(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

I'm also intending to print with T&T in JB! Should be much cheaper right. Have u guys gotten a quote yet?

I think what w3n means is to get an early indication of who can/cannot come first, then from there, distribute the invites. Cuz if you know your 'A' List guest not coming already, then can activate your 'B' list guest.

Chloe Ong >> It's up to your own family bah. My mum is okay with it, she doesn't even mind GDL during the qing ming month. So best to consult ur parents/in-laws.

Ya that's wat I meant kass...cox if they can't come no point I give them the invite n waste their red packet...m I doing it right? Haha abit confuse at times...

Michelle update us on the ties kk
tks!

Yah intend to go t n t to print the invites too...

I think Bo bian to meet Qing Ming to give out the invites coz wait till may then give abit rush I feel...but guo da Li I heard is best to avoid Qing Ming ba...

For an chuang, can we do it ourselves?

Chole, that's wad my concern also. I wanna avoid leh.. When is Qing Ming again? :x

Kass, can bargain for better quote one meh? I Tot is standard de, based on the price list? I only know normal inserts is 200 pcs for rm60 or 80 can't rem. Alot cheaper den SG. I dun plan to do hotstamping. Cuz people tends to throw away e card, so hot stamp on card itself also no use. (my thinking la, no offense)

I think I will print invites on early march leh.. So gt more time to prepare. Den can sms them to confirm again, den send card. Den confirm RSVP?

mich, qing ming starts on 5 April, i'm not very sure how long it lasts, 2 weeks? need to check with the elderly.

so u girls will do the printing at T&T city sq? i havent source for printing vendors yet though. hehe.

i intend to send email for soft invites first, probably in Feb, get them to RSVP, then start printing in march, and distribute in april, RSVP again. dont know if my way works. any advice?

Hi all, tink u all need to sms those close frens whom u are inviting, den send invites, so dun need to waste the cards.

what kind of ties are u all looking for? i work at Raffles place, will b going to arcade later. need my help to find something?

Anybody knows if we need to wear new heels on our wedding day?

Officially QM is 1 day lah, which is 5 April, but because it is not an official PH in Singapore (unlike Taiwan or China), so ppl will visit the ancestral graves etc over the weekend, so 1 week before and after? As long as not on the actual day itself should be okay.

Piggy >> I bought new heels, but I will be wearing it for photoshoot and AD as well. So, dun need to specially get 1 new pair to wear on AD. I also dun want to kenna blisters etc from wearing the new shoe, so rather wear it in before that.

Are all of you getting suits from the BS? How many suits and shirts do you have for the groom? I reckon it would be at least 1 suit and 2 shirts?

Where did u buy the shirts from or did u tailor make??

Kass, thx for clarify.
Our BS gave the groom 2 coat, which I think not enough, cuz I got quite a few of gowns so hoping the groom can at least have one more. Hehe.. Think only add a laundry fee only not rental fee.
this theory goes same to fathers coat.

Piggy, I think no need new heels ba. Never heard before wor. I'm also wearing back my heels for photoshoot during jul n sept thou the heel part abit "drop skin" cuz I climbed here n there during photoshoot! Lol.. Anyway I mended with a marker which is same colour with e heels and will be wearing long dress also no point gettig new ones somemore so bling where gt always wear. Haha!

Piggy, the tie shop is we heard frm a thread de. Only know it's a indian shop and the shop name I can't rem le.. Lol. Thx for asking, I think I find some time to go down one day. Cuz I need to find also.

Dear ladies, I am soooooo happy! Collected my album n frames from my BS yesterday! They gave us 200 pcs of photos the layouts photo for guests, my mother, me n hubby's parents one set each, so the rest giving relatives n close frens. Haha.. Can't resist not to dun keep. :x and hor, lucky the chuang tou zhao can go in, cuz the boot can't squeeze in so we put at e back seat. There's other 4 table tops n another frame. They also give us a free 20x50 de photo. Still got some stuff haven collect thou..

Mid apr choosing AD gowns!! Me sibei excited. Lol

Piggy, my bs advise me to wear another pair for PS as I might dirty it. New pair will wear on AD. Trying to season it by sometime wearing it at hm now...

