(2011/10) Oct 2011 BTB

piggeekgirl

Welcome yipsl to the Oct 2011 BTB thread! Your date is in 2010 or 2011? Hehez. 'Cos you put 2010 oh.

piggeekgirl

Lydia, I just realised your date is quite nice. 011 | 011. Hahaha! Like so easy to remember!

Can't wait to visit the gown designer in July. Hopefully can confirm by then~!

sherlynliang

I'm Oct 2011 BTB-wannabe!

Still yet to wrap up my venue hunt and BS hunt. Am deciding on 1st October 2011.

Any help on venue from you girls? Most likely gonna have a cozy and intimate affair of only 12 (or less) tables? Thinking of hotels as first choice, though. :)

Should I take PG & VG separate from BS services? Or should I just ask my BIL to do the VG?

Indeed lotsa dilemma. Help, help, anyone?

thesepthia

hi, mine is 091011 12 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              091011 12      end_of_the_skype_highlighting tables holiday inn atrium lunch.

My PG is Blisful reï½ï½‰ï½Žï½‰ï½“cence which is dï½ï½‰ï½Žï½‡ã€€ï½ï½ƒï½”uï½ï½Œã€€ï½ï½Žï½„ ï½ï½’e wedding fï½ï½’ less thï½ï½Žã€€ï¼‘k , 

gï½ï½—n bï½ï½•ï½‡ï½ˆï½” ï½ï½†ï½†ã€€ï½‚lï½ï½‡ï½“hï½ï½ã€€ï¼Œ

if need cï½ï½Žï½”ï½ï½ƒï½”s let ï½ï½… knï½ï½—

piggeekgirl

Hi Sherlyn! Hopefully you will join as eventually as an Oct 2011 BTB!

And yesh, venue is like the top more important thing to look for now since I realised the October is fast being taken up for next year after asking quite some hotels for my date. But can't really help with a small affair. Hopefully some BTB will be able to help you and find your venue soon!

Anyway for PG and VG it's really up to you whether you want to get it from BS or not. Basically BS should provide everything for you except for anything AD? That I not very sure since I'm not signing with a BS. If you really like the portfolio there and confirm that the portfolio you like is the photographer you get, then I guess you can get it. As for VG, my hubby and I might be asking a friend to be our VG since video is not our main focus of capture.

Anyway basically for anything it's best to discuss with your HTB to see what you all prefer and also to plan within your budget then.

lokiewedslydia

yo yo!!

thanks kat!! im lovin my 0110!!

n larrby the 10+1 idea = 11 ho seh la!!

haha!!

heyhey thesep. ur bs (blissful rm.) do they provide suits?
i dunno if i shld do ala carte or have an actual day package
at 1st i jus wanna signed wif thomson for AD @ 2k as i dunnid prewed
but as i do more n more research, i realised i can do ala carte on my own!!

i jus came bac fr china, tell u all the weddin n evenin gowns ther n realli AFFORDABLE.

n of gd quality.. i very tempted to do my studio photoshoot ther too..

its very gd!

studio photoshoot
im quoted RMB2800 = abt $550
5 outfits change x mk up n style (groom&bride)
all in studio with different themes
30poses in 20pages
coffee table book (those big type wif the glass pic infront)
all edited soft copy returned

n im very tempted to do their mk over.. its nt CHEENA lor!!! its very nice de.. they did audrey hepburn style.. mia furrow.. victoria beckham

lokiewedslydia

i think they wld probably push mi to get more pics.. thats hw bridal shop earn.. but ......

i wld be strong as i feel a book wif quality pics is more impt den quantity

as long as i hv ALL the soft copy im gd!

hehe..

what u all think? shld i do my studio PS in china? haha!

i didnt have the intention to do at all de lor.. jus walked past n ask ask the price! hehe..

sherlynliang

thesep, Kat Blissful reminisce sounds really affordable! I will definitely KIV. For the gowns, do they provide rental?

I'm pretty stucked whether to get BS or not. So far I've enquired two, the difference is quite significant.

1) Transportation on photoshoot day not inclusive.

2) MUA never follow on photoshoot day.

3) No bridal car on actual day.

4) No photography services on actual day.

These are the difference when both BS offer me same price for their package, the rest of the stuffs are identical.

If I cater those stuffs from third party would incur around 1.5K!

