(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

joyle_t

doragal>> if u dun mind restaurants, peony jade clarke quay and keppel looks quite good too. food wise, quite good.

kittydora

Joyle, thanks. I like Peony jade too. But we can only take up solemnisation package and we'll have to share the restaurant with the peony's customers. Htb dun really like that. I give up finding places, wait for his action also very long.

michi

Hi Ladies, I just came back from my short trip

Cherry: Actually I've signed up with Amara

Neko: Let me know if u need OCC package..I can send it to u.

Dorgal: OCC provides a 40 seaters shutter bus from the mrt & its about 3 trips for wedding. For my case, both our relatives are staying at north area, thats why I considered OCC previously. For Peony jade, i think the ROM package will be better, the outdoor solemnization @ keppel club is nice.

JP: Hehe I'm the couple who has taken up 8th Oct for Amara.

michi

Realised some BTB are looking at the same venue, usually popular places will be taken up fast..to avoid disapointment may be can consider more other choices.

Cherry, for ur no. of tables u can consider: Hotel Re!, Serangoon Garden Country Club, Park Royal on beach road, Concorde Hotel, Furama RiverFront, Carlton Hotel, Swissotel Merchant Court...these are some of the places I can think of

sept_09_bride

Hi Michelle, welcome bk..

doragal (kittydora) >> me had my rom at peony jade clarke quay... i really love it there.. very nice ambience and food.. and of coz services.. bt too bad, the plc abit small.. i cant hold my wedding banquet there.. same as michelle, im with amara..

michi

Hi Doragal, actually having more tables are also a big issue to us hehe. Like me & CH, we need around 35 - 38 tables, budget less then $1k. The problem is most hotel has minimium of 40 tables & are mostly 5 stars hotel that cost $1k+..actually our choice also very limted but lucky we managed to find Amara that fits our bill

sept_09_bride

haha.. yah.. if really can manage to secure a date that you wants, i believe amara will b able to fit many ppl budget.. agree with michelle, for my case, alot of hotels which we are eyeing at, eg, crowne plaza hotel at airport, rendevous, and a few more, their ballroom very small, their max is less than 35 tables.. nt enough for me..

so far, we are still v please with the service provided by amara.. thumbs up for their services. strongly recomend amara.. but gota grab fast if u really interested, heard fm my coordinator, many ppl already block booked wkends in the last quarter of 2011 liao..

Both Michelle and I are cmf Amara BTB liao..

michi

Congrats Thesepthia that u've confirmed ur venue..my AD is 1 day before yours.

Agree with CH, we are happy with Amara service & rates. Their minimium is 25 tables, max is 42 tables.

Doragal, for minimium of 10 tables, u can try York Hotel, The Regent or the new boutique hotel - Hotel RE! with 2 small ballroom, 1 is max of 8 tables & 1 is for minimium of 12 tables.

Happy searching for all BTB

jsquare

From my searching experience, I think if more than 30 tables but less than 40 tables should be quite easy to find banquet venue. Jiayou everyone! We can do it! Make haste to get the best deal, but dun rush into making a decision too. Just do the proper homework, shld be fine. In any case, if a decision is alrdy made and deposit paid, dun worry abt it anymore! Whatever it is, every banquet venue out there has someone or another who had held or is going to hold their wedding there!

meow99

Hi Michelle & CH,

Congrats to both of u at Amara. One thing off the list! Realize wedding need a lot time to plan. not easy!

Over the wkend i went to:

Peony Jade at Clarke Quay, ambience is gd. Maximum is 22tables. If less then 18tables, will not hve exclusive use of the whole Restaurant. Unless pay more $$ per table. This is a very impt pt to note.

Si Dou Hua at UOB. This restuarant more suitable to smaller events. as they hv walls and pillars.
Solemnization will be very suitable. i plan to hv my ROM with them this year.