Kass, I got 1 suit & 2 shirts from BS

Qingming is between 5 April to 2 May.
my mum says afew days before that, the thingy starts to come out le keke...

i think the shop name is isrudy at the arcade level two but dunno still around or not haha...

mine also two suits from JB bridal shop and i have a MTM black suit from TW bridal shop so total will be having 3 for AD for my hubby.

piggy if u pop by maybe can help to see if the shop is around still? if not popping by is fine hee thanks!

not that i know of that we need to wear new heels on AD =)

Suppose every family is different lah, as long as your family is okay with it, doesn't really matter whether it is QM or not.

Interesting read: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Qingming_Festival

"Overseas Chinese normally visit the graves of their recently deceased relatives on the nearest weekend to the actual date. According to the ancient custom, grave site veneration is only feasible ten days before and after the Qingming Festival. If the visit is not on the actual date, normally veneration before Qingming is encouraged."

So it's it is +/- 10 days before and after then it would be 26 March to 15 April 2010. But again, it really depends on what are ur family beliefs and customs.

Hi all, i just went to JB with my friends ytd. Should have read this thread earlier so that i can check out the printing prices for u guys. nvm, will check out the next time i go.

btw, i also went to recce the prices for the GDL stuff. JB is really cheaper. found one shop at Holiday Plaza and another one along the street full of BS. it's at least 30-50% cheaper. duno if i shld buy my GDL, JZ and AC stuff there.

my BS gave me 2 coats and 2 pants for my HTB. will need to source for our own shirts. my HTB will also be wearing his No. 1 for PS and AD so altogether he has 3 suits to change.

my BS also gave me 2 dresses for my JM. Think i will check with them to see if i can change them to gowns for my mum and MIL. easier to find dresses for my JMs than my mum n MIL.

kittywendwend >> It's in City Square. The shop is T&T. There is also one more call Nagamas, but not as good reviews. If you were to go and check out again, can find out about the costs of printing on normal insert and on translucent paper? Understand that printing on translucent paper is more ex. Thanks!

I found the quote for TnT on the BTB March 2011 thread.

(A) Normal wedding insert paper (cream/pink color paper with gold print):
2 side printing with map :
250pcs = RM 230.00
300pcs = RM 254.00
350pcs = RM 278.00

2 side printing without map :
250pcs = RM 200.00
300pcs = RM 224.00
350pcs = RM 248.00

(B) Transculent paper with color printing (only can 1 side)
250pcs = RM 417.00
300pcs = RM 477.00
350pcs = RM 552.00
(with map printing will add RM 30.00 for total price)

Kitty, I wad there yesterday too. But didn't went toc check. Cuz not enough time for my shopping. Lol.

It's sure that their wedding stuff is cheaper. As u can see, their banquet is already cheap le. :x but I think I will buy here since they offer those "package" type. Cuz initially I Tot of getting from JB too. But too many small small stuff le, I find abit mafan. And if we Dono anything, parents can help out to be there also. But I will be getting bedsheets there! Really cheap!

Thanks Kass for the quotes.

is their GDL and AC stuff really cheaper there? i been to one shop around taman sentosa to enquire but then is like about the same wor (i check the price of the bed lamp etc) care to share which shops u all visit and realised is cheaper? cause if is not cheaper by alot, i rather not travel in but if it is 50% is alot! haha =)

bedsheets can buy where in JB? any recommendations? i saw some about 300plus RM if i rem correctly...

hey any suggestions to this dress, do u all think it can be jiemei dress?
http://i14.photobucket.com/albums/a330/w3ngal/IMG_1193.jpg

w3n (w3ngal) >> Not bad! I like that the JMs can decide how they wanna wear it, whether loose or with thin belt, with waist belt, with leggings!

Where did u find this? Looks like it's in some shop?

Wen, my fren got her's at city sq last time. But now, The shop become smaller liao. Haha!
The dress is nice! Orange red? Bright n nice!

