(2011/01) Jan 2011 BTB

pinkcoral: i think the tutu will be ex.. hee...

cupcakes: SO NICE! but i cant ask u to help me do coz i forsee our wedding are close.. what's ur date? and ya... u need to start ur bookings and plannings... juz ask if u need any help..

krazimitzi: ooohh... no prob! i think other webby has longer convertible dress.. personally i like this coz it come with tube..

btw i duno if my ang bao rate is reasonable lei.. coz i need alot of helpers to set up the solomnisation venue aft gatecrash so i tot JM do least work.. brothers do all e shity things.. and helpers do the most work.. so... lol! how much are uall giving?

Hi Evon,

Mine's 9 Jan 2011. We were orginally planning for 11 Jan 2011 too. Ez for me to remember. But coz we have very young and very old involved and people have to go to work the next day so we decided on the weekend instead. Yah I figured we have to start booking things really soon. *stressed*

I would love to help but all my cupcake gear is in Melbourne and I dont think I'll bring them to Singapore. My sis does freelance cupcakes too. Would you like to me ask if she's available? I can get her to email you her cakes/cupcake port-folio.

Yah! Need help! Does anyone know anything about Hyatt's balinese garden? I'm keen on getting married there. hahaha

Evon Gladys Woo (evon_gladys): Sorry been busy..hmm..should be 12 bah..i seldom buy from top shop..most of the time get from ZARA..

u holding church wedding ah..nice...

cupcakes: same AD as mine! i dun tink ur sister will be free to entertain me.. LOL! hmm... im not sure abt Hyatt thou... sorry! have u done ur bookings alrdy?

Lish: ur mindmap is so cute! :D

yuki: hhmm... think e size shld be ok.. but now im quite worried that it might be too short cox their model is 162 and the dress like kinda short.. my JM is abt 1.65... x.x

nope, me dun have wedding in church coz of some irritating stuffs.. having the church ceremony at hortpark..

Evon, are you having yours on the 9th or the 11th? Nope haven't done anything yet.

I've emailed 39East and spoke to Eadwine from Plush. And I'm in the midst of corresponding b/w Marriott and Hyatt. I've made an appt to visit my dentist on the first week of Jan and that's pretty much all I've done. Once the venue is confirmed, I've have to confirm a JP wouldn't I?

Hi lish - cute mindmap. Tks for sharing

Cupcakes - Do you have a specific JP in mind, if you do you should contact him/her to check the availability now.

wow..this thread seems to be moving quite fast these days!

hi cupcakes, welcome to this thread!

evon, ur 388 is for how many JMs? Hmm..your JMs not your helpers? Or you have a wedding planner? I thought XDs are the ones doing the least work (only involve with gatecrashing & a little driving?) I’m also not sure how much to give..depends on whether I need to sponsor for dress & depends on my pocket..or otherwise will get some girly stuffs + small ang pao as a kind gesture. =X

pinkcoral, the tutu skirt don’t know can fit them the girls or not..they’re 4YO & abv..keke..but luckily 3 of my girls got ballet skirt..so maybe only need to get one!

Thanks for sharing Lish! =)

Anyone sourcing wine by yourself?

Evon: I'm not sure about Hyatt. I had a look at their packages. It is more expensive than Marriott. Is Marriott ex? Compared to what we are paying for our Melbourne reception, it was less than half price. Here in Melbourne my fiance decided on a place that was $1500 a table!

Pinkcoral: I haven't decided on a JP yet. Any recommendations?

