(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

prisci11a - Don't worry about it lah. I also have a wedding cake and I am only serving to my ROM guests. Not intending to serve to all, as it would be too expensive. I rather have it small and only serve to people who attend my ROM as a filler between ROM and dinner.

actually AP for kids is couple must give when they see got kid in the hse.. den if kid got serve u tea must give them again.

We do not intend to let kids serve us tea so we give them one time ap only. =)

Pricilla, actually how advance we need to order cakes ah?

oohh i didnt know about the AP to kids thingy...think my parents also dont know about it. haha. anyway, come to think about it, we will only have 2 kids, both are my nieces.

kass, my rom at 630 and reception at 7pm, so is abit rush... so my cake will be served in the reception area....

michelle, try to book it early if you can, as most of the cake makers i asked only make about 2-3 wedding cakes at most a day....i got mine with cake avenue, they are actually quite cheap as far as icing deco cakes go.... pine cake is really nice for fresh cream cake.

Michelle - I think you mean GDL cakes? I think Pris is referring to a actual wedding cake??

Pris - I considered cake avenue as well, however they only do chocolate flavour, so I dropped them as I wanted other flavours. Cake avenue also told me to buy the cakes in order to sample them.
In the end I went with pat's pastry. Juz wondering after the ROM the hotel will cut and place the cakes on plates for you?? If it runs out during the reception are you gg to offer other items like cup cakes etc??

My hotel is giving me 1kg wedding cake to be delivered to bridal suite in the afternoon so we will ask them to cut n serve it to our guests after our solemnization at ard 6:30pm, which is before cocktail recep starts...so timing wise still manageable...

My htb will be asking his fren to bake cupcakes for us cos she is specialize in cupcake bakery but not sure if she is still available or not...if not then we will drop this idea

Michelle, sorry :s Heee din realize u talking about GDL cake, so far when I asked the cake shops they said about 1 to 2 wks depending the qty u order.

Kass, nope not serving anything else when cake finish.. Its more for the relatives n frens that come early for my rom

Kass, I eat the choc fudge before n found it good, so I ordered from them. Pats pastry also has v pretty cupcakes right, did u order?

Ya, I'm referring to GDL cake. Lol.. Didn't realist u all talking about ad cake. Chole, my hotel same as Ur case, will have a 1kg cake after the banquet. Think most hotel also like that?

Hey Pris... How heavy is your cake?? Is it 3 tier or 2 tier?? Cuz $400 to serve 50-60 pax seems expensive. Also when speaking to the cake avenue person, I realize her estimation of portion size is very excessive as if ppl are eating the cake for a meal... But then I suppose more cake may be better since you gonna serve it in the reception area...

Yup I've placed my order with pat's pastry. The baker patty came up with ideas for the cake decor, and offered many suggestions. She also allowed me to do a slight customization on the flavours so that was greatly appreciated.

wah.. never been here for weeks and realised that so many of you gals have done alot. i'm super busy with work and house reno, that i din do much for wedding. i guess the only thing i did was just photoshoot and food tasting. hahaha..

anyway i will try to start doing my wedding stuff from today onwards. was trying to read all previous posts. seemed like i have alot to do. haahah..

1) JM's dresses (my HTB will be doing soccer jerseys for his XDs)
me thinkin of buying what they call a versatile dress. can wear differently. the smooch website is selling for $30+ i think. anybody know of any cheaper ones ard?

2) for GDL, AC, JZ stuff, HTB and me intend to go down chinatown this wkend. hopefully can settle once and for all.

3) for printing of wedding invites, me also intend to go down to T-dragon this wkend. how long do they take to process? i hope i can get the inserts by end of this mth so that i can start mailing them out. i have sent a save-the-date email to my colleagues and also create a event on FB, so most of my frens will know abt my wedding date.

4) PG & VG, i have already contacted a few. will be meeting them this wk to discuss. hopefully can also confirm by this wk.

5)Wines, i have contacted my mum's supplier. he will be selling to me @ $13.50 per bottle. he will deliver to the hotel for me 2 days before my AD which is a friday cos they are not working on wkend.

what else did i miss?

Kitty, are you refering to Convertable dresses? I got for my JM that! =)
Replying to the que on invites, TD takes about 2 weeks time.. =)

Just to share, for my case, I have finish tying ribbon on the cards.. So in these coming few days i will be writing on it liao..

And I'm gonna have my AP box to be done aiming by this weekend.. Also we will do the "Thank you" video and to send my VG our childhood photos for them to produce the video! hehehe.. Also next weekend heading to BS to select my AD gowns.. Excited! =p

Wen, saw u asking Fables on Coat.. Ur BS is Venus rite? Venus charge u high? or not much choice? Just a little leak news to u, Fables charged me only the laundry RM50. They dont charge me rental. But this is only the coat. They mentioned only special colours den will have pants. So i've got RM50 x 2 for both daddies. =) For groom wise you better go down to see better...

kass, was telling her i will want to have the cakes cut quite small, about 2-3 mouth full only... my cake is 4.5kg, 3 tier de.... so she said that was enough lei..... how come patty was so good with you...i found her a bit inflexible before :S

piggy, congrats to ur efile! one thing down ur list.. hehe.. My appt also same time as yours.. but on 19th May. =p

So actually for my case abit rush.. 19 will be my AC day, and the timing given by master is between 7-11. And collecting cert between 930-1030.