I shall continue to source other places for wedding banquet

thesepthia

mine is at Holiday Inn Atrium, 668 nett per table for lunch . free flow beer, 12 bottles free wine, 2nd bottle per table free corkage, complimentary food tasting

sept_09_bride

Hi.. wow, lunch also v exp hor... 668nett per table.. urs is wkend huh?? for us, lunch is too rush liao.. think we will only finish our tea ceremony by 3pm... so after tat, can check in to hotel, rest awhile, then makeup artist come liao..

kittydora

thesepthia, i thought Holiday Inn states min for lunch is 15 tables? If it's only 12 tables i also like to host there. I thought only Hilton can host with small no. of tables. hehe

kittydora

thanks thesepthia. Which Holiday Inn u sign with? The Orchard or the Atrium? What themes do they have? so happy that they can do 12 tables.

thesepthia

hmm, most of our guests are driving, and is a sunday afternoon , we don't forsee any diffculty getting a cab on sunday noon ahhaha

Take train to Tiong Bahru MRT Station using East West Line. From Tiong Bahru MRT Station. Proceed to Tiong Bahru Road - Tiong Bahru Plaza, (Stop Number: 10169) to board. You can take bus service, 123 to reach your destination.

cherry_chripy

Hi smile !! I am gg MM for the wedding show too ! hahahahz maybe we will bump into each other

Oo.. Michelle & CH u 2 are so lucky ! at least now u 2 have settle your banquet ! very happy for u 2! =) the banquet venue is a headache for me. I hope that i can book the banquet soon.

Then I need to search for my house! hahahz..

altiora

hey can I ask you girls.. you all having ROM on the same day on AD or on a separate day... I still thinking of this. Cos ROM is kind of depend of when we get our flat settled, and now our flat still no news

thesepthia

i am planning to have it on the same day , since no news on flat now, cos BTO q number is outrageous, waiting for the next mass HDB sale of left over flats

sept_09_bride

Hi altiora>> not to wori abt flat.. coz u can rom 1st and dun hv to wait till get flat settled.. actually ive already rom last yr.. 09-09-09..hehe.. :p

my AD is only nxt yr 2 Dec 2011.. and we got our flat in June 09.. our flat is BTO.. so still waiting for it to build lor.. will only b ready in 2012..

Hi Cherry>> yah, i agree the banquet venue can b quite a big headache.. as you gota match the good dates with the availability of the banquet venue.. before we start to settle for Amara, i also scare of this n kip asking my friends who wedded liao hw they manage to ovcome this prob..coz i forsee this as a headache for me too.. then many of them advise me to start searching early.. and thanks to some forumer who intro me Amara.. is hving promo nw at a very reasonable rate.. given tat is a Hotel.. then once i kinda cmf wana Amara, i quickly get Master Tong to help us choose a wedding date.. actualy his charges are consider reasonable.. $100.. and he's very efficient, can give us the date very soon.. then once i got the dates fm him, i call up amara and check which dates are still available.. then only we book the one we love most lor.. hehe.. :p

Morale of the story, really gota book early to prevent a headache.. :p im consider v kiasu liao.. bt imagine, i booked 20mths ahead, also got my most fav date taken liao.. :p

michi

Hi Cherry..thanks. Hope u ladies can find a suitable venue soon
Next step is to settle my BS.

Altiora, I've ROM last year. Unless u are getting a resale flat or BTO flat is ready soon, otherwise it depends on individual. But I think holding it with AD can save $$$ & time on planning.

michi

Agree with CH, banquet venue is quite a big headache..lucky there are alot up coming of wedding show..can get more perks & discount

lokiewedslydia

glad u all chose amara =)

i jus attended a weddin ther n the food is good.. ambience is good.. long . super long march in.. so gd for everyone to be bowled over ur beauty on tt day!

too bad im nt ard on any of the weddin show dates..any good deals share here oki! hehe..

btw im a 091011 btb at oriental

michi

Hey ladies, i'm now watching channel 8, 9pm show about wedding..quite interesting, can learn some info about chinese customary

altiora

hehe thanks girls... will discuss with fiance whether ROM on same day n AD or not..

i am going for goodwoodpark's wedding fair, but a lot of the perks are only applicable to bookings for dates before Sep 2011... but our date in Oct, then the perks like nothing much.. sian.

lokiewedslydia

hi thesepthia!

yea!! 091011 nice ring to it ye?
i like holiday inn atrium too! veri nice n u gt suc a good deal!
so gd dear u haf suc a nic cosy weddin! 11tables so awesome if onli i cld do a cosy affair too..
mine's 40 tables!

haf u decided on ur vg pg since u nt takin package?

i haf friends to recommend =)

add mi in fb! lydia cheong

lydia: urs 40 tables at where ar?

mi looking for places to fit 50 tables..any recommendation?

u all ge tthe date of 9 oct 2011 by master tong/wad calculation?

thesepthia

hi Lydia , not taking VG cos feel that after wedding , nobody bothers taking out to see the video anymore. Should be doing more on PG, HTB say he will ask his fren who is a photographer . I do have frens who are freelancing too, but nevertheless welcome the contact. I already got my gown hehehe, since its a lunch i prob jus get another short gown for the 2nd march in .

