(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

thesepthia

haha another BTO is like so long 2015 then take house, not getting anyway younger . resale unless cash rich , HTB parents house like in AMK , where properties prices are sky high

cherry_chripy

Hey michelle ! Nope not yet .. cos it still a bit far .. so we will be looking around.

U have confirm your banquet ?

michi

Cherry, I've just confirmed mine with Amara Singapore

Don't be surprised that some popular venue will be taken up soon...so it's good to act fast ^.^

cherry_chripy

Mm.. i thought normally if u book like 1 yr in advance u are v safe ?
I am thinking of Marina Mandarin as my first choice .. hahahz..

sept_09_bride

Hi Cherry, i also thought 1 yr in adv is kinda safe.. bt nt really lor.. i let Master Tong help us cal dates.. those dates in Oct, and Nov 2011 mostly taken up lor.. so co-incidence, 1 of the date is taken by Michelle..hehhe.. :p

Im also taking Amara Hotel.. and end up settle for 2 Dec 2011..

cherry_chripy

mm... wah very scary leh ! u all are scaring me.. hahahaz.. but hor my FH is not kan qiong ! So no choice i am kan qiong . must 2 hands clap .. hahahaz.. if he don't want to book early . i also no choice. Sighz .

but seem like u all are fighting over the same hotel, Amara !!!
hehe.. I should not be taking there la...so i should be a bit safe hor . ( I am trying to console myself.. hee)

michi

Actually to book 1 year in advance is already consider late, after hearing views from experienced friends. My colleague wanted to hold her Church Wedding in Dec this year, but imagine even Church can be fully booked.

Cherry, u can start ur engine to shortlist ur idea venue & do the planning soon, then ask ur HTB for approval haha. Especially year end is consider as peak period for Wedding

thesepthia

hai, but HTB not gan chiong at all, am going to some of the wedding shows in april. been to the one at swissotel, very stressful cos you see the calender is displayed on the whiteboard, then you will see the coordinater keep striking out dates in 2011 to indicate that they are booked

cherry_chripy

hahahz.. yeah Michelle.
This is what I am doing now. checking out this place and that place.. and when my HTB is ready , I will just show him the top 3 list I think is good.

Hi Caihonglim. welcome !!
when is your AD date ?

Thesepthia , swissotel is one of my choice leh .. cos I heard the suite room damn nice lor. hahahz..You have a personal bulter to serve u too. your HTB is like mine not kan qiong bout booking banquet.. sighz.. HIGH 5!

michi

Hi Caihonglim..welcome

Smilem, I've engaged Master Tong. I think he is good, helpful, professional & modern while his rate is reasonable..at least he understand what young couple wants. He provides foc date calculation for 'Guo Da Li', & 'An Chuan' which I think other Master would have charge us for that.

caihonglim

hi Cherry & Michelle: thanks! My AD is on 30 Oct 2011

now going through the draft contact for banquet; once signed, can relax a bit le, haha .....

thesepthia

have you heard the news , that music used in wedding montage and wedding day need to buy license , faints

even for self made montage also chargeable

cherry_chripy

yes thesepthia ! please send me the package details
email address:[email protected]
U considering swiosstel ? Mm.. I got 1 concern leh .. i have feedbacks from friends saying that their food don't taste good. So i a bit worry .

Yes I heard the news yesterday ! I find it ridiculous la.. now getting marry is really so expensive!! I don't understand , government want us to marry young and have kids.. but housing, hotel rates bascially everything increasing how to marry young ? sighz . I am trying to find housing now and the COV is really super high lor . $30 k to $60k .

Caihonglim> which banquet u deciding on?

caihonglim

cherry: Grand Park City Hall ... you? still deciding? I think Swissotel Merchant Court is not bad ~ the food is pretty good as well
would have went for that if not for the required min. no. of tables.

