(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

melody_fav

Vivi: dun think tat way.. I also anyhow mix n match..I learnt Fr website n YouTube too.. Try it if u keen try then will know ma if u got time

cavs

Hi lovebliss, the corsages n buttonnieres r v nice. Did u go for any class? I hope to diy the corsages too but still racking my brain. Do u have a specific theme in mind for Ur wedding?

Girls, thanks for your tips earlier on! I did some bs shopping over the weekend and am glad Htb n I visited those shortlisted ones only cuz it's so tiring! So far I have v good vibes abt GHA but will b checking out divine couture n blue bay (both have moved n r not open till later date) before I decide.
btw, would like to ask u girls if u tried on their gowns when u were shopping for packages?

cherrypudding

ello Oct 2011 btbs,

i fall into the group too! pretty new here so manuvering around

my wedding is on 15 oct 2011 at conrad singapore. my fh and i are doing our prep work like most of u. haven't done much concrete at the moment to be honest but we plan to do some diy like cocktail reception, wrist corsages for jie meis and some wedding stationeries.

any btb booking conrad for their venue?

looking forward to sharing things here.

melody_fav

cavs: no i explore myself by surf the web to get ideas n youtube to see and learn and do along the way lo..
ya in mind have some colour theme lo n i will check with the hotel to send me the pics of the theme deco so i can draft the ideas and make the stuffs (ang bao box, wrist corsage and stationery and stuffs to match the deco of the ballrm n and receptions..

GHA @ yishun? ya divine couture very nice n sexy but the price definitely on the high side and photography not included in the price.

Yes.. i tried the gowns.. u have to try to see n get the feel of it. for me i signed up with Fame bridal @ yishun for a few reasons: frens n colleagues signed with them, quite a gd price for comprehensive package, gowns i still quite ok for me to accept.. n most most impt nearby cos judge tat at least u have to go there many times thru out the whole wedding prep.. =)

junebug

I am an Oct'11 bride too! Signed up with white link last year due to impulse as well. Recently just signed up with Furama riverfront for AD venue.

Anyone has reviews about them? ^^

cherry_chripy

hey Cavs & Candy ! Welcome to Oct 2011 BTBs.
wah it been a long time since I really log on to chat here. Good to see so many new BTBs.

Well Cavs, it will be good for you to try on the gowns when you go for bridal boutique shoppings to see whether you like the gowns.
Seeing the gowns & wearing the gowns are 2 different things.
Personally ,I have went to bout 15- 16 shops before I confirm on my bridal shop. hehe. I have been to Divine before ,their gowns are sexy but doesnt suit me cos no support .

piggeekgirl

Hey! Welcome all new Oct 2011 BTBs! October 2011 sure is a hot month next year seeing more and more BTBs are joining this thread.

Candy: My BIL's wedding is at Furama Riverfront. Having been there for 2 weddings previously and my BIL's wedding being the third, I must say I enjoy the third one most though it's also the only wedding that I didn't get to eat a lot considering we were at the VIP table and we still got to move around a lot. I prefer my BIL's wedding 'cos the layout is horizontal instead of the previous 2 in which I attended and the layout is vertically. Meaning guests sitting all the way at the back can't see the stage and hear much esp. when the live band was really loud. Food wise can't comment much but the fish was really not fresh on that day. Most of the guests during that day were complaining. My BIL said during food tasting was alright so probably you got to take note of that. Also they had their own real cake and they thought they were serving to the guests after 2nd dish, but probably mis-communication so it was only served after dessert, when most people were already leaving/left. So one thing to note also if you're having your own cake for guests.

Other than these hiccups, most things were fine. Service wise was alright since we got a very enthusiastic auntie serving our table and kept asking us to eat more. Haha! The solemnization went well too. I am giving reviews according to the most recent wedding. For the previous 2 weddings, sound system was not that good so probably got to do a good test on it before your wedding dinner starts.

Hope that helps some!

confusex

Cherry Chirpy : How did u manage to go shop around 15-16 without being force to place deposit? Mostly I will get pull into the shop the next thing is card out to place deposit...

cherrypudding

haha.. me too Amy! Cherry chirpy: u must be quite determined and focused! i was at the suntec bridal fair and already got 'washed-brain' at the 2nd booth. :p in the end i signed up with bridal concept. i wished i had done more prep work though. oh well.

any btbs with bridal concept?

queenie82

Ello, Cherrypudding and Candy!

Candy: which ballroom you took? I went to my cuzzie's wedding @ furama riverfront this June and i tot that the venus she took was not tat good~ hers is the one next to the poolside... and there were blockage to the stage.. also the red carpet was not properly laid, alot of guests tripped and nearly fell (me being one of them)....but food was not bad though~~

Cherrypudding: at least u managed to see 2~ both me and hubz were brainwashed by the 1st person that approached us during NATAS fair~~~~

cherrypudding

heyyy michi, how do u update and save the spreadsheet back? i've entered the details already but dunno if i've saved it correctly, can u pls help me to check. sori huh, abit kuku.. hahaha..

