(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

queenie82

Joos: see~~ all of us are rooting for u! honestly, if he/she is a true fren of yours, they would be happy that you are tying the knot~ who cares about ceiling height? the main leads are the groom and bride~

pocarisweat

Min: Yours are one degree 15 arh .. juz attended a wedding lunch in October. Nice & cozy ...

melody_fav

mine also nt high ceiling too.. 3m high only.. dun worry la.. the centre of attraction is you n ur hubby mah... cheer up n be happy...

ur guest are there to share ur happiness and give ur blessing n not to count or evaluate the height / grandness of ur ballroom... lol =)

@Joos: Thanks for the confirmation. Reviews was that the coordinators are sloppy and one of them actually sold someone's AD WG to a foreigner about few weeks before the AD and ask the person to rechoose... Also is some MUA the makeup too thick lah blah blah blah..
I think all these might happen to other Bridal Studio too but just hope mine will go smoothly... =)

joos

Hahahahahahah!!! All of your are so funny!! I cant help laughing at the screen when I read your replies!! I feel so much better now!!!! Thanks!!! hahahahahhahaha

melody_fav

Vivi: I took PS early becos end of this mth i start my course liao so no choice take earlier anyway no harm taking early.. my AD gowns n album gowns will be different =) wink.. and becos next yr got to handle reno, work n sch work so early planning is gd.. clear those misc first mah.. =) lol..

i got post some self taken one in fb.. add me lo =)

meteor_starry

ha...Joos, you do not like MM, but I simply love MM.....I was on the verge of changing my wedding date just so that I can take MM the other time, and I even wanted to compromise and take a weekday as my initial date was tentatively booked by another couple....so cheer up, it's a really nice venue =)

And I let my wedding coordinator take a look at other venues and she kept telling me to take MM, and she even took many pictures to convince me to take MM, only to hear me telling her that I have already placed the deposit when the couple decided to give up the venue, so even if not for her trying to convince me, deep inside me, I only wanted MM.....try giving MM a chance to prove to u it can be an "ideal" venue afterall

cavs

Hi girls I'm gonna go look for my bs this weekend. Should I go n comb tras street? Or shod I just go to selected few?

queenie82

Hi Cavs,

Depending on self.. both me and hubz are not into 'window' shopping~ meaning.. dun like to shop without an aim~ so i comb the street.. before visiting, i would have done research... so when i go down, satisfied and i will pay deposit on the spot liao~~~ most guys dun have the patience to go in and out of shopss (esp my hubz)....

cavs

What if they r diff locations? Do u girls recommend me to cover in one day? I am considering emmanuel b couture, la belle, Amanda lee weddings, blue bay n sillouhette. Will it b tiring based on your exp?

Btw girls, I was reading through the archives n read that there is an fb group for us. how do I join the fb group? I cannot seem to find it on fb.

cavs

Hi Dora, r their packages affordable? It seems v ex. U mind sharing the package? I pm u my email address if u r ok.

lyn_sg

dora: sorry for the late reply. Mine will be ready in 2013.

The couple in before me confirmed the date.I got no hotel now. So decided to go for lunch instead. There's still quite a lot of places for lunch. But think tea ceremony will be super rush but no choice.

I am not in Singapore so it's so hard to book venue. By the time i get back to them, all dates gone sigh. Now i think i need to call long distance to iron all these out. And it's exam period and i got no time. =(

meteor_starry

Hi Joos : MM was the first hotel I started my "Shopping spree" of hotels as early as March, and it gave me the "cosy" feeling when I first went there. Then, I liked the romantic atmosphere at the hotel main lobby, as you sit there, you feel really "wow" this is a 5 star hotel indeed. Comparing both grand ballroom and Vanda ballroom, yes, true, the ceilings for both are pretty low and march in is short, but nevertheless, this did not really compromise on the overall ambience, and everyone is assured full view of the couple. When I told my PS and VG I wanted live feed, they were like...hey it's MM, why do you need live feed when everyone can see you so clearly.

And I have personally tried the food, and every dish was just so good. And I liked the fact that we can choose across menus, and I just like all the things the hotel coordinator arranged for me, even without me asking.

I have been to several other hotels when I could not find the right venue, and I have seen several other hotels will high ceilings etc, but I only had the right kind of feel towards MM, not sure why.....maybe subconsciously I just liked MM for whatever reasons....And I sent my wedding planner to scout two hotels and she came back telling me MM was just the perfect venue....

I guess everyone has a perfect venue in their mind....if you go through the entire MM's thread you may understand the pros and cons of it better? And like other btbs say, there must be a reason why you placed the deposit...try to think of it that way. But if you really cannot convince yourself that MM is just the hotel you wish to hold your banquet, then by all means forfeit the deposit, if budget allows u, since wedding is once in a lifetime, you probably do not wish to live in regret!! haha...so evil!!

melody_fav

Cavs: I select by the locations cos I anticipated that for the whole process at least got to go to the bs 10 times so I choose neighbourhood area n budget n gd deal via recommendations get better referral rates n perks.. Afterall it's quite a gd n reasonable one.. Most impt u mus comfortable with wat they provided n the service!
Happy shopping for ur bs..

kittydora

Lynn: mayb u should assign a close fren to liaise with hotel booking n arrangement. These days need to book hotels way early 1.5yr before wedding. When r u returning to sg? can start sourcing for bs quotes

lokiewedslydia

wah diy sia..!

hehe.. im nt doin anythin cos i noe i wld be too fussy abt everythin and dun allow anyone to help mi.. den i wld be a grumpy bride who worry too muc abt small details hehe!!

hence my htb say i cannot diy anythin hehe..
so i usin watever the hotel provides! hehe..

share pics of ur creation oki girls!

lovebirds

lovebliss & cavs: DIY is fun!~ I'll be doing my own pearls and crystals bridal bouquet and matching corsages, Ang Bao box and ring bowl.

cavs

Liz: yes! We cant wait to start our DIY. HTB is more excited than me.. haha.. :p But we are still deciding on the wedding theme..

Seems like everyone has started a lot of things... I have not started thinking of themes yet... Have also yet to search for VG... =(
I am just afraid VG will be hard to find as so many October brides...

lyn_sg

dora: I will be back in mid dec during sch holidays for a few weeks. Then will source for BS, VG, PG etc.

Ellen: Yar I think i will have trouble too.

maggie13

Liz, it's fun to DIY. I did a pearls and crystals bridal bouquet and a matching corsage for my sis & bro-in-law.
Gonna use it for my own wedding next yr.. hehe!!

A piece of advise: get the wire twister..

this DIY not cheap..
juz wires alone, my sis spent abt $60 for 10 rolls of wires..
I lost count of the numbers of pearls & crystal that we twisted.. think it's over 330.
craft time abt 1mth.. abit of slacking in-between. only do when i'm home after work..

melody_fav

Yap diy is fun ESP u r doing for ur own wedding.. Well certain thing worth diy urself n some might nt.. So got to judge urself lo..
If budget allows then buy Fr shops else u can diy urself which can save some cost

lovebirds

Hi Maggie, congrats and thanks for the note.. : )
Yes this DIY isn't that cheap. I went to the wholesale craft shop 2 weeks ago. But it's all worth the effort and time!

Lovebliss: agree with you totally.