I'm not too sure abt Swissotel the Stamford though, nv attended weddings there before.

meow99

Hi Gal, I m a btb in Oct 2011 too!
Has been a slient reader. I hv just been to see David Tong for my dates too, also 8 oct 2011 same as of u!
I m sourcing for venues, but i m looking at restaurants instead of hotel.For BS, i am with Yvonne 's Creative, book them thru the Bows in Feb.
So excited!

joyle_t

cherry chirpy>> u interested in swissotel? i went there for a wedding end of dec 09, food's pretty gd in my view. if too many tables, probbly standard will drop abit. the one i went to was bout 32 tables. for e.g. went to shang for a 80tables wedding, i dun think the food was good, bad exp. with waiter toppling the entire sharkfin bowl behind my seat too, but waiters change!

thesepthia>> for the need to pay more for VGs in future due to the music copyright issues, althou' some PG/VGs do not factor in the prices currently, do note that some PG/VGs have been paying also, just that the charges went up again and need to pay for other licences. can check with ur PG/VG how much up!

lokiewedslydia

hi all oct 2011 brides!

glad to noe im not the onli "kiasu" btb!

my date is settled on 091011 sun
didnt check any geomancy jus like the ring to the date
i wanted 111111 cos its my bdae too but its super ex jus to hold banquet on special dates like this

any comments on mandarin oriental vs grand copthorne waterfront?

lokiewedslydia

btw my sis confirmed with orchard hotel for her weddin on 26mar2011

it was a very very very gd deal
@ 980nett with free flow beer and wine
so i suggest u all check it out too!

she has 25tables

i didnt tk orchard hotel cos she likes it and i dun wan relatives to attend her weddin and mine at the same place hence im still sourcin

michi

Hi five Neko..we are BTB for 8 Oct 2011. How many tables are u looking at for restaurant? Looks like most BTB has confirmed the BS, i've not sign up mine yet...no time to go JB.

cherry_chripy

hey ladies ! Sorry ! I was away ! Just back from BALI ! hehe..

Michelle !! i am damn sad la.. I just called up marina Mandarin my first choice, someone already block the date I want to host my banquet ! Arghh.. so irritating . I am on the waiting list .

Thesepthia , Thanks for the mail !

Caihonglim, thanks for the feedback !
yeah i heard that swiosstel merchant court not bad.

thesepthia

Hehe, me also looking at 09.10.11 , cos 111111 tongshu say not suitable for us . am going down to holiday inn atrium for wedding show this sunday

jsquare

I am a BTB in Oct 2011 too! Aiming 22 Oct. Can anyone share ur Amara Package with me? Am interested
Btw, anyone heard of Pioneer Spring Restaurant at Mount Faber Safra Club before? Any reviews or feedback? Thanks a lot

meow99

hi michelle, i m looking at 15 to 20 tables. Will be gg to Orchid Country Club to take alook next week. Try to sign BS during wedding fair, can get better deal!

meow99

hi doragal,

8 oct was given by the geomancer. we give him our bazi and parents ' zodiac. he says this is one of the suitable and gd day for me n my HTB to get married

michi

Cherry, don't be sad..u can shortlist a few more venues, giving urself more choices..gd luck

JP, I've PM u the contact.

Doragal, I don't know but seems like a few BTB has got the date 8 Oct from Master Tong..including me. May be this date is suitable for most couples hehe.

michi

Hi Neko, I heard OCC will have 1 wedding show soon, may be in May.. but I think they've not release this news yet.
OCC is 1 of my choice, went there 2 wks ago.. but I think the grand ballroom is too big for me, I've just released my booking with them today. If u are looking at the smaller ballroom, think its still available

jsquare

Thanks. Received ur pm. My email is [email protected]. Can only contact Amara via phone? I prefer email. They got any email? Thank you!

Just curious, the smaller ballroom you mention at OCC issit at same level with the Grand Ballroom? Issit just outside the Grand Ballroom?

michi

Hi JP, i've email the details to u.

OCC ballrooms are at the 2nd floor, yes it is next to the grand ballroom.

kittydora

Hi Neko, thanks i thought it's a super auspicious date.

Talking abt OCC, i think they cater to 10 tables right? Is it restaurant food or OCC get from their caterer? I had a hard time finding a function room for 10 tables.

joyle_t

doragal>> how bout places like Pan Pacific Orchard (located on the road behind Lido/Orchard Towers area) or Royal Plaza on Scotts (Beside pacific plaza). Both max 11 tables, royal plaza on scotts food's quite good, been there for Dnd.

kittydora

Joyle, I may have up to 13 tables. Htb prefers a Chinese dinner less than 1k. So 4 seasons out. Now looking Hilton lunch. We did look at Panpac Orchard but so far no review. We try the buffet there but the food is less than average. The western food is better.

cherry_chripy

hey michelle ! I have gd news again ! hahahaz I managed to block marina mandarin again! hahahaz.. soo happy . spoken to the sales manager
But now I have a problem. The minimum table is 40 ! I think i might not be able to fulfill.. shit !!

