride more important!!

Erm wanna ask brides in this forum who actually go pick a date based on calculating ba zi or etc for your wedding?

Jim: I consulted with Master Tong for my wedding date also. We got ours calculated with Ba Zi. Dragon will clash on that day meaning people with zodiac sign of dragon cannot be there to see the bride or groom before they stepped into the house. So which means if got jiemei's zodiac is dragon, that person cannot be a jiemei anymore. As simple as that. Once they stepped in, they can come out I think.

Anyway if you don't believe in calculating and if you didn't have your date calculated, then I think you shouldn't worry yourself with this.

heyhey!
i didnt consult anyone/thing but my MIL did check if the dates didnt clash wif anyone and is the mos harmonious.. hence 01oct

but im pretty curious.. if suc a gd date hw cum here gt no 01oct bride xcept mi? haha!!

for my da jie weddin im told to lock myself in the rm and avoid lookin at my da jie the moment i wake up!
duh................................ wu liao big time

Hey Lydia, 'cos there are 12 zodiac signs so unless everyone is the same, there is always bound to be conflicts.

Anyway for you it's only between you and your sister, for my mother that time when she got married, my grandmother was not even allowed to send her off or comb her hair 'cos she clashed with her for that day. Don't know how their shifu then calculate the date one. Total crappy. Haha! So it was only when my mother was leaving the house, my grandmother was actually only able to look at her back. Really zzz.

hey !

Mine is must avoid rat & tiger !
I also went for the calulation and got my date & timing . hee

My mum belongs to zodiac rat so when th e groom steps onto the house, she must hid for the inital 5 sec , just cannot see him step into e house can already. hehe..

Hey Lydia , u not alone ! My date also no taken leh !
I am the only bride on 23 Oct 2010 !

I have called to my Hotel to change date to 8th Oct, since tat day is crash Dragon.. So I tink better not to take the risk..

8th Oct is another popular date in Oct..high five, i'm 1 of them

For those who have not confirmed the venue / BS/ PG / VG, its good to go BOWS to take a look...i think it's 1 of the best wedding event. I've signed up my PG+VG at BOW in feb & got to know about Amara banquet promo from there too

Hey kat! I have went to Ted collection today . Yap has served me and he still have a deep impression of u !
cos u are wearing a long dress when u meet him last week?
anyway, I might consider engaging him to do my Cheong Sam , they shown me many different designs ! N I love one of the design s so much cos v unique . Mmm but it ex $900 bucks .

Hey Cherry! Haha! What did Yap said to you? I didn't know I left such a impression on him. And yes, I was wearing long dress that day. Hehe. But I went on the 17th of July! Which means that's like reaaaaaally long ago. Haha!

Anyway that's good to hear. Hehez. That time you also considering Max Couture right? So I guess now you will have to do the comparison and see which you love!

Hey kat ! Yeah yap had a deep impression of u !
cos he even ask me if u r from IT ! Cos. He ask me how come I know bout them, I said from forum n one of my forum friend uses Ted collection for her bridal package ! N I told them u dropped by recently so yeah they remember u n your hubby ! They ask me if your hubby also in IT , I went huh . I dunno cos I only know u thru forum ! Haha . They are nice la
but I should not be tailoring my cheongsam anymore . Cos yesterday, after I went down Ted collection , I have e urge to see if my bridal shop have nice cheongsam collection . If not
, I will made appointment with yap to make downpayment ! So I just give a call to my bridal shop n ask if I can went down yesterday to take a look at the tea dresses n cheongsam ! My bridal room ppl is nice n accommodating , they shown me the tea dresses without hesitation n very nice n patience ! I must say that I'm impressed with the cheongsam n tea dresses I have seen ! Soo happy that I have chosen My bridal room as my choice ! Everytime I went there , the experience is sooo wonderful ! Even my fiancé also v pleased with them .
so I'm going to save the 900 bucks for my Mum's dress n make up ! Hee Hey thesepthia ! Welcome back ! How's e trip ?