Caroline: Do you like dry wines or sweet wines? Brown Brothers have a great collection of wines. Have you tried their Moscato(white) and Cienna(red)? They are very smooth to drink if you dont like your wines too dry.

caroline: my 388 for 7 JM.. (initial plan was 888 when we were still ignorant abt wedding expenses) but XD eat n slog n sweat n drive.. JM do wat? play n have fun only... haha! at least tat was my role whenever i was e JM... my helpers are my XD n 6 JM.. so on top of all, i will still give another ang bao as helpers.. then MC thou is 2 of my XD n JM, we give separate again.. n recept, seperate again.. haha! like 1 for each role...

cupcakes: i cant remember which is more ex, but marriott's service n all plus e place is more to my preference.. if i can afford i would take marriott.. n WAH! ur mel's expenses is WOAH.. lol...

btw girls, e new colors for e convertible dress on www.thedesigncloset.com will be out this end mth, so she will show us e pix b4 they launch so tat we can order first... those who want longer can check out www.acrossthebloodyuniverse.com they have more longer n more suitable for wedding kind... but its near to $50... looks more formal n sexy (no tube) i will still be getting from TDC coz my JM not very tall... scare tat one too long... heh..

caroline, I'm gonna get some wine for wedding. The hotel ones are way too ex. btw, my banquet is at Marriott. I chose it after reading good reviews of the service and it's very very accessible.

I'm estimating 20 bottles, which is around 1 bottle per table. I plan to buy them around christmas period, hopefully there are sales. Or are wines like bak kwa, they get more ex during festive seasons?

cupcakes, your cupcakes look delicious! Hope you settle your venue soon.

I can't wait for January to come, and at the same time, I want to get it all over and done with.

Pinkcoral: Thanks! I've emailed Dr Phua and Bro E. Hopefully one of them will be available. Will pastors marry you if you are not from their church? I would love to have a Christian ceremony.

Evon: I know! It's crazy right? $1500! Not like they serving gold bars to eat. But he likes the venue and wouldn't want to have it anywhere else. So we came to an agreement that I'll do whatever I want in Spore and foot the bill and he'll do whatever he wants in Melb and he foots that bill. At least in Spore, the family members will give Ang Pow so I'll be able to recover some of my cost back. In Melb they don't so I have no idea how he going to recover his expenses :p

Lish: Thanks for the compliment! Yeah some of them quite yummy. We're getting fat coz we eat cupcakes all the time which is so bad! We have decided on Marriott just like you! When's your AD? Ours is on the 9th. Is the wine list from Marriott very expensive? My coordinator has yet to send it to me. If it is then I might just bring over from Melbourne.

Hello Cupcakes,
I prefer sweet wines but I’ve not tried any of those that you’ve mentioned..only saw brown brothers wines before=P
Maybe can buy a bottle & try first!

hi evon, I see…but if 888 will be a lot! But why you wanna separate again? I mean just give evenly & those who did extra like MC, will get slightly more?
At least for me I think I wont be confused..haha

hi Lish , I think I will get it some where else too..my hotel one is also kinda ex.. =(
I’m also not sure wanna serve both white & red wine or not..do you have any to recommend? I was also thinking of finding suppliers who can do consignment..
Actually a friend of mine sells wines & wine ice-cream but I haven’t tried the stuffs supply from him yet..and they don’t do consignments…
I will also go and get during x’mas period! Heard Carrefour is the place to get..they have promos during X’mas period..i saw before at plaza sg! =)

Evon Gladys Woo (evon_gladys) : thats nice too..i am too lazy to do any for my ROM at that time. Trying to save cost also..hee hee

I plan each Jie mei give 68 lo..=S Then i got 6 also

Wow..wedding coming so near..excited !

cupcakes, my ad is 16 Jan, Sunday. It's a wedding lunch and my package doesn't come with free wine. Who's your coordinator? Mine is Christine
Gosh your wedding is one week before mine.

I have requested Dr Phua too and he promptly agreed! I'm so happy.

dovmal, you can pop over to the solemnizer thread to check out the JPs. Here's Dr Phua's thread
http://www.singaporebrides.com/forumboard/messages/539/1295733.html?1284535988

caroline, yes yes, I remembered. Carrefour always held some wine bazaar during december
Does consignment mean we can return the unopened bottles to the sellers? If so, that will be great. Mine's a lunch so it's difficult to gauge if guests will indulge in liquor.

yuki, wah you are generous
Is $68 on top of the gate crashing $$?

cupcakes - I'm not sure if there are pastors who will solemnise you if you aren't a member of their church. Some pastors are pretty strict. One alternative would be to get a christian JP.

