(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Mo > I forgot you are at MBS, which is new. In that case, why dun you head over to the MBS thread and ask one of the brides there to send you their invite?

Personally, I dun wanna spend too much on an invite, cuz ppl will just throw away after the dinner, that's why I am taking the hotel provided one, even though it is quite plain. Rather spend money on solemnisation invites, which are only for close family and close friends.

Mo, not too sure if u should print the venue in chinese or not cos all addresses in s'pore are actually in english.. hahah.. me just wondering even if you print in chinese, ppl may not understand too...

i have friends who print their own invites too, such as air ticket, movie tickets but they only give to friends.. for relatives, they will use the hotel invites.

Kass, i agree with you. i rather save the money on invites and spend on other areas. cos no one will keep the invites anyway. i hv friends who will even send their wedding pic together with the invite.

Hi Candy, how much is the villa in Kranji Farm Resort? It is not so accesible right?
Actually i am thinking of Chevon. But, i think it is hard to book as always full house.
Worst case, i will have to book chalet which i don't hope to because it is very far from my FH house.... Any other choices?

hey girls, just to share some info. I went down to the chinese wedding shop at AMK. their stuffs are quite cheap. in some previous post, someone mentioned that the GDL package @ chinatown is selling for $500. the one at AMK is selling at $198. Jia Zhuang is also selling at $198. An Zhuang is $38. They will also provide u with the instructions on what to give and what to take back.

Kitty, is package price?

I went before but the shop like small.. :x the $500 is wad my fren mentioned. Not Chinatown de. Chinatown one I think ard the price or 200++ however, even thou it's a pgk price also depends on the item u choose. Eg. Tea set gt ex n cheaper de so if take more ex items Ur pgk will Ofcuz be higher de.

All, now is gd time to buy luggage for jia zhuang! I am going to buy it anytime this month. Haha!! Salessss!

Nicole Lee (little_bobdog) > Must check with chalet, normally they dont allow wedding related event nowadays. I booked the superior plus villa (1Queen+1single), $288nett. You need a car, otehrwise need to wait for free shuttle bus from YewTee MRT (every 30min), CCK & Kranji also have shuttle bus but need to pay. I tried OCC,the room is $300++ w/o breakfast. How many ppl do u have? Many hotel doesnot allow 1 room to have more than 2pax stay overnight. If you are having banquet in hotel, maybe can get discount rate. Initially I wanna to try Aloha resort but the T&C mentioned no wedding event, I emailed them 2-3times for enquiry and mentioned no wedding party/solemnisation will be hold, only for 'chujia', also nobody reply.

Nicole> Somebody also recommend me svc appartment: LANSON PLACE, quite nice but 1bedroom 1night $420-480. Google it. (pls note, some svc appartment min 7night stay)

Ah first time heard of this...I ask my mum n Chinatown shop but they say no need to buy luggage...nvm I keep it simple ba...

Some of my friends also bought luggage, I think my mum also have a big red one. but I hav no intention to prepare it, keep it simple will do...

Michelle,

although the shop is small, but they have almost everything you need. what they have there is just the display set.

$198 is the package price for the standard set. if u need to change anything eg, the tea set, the towels, the lamp etc, u will need to top up.

they will provide u with the instruction manual so that u will know what is included in each package and what each item means. they will also teach u what are the things the guy side has to give, what the girl side has to keep and what to return.

i intend to check out the chinatown shop and compare prices. will update you guys again.

I realise my gdl date crashes with Qing Ming period, seek advises from u all, do u think I should bring forward to march (ad is in may 22) or do gdl 2 wks before AD?