HTB was suggesting to save a lil' on banquet and splurge on photoshoot more? Dilemma much.

piggeekgirl

Hey Lydia! Wow, didn't expect you to want to consider signing with China now! Haha! Anyway the all edited soft copy that you mentioned, does it refer to the edited ones that will appear in the album or ALL photos taken and are edited will be returned to you. That you have to take note, in case you don't know. Hehez.

Sherlyn, is it possible to bargain for transportation and MUA for photoshoot that day? I understand most BS wouldn't have photography service on AD so that is to be expected. But as for bridal car, that I not sure. Maybe it will be best for you to bargain for more items from them if you're really interested. Or do a trade-in with some items which you all might not need in the package?

To get BS or not, firstly you need to weigh out the difference between ala-carte and choosing a BS. If you realised the difference is not much, then you can go ahead and do ala-carte. Your calculation will have to depend on what you want for your wedding and that includes everything for AD including MUA, photographer and what-nots for AD. Since BS don't provide some items for AD, you have to add the additional cost from AD to weigh out the difference. Also ala-carte usually is done by some BTB is 'cos we prefer to try to get the best out of everything and get within our means if possible. Hehez.

Just some stuffs for you to take note. But if the BS can provide for most of what you want, you can consider but remember to bargain for more is possible. Most importantly for a BS, you got to take note of what gowns you can get from them w/o additional cost. And also the photographer for photoshoot.

I sounded so long-winded and not even sure if I'm making sense! But hope it helps! Other BTBs do help!

piggeekgirl

October 2011 BTB List:

8 Oct 2011, Michelle Chong (michi aka MC)
Venue: The Amara Hotel
PG: RMG
VG: RMG
BS: SG Bridal House (JB)

8 Oct 2011, Calister Dyeo (cali)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
Venue: Grand Copthorne Waterfront
PG:
VG:
BS: Amanda Lee Weddings (ala carte)

9 Oct 2011, TheSepthia
Venue: Holiday Inn Atrium
PG: Blissful Reminiscence
VG: NA
BS: NA (ala- carte)

9 Oct 2011, HelovesmiIlovehim (lydia)
Venue: Mandarin Oriental Hotel
PG: Derrick Than
VG: Ideal productions, Stanley Oh
BS:

22 Oct 2011, Kat (pigglegirl)
Venue: M Hotel
PG: Grace (MY)
VG:

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
Venue: Grand Park City Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

23 Oct 2011, Cherrychripy
Venue: Marina Mandarin Hotel
PG: Eulee
VG: Damon Low
BS: My Bridal Room

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
Venue: Swissotel the Stamford/Fairmont
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, dyleen (dyleen)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
Venue: Orchard Hotel
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, carebear (meteor_starry)
PG: Lighted Pixels and Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
VG: Coffee and Tea Dreamworks
BS: Cangai

30 Oct 2011, Michelle Lim (michimichi)
Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

Changed my information to a confirmed M Hotel!

thesepthia

haha , gals blissful reminiscence is photographer not bridal shop, i am getting my own gowns. already bought my white gown for $150 off a closing blog shop, now looking for a evening gown, another 1-2 dress for photoshoot

thats all,

jaslynhy

Hihi, I am also 8/10/11 bride.

8 Oct 2011, Jaslyn
Venue: Grand Park City Hall
PG: Simonvideo
VG: Simonvideo
BS: Venus Bridal(JB)

piggeekgirl

October 2011 BTB List:

Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

8 Oct 2011, Jaslyn (jaslynhy)

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
PG:
VG:

9 Oct 2011, TheSepthia

BS:

VG:

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
PG:
VG:
BS:

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
PG:
VG:
BS:

Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
PG:
VG:
BS:

Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

Jaslyn, added you to the list! Wow. Now we have 3 ladies with wedding on the 8th of October!

michimichi

October 2011 BTB List:

Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
PG:
VG:

9 Oct 2011, TheSepthia

BS:

VG:

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
PG:
VG:
BS:

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
PG:
VG:
BS:

Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
PG:
VG:
BS:

Venue: The Amara Santuary
PG:
VG:
BS: Thomson Wedding Design (TP)

Hey hey, just an update to include my details =D
The list is growing longer by the days~ hee~

lokiewedslydia

October 2011 BTB List:

1 Oct 2011, HelovesmiIlovehim (lydia)
BS:

Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

9 Oct 2011, Doragal
PG:
VG:

9 Oct 2011, TheSepthia

VG:

22 Oct 2011, lowpyng
PG:
VG:
BS:

29 Oct 2011, Babydino
PG:
VG:
BS:

Venue:
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, CaiHongLim
PG:
VG:
BS:

30 Oct 2011, Larrby
PG:
VG:
BS:

Venue: The Amara Santuary
PG:
VG:
BS: Thomson Wedding Design (TP)

meteor_starry

Hi Lydia
You bought your gown from Vivianne, so you bought HAPPINESS Instead of Sweetheart....