I found this in purpur, is actually bright pink, But when taking pics it looks like orangy...haha wonder if it matches my brother's shirt which is lighter pink....if my sisters can fit most likely I willl get this

mich, u mean the bedsheets ur friend got in city square? Any idea which shop?

hey gals, i suddenly have an idea. since many of us are going to buy ties/bows for the brothers, why don't we pool our needs together? den we can bargain for better prices. same for the JM's dresses (if we all wana tailor-made), HTB's shirts, or even other stuff like the printing for the invites etc.

if you gals are interested, maybe for a start, i suggest that all of u (who are interested) send an email to me with your contacts. By end of next week, i will collate the email addresses and send an email copying all of u so that we have each other's email.

eg. if we decide to go to the tie shop in the arcade, we can arrange for a time to go down together. we can then bargain for a better price, choose the type and color of the tie/bow we want and place an order.

what do you think? if you are interested, my email address is [email protected]

ermmmm i am afraid my timing may not meet and i am always so freaking minded. haha but if there is not much people joining, i think we may not be able to get better prices i guess so?

Mo, i pretty like it too but hope all my jm can wear then i dun need to headache liao hee!

what have u all done so far? now i have nothing much to do like that but dunno is it because i missed out anything. have u all prepare childhood montage? i have not started yet cause plain lazy! haha

oh yah is 31st! wish all May brides to be a happy 2011 and stay pretty always! =)

Wen, my HtB done the childhood montage le. But may not using it. May ask my VG to do cuz they do provide this service to us.

Everybody!! Happy 2011!

HAPPY NEW YEAR everybody!

w3n, I think I saw your jm dress in wisma yesterday. The colour very bright! I like! Since they have shop, can get yr jm to go try?

I have not done much these days either... busy with choosing room deco only. Jus bought the room lighting & bathroom accessorize last 3 wks.

I havent even make up my mind on MUA for PS, Groom havent got his shoes, I need to find PS shoes that is not too high, basic colour and comfit to wear. We are going for fitting in 2 wks time, and he got no time to go shop for his shoes. And I am in panic mode le! And I need to find time to shop for CNY clothes!

Hello all, happy new year!! So fast, year 2011 is coming... Hope to have a great and smooth year ahead!!

I also haven't done anything for few weeks after reseaching for AD photographer...

WOuld like to ask, does anyone start planning on the AD schedule?

My good timing from the master is very early which i need to reach groom's house before 7am. I really don't know how to plan for the day...

Anyone can help?? Headache...

Reach groom hse before 7 is very very early!! No other gd timings?

Yeah I managed to book my makeup artist for mother in law n bought sisters dresses...n mother's gown at Daniel yam...

Now left with brothers ties n corsages...

Others like jia zhuang I dun think will buy so early ba...

Hello... We are not teochew, but i don't know why the master will come out with this timing... Not sure should go and ask again or not..

Anyone plan your AD schedule already?

W3n, u manage to settle so many things together! SO efficient! I have settle none of yr mentioned items loh! Opps...

Michelle, if cannot find, can try to DIY the bow?

Nicole, your timing really very early! Me teochew also not so early... hee. I havent plan AD yet. Jus tot I will start on that after Mar.

Happy New Year all!

HTB and I finally decided on a theme, so am very happy about it! Now we gonna have to DIY a lot of items, but it will be a fun project for both of us!
I also spoke to my bestie about having her help me with some of the DIY items! V Excited!

I realised that I gained weight over the festive season!
Woke up early to jog with HTB today. Felt really difficult, but must persevere!

Nicole > I have not planned my AD schedule yet, but I have a sample copy from my geomacer. My geomacer gave me 2 timings, one very early and one normal timing. Maybe u can speak to yours and ask him whether there is an alternate timing?

Nicole, I'm a teochew. i heard that teochew bride has to leave the house and reach the groom's place before daybreak. I haven't gone to my fengshui master so i don't know what is my timing.

btw, i have a bride from the Mar 2011 thread who is interested to pool with us if we are going to get ties together. she also shared with me a website for JM's dress - www.silkytrend.com

i have not done anything for my wedding yet. i guess it's time to start now. gonna do up a to-do list. i guess i will have alot to do since i have not done anything yet.

Another thing gals, don't forget ur e-file!!!
We can all e-file next month le I guess. Hehe

For DIY I done all except my AB Box, I got an idea for AB Box le, but need to figure bait on the designs I wan. I wan a simple one more like nature theme as my pens have butterfly! Hehehe.. Need to do guest chart (book) too!

Thanks Kass. The list is really helpful. This will be my bible from now on. haha. I hope I do not have too many outstanding items not completed.