Anyone print invites in jb t and t in city square, any idea how long the printing of invite takes...

kitty oh.. yesterday juz discuss with parents wad they wan for gdl. abit of things only! so very good! haha.. Cuz this sat gonna meet parents talk le..

wen, my mother have the luggage also lol.. red one.. super vintage! hahaha! It's jia zhuang lai de

if gdl or any wedding preparations clash with qing ming or ghost festival better dont go ahead.. this is wad i heard la..

btw wen, my ad same date as urs. i am doing my gdl on the 10th or 12th May 2 weeks b4. cuz 1 week b4 i scare still too tight in between.. and i didnt know its qing ming leh! when ah the qing ming... lol

i am printing my invites at tnt i rem i saw the price list.. v cheap lorh! i have fren print this weekend den next weekend collect le

Last day of Qing Ming month is 3 May, iirc. I will be doing my GDL during Qing Ming month, 2 weeks before. For me, I have no issues, cuz my family dun really practise QM, and our parents dun mind.

Ultimately, a lot of things is whether u wanna believe in it bah.

michelle, w3n, my AD is also 22 may. i have not decided on the GDL date. will need to approach my fengshui master for the dates. he told me to contact him 3 months before AD and he will help me select dates for GDL and an chuan. will share with u guys once i have it.

Kitty, not all at once get all dates Tgt one ah? These type of dates cannot share de lol I mean cuz it's based on each family de birth date ma..
I roughly fix my dates for gdl n ac le. Sat parents will be meetig up to talk.

okie my dad prefers to GDL in end March, before the qing ming starts in April and ends on 3 May. Coz he feels two weeks too rush liao rather do it earlier. but confirm going to avoid during the qing ming period cause master tong like also dont recommend qing ming period.

my parents and in law just met up last weekend. so now awaiting for gdl and ac confirmed dates jiu gao ding le ba!

michelle, 10 or 12 is weekday. means u gona take leave and go reletives house? cause relatives mostly working also and only at night at home so we decided to choose weekend. aiyooo i din know is qing ming period!

okie. thanks i intend to go t and t to do the printing also. if can be ready in 1 week thats good!

Wen, yahor.. U reminded me the relative not home.. I know it's weekday but didn't tot of that. Alamak. Lol.. I will see other dates ba.. Thanks.

no prob michelle. just sharing whatever we know. remember hee...okie i also headache dunno which date to set haha...

Sorry gals, have been MIA for so long....

Kass, I went over to look see MBS thread but its so quiet. I also didnt want to spend too much on the invite. Just toying around with the idea of the possibility to change the hotel invite to wine. Coz I can foresee my guest drinking quite a bit and the corkage at MBS cant be waived and per bottle is damn ex la!... So I was thinking if I change that to wine and I get my own cheap invite then more worth it. BUT 1st I have to find the cheap invite supplier 1st! sigh... maybe i'm thinking too much n giving myself more prob onli.

Kitty Michelle W3n, no wonder my shi fu gave me the date for gdl for 29th Mar, and I was thinking its so early! 1+mth b4 my AD but I didnt question since its given by shifu. Now I know coz its qing ming!

How did your meet the parents session go? Mine was quite weird really. Both sides met up ard early Aug last yr, after bf proposed.

At 1st its all silent then,... then start chatting abt NDP parade, the weather and when we are at the 4th or 5th course then only his dad start talking abt the wedding. He ask abt the tables 1st. hahhaha... but my parents also v paisey... dont know how to say, jus keep saying anything loh anything loh. Faint loh I telling u... then silent then his gu gu say... bu yao ke qi just say loh... but my parents still paisey de. At this point they are already serving dessert le! N coz my bf got some urgent work to look into, we left 1st. Leaving both side parents to go back on their own. But i heard from mum later that nite that they continue with coffee to further discuss but I got not clear idea of whats agreed. Mum just told me very briefly. But seems like not much is being finalize. U think they still need to meet another time or I should just wait to be told wats needed?

Mo, haha indeed very weird they really ps la cuz ask things from people out of sudden like that. Lol!

My PIL n my parents met before de so hopefully they will not feel mo sheng to each another.

Actually we keep it to very simple cuz mil ever tell me last time her wedding n the sibling's wedding got no gdl n ac one. Haha but she will still give wad my parents wan la.. Juz that my parents also keep it to the minimum lor. Cuz I told mummy wad mil told me she gt no gdl n ac den my mummy say den where gt like it's a wedding. Haha :x

wen, i think 2 weeks is still ok ba?