I visited Vivianne today, not too sure if you saw the Mermaid looking gown, what is your opinion of that gown?

joy79

hi everyone, how soon do we need to book the photographer for actual day? is booking more than 1 year ahead too soon? any good photographer to recommend?

lokiewedslydia

carebear!!! hehe

i lk the mermaid too!! loves the layers n layers of clothe
but my htb wan to see mi in princess cut for the photoshoot cos he thinks its cuter..
so i'll leave to mermaid cut for evenin wear..

did u get anithin fr viviane in the end?

if nt i found this website wif very very affordable mtm gowns..
dunno abt quality thou

http://elasdress.blogspot.com/

lokiewedslydia

joy!

i strongly urge u to contact my pg

www.derrickthan.com
+65 96872790

his website is nt updated so do call him n view his portfolio
tell him LYDIA intro u.. keke
he is a very nice person!!!
im contractin him for my ad n prewed shoot in prague
very happie wif e works he showed us.. n the confidence n sincerity we felt in him..

his price starts fr $1500 i think..

everythin fr e photography -> coffee table book

r very well designed n produced
his pricin is negotiable.. so do give him a call!!

sherlynliang

Kat Thank you so much for your effort in replying me! I typed a reply ytd, but didn't see it here. Gotta retype another one. (:)

I've signed up for my BS already. Very kiasu of me or not ah? Haha! Now need to settle for venue. Having a tough time looking for a affordable place with nice ambiance and stuffs to accommodate 12 tables.

And looking for photography too! Looking at Derrick Than which Lydia recommends! :)

So much so much things I haven't settle!

lokiewedslydia

sherlyn dear!!
u hor.. cant consider derrick than leh
cos we have the same wedding date!!!!!

but of cos u can hire him for ur prewed shoot but already have a BS!! hehehe!!

piggeekgirl

joy, it's never too early to confirm the photographer. 1 year in advanced might be a good timing 'cos photographers always tell me last time when I started to ask for quote that you never know what will happen in the long time frame. And furthermore you wouldn't know the price. But 1 year or more should be good.

I too have already signed for my photographer for PW and AD but since she's a Malaysian so might be troublesome. Hehez. We went down to Selangor to visit her to have a chit chat with her before signing. Just love the idea of having a female photographer to cover my wedding, especially when hubby and I love her work a lot.

Sherlyn, do update the list with your BS oh! Hehez. Anyway not kiasu lah. A lot of BTBs here also alrdy decided on a lot of things for their wedding! Better try to find your venue since that one is the most important of all things for wedding. Hehez.

But do relax and not be stressed! As long as you settled the venue, you're more or less done for now. Can relax and research on others.

meteor_starry

Hi Lydia

So you got two dresses from Vivianne, one princess cut and one mermaid cut??

Two dresses caught my attention, one is "MILLENIUM" and the other is the "mermaid cut" one....my friends felt the mermaid cut one wasn't "grand" enough for march in etc, but "very beautiful" for phototaking or evening wear.....so I asked Vivianne to give me one day to consider before I revert to her regarding the "mermaid" dress....

cherry_chripy

hey ladies!!! Long time never come in .. hee
Wow.. we have new members .
Welcome jas & Sherlyn !

Joy , it never too early to book your PG !
hee. I have confirmed mine like 1.5 yrs ahead of my actual wedding . hee
You can check out my VG & My PG .

My VG is damon low website:http://www.damonlowvideography.com
Super loved his works.. Very touching. U can make appointment with him at his studio to check out his works.
He makes very touching videos.

I have also appointed Eulee (website: www.photographybyeulee.com). He is a friendly young chap and it so easy to get along with him . He & Damon Low work together well . It always good to have a PG &VG that have work together & know each others styles so they can capture the right moments beautifully

lokiewedslydia

carebear dear

no la!! haha i got one gown onli.. i cannot rem the name leh..

i'd be wearin a more colourful mermaid cut which i'd get it sumwhr else

i feel ther is no need to rush la dear.. i kinda regret gettin it nw

cos i hv no space to stow it!! hehehehe..

sherlynliang

Lydia Oh dear, looks like I need to strike off Derrick Than on my consideration list! LOL! Don't intend to splurge too much on PG & VG though, need to save money for my little one. :)

Kat Am going for site recce at Amara Singapore later in the evening, hope all turns out well! Then I don't need to fret over venue! (:) And, yup, would update the list when I've firmed up banquet venue!

