(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

Kass, yup, glad tat both of us are happy n satisfied with our GDL cakes. Hehe, hope it's the same for the rest of u here.

I have also confirmed a few items like favors, theme etc with my MO coor. She gave me 3 different wedding favors for me to bring home so that we can show it to our parents although we chose 2 only. We also schedule for next apptm to do the AV testing. Happy~

After considering I think I go to my hse nearby de cake shop to buy the gdl cakes...nice n cheaper ( 1 box less than $7 if rem correctly) most importantly easier for my hubby to collect when coming to my hse for gdl...tks for sharing all those yummy looking cakes! I love these creamy old style cakes

food tasting tonight n select gowns tomorrow...busy!

w3n >> Agree that if your nearby cake shop sells decent cakes, buy from there is much more convenient.
Gin Thye is actually opposite my new home and v near my in laws, so v easy for my HTB to go and collect. Have fun at your food tasting!

Chloe >> What did u choose for your favours? I chose measuring spoon and honey.
Actually I really really want fruit cake, but hotels nowadays don't do fruit cake anymore.

Btw, wanna ask. How many photos did u guys use for your childhood montage???

kass, i chose measuring spoon and heart-shape paper weight.

my BS called me today and said my wedding album and portrait are really for collection! yay..~~ will be going down early next week to collect, my dad need to do his coat fitting as well. and taking this chance, my MUA will be discussing with me about my AD make-up and hairstyle..

tmr will be another busy day for us..gonna do shopping on little things for our cocktail recep area...

Hi all, wow!! Look like every thing is moving v fast already for u gals!! Have u confirmed ur march in song yet? I found a song I really like for my first march in but now I can't find the original cd for it:s

My GDL gg be done late cos of Qing Ming :p after reading ur updates, I jus realize I forgot to go confirm my order :s

I have just received an email from my banquet mgr. Everything will do as confirmed during our discussion e other day. My HtB n I each chooses one favor each. Cuz I like the dove letter opener and he likes the rubber oven glove (can use it as anti slip mat in car too!) and our themes and all the tables/chair linen colours.. Happy!! We decided to change the shark fin we tasted.. To another style of shark fin..

The lady explain roughly how the banquet program runs thru during the dinner and she said the table to table PS shouldnt be more den a min per table!! Faint! Hahaha..

My hotel practice is to pay right after e dinner, and not the day when we check out.. I think some is next day when u check out huh..

Raine, I think make up is up to them but for day time no, cuz MUA is with e bride. Unless groom very vain wans to mu. For dinner time Ur MUA will style his hair no mu also. But it's up to individual if he wans, u can always get the MUA to mu for him.. But there may be charges la.. :D for my case, is this way. Day time he will also style his own hair only evening time MUA style for him.

For gatecrashing normally 15-30 mins if u have e time, u wanna extend also can. :D

Michelle > I like the silicon oven glove which Orchard Hotel provides. If I was doing my dinner there, I would have chosen that as well.

Raine > No make up for my HTB, except maybe for the evening.

Gowns chosen...Tired...my bs dun provide nice suit for groom, considering to tailor made, u all know where can do white suit cheaper?

Depressed now cause I dunno wat happened to my ms word program, all the hard work gone...the copy I saved in my email aso gone...sian!

mich, the oven glove is special, i like it too. good choice!

raine, my htb is the vain one, haha, so he is having mua to do light MU and hair-styling for him in the evening. as for morning, his sister will do the hair-styling for him..

today, we bought many DIY accessories for our guestbook, pen and cocktail recep area..can't wait to start the DIY~

we also went to expo john little mega sale to see the bedsheet set, but didnt buy any, cos dont like the design. but it's really cheap, jean perry 500TC selling for only $169, U.P$469. we have sort of decided to get from Aussino, their hotel series 600TC bedsheet set is around $220..quite like their color..

Hey gals, I just bought my jia chuang plus AC stuff in jb today in JB today. I find tat quite cheap. Ard rm328. My bf oso bought the candles, red banners (3 sets) etc, for rm200+. The lady is oso veri helpful n knowledegable.

By the way, the shop I went to is at Tesco, bukit indah called "a happy marriage". I saw the same teaset I bought at holiday plaza, costs RM55.90, whereas I bought mine at RM35.90. So much more cheaper.

