(2011/05) May 2011 BTB

missbibi, i think most guys are quite bo chap one. my htb is the extraordinary one. haha.

btw, i have just finished arranging my JZ together with my mum for my GDL on friday. hehe can't wait!

my hotel coor just called me this afternoon to check on our wedding preparations, we will be meeting up this weekend to discuss on wedding favors, food menu, wedding theme and other logistics matter. she also schedule a date for us to do testing on the sound system and projector, it's 2 weeks before our wedding, so that we can test our the montage etc.

haha. mich, u so funny!

i'm still thinking how many extra bottles of wine should i get...hotel is giving me 1 bottle per table. i have about 16 tables and i presume guest wont drink too much since it's a sunday dinner. initially my idea is 2 bottles per table. but my htb said not enough, and he wanted to get like 3 bottles per table cos he said most of our guests can drink and LOVE to drink. he also want to have hard liquor which i think it's not necessary. argh! as for beer, there is no issues since it's free-flow.

Chloe >> 2 is more than enough... I asked my wine merchant and he said 2 is more than sufficient if you don't intend to serve during cocktail. He said serving cocktail is a waste cuz more ppl are socialising than really drinking. I am not getting any hard liquor, cuz don't expect to drink them.

I did my GDL today and it's a v hot day! The difficult part is not the exchange of gifts but the distribution of cakes after that... cuz have to call ppl and make sure that they are at home before going and if not, have to recoordinate the timings, the journeys etc.

After tat we then went on to meet 2 IDs and then to the hotel to meet my coordinator!

Damn tired actually.

I must say I am v impressed with Gim Thye, both their normal cake and Teochew cakes are very nice. Especially the normal cakes, they actually come in very beautiful pink boxes with handles! The teochew cakes are also very soft and exceeded my parents' expectations!
Thumbs up for them!

kass, u finished distributing all the cakes yesterday?

Oo, good to know that Gin Thye is good, hehe. but i only ordered their hokkien sweet set though. i will also be meeting my hotel coor after my GDL tmr, i guess i will get as tired as u. haha.

no problem. i just found out from their contact us page that they have other branches as well. hehe. so u all can check out the nearest one to you.

I ordered those sliced cakes with traditional butter cream on top. It's very soft and smooth, not grainy like those bangawan solo cakes which juz taste oily and blah. The sliced cakes are very airy and light. Not oily at all. 10 slices in a box. $7.80. Prices on the website are not updated.

Won't describe teochew box unless you guys are interested but my parents said the quality of the teochew pastries are very good. Not too sweet as well.

Packaging wise normal cakes are in a pink box with a wedding couple outside on a scooter with handles. Teochew box is a elongated traditional box tied with red ribbon.

I didn't order much so finished distributing everyday. Gin thye is also in Bt Batok st 11 and bishan st 22 ( near Koi)

Piggy >> Teochew cakes are more yi shi than anything lah... cuz part of the family tradition. We ordered 2 boxes, 1 box return to HTB's family. If my grandma and grandaunt were still living (they passed away over the past 2 years), we would have ordered more to distribute to them.

The normal cakes are to distribute to everyone else, cuz not everyone like Teochew pastries. Also cheaper. Hahah.

In case you guys are interested this is what I ordered and the packaging. I just had my sliced cake for breakfast! Still v fresh.

Okay I will stop raving about the cakes now.

1683635.jpg
1683636.jpg

Wanna ask you guys... what will you do if you wanted to invite someone and then they said they will check, and then never get back to you, but when you asked them again, they still don't get
back. In such cases, will you then invite them??? I don't know what to do, cuz he is like my boss (no direct reporting line) in my previous job, so I cannot just don't invite him since I asked
already, but he also never confirmed if he can make it. If he say no, then at least I can ask someone else... but now like hanging in the air like that...

Piggy, we also ordered 2 diff types of cake, hokkien set is for yishi yishi, just 3 boxes. Then normal traditional butter sliced cake for distribution to relatives, 12 boxes. Then my parents will return 1 box hokkien set n 2 boxes of sliced cake to my htb. Same like Kass case lor.

Hmm Kass, why not u ask him to get back to u by a certain date? Then maybe tell him that u have to make arrangement to the seating by when...so tat if he's considerate enough, he will give u an indication within the deadline given...

I won't invite those whom I asked twice also nv reply. It's obvious that they don't wanna come..