Meanwhile, gonna enjoy chatting with you ladies here!

Big hello to everyone, including Cherry Chirpy! I'm going through Damon and Eulee's webbie! ^^

cherry_chripy

Sherlyn, u can make appointment with Damon low to see his works
Cos that the place that you can see his real works with the videos & actual music he has incorporated into the music to make it soo nice.

Lydia ! U so fast get your gown already

piggeekgirl

Lydia also does a lot of things chop chop fast fast one. Hahaha! :X

Welcome back Cherry! Very long never see you come in here to have a chat. Hehez.

Sherlyn, good luck in finding your dream venue! As for finding a photographer, always good to meet up with them to see if you have the bond with them 'cos it's very important to feel comfortable with the person so that during photoshoot you will feel more natural and at ease.

So fast you're already saving for your little one? Hehez. :p

cherry_chripy

hey kat ! yeah yeah .. hahaz.. long time so see. ! I have seen your Taiwan pics !
Can that you have enjoyed your mini honeymoon trip. hehe

Yes Sherlyn, I totally agreed with Kat . U must meet up with the PG to determine if you are comfortable. Same goes to VG .
Meet them and find out bout their styles.

sherlynliang

Cherry Chirpy & Kat I'm actually planning a wedding on a budget. How I hope government gimme more GST credits. LOL!

I've asked for lots of photography quotes, but alot of them are asking for $2.5K just for PG. I cannot afford leh. )): Intending to get PG & VG for around $2.5K maximum.

And ya, totally agree with both of you that need to meet up with PG & VG to 'feel' more. HAHA! (:)

Kat Actually I'm doing the whole wedding thingie in a reverse manner, I'm a mother to a 8 month plus baby girl and now am planning my wedding from start. :)

^^

thesepthia

hi Sherlyn, i have already given you the contact, Vernon can do everything below 1 k, which gives u more cash to engage VG and buy / rent gown.

he is not my personal friend, so i dun benefit out of recommending him

lokiewedslydia

sherlyn!!!! ur a MAMA!!! tats so coooool!!!!

hehe.. i wanna be a MAMA too.. kk i will chopchop be one soon!! hehe after 011011 hehe..!!

i always wonder hw my girl or boy wld look lk.. i hope they have my eyes, nose and chin!!!

whoa!!! sherlyn dear i hope u settle ur venue sooon.. try mandarin oriental la.... den on 0110 we have the same location.. i can see ur little girlgirl be ur flowerger.. so cute
i love kids!!!

n 01oct is CHILDREN'S day!!!

piggeekgirl

Sherlyn, that's so cool! Hehez. I guess you can try thesepthia's recommendation and check out Vernon's portfolio and meet up with him. Anyway so how is the recce at Amara?

Lydia, you're already planning when to have a baby? Hehehz. We intend to start trying maybe one year after our AD. Want to have some lovey-dovey time for two before having a little one.

cherry_chripy

wah !! lydia ! no honeymoon for you ? so fast wanna be a mum ? hee

Hey Kat same here. Intend to enjoy our honeymoon and time together before we plan to have a baby .. so it bout 6 month to 1 year after our AD . hehe

michimichi

Hee hee i agree with Kat and Cherry, wana enjoy some alone time together first before deciding on having a baby~ =)

have you all thought of which places you all will be going for honeymoon??

Haha my list is like everlong... Lolx =P

piggeekgirl

Have thought of the place for honeymoon but it's gonna take us damn long to save up enough after the amount of money spent for wedding! =|

lokiewedslydia

i think my honeymoon shld be sumwhr beachy batam is gd! hehe..

oo yaya i wan to have my own world after marriage too.. but i'd lk to give my parents in law a little toy to play too hahha!!

i jus wan to relax n forget abt takin trains.. rushin for planes.. thinkin of airport jus puts mi off hehe!

sherlynliang

thesepthia Thanks dear, I've received your emails and very touched indeed! So kind to have you sending all the quotes you have! (:) huge thanks to you! I'm still going through your mails. LOL!

lydia Yeah, I'm a mother already. Makes DIY-ing of wedding a tad tougher. HAHA. Mandarin Oriental is way off budget, if I'm not wrong. How I wish I could hold it in some hotels with nice ballroom! I've got only 12 tables, hotel seldom does that. ): how many tables you holding? Is it expensive in Mandarin Oriental? Psst, babies are uber cuteness! Enjoy yr honeymoon liao then 'make people' okay. HAHA!