I haven't gotten around to thinking about the red packets yet. Does anyone have some kind of list about who we should be giving to.

Lish - I visited one of those wine booths during a bridal event and they told us for consignment, we have to consume/pay for a minimum number of bottles and the rest could be returned for a refund of the deposit if unopened. For example, if the fixed number to consume is 15 bottles, so anything on top of that will be on consignment and chargeable only if used.

I heard that Carrefour does consignment too, but maybe the terms are different.

DovMal: Bro E. Is catholic. I used to be in Youth Ministry when I was back in Singapore (and was still a youth) Bro. E used to come to our camps and meetings to give talks. As for Dr Phua, I’m not sure what his faith beliefs are. I read and saw a video of him from another bride’s blog. He seemed really nice so that was how I did my short-listing. Bro.E emailed back to say he was not available (prob coz its Sunday) Dr Phua said he was but only at 10.00am so I’ll change my solemnisation time to suit his. Awaiting confirmation from him.

Caroline: Yes Brown Brothers are THE BEST! I love them and my cellar is stocked up with bottles of them! Yeah try Moscato and Cienna. If you want something even sweeter, go for the Orange Flora Muscat (white) or Dolcetto & Syrah (red) I think you would really like them. Highly drinkable! If you want sparkling try the Zibibbo and if you want a pinch of pink in your drinks try the Zibibbo Rose. Much cheaper (and nicer) than Moët et Chandon.

Lish: Mine’s Christine too! It’s so weird when I ring and go “Hi Christine, its Christine†LOL. Mine’s a lunch too! Are you having it at the Grand Ballroom? Mine’s at the Legacy Room coz it’s just my side of the family. And you are using Dr Phua too! Hahaha It’s going to be so de javu for him.

Pinkcoral: Yah that was what I thought too. If you are not from the church, the pastor is very unlikely to marry you. I’m Catholic and coz the actually wedding is going to be in Melbourne we didn’t want to do the Singapore one in a church and no Catholic priest will marry you outside a church building. That’s why I emailed Bro. E instead.

Gals, let me know if Carrefour does consignment coz I saw from the customs website that duty tax on wine is $70! *FAINT! My A$9.50 bottle of brown brothers will become $79.50. With $79.50 I can buy French wine already!

HELLO!
wow.. this thread so fast till i lost where is my last reply!

hahahaha~

i also having a issue of solemnizer now.. haiyo~~ our pastor who is doing our PMC said may not be able to do for us suddenly

so must prepare for alternative... since me and my fiance are christians and we wish to have a pastor to conduct for us.. haiyoo~~ so messy!

btw congrats to all brides to be here! hehehehe 2011 is coming! TIME FLIES man~

caroline: I scare i confuse so if i separate than I will juz give whoever is there to help.. hmm.. but i tink if i cmf my helper list (XD, JM, MC, etc etc) then I tink you are right, just give 1 for all.. heh..

haha! 888 was like we tot reasonable mah.. but hor, now with e reality expenses.. lol! its beyond us... hhahhhaha...

yuki: what is nice and do what? haha... sorry, i'm getting a little confuse.. so u giving ur JM $68 on top of the gate crash ang bao right? that's alot too!!

Jeannie: shldn't ur church help you arrange for another pastor in replacement? aren't PMC suppose to help us in these?

DovMal: I think XD is to help the groom lessen his sweat and sabo.. haha... JM plans to kill n torture, plus usually the bride will have 1 (if no coordinator) to ensure her beauty (i.e. inform n help immediately if makeup messy suddenly), and also help to remember to bring necessities after gate crash when going over to groom's place. Pull skirt, wipe sweat, hold drinks? thats what i do usually...

by the way, have yall gotten ur wedding heels? I am selling mine from Aldo... brand new size 38, selling at $100. Original price is $155 but i bought it at a sale for $108. Reason for selling coz it doesn't have my size 39 back then, and I thought size 38 was ok.. it's tight but i still scare i cant find shoes.. so i juz bought it.. but when i took it out to try again, its really too small..
cant sell cheaper coz its completely brand new, never worn but only tried before.. i still cant find my wedding heels but i conclude that this is really too small so its too tight n will be painful for me as well..

http://www.aldoshoes.com/ca-eng/clearance/womens-shoes/heels/76730544-cowens

Its hard to upload my pictures but i can email or FB u the exact photos of my pair taken from iphone..