Juz 1 thing about high TC bedsheets. If you stain them, it's quite hard to get them off. Cuz the threads are so dense. Also they tend to crumple easily and ironing is a nightmare cuz full cotton. So not nec higher thread count better. I learnt this from my uni days overseas...

w3n >> not sure if there is a difference between white suit and normal suit, I suppose you don't wanna spend so much since it's one time wear?? There are some shops in pearl's centre - tailor made suits from 250 thereabouts. I think the tailor next to Amanda dreamweaver is around 280...

w3n >> If you want to rent, do check out mywedding.com.sg I wanted to rent a suit there for my dad... around $150. Do call them to make an appointment, cuz their opening hours not fixed.

w3n, u might want to check out kingsmen at FEP. but i'm not sure about ur budget, my htb tailor made his suit there for $1k.

kass, oh i tot higher TC the better. hehe, but the one we are looking at is cotton sateen, so i think wont be crumple so easily...will check with the SA first..cos my parents using that series too..so far so good.

it's slimmed cut 3 piece suit, material is cotton silk...before discount is around $1.4k cos my htb's cousin is working there so he gave us quite abit of discount.

got inner shirt and cuff links as well.

Chloe > Sounds like a good deal! My bridal package includes a suit for my HTB, so we got it done at Personality at Peninsula Plaza. Upgraded to a tux with silk trimmngs, and also included 2 shirts. Total top up $330. HTB loved his suit so much thinking of making another one for daily wear and make more trousers there!

pris, my BS also give off the rack suit, which my htb dont like, so he will just wear for morning. then his tailor made suit is for our dinner banquet.

kass, urs sound like a reasonable deal too. ya most importantly is our htb love their suit, cos they also want to look good, mine kept complaining that BS offered limited choices to groom, 90% are on bride. haha.

u all already decide who to hold the tea set and say those 'good words' during tea ceremony ?

both my htb and my relatives are shy shy type leh, we scare will get 'cold scene' and pai seh. hehe.

What is "Cold Scene"??

Who to hold tea set - must be someone married and a hao ming po right? Who must say the good words??? What kind of good words?? I first time hearing about this good words thingy...

Parents also never mention, hopefully don't need to do... kekekeke.

kass, 冷场. haha, scare there will be embarrass moments. yup, lucky words, blessings for the couple etc...

then if ur tea ceremony, nobody is doing the talking, it's like so awkward lor. haha.

tips on tea-ceremony, i find it quite useful.
http://********************.com/wordpress/2010/11/08/ways-to-speed-up-your-wedding-tea-ceremony/

Chloe >> I read that link before. V useful!
For tea ceremony, I think I just leave to my mum to think about it bah... everything I suggest something to her, she always say dun need to worry about it, not for me to think about... I don't want to become Bridezilla!

Kass, both our parents said no need to get hao ming po, but it's my htb n my idea to get one. Haha so our case is opposite...

I am also mailing out this weekend. My dad went to mail today, and he told me that the post office staff told him it is 32c, instead of 50c! And he even asked to confirm twice.

How come these post office ppl so like that!

w3n, I think you still have time, cuz yours is 22nd May...

Oh no I already pasted two stamps on each envelope...haha forget it...they roti prata de lol...

Okie I think I next weekend then post out ba since they already RSVP le...but for colleagues I m thinking of giving this Friday since I did not check with them if they r attending...do u think is ok?

Btw do mum have to give vg, pg, mua another red packet? Or only the bride gives?

Wen, I think it's ok to give them if u nv ask them so far. But do they know the date of Ur ad? I told my mum I will pass her a ap den she pass to her MUA but she say she will bao herself. For VG/PG I think only couple give for my case.

The singular really prata leh! .50 to .35! Wen how many u posting? Yesterday I have completed tying ribbons for my white cards.. Maybe I can complete the black ones today! Hehe

hmm.... i was going to give out my wedding invites to office ppl today and den just realise that its actual day for qing ming today!!

wen, we will be giving AP to mua/pg/mua/vg, parents not giving.

i will be distributing to my colleagues this friday, my htb alreayd distributed to his colleagues yesterday..

prisc, ya lor, today is qing ming actual day, so u might want to wait till tomorrow.

Kass, wah singpost keep twisting their words. my fren said she paste 1 stamp on her wedding card only, so far, her receivers dont need to top up leh. think i will check with singpost one more time when i purchase the stamps.

Aiyo I already pasted the stamp haha although not alot money but still haha...!

Okie thanks! Coz my mum aso prepared red packets for pg vg etc but I think I give jiu ok liao...she don't need to give lo...

Btw when groom see small kids during AD, they need to give ang bao right...how about brides? Do we need to give too?

ya lor, understand ur feelings w3n, like kena cheated by singpost like that. haha.

i think only give to the kids if they serve tea to u & ur htb. anyway my parents said no need to ask the kids to serve us tea, haha. to save trouble and also save AP.

wen, according to my mil, give to any kids that come in the AM....

chloe, yup... leaving it till tml... :D

just ordered my wedding cake yesterday, happiness, another thing off my list :D but the cake only serves about 50 people and i am planning to serve it at reception, will it seem unfriendly? cos i really don't want to have too much wastage of my cake as i seen at my friends weddings... seems so sad... people finished desert and left the cakes