Kat Amara is awesomeeee! Minimum needs 15 tables, but I only 12 tables, cannot squeeze another 30pax out. But, I really love the place ALOT. Very pity. ):

thesepthia

Hi sherlyn , you could try holiday inn atrium, like me, i only have 12 tables and i am doing lunch instead of dinner, which i can get everything below $700 nett per table.
my son will be my ring bearer for actual day, by then he will be like 9+ yrs old, from the first marriage, now moving on to the 2nd marriage loh.

i am planning to go 5 days japan osaka tour for honey moon , so after actual day in oct , prob will go in nov or dec when its close to winter

piggeekgirl

Hi Sherlyn, it's not possible to convert the 30 pax money into better food or something if you don't mind the additional cost and like the venue a lot?

thesepthia, that's so cute to have your son as the ring bearer! Another young mummy? :p But 5 days in Osaka only? Enough for you to shop and relax? Hehez. Thought usually people goes to Japan for a longer period.

We are considering between Maldives or Alaska, where the latter is obviously so much more expensive and damn freaking cold! So after AD, most likely wouldn't have that much money to go for honeymoon yet.

thesepthia

young also not really, i turning 29 in 3 months time . i have already been to tokyo for 10 days before , more of want to bring the htb to go disney sea, universal studio and such

sherlynliang

thesepthia I'm reconsidering the banquet time and date now. Thinking weekend dinner is really expensive everyone. Holiday Inn Atrium is under my list too, but not yet confirm on anything. When my girl grows older, I wanna go honeymoon too! (:)

Kat My husband's saying that if Pan Pacific Orchard is okay, then maybe can settle there. Budget too tight is not fun to plan wedding at all. Btw, I'm for Maldives! Heard so so much good comments about the place! :)

piggeekgirl

thesepthia, going 29 and having a 9+ year old son is really young mummy oh. Hehehz. At least you and your boy wouldn't have a large age gap like us with our kids in future!
Guess it will be a fun and relaxing trip for both of you then! :D

Sherlyn, it's good you all have another choice! Wedding is really an expensive affair, we all are also working within some budget. Hehez. Can only try to plan within means! Jiayou!

Anyway Maldives is just really superbly nice. But why we considering Alaska is 'cos we want to see the aurora.

lokiewedslydia

hihi ladies!!
wah awesome we haf mamas

yes maldives is realli beautiful.. gg in monsoon season is muc cheaper! they have pte island too..
ther is place in thailand
http://www.hua-hin.com/

i'd mos prob be gg ther!

i was imagining we gather in say CNY 2012?? after all our wedding!! den we show each other our AD pics hehe!

piggeekgirl

Lydia, AD photos can be posted in facebook? Hahaha! Can't imagine carrying the album around. :X

Hua Hin is nice. Initially wanted to go to a resort for our honeymoon but 'cos of the Bangkok situation and we need to transfer at Bangkok, we didn't go in the end. We have been resort-hopping some. Hehez. Maybe end year shall visit another one.

michimichi

Maldives is very nice!!!! one of the dream places i wish to go to in future..

But think my honeymoon will be in the europe areas since htb and i have been to a few beachy areas the past years... so want sth diff... ahahha

A meet up would be nice~ =)

kittydora

Hi gals. Haven't been posting for a long time but I quietly follow the threads. Sch reopening soon stress level high high.

Sherlyn, u can try corpthrone king. It should be min 5 tables with gd food. I have seen Pan Pac orchard the setup is gd. U have the whole level 2 to urself. They can set up function room for your rom and another function room adjacent to ballroom for cocktail.I saw the staff setting up the banquet. They are quite meticulous, service very professional. The perks N price are gd too. But the ballroom can take up at most 12 tables so in the end I went to grand corpthrone waterfront cos tables min 10 max 16. I hope this info is useful to u.

sherlynliang

doragal Thanks for your info, really useful. I've signed up for Pan Pacific Orchard during their wedding open house. Got new themes and I love the cozy ballroom, wouldn't make the place look sparse with such little tables. :)

Hope I'd made the right choice!

lokiewedslydia

hi sherlyn dear!!

happie for u!! yeah!!
pan pac orchard is so nice!! actually i dunno .. jus hearin the name is nice haha!!

any pics to share fr the weddin open hse?
u mk it sound so pretty n cosy!!