Hey Doragal ! Hello !
I should have 9 Oct as one of the dates. However, becos of the timing wise that master gave me. I not choosing that day cos the groom can only reach my place at 11.30am ! I think that is v late. so I choose the alternative date that he gave me.

dates are v sujective cos it also depend on your HTB & yours chinese bday + birth timing whether it suitable . good date & timing for u etc.

michi

Hi Cherry, how many tables are u looking at? May be can try to nego with marina mandarin, perhaps reduce miminium table to 38? If can't fulfill, will still have to pay for 40 tables..sounds abit risky. Hope u can solve the prob soon

Hi Doragal, OCC mininium is 10 table. U can either choose their in-house banquet or Peach Garden restuarant food. Peach Garden food is better but it cost about $100 more for each table.

michi

Hi Cherry, how many tables are u looking at? May be can try to nego with marina mandarin, perhaps reduce miminium table to 38? If can't fulfill, will still have to pay for 40 tables..sounds abit risky. Hope u can solve the prob soon

Hi Doragal, OCC mininium is 10 table. U can either choose their in-house banquet or Peach Garden restuarant food. Peach Garden food is better but it cost about $100 more for each table.

cherry_chripy

mmm yeah . i agree .

Have to see a few more hotels as back up plan

Michelle ! u better start looking , it scary lor.. call hotels up , here book there book . mm.. or else waiting list . better start to see ya

meow99

hi doragal,

there is shuttle bus to and from yishun mrt to occ every 5-10mins. So transport not a problem

meow99

Hi Michelle, thanks, i will go down to occ and take a look next week. I m also gg to some restaurants this wkend.

jsquare

Doragal > My fren strongly advise me not to consider Hilton cuz she attended a wedding there before and she said the flooring of the ballroom is bumpy and nearly cuz the bride/groom grandpa to fall. Yea, agree with Michelle. Generally, restaurant food (e.g Peach Garden) is better.

Cherry Chirpy > Ya, better to plan carefully and confirm a safe and comfortable number of tables. Cuz if fall short, most hotels cannot go back and eat, unlike restaurants.

Anw i also got 8 Oct as one of my good dates as well! Just went to visit Amara today. Spoke to Agnes. She's a frenly and pleasant lady. But all the dates we want in Oct all taken up =( So now either explore other dates or consider other venues. We saw the ballroom today, but din see it in full as partially is partitioned for a conference. My HTB thinks so-so only. But of cos we din see an actual wedding setup
The march in is definitely long. But it's a pity there's no red carpet cuz i want red carpet =P

Yup, transportation to OCC is no prob. I had my company retreat there in March this year. Very fast will reach OCC from MRT via the shuttle bus. So no worries
It's a nice place! I like the steps leading up to Level 2

Tmrw gg to see Pin Si at Yishun Safra! It's fun to shop for wedding stuff...like bridal studio, banquet venue. Thou it can be stressful when it comes to decision making =P

altiora

hey all,
lol i started this thread cos I saw that there are no threads for oct 2011.. tot there were no oct 2011 brides but actually there are so many!:D been busy with work lately so didnt check back v often.

We are looking at GWP and will be going to their wedding fair on 18th april, anyone else going??

cherry_chripy

Hi Altoria !
No I am gg for the wedding show at MM cos it is also at 18 April 2010 .

Please update me how is GWP after u went ok?

Yeah Jp square, I am planning v carefully . Sighz can someone please tell me where I can find hotel the minim requirement is only 35 tables ?

Oh I went to see Orchard City centre (previously known as Holiday Inn Parkview) the crystal ballroom is not bad. But hor the reception area & bridal suite I don't like. ESP the the bridal suite, their premier room is 5 times more nicer than the bridal suite lor. Cos their premier room just renovated.

sept_09_bride

Hi same as Jp.. me too like shopping for wedding stuffs.. me also got 8 Oct 2011 as 11 of my good dates.. and once i got my dates fm Master Tong, i check with Amara.. tat's sometime in Mid March.. 8 Oct already taken up since then.. so no choice, i gota push it to 2 Dec..