Kss, ask u ah.. In wad terms we decide to buy Teochew pastries? My HtB is Teochew but I'm canto. So should follow me or HtB? Cuz I actually Tot to buy butter or marble cake only.

Michelle >> I think it's by request of your parents lor. Since cakes are mostly for the bride's side, so it depends on what the bride request. Cuz I'm Teochew, so our family request for Teochew pastries.

I dun think your HTB needs to buy Teochew pastries. But you can request for Cantonese pastries. When my cousin in law got married last week, cuz she is cantonese, they bought traditional pastries from 大中国. $10 a box, I remember my MIL telling me.
I know Tong Heng is also a cantonese pastry shop, and the old school one below Amanda Dreamweavers in between the fruit stalls - that is also a Cantonese pastry shop.

I'm a bit sad... cuz friends I expected to attend the wedding, suddenly tell me they cannot go, cuz they bought a ticket at promo price and did not realise the date yada yada....

Not that it affects the seating plan much, but you know how u so wish certain friends will be around but they conveniently forgot???

Dun be sad, Kass. These kind of frens r definitely not ur true frens, n u dun need their presence. U still have time to work on the seating plan - one month more. N I'm sure it will still b ever changing until the very last minute..

Thanks gals... I know it's part and parcel... just wanna whine a bit.

Have u guys weighed your cards?? How much is your postage? The post office I went to told me it is 50c cuz it is non standard package! How come!

kass, yes i've checked with singpost and they said the same thing too. $0.50 per piece. luckily i only have a few to mail out..

i've mailed out 3 cards to my htb's siblings in Vancouver, and it cost me $4.60, somemore it takes 2 weeks to reach them. so long!

Ya, as long as u dun put in those standard envelopes its considered non-standard. But frankly if u under pay, it will still be delivered..

missbibi >> I kenna being charged for an underpaid letter before! Had to top up cuz the sender underpaid!

It will be damn paiseh if that happens to our guests... Forget it lah... this kind of money better don't save lor. :P

If it's like wad Kass said not in normal standard envelope means not standard mail even thou it's light den not considered as standard mail. Which means cannot use localstamps..

If you bought local stamps already, then just use that, but use 2 stamps for each card instead of 1. Each 1st class stamp value is 26c so 2 stamps roughly 50c. That's what I'm doing and post office say can.

girls, i have finished my GDL...yay!
one important thing down our list...the cakes we ordered from Chez rose bakery (at yishun, we r loyal customer of this shop since i was in pri sch!) are really nice, soft and not too creamy or sweet. their box and 'xi' signage are also nice! for pics, u can go to my fb to view it. as for the hokkien candy set from gin thye, it's nicely packed too. my htb also bought 1kg of jian hong sweets from them.

my parents are in charge of distributing the cakes and invites to my side of relatives, so my htb and i are resting at home already. haha. so it's quite a relax GDL for us, everything went on smoothly...

we will be meeting our hotel coordinator this evening.

w3n, $9 per box. cheap & nice!
this is one of the best traditional sliced cake i had, cos i dont like too creamy and sweet type, so this one just nice. and it's not oily at all cos it's freshly baked.

Chole,

$9 is reasonable!! And so many cakes!! Haha! yesterday i showed mummy the cakes photos posted by kass from Gim Thye, cuz my mummy say last time those creamy cake is so nice.. den she say now like no more..

But anyway they say no need buy slice cakes.. cu got those creamy stuff on top later wanna deliver also difficult.. so we keeping to our marble cake to distribute.. lol!!

Thanks for introducing all the nice nice cakes... haha! Looks really delicious..

yup so cheap right hehe. and free delivery to my house too..cos the bakery shop uncle said near near only, so they r able to deliver for free. so happy hehe.

oh, if ur parents have concern on the delivery, then marble cake would be a better choice for u hehe.

Yup Michelle - if delivering, then definitely marble cake would be easier, cuz no cream, don't need to scared spoil. I agree with your mum though last time's cakes nicer...

Chloe - I think your cakes look good! Esp the fruit tarts! I think cuz the bakery deliver for you, it still looks so pretty and the cakes fit in perfectly inside the box!
I like how we are both raving about our own cakes.

I very happy cuz GWP confirmed my wedding favours today and she also confirmed quite a few things for me!

Isn't it amazing how small little things like that can change our moods so drastically?

Happy Weekend everyone!

Kass, yeap! Yester went for food tasting anf discussed on those tiny little details made my day too! haha! that's us! WOMEN!