Evon Gladys Woo (evon_gladys): i think i am refering to your solemisation .hee ...The track is going so fast..i am just too busy with work + study + wedding...

My $68 includes the gate crash actually... my hubby feel so unwilling to pay lo..haiz.. he say why give money to be bullied..Then i quick mouth..say i pay..haiz.. feel so funny now..paying to get myself married..oopss.

Hi Ladies, I'm going for my gown selection soon. Is there anything to look out for?

Is it better to go there with an open mind, or bring pictures of the gowns I like?

hey yuki, I've been jie mei 3 times and the ang baos are not as much as what you are giving. Plus people know that wedding expenses are huge. Jie meis will understand.

Lish: I went gown trying yesterday... What you like may not suit your body shape and what you think may not be so nice might look awesome on you. That's how I felt yesterday at least. I would say go with an open mind and have heaps of FUN!

Cupcakes, i c... Yah, must enjoy the process. It may be tiring, but its a once in a lifetime experience. Must keep reminding myself.

So did u find THE gown? Share the details with us

Hi Lish, I tried one on yesterday that looked SO good! Fully lace, ivory in colour with beading and sequences. $1500 though... :-( Very tempted to sew the wedding dress myself... but unlikely coz I think I'm just too lazy and it's always easier to sew for someone else. You can fit the other person but it's hard to fit yourself.

Here's a pic of something similar. The ribbon is gold instead of red and it's at the back instead of front.

1526687.jpg

any brides here getting married on 8th Jan 2011?

Cupcakes: I'm like you.. really last minute and I haven't even gotten a venue. Have you gotten one? What about wedding dress?

Anybody here getting a wedding dress online/overseas? I'll be doing that.. eeps.

When are you all going to send out invitations?

cupcakes, wow that's very elegant. Oh my, $1500..
My htb will pull me away while I droll..

DL, I haven't met the hotel to settle the invitations yet. Will probably start sending in mid December, to avoid Christmas period.

Lish,
have you gone dress hunting? I didn't do that - I only went to one bridal studio (Dang) to get a cheongsam made, as my tea ceremony dress and also as an evening gown. I thought I don't need a wedding dress, till my mum nearly flipped over.. so no choice.

I found one online (have to ship from the US), but I wish I could go to bridal studios here to try on wedding gowns..

I think S$1500 is not very expensive. I mean, those good quality material type of wedding gowns cost around $1200 - $1800 to RENT only!! to buy, they'll cost around $500 - $800 more. so if you can find one that is around $1500 to buy, go for it.

Another question for all brides: please help! Like, what happens to the make-up artist after she arrives at your house to do make up for you before the groom comes and fetch you? Does she go off? but what if you need make-up artist after the groom comes and fetch you, and you go to the hotel to get ready for dinner - does MUA follow you?? in the same car? or?? all the little logistic details are driving me nuts!

DL: left 3mths to all the prepration le..
Will be giving out the invitations card on the day of GDL..
Perhaps u can rent gowns.. u can look for more details whether GOldenHappiness do have rent for gowns, but i do know they have rental of JM, n bridemaids...

thats a good question.. i think MUA will follow us to grooms' place, den from there she go back? den ard evening time at a given time she will go to the hotel n do the make for us? den u have to tell her whether u need her to stay on till ur 2nd march in? shd be ard like this

correct me if im wrong, gals.. =)

DL: I'm getting married the day after you. 9 Jan 2011 on my FH's birthday. So instead of cutting wedding cake, we will be cutting birthday cake. hahaha.

I just confirmed my venues like 5 mins ago. 10am wedding solemnization, 12pm lunch with family at Marriott, 7pm dinner with friends at Hyatt Oasis.