@ queenie.. wahha.. u power leh.. fh and i was determined not to get pulled by the first one.. but we barely made it down the booth rows when we got sucked into by the 2nd booth. shake head.. nvm la.. hope things go smoothly.. and we get value for wat we paid!
oh ya, i'm so afraid i end up buying a lot of photos and topping up, i heard lots of horror stories about that.lol

cherry_chripy

hey ladies ! mmm.. well of course they have their usual sales pitch after you tried on the gowns and everything . But I was still not satisfied, sometime I might be pleased with the gowns but not happy with their prewedding shots etc . Sometime service is good, but just dont like their gowns. Sometime, I feel that there are too many hidden costs or I just feel not confident of their services . Mm normally the 1 stop service is much more pushy , but those high end boutique like Divine & Ted Wu, they do not hardsell.
They let you try and ask you go back think bout it .
After going around so many bridal shops, I have signed up with My Bridal Room . Cos I was impressed with everything from their service, to gowns to photography . They are not pushy at all, they even ask me to go back think bout it and look at others bridal shops before I made a decision. I was surprised & impressed by their warm excellent service. So I am a happy BTB with My Bridal Room.

queenie82

cherrypudding: lol~ that's wat i'm afraid too~~ i'm determined to juz spend another 1k max for extra photos, coz my package consist of 30 photos and according to past experiences of frens, 40 would be just nice for a decent album~~ so i told hubz that i will onli bring SGD 1k to taiwan for the pics~~~~~

Cherry chirpy: i'm still looking for ad package in sg~ how's the gowns at MBR? i heard lotsa raves for their service.. but i'm onli taking AD package.. afraid that it's going to be ex~~~

cherry_chripy

hey Queen Queen, I believe that My Bridal Room has AD package only . Mm.. You can call Uncle Quek to make an appointment to have no Obligation discussion. No worries, they are not pushy at all . If he ask who recommend, you can said my name. anyway, 1 tip of advice, always observe the surroundings when you visit any bridal shops , be it negotation or trying their gowns. Look at the customers there, are they happy customers or their faces are in black ? It very clear cut le. hahahaz. Normally, when bridal shops trying to get your business, their service will be very good, but once you sign with them, it might be anothr story . so 1 good way to ensure that their service is really good, look at their customers's expression while you at the shop. hee .

pocarisweat

Welcome all new Oct'11 Btbs!

Queen Queen: you are gg Tw! Same here! Do share your experience k.. I am only gg in mid-June. Book the tw bs on a impulse .. Wasn't even looking and went to Natas fair in feb to source tix for my jpn trip, kena stop by a tw bs and sign on the day. Htb liked the scenery, didn't even negotiate much and decided to pay for the package.. in full ...sigh~ man ~
Now taking my time to research and recee AD gowns too ..

X Chua: I am also with Conrad too~ Welcome to the thread!

melody_fav

Queenie: spent another 1K max for extra photo might nt be possible.. they will offer u a price to get more pics n get back all the softcopy.. tats wat happened to me too.. initially i have the same tot.. end up i spent more than 1K but get alot more n the softcopy.. overall nt bad.. but u have to be super firm n determine to overcome their temptation n pyscho lo..

gals: im clearing some handmade stuffs i created that can you gals might want to get for as xmas gifts for your frens ( wink).. if u gals keen, let me know / PM me bah.. left limited pieces too. =) wink..

pocarisweat

How was ur photo selection lovebliss? Must be fun yah!

How many photos was in ur initial package and how many did you top up? My frd top up her package with my dream wedding and got 100 photos for her album. But very ex! Think she spent ~10K in total

melody_fav

ya quite ok and infact tiring.. i spent almost 4+ hrs lo.. before i go i alr know wats the cap and my overall budget for everything.. so i choose very carefully.. they also clever to categorise various series, n expect u to select fr each series lo..I filter 1 round then throw to my HTB to filter again, then we filter 1 more round together.. but end up still select abt 50+ fr 160+ pics.. yes.. i very firm n determined that i dun wan to top up etc even hw much she trying to offer me.. lol.. i rejected twice of her offer price.. n head shaked very hard too.. No means no.. and i tell her upfront tat i still can filter somemore lo.. i dun need alot cos most impt is best of the best.. she nearly 'faint' lo n give up n give me the last offer..she also teased me tat i very calculative..my HTB added, ofc tats gd ma.. think of my wallet,, then i tell her, ofc la.. tats what my HTB like me and stick with me wat... lol.. n we all laughed..

i din wan to spend too much mah.. cos end of the day, we sure keep in the wardrobe mah.. so must be practical n realistic..

I was given 33 pics, i top up til 65 n get all the softcopies back at a price tat she offer me.. (sorry arh, i think nt appropriate for me to post the amt here, pm me bah).. overall i pay less than 5K for my bridal package include photos n also photo layout montage..

confusex

Queenie : when u going n which TW shop u sign? I book my date for PS on next year 30/04.. So worried might not have enough time..

