(2011/06) June 2011 BTB

purplebottle

missy: oh no wonder you're worrying. But shouldn't be a problem if they do not have any bad reviews

mrslimlin:

pinkglove

missy: don't worry.. they've a biz to run n they won't wanna ruin their own reputation by not turning up on ur AD cos it's their core business
Are u looking for professional emcees or looking for friends to help?

welcome mrslimlin & Eunice!

leyash:
Yeah! Same day! So have u settled ur other stuff other than ur hotel?

pinkglove

4 Jun Shanawawa
4 Jun mrs limlin
4 Jun missy
5 Jun Purplebottle Goodwoodpark ; TWP
5 Jun Serene Orchard Hotel
11 Jun leyash Meritus Mandarin
11 Jun Pinkglove Orchard Hotel ; SIL
12 Jun Jovanka Raffles Hotel
18 June tikiko
19 Jun goosey Grand Copthorne
24 June jtsy M Hotel
25 Jun Hui Yun Crowne Plaza ; Julia Wedding News

Anyway ladies, u gals can update ur particulars here as well for 2011 btb

http://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?key=0AlqjkCYsTj48dElJNmkwbVE2U2tiQlNHMlRjTjR5R2c&hl=en&zx=1280024137343#gid=0

pinkglove

purplebottle: welcome! im not cantonese so won't be wearing a kua.. will be in a CS for tea ceremony.. r u getting ur kua from TWP? i heard that they've nice kuas..

purplebottle

I don't know if I'm getting the Kua from twp bc it's kind of big for me. I'm thinking of looking around to see if I can find better ones.

I'm not Cantonese too but htb mentioned that he prefers me in a kua compared to cs because I can wear a cs anytime.

pinkglove

ya, agree that u can only wear a kua during wedding! A cs can always be worn anytime..abit the cs being a bit too fanciful during normal wear..hehe.. i told my fiance e same reason ur htb said too! but ended up i decided to just get a cs cos rental of a nice kua will cost me ard $S100+ so i decided to just spend more to get a cs to wear n keep..hehe.. anyway, i've a website that rent kuas which i tink seemed quite exquisite from e pics i see online.. i'll search for e link n pass them to u when im home tonight..

joyle_t

hi ladies, since u all r at the topic of kuas..

i also not cantonese, but was once very in love with kuas. Just not sure what the groom should wear when the bride is wearing Kua.. if he wears his tux, looks weird..

if u r wearing kua, wil ur hubby be wearing china collar suit? or still keep to his normal suit/tux?

purplebottle

Pinkglove: $100+ for kua rental? From where? TWP's kua rental is at $500 but I've some points to use so don't have to pay ;)

Joyle_t: he'll be wearing the tux. Too troublesome to get another suit for him ;p

joyle_t

purplebottle>> hah~ yah, getting another suit for the man is very troublesome.. my friend wore some "wong fei hong" looking shirt (the super long type) which he got eons ago for the tea ceremony when the wifey wore kua.. probbly can get a china-collar shirt to match if u want..

pinkglove

j0yle: i faced e same issue before too! I was kinda in love w kuas some time back and quite determined to get it... haha.. n ya, i also thought about htb suit.. he's not interested to get another suit just for e tea ceremony also and such a western suit + so traditional kua.. i think it's kinda weird n doesn't really match ..

purplebottle: i came across the following websites and one is with rental starting from $100+ but I'm not sure for the other website without listed pricing..
here are e websites:

http://www.lurvestory.com/index_files/Kwa.htm

http://www.theredwedding.com/COLLECTIONS.html

purplebottle

joyle: hahaha, I don't think htb would look good in that kind of top ;)

Pinkglove: thanks! I'll take a look when I've the time. Work has been crazy this week!

missywinnie

pinkglove-ya i met up with the VG last Fri.Nice guy. i think should be quite safe. anyway we had decided him to be our vg.

Hi All, my bridal will be providing me a kua for my tea ceremony and hubby will be wearing the 中国装。 which match with the kua. But i though of buying my kua online and an additional long long train gown for PS or AD.

pinkglove

Hi Missy, great tat u've settled ur VG, u taking PG frm them too? It's v convenient yr BS's loaning e trad suit for ur hubby! Wats ur BS? Why don't u choose a gown w v.long train from ur BS instead of buying it elsewhere?

missywinnie

pinkglove-yes i am so happy that i had settled my vg and pg. i love the work of that VG. But he offer me quite a nice sweet deal if i engage PG together. The pg work so so only. wont give u the WOW effect but so so lor. So he now talking to his PG to see if the PG going to throw in another 1 more assistant FOC. If ok, then i will hv 2 VG and 2PG on my AD. *wink*

i had updated the excel spreadsheet. my bd is venue in JB. In fact, my bridal is providing me 2EG and 2 gowns on my AD. But i saw a nice gown online. So though wanna buy it maybe for my PS. Hahah after that wash le sell off cheap cheap.

shanawawa - u mean which VG and PG i am with or what??? i am with filming art....

pinkglove

welcome missycheffy!
I'm a 11 June bride as well! How's ur preps?

purplebottle: from my memory, r u e one having ur wedding bands from fairy's inc? have u gotten ur bands already?

missycheffy

Hi Pinkglove, I am doing so much things in one go! We're having our ROM on 6 Nov, Bridal PS 0n 8 Nov. Now the house is also going through some renovation and I am doing alot of shopping for the house now!