Cuz the invites u give (brides side) relatives only, before hand confirm u will n already inform them ma.. Juz that its more formal to pass them the invites.

Michelle, the choosing-dates-package that i signed up has 2 sesssion. 1st session is to select the AD. they will provide me with a few dates so that i can check out the hotels. 2nd session is GDL and AC. so once i confirm my AD, i should inform them and arrange fr the 2nd session where they will give me the dates for GDL and AC.

My PIL and parents have not met before. was considering to let them meet during the food tasting. cos HTB and i will be paying for everything so we don't really need to consult them regarding what they want. i tot GDL items are quite standard. maybe except for the no. of tables and the pin jing, so i tot they dun have to purposely meet up to discuss.

saw some of u guys discussing abt GDL dates - whether 1 or 2 weeks before AD is too rush. i'm not quite sure what do we need to do during GDL. i tot the guy side will just come over to my place to deliver the items. u mean we have to go ard delivering invites on the same day too?

kitty,

i agree is about the same things. But still need to get parents to meet. I feel it's more of respect them to let them go n discuss together. Den maybe they can talk about other things on the wedding? hmm.. However, different parents gt diff things they will wanna request one..

U are right your HTB will be going to ur hse on GDL day and one of his auntie (no need also can) Somehow like the "mei po" Den pass the pin jing n all things ur parents requested by ur parents. Den proceed to give out cakes n invites to ur side de aunties lor. Give cakes (xi bing) with card to only ur relative (bride side only)
The xi bing can be some kueh n cakes, but most people now buy only cake only. Normally Marble cake. And it will be under groom's side expenses. =)

Yah need to give out the cakes to relatives during gdl so whole day will run around to give out to the relatives

I will let my parents decide on gdl ba...I can't decide on the dates :/

GDL I just let my parents decide bah, don't wanna think too much into it. Actually the only think I am interested in is the cakes and kueh! I'm Teochew and I wanna get those super traditional teochew pastries! LOL.

Anyway, what do u do with the jiazhuang, when do u bring it to the new house etc? During GDL? My mum didn't even mention anything about jiazhuang.

Going to see the design of my evening gown and take measurements this weekend! Can't wait!

Michelle,

ya i also wana them to meet. that's y i'm thinking of arranging it during the food tasting. food tasting will be around 3mths before AD. in the meantime, i will do research on the GDL and AC items first. if they require additional items during the meeting session, i will then add on.

Kass,

I'm a teochew too. so what kinds of cakes & kueh should we request from the guy side? I'm also confused abt the Jiazhuang. i will be moving into my new house immediately after AD. so when do we bring those things over?

Also, during the AD morning, besides going to both groom and bride side to offer tea, do we need to make a trip down to our new house? and what are we supposed to do there?

kitty/kass,

the jia zhuang can bring over anytime. no need good date one. I will be bringing over bit by bit as n when lor..

Moving to htb hse first maybe our unit will only be ready mid 2012.

For Kueh n tarts i dono le.. haha.. Anyway i have a teochew fren she also only buy cake for them only.

kittywendwend... actually I have no idea what those pastries are called. I only eat them! LOL. But if I see them, I know they are Teochew pastries.

You can try Gim Thye or this other chinese pastry shop at Kreta Ayer Road and ask the owners. There is also one more at the HDB blocks Chin Swee Road on the 1st floor. They will know cuz they sell Teochew pastries everyday.

I don't know if my parents will still want all the Teochew pastries though, since my grandma and grandaunt has passed away since the last wedding in the extended family...

yeah, just to share my joys with u girls. i'm going fr my bridal fitting tomorrow. Can't wait. haha. cannot imagine myself in a wedding gown. wonder how i will look like. hope to find something i like.

kittywendwend >> Have fun! Bridal fitting is always the most fun part. Do share with us what type of gown you have chosen!

I am going to see my evening gown design this weekend! Can't wait as well!

Just booked our flights for a short honeymoon to Bali after the wedding. We wanted to go for a short trip before going on the REAL honeymoon in autumn/winter to Japan or US.