Lovebliss : guess I need to learn from u to be firm n control .. Haha I m bad at this

melody_fav

amy: well cos i think of $ and budge first mah..lol.. depends on wat u seek for.. PS is jus for memory sake mah.. its the marriage tat both gg to maintain.. priortise lo =)

queenie82

vivi: i had in mind to go overseas for photoshoot~ then my guy just say anything anything~ so brought him down and he got blew away with the scenery~ walked away 1.2k poorer~~ lol

lovebliss: lol~ be determined~ i've got frens who spent a bomb to get back all the soft copies and ended up with 2 albums~ i also got friends who did not spend a single cent to top up at all~~ not that i'm that determined~ just hoping not to spend out of budget~~~

amy: i signed with Ivy Brides and going over on 10 Apr next year~~ will transit hkg for 2 days for makan~~

melody_fav

erm ok la.. i still can accept tat topup price, inview of the relationship with the them.. n overall nt bad la..the price still within budget.. some pple topup even more lo..

cherrypudding

haha.. lovebliss: i'm so gonna pm u on hw much u top up lo. i'm not a very firm person, so sure kanna pyscho when it comes to topping up..and somemore my coordinator is quite nice leh.. dunno if she will turn black face and be another person if i dun top up. hahhaa.. but yes, i agree PS is for memory sake, maybe chuck into storeroom in a few years time.. so will be firm!! lol

@michi - thanks for helping me to update the spreadsheet. :D

@vivi: ^5! when's ur date?

pocarisweat

queen queen: april shld hv sakura in tw ya! nice!
amy: which bs u book?
dun worry, u aren't the latest.. i m gg only mid june~
x chua: mine is 30th oct!
although i never attend any weddings @ conrad b4, but when i step into the hotel, got feeeling abt the atmosphere n read gd reviews abt them ..* fingers crossed* my second choice was oriental as i heart the themes and attended many weddings b4.. their food is yummmilicious~ y did u choose conrad? i wish they got more themes.. oh well, will juz spend some effort to dress it up a little

cherrypudding

heyy vivi.. same! i realy like the feel when i went in..and that they only have 1 ballroom, so it feels exclusive. the foyer for cocktail reception is nice yea ?
my coordinator is catheryn. what about u? mine's on 15th oct..i'll give u some feedback if i can. lol.

oh yea, heard about their themes too.. nvm, we are the modern age brides, i'm sure alot of us here are 'personalising' our stuff.

cherrypudding

hahhaa.. yes, i'm planning yellow for daytime and will pay for them provided they are willing la. they dun seem to like yellow too much. keke.. but they have to pay me a $1 la.. i pang-tang about buying shoes for ppl.. :p

confusex

Vivi : BlueBay
is the bridal shop I sign my package

Chua : actually u be surprise yellow will be a nice colour when u see the photos..

meteor_starry

yes...kind of think yellow looks vibrant..

Any brides customizing cheongsam for tea dress or evening gown? Somehow some bridal studios have limited cheongsam selection.

pocarisweat

Amy: icic .. bluebay .. r u taking up their AD package as well ..

carebearz: ted collection CS is good .. my colleague had a very nice cs for her wedding ..

melody_fav

Anyone keen to have this foam rose bouquet of 20 stalks. i have one to letgo. Can recycle to make into corsages after the PS. =)

Measurement = abt 12 inches bah..

1575454.jpg

Keen, PM me

confusex

ViVi: Yes , i am taking their AD too

I am lazy to find alternative also will scare the make up will differ from the Taiwan one.. which they assure the one they use is done according to their Taiwan style hahha

cherrypudding

thanks gals. yea, i think yellow is vibrant too and i sorta have my bouquet in mind le. yellow and orange flowers! i scare my mum oppose to yellow (reminds of ju hua). :p

hey lovebliss - did u make it? u super good at diy leh.. envy envy* it's nice!! a big part of me is procastinating to do diy stuff too. hopefully i dun end up like nato (no action, talk only!) keke.

@vivi - my jie meis are my besties ma.. somemore if i really make them wear yellow heels, i think i opt to pay la.

@

melody_fav

X Chua; no la the roses are those ready made kind .. I jus arranged in a way that looks like a bouquet Tats all Keke...
Made 1 for my ps lo.. At least the album got various bouquets Hee..
Jus a reminder to u gals, bring ur own ampoules to save more cost.. I brought mine so end up I only pay for the lashes.. Initially I wanted to buy the lashes myself but then scared later they still charge me n at the same time spending even more.. I'm super calculating on tat.. Oops

xinrou

Oh.. Speaking abt ampules for make up, where did u get urs love bliss? Any good recommendations? My ROM is happening next mth thou AD is next year's Oct 11. I would need one.. Feeling excited n anxious at the same time w all the upcoming preparations.. It's like a mini-wedding event leading up to our AD next year..

melody_fav

I bought online fr beauty aurora lei.. Usually they used the hydrating ampoules for the makeup.. Even daily use also can.. Hee .. Imust buy in 10s vital lo..

queenie82

Cherrypudding: I have in mind to have a yellow/orangey cum purple theme
Lurve yellow and purple~~

Xinrou/qi: I also buy from Beauty Aurora~~ but i tot MUA uses beauty lifting for bridal makeup to stay?? hmmmmm~~~

xinrou

Thanks ladies for the recommendation.. Sounds good.. My BS offers ampule at $35 each.. Which I feel it's too ex for one ampule..