I not into consulting fengshui master, so more of like the nice ring to it like lydia, I just check the electronic tong shu that, the day is ok for marriage and doesnt clash with our zodiac

lokiewedslydia

hi szesze

my weddin will be held at mandarin oriental for 40tables

50tables best is gcw grand copthorne waterfront they have a huge ballroom which i fancied too but my htb lk oriental food haha..

091011 was nt a calculated date i jus liked the ring to it and i like sundays =)

cherry_chripy

hey thesephia !same as u ! I am also watching out for the balance of new flats!! hahahz. cos cheaper as the resale flats pricing really sky rock high !! =(

Mm.. congrats helovesmi , at least u havesettle your banquet ! =)I have also shortlist Oriental as one of my choice.

I am so envy those who settle the banquet venues.. ^-^

I am going for Marina Mandarin wedding show this sun, anyone going ?

yeah, michelle the 9pm show is v interesting . But really very traditional hor.. cos got hens all these.. hee

Hi altoria, I am having my ROM & AD on the same day . Cos my HTB & I find it that will be more special and whatever more the VG can capture everything .
It really depend on individual .

But since your flat not here yet, I will suggest do it together in 1 day, cos also less hassle in preparing for 2 days.

BTW, Michelle which BS u have shortlisted?

michi

Hi Cherry, hehe nwdays anyone still using hens?..omg..hehe.

My first & only choice is SG Bridal House @ JB

sept_09_bride

yah.. me actually feel tat ROM and AD same day better.. bt for us, we find tat 090909 is very meangingful and special.. bt is somehw to tight for us to hold our AD lor.. hehe.. bt nw, we are really saving real hard for our nxt yr AD.. hehe.. :p

is interesting to save together and discuss on our plans to save.. enjoying the progress or our AD plannings..

cherry_chripy

hahahaz.. I dun think so la Michelle. I bet not in Singapore . Maybe China have this ? hee

Wow.. CH your ROM on 090909 ? That is very meaningful . When your actual day ? =)

meow99

hi michelle & All
yeah, i m excited to see the ch 8 show about wedding preparations.
i went to Occ already to see the all the function rooms, ambience not bad, as for the ballroom is too big. there might be wedding show coming up. So i shall wait and see cos i wana enjoy more perks.

My Rom will be Oct this year 2010, now i got to source for place!..

So far, i only settle the BS only. Let 's Jia You!

michi

Cherry, I agree hehe, if its fried chicken..i don't mind haha:p

I had my ROM on 20.09.2009, mass wedding at Botanic Garden

Neko, u can wait for OCC wedding show, their dates should not be taken up so fast as hotels.

cherry_chripy

wah ..Michelle your ROM date also very nice ! =) 20092009 ! what a nice date to remeber =)

OH! I have settled my banquet venue ! hahahz.. Its Marina Mandarin ! =)

thesepthia

haha, i just decided what are the other things i wan to add on to my gown. Want to add a little tiffany blue sash on the waistline

cherry_chripy

that nice thesepthia.
It is the in thing now right ? =) which bridal shop is yours?

i remeber when I go bridal shops shopping, the designers told me it is fashionable now.. =)

Like this hor.. u can consider those pointed high heels.. If u intending to get red sash on your waistline, then u can get red heels.. it will be super outstanding if u wear it for photoshoot! the pic will look v nice. =) I don't know why , the photographers sometime like the brides to lift out the gowns to show the shoes. =)

thesepthia

i ala carte no bridal shop,so i bought my gown off a blogshop so want to diy a bit make it look different. cant really wear high heels htb not tall. we same height 1.68m