Ain't easy coz I'm doing almost everything on my own since Fiance is busy w/ his work (Occupation is chef). I haven't started any VG/ AD sourcing yet. Am I too late?

purplebottle

pinkglove: my e-ring is from fairy's inc. i've seen some wedding bands but haven't found any one i really like so i'm probably going back to fairy's inc. i think i'll only go at the end of the year though since i only need the bands in june.

how about yours?

pinkglove

missycheffy: That sounds really busy! Wah.. u are very blessed, to have a chef cook dinner for u everyday in future! Hehe.. Don't worry.. i don't tink u are very late but I think u can start sourcing for ur AD PG & VG now..since it's around 10 months to our AD..

purplebottle: I haven got mine yet but am thinking if i wanna customize it.. so thought of a few choices like e-clarity, fairy's inc etc.. Not quite sure what's the differences between these shops..

purplebottle

I read that eclarity doesn't really have good service but I haven't been there before so I can't tell! As for Fairy's inc, I enjoy each visit there because the two ladies are so pleasant!

Actually I'm considering the love rings from Cartier as well but because there's a gap between the e-ring and wedding band when worn together, I'm having second thoughts. I thought it'd be good to go back to Fairy's inc so they can customize one which fits.

Maybe you should make an appt to see what they can offer you

missycheffy

Hi Pinkglove,

Haha so wrong! Chef nv wants to cook after work, imagine having to face the stove again after 10 hours at work, haha. 1 bad thing though, I've put on so much weight since I got with him as his motto is: Embrace food. LOL

pinkglove

warm welcome to ya, Wong Hsiu Yun (karenhy) ! There's also another bride on 19 june!

missycheffy: haha.. i can understand.. he prob wants a break at hm.. hehe.. i like his motto, embrace food! it's a happy motto.. haha

purplebottle: we went cartier when in paris.. but ended up e rose gold ring just doesn't look as red as wat we wanted or saw in sg.. dunno why also.. den got me tinking perhaps can try to custom make our own wedding bands.. oh.. got gap not as nice liao.. no wonder u r tinking of customizing it.. glad to hear tat e service's good! i shall check it out end yr too.. hehe..

missywinnie

welcome jesmine.

purple/missycheffy - i got my wedding band from eclarity.but i do encounter good service from amanda. she is really patient and provide advise to us too. similar design which i saw in goldxxx,leexxx are all cheaper in eclarity.

pinkglove

Great! there's a sudden influx of june brides!

welcome jesmine & angie !

angie: i've gone for my PS already.. =)

missy: how long does it take to customize ur wedding bands? Have u rom, that's why u've ur bands done?

pinkglove

4 Jun Shanawawa
4 Jun mrs limlin
4 Jun missy
11 Jun angie
18 June tikiko
19 Jun Wong Hsiu Yun
24 June jtsy M Hotel
25 Jun Jesmine

huiping_sg

pinkglove, u hav already gone for yr PS already? so fast! any pics to share? I will be doing mine in Jan.. hopefully is nt late ba..

BTW, just wana to check with u gals whether yr HTB has Ti Qing already? When is the best time to do it so it is nt consider too early or too late huh.

missywinnie

angie - welcome angie...

pinkglove-if i rem correctly is about 2weeks plus...
lots of variety for u to choose. they do engraving for u too.

angiee

pinkglove: Wow thats fast! Have you collected your photos already?

Thank you all!

How r your progress?
I've booked my venue, bridal, AD photographer, MUA. Still left with videographer... Yet to receive my rings...

Anything else to do for now?

pinkglove

Jesmine: dun worry,u r not late, I'm early..hehe. I'm thinking if ti Qing shld b done like a few mths b4 e wedding? I dunno if 3-4 mths b4 is ok or not. Cos muz give enough time to get e GDL stuff.

I've not gotten back my photos yet but have seen them. Will only b getting my album next yr. So long hor. Haha.

Angie: I'm at e same stage as u except dat I've gotten my VG. I'm now thinking if I shld do my own invites n DIY angbao boxes n corsages.

Missy: tks for e info. Then I'll have plenty of time to do my rings if I wanna customize them.

huiping_sg

seems like I am at the stage as you all... I have confirmed my..

Venue: Concorde hotel
BS/PG: Sophia wedding

Looking for VG now also..

love_asa

Hi, I'm new here

My AD will be on 12 June..
Solemnisation and AD banquet will be at Goodwood Park Hotel. Bridal studio engaged is My Dream Wedding.

Still sourcing for AD PG, and still deciding if I should engage a VG..

pinkglove

Welcome love_asa! Maybe u can check out for tie up of VG or packages which include VG when u are sourcing for ur PG?

4 Jun Shanawawa
4 Jun mrs limlin
4 Jun missy
11 Jun angie
12 Jun love_asa Goodwood Park ; My Dream Wedding
18 June tikiko
19 Jun Wong Hsiu Yun
24 June jtsy M Hotel
25 Jun Jesmine Concorde Hotel; Sophia wedding

mrslimlin

Wow! This place is getting quite populated with Jun btbs!

Am thinking of getting my wedding bands customised at Fairy's Inc, last I went, the person in charge says give them about 2-3 months cos it depends on the design and the gems u choose as well.

I'm with Z Weddings. So far so good, so thanking my lucky stars.

I'm not holding a banquet, so it'll probably be more like a small intimate wedding reception/party for close friends and family.

love_asa

We were looking at the wedding bands yesterday. The saleslady told us that we could get the wedding bands and wear them for the photoshoot. What do you guys think about that? Or should we wear them "for the first time" only during the solemnization?

pinkglove

hi love_asa, i tink it's dependent on individual couples to decide on that.. for me, my fiance doesn't want to wear e wedding bands for PS cos he feels that it'll lose e meaning when we eventually exchange e rings during rom so we stick to only my proposal ring for the PS. n on AD, will still be able to see shots of the wedding band .

n it's nice to have a little sparkle on e photos with the proposal ring..hehe..