Was a spur of the moment thing as the prices were too good to resist! :P

We paid only slightly over $100 per pax. If you don't mind taking budget. Jetstar has a v good promo for travel in May! Book before Monday!

Kass, we will be doing that too! short trip after the wedding den end of yr go for the real thing. I call that a mini moon! hahaha

i thinking of going short trip too but roughly bali need how much for expenses and activities? i dun shop much hahaha

Hi all!!!

I'm new to this thread. Adding in another BTB into this list!!
I'm happy to see so many brides on the same day!! :D Someone to know my anxiousness and excitement!!!

peekaboo0939 1 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marina Mandarin
Lin H 1 May 2011 (Sun)@ Sheraton Towers
happy 2 May 2011 (Sun)
kass 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Goodwood Park
KK 7 May 2011 (Sat)
prisci11a 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Novotel CQ
disneyland 7 May 2011 (Sat)
Hazey 7 May 2011 (Sat) @ Mandarin Oriental
Shining 7 May 2011 (Sat)
tangerinez 12 May 2011 (Thurs)
ethereal 14 May 2011 (Sat) @ Goodwood Park
Blackangel1512 15 May 2011 (Sun)
Chloe 15 May 2011 (Sun)
Shareen 15 May 2011 (Sun) @ Orchard Hotel
Purplemoon85 15 May 2011(Sun) Sheraton Towers Hotel
Janie 21 May 2011 (Sat) @ Peony Jade Keppel Club
kittywendwend - 22 May 2011 (Sun) Pan Pacific S'pore
w3ngal 22 May 2011 (Sun)@ Grand Park City Hall
Michelle Chia - 22 May 2011 (Sun) Orchard Hotel
happyprincess - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marina Mandarin
udee - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Marriot Hotel
ysl77 - 22 May 2011 (Sun) @ Mandarin Oriental
PrinCess 27 May 2011 (Fri)
Phoebe 28 May 2011 (Sat) @ Swiss Merchant Court
Piggy 28 May 2011 (Sat) @ Grand Mecure Roxy Hotel (Poolside)
streamstarz 29 May 2011 (Sun) @ Meritus Mandarin

By the way, everyone seems very well prepared...I'm still struggling with my cards....

w3n >> Bali not much to shop as compared to Phuket. You prob wanna budget for massages and transport.

Don't think you will spend more than S$80 per day there, not inc airfare and accommodation

Gals, I went to AMK that wedding shop. Didn't know the Jia Zhuang is overall one and née $198!!! Teochew groom side GDL also same price.

The auntie talk bait fast but she is good in explaing! Hehe

Kass, kitty, me also teochew! And I wan to have some traditional cakes too. I think I'm quite old fashion when it come to this kind of stuff. Bf says more troublesome n costly to him onli!

I juz confirmed my eg yesterday too! Going to have a super ang gong gong dress man! Ha! What colour eg did u gals pick?

Hi girls, I'm back from my bridal gown selection. I selected 5 gowns + 1 Kua within 2 hours. I think I may be the fastest bride around. hahaha...

Poll: How do you girls take during the selection process?

Michelle, I also been to the wedding shop at AMK. i think their package quite cheap. Will be checking out the shop at chinatown too, just to compare the prices.

Kass, I will be doing a short trip too. cos HTB will be going for overseas exercise in early Jun, so we can't go for a long one.

Mo, my EG is royal blue top with grey bottom. it's a 2-color gown. I went with my HTB today. He didn't give me much comments/advice so it's purely based on the salesgirl's expert opinion and my personal preference.

Kitty, u so fast chosen Ur ad gowns? Or ps de? I also choose v fast for my ps. Haha.. Sui Bian one but I love it!! Going to collect my album n all frames on new yr, 1 Jan. Hehe...

thanks kass.

sorry if i missed the post, where is the shop in amk? thanks!

since my bridal shop is in JB i will choose AD gowns sometimes in April ba.

for PS gowns, i choose it within 2 hrs too.

Wen, at julibee the building beside subway.

I will also choose ad de ard apr. Cuz they will still have new arrivals. Hehe.. So don't choose yet.