So I'm thinking to AC at 830, den should be ok by 9am? Then we leave to collect cert.. But gonna AC so super early! zzz

Mich, my hotel is giving me the cake before our banquet, not after. hehe. so can share with relatives n frens who attend our solemnization lo.

i think AC at 830 should be in time for ur rom apptm, cos AC very fast one, can settle within 15mins. hehe. i'm also going to do my DIY AP box this weekend~ my htb will be doing our DIY story board as well.

kitty, what about your photo montage? march in songs? gatecrashing games? AD gowns?

this evening, we r going to BS to collect our albums ! excited! also to discuss with MUA on AD mu and hairstyle..

Kitty, I saw ur msg on my website... think i reply u here ba.. =)

i bought from thedesigncloset. However i think they don't manufac this already. But you can try asking them. Actually weeks or months back I did mentioned here.. :D I bought it at a good price! S$29! and material is good. Service too!

Chloe, i haven done my photo montage yet. some of the PG&VG i have selected can also do photo montage. once i meet up with them this week, i will have a better idea. some of them will do foc if i sign package with them.

march-in songs not yet. my hotel gave me 3 pages full of songs. i duno how to choose. hahaah...

AD gowns are part of the PS gowns. however me thinking of changing the wedding gown for AD. it's abit low. during PS, i have to keep pulling it up. but my BS wana charge me extra $300 for changing. sian.. still haven decide.

Gatecrashing not yet too. haven finalise my JMs list. i dun have much female friends so v hard. hahaha...

Hi Kitty, do u hav any cousins or sisters? i ask my sisters n cousins to b my JMs..

Thanks Mich. Yur AC so early ah? Is your htb place far from the rom apptment place? Hav u submitted your consent form to your JP?

My JMs just went down to select the bridesmaid dress from my bridal. i oso asked my emcee to choose one too. haha..

My hotel co-ordinator neva tell me bout the cake leh. onli fake cake. will it be stipulated in the contract?

For T-dragon, they will send u the template with the details first, after u approve den they will do the printing. takes about 2 weeks. mine still hav not collected. They charge $10 (one time charge) for 1 cartoon icon to b printed on all the inserts.

kittywendwend, u have shortlisted a few VG/PG already, right? ya, better meet up with them asap, left 1 month plus only. hehe.

u also have to start selecting u & ur htb's childhood photos already, we took quite some time to do the shortlisting of our childhood, teenager, pak tor photos. hehe. cos we have been together for 9 years, sooooo many photos, had a hard time choosing lor.

i think if u're not comfortable with ur PS gown, then it's better to choose another one. try to nego with ur Bs for lower price?? or ask them if they can alter the gown maybe add a layer of lace to cover that 'low' part?

piggy, my 1kg cake was stated in my contract, there will be artificial cake for cake cutting ceremony as well. maybe u check with ur coor? i think most hotel give the complimentary cake leh.

piggy, i have cousins but not v close. duno if i shld ask them. we only see each other once a yr during CNY. but thanks alot for the link. will try them out.

my hotel only provides the fake cake.

chloe, thanks for the suggestion. ya maybe i will try to nego with my BS.

Kitty, welcome. If you dont like the gown beter to change if not if u really wear that for AD, and keep pulling may not be so nice looking also.

I am now urgently looking for dresses for JM for nite time.. preferred in liac.. Been searching on those online blog and livejournal shops.. and saw quite alot. but no stock or BO one..

Piggy, i haven send the consent form back to my JP leh.. =x Erm.. u sent?

Michelle, i just efiled last nite. den i haven sms him for his email add. haha. mayb will do by end of this week ba. u must remember to bring the signed consent form along when u go collect the cert..

w3n and Michelle - have u gotten your solemnisation consent form? If not, can download from ROM website, write and send to Dr Phua to sign and return to you... Though I read that Dr Phua will prepare, sign and send to you, after which you sign and bring to ROM, don't need to return to him. better double check.

Piggy - some hotels don't provide a complimentary cake. It depends lah. Your wedding at Grand Mercure Roxy right? Better check your contract.

w3n and Michelle, Heng Liang told me to download the form from ROM website, den email him, after which he will acknowledge and send back to us. U will print it out and bring it to your appointment, it need not be original.

i have already gotten the signed form from Mr.Chiang.

Mich, u sponsor ur JMs for the night dress as well? for me, it's up to them for the night outfit, hehe.

All, Dr phua did all the job himself.. he mailed us the signed consent form long time ago since i confirmed him.. hmm, so i just need to acknowledge and brong to ROM ba.. hehe.. thanks,, =p

Kitty/Chole,

I sponsor them the day dresses. They are not gonna wear this for nite.. Cuz Day time they will sweat ma.. later wear back not comfy. Evening dresses I told them wad colour I wan. =) So Im helping them to find and will be bringing them to shop also. =p

Kitty, I actually tot of wanting them to do the march in with me.. But haven discuss with HTB and XD/JM.

i only sponsor them for the day dresses. all will wear the same and same color. for the nite, they can wear their own.

Mich, if u wana them to wear same color for the nite, might as well do a march-in. it will be v nice. i saw a youtube video before. the JM and XD did a march-in and they dance in. v nice.

me thinking of gettin a flower girl and a page boy but need to buy clothes for them. haiz, additional cost again.. me need to think twice. have been spending alot on my house and wedding. v siong.

Thanks to Michelle and Kass for your advice. My AD is lunch instead of dinner. And my AD schedule is abit tight. After gate-crashing, we will be gg straight to hotel for tea ceremony, and then right after is the lunch reception. So I am thinking if sufficient time for the MUA to do some makeup for my hubby. By then, most of the photos have been taken. Hmm.. Do you have any actual programs to share with me?

i have a AD programme that is passed to me by my friend but may not be relevant to you cos it's a dinner. better to get it from those who are doing lunch.