As for the wedding dress, I saw a similar thing on ebay for $88 so I emailed the tailor and asked if they can make some changes to my requirements. They said yes so whoo hoo! Wedding dress for only $100 for the customization.

I guess you can go to the BS to try a few gowns to see what designs look good on you then find a cheaper alternative online and if need be, bring to the tailor to make alterations for a better fit. That's my plan anyways. My sister's gown was $5k to buy and she bought it. I think that's an absolute waste of money for something you only wear for a few hours. I mean should you ever get married again, you'll one a new dress right? You'll never wear the gown again...

I'm probably going to send the wedding invites out together with the Christmas cards. Normally AusPost have special rates during Christmas season if you are sending greeting card. I'll just put my wedding invite in the same envelope as the Christmas card and save $$$ hee hee...

Most of the time the MUA would do your make up in the morning and if she's good, she'll leave you some products with your maid of honour to help you with the touching up. Then before dinner, you'll probably shower again and she will come about 5pm to do your evening make-up. How I know? coz I've been a MOH too many times! LOL

Lish: My crazy FH don't mind the $1500 lor. I say siao... I mind.

Btw... has anyone found out if Carrefour does wines on consignment? Marriott allows couples to bring in our own wines for the meals so I might do that rather than buying off them.

Not to bad for just two weeks of prep eh? I managed to get most of the key things settled. *pat on the back

My MUA will be coming in the morning.. she will go off once she's done. And will go to the hotel before dinner again.
I did tell her I will need to do my veil before solemnisation in church, and she told me she will teach my bridesmaids how to do it for me.

you girls are great

first, Cupcakes:
My sister's gown was $5k to buy and she bought it. I think that's an absolute waste of money for something you only wear for a few hours. I mean should you ever get married again, you'll one a new dress right? You'll never wear the gown again...

- you are hilarious! haha!
yup I do agree with you that paying a few thousand (and more.. I mean, check out those Vera Wang Lux collection, S$10,000 and more! wth?) for literally just a few hours? hm. I'm still trying to get my dress even cheaper so looking at second hand ones. just can't find my size.

as for invites - good idea to send out with Christmas cards. heh. I think even Singpost has special rates too! I remember they have this Christmas promo where you only need to pay $0.50 for each Christmas card for postage. - I think anywhere in the world! Not sure if they'll do it this year.

shoots, now I'm officially , and probably, the last January 2011 bride to be without a confirmed venue! sigh. I'm still torn between Raffles and Fullerton hotel. can't choose.

Does Marriott have corkage charges? if not, that's really good.. can save quite a bit of money!

Thanks for all the answers on MUA! now it makes sense.

DL: Yah I know... those Vera Wang Lux collection is super duper crazy. You can flat screen TV, fridge, washing machine, oven, microwave, kitchenaid blah... blah... for the amount you spend on the grown. Unless you are Carrie from Sex in the City then I guess you'll not wear anything else other than Vera Wang eh coz she's atas. If you willing to take the risk and try buying on ebay, they can customize to your size.

Marriott has no corkage if your wines are duty paid. Now I just have to find cheap wine supplier in Spore

You can try Hyatt or Marriott? They have been quite helpful to me with my 1001 questions bombarding from Australia. hahaha

@Rainbow - hi rainbow, i was a little running late for my pictures actually. so out door i only had the alexandra park and we headed to labordor park immediately to catch the sunset!! (:

i insisted to take pictures on the swing but in the end i did not even take a single shot on the swing! heh! (:

DL, my AD is also on the 8th Jan!

just done with Save-the-date,will create an event page on FB to invite those I wanna invite first then I'll be send out invites in end of Nov, do bear in mind dec singpost may delay the mailing during festive seasons..

I nd advises here!
I've just join a company & has been ard for 2mths.most of my colleagues knows that I'm getting married & has been frequently asking how's my prep etc..I don't intend to invite them initially bcos I think I'm still very new to them but now..some has been showing interest abt my wedding..do u all think I shld invite them? especially my boss..she's been concern like every week.. =\

Cupcakes: LOL, yes! But to be fair, some of the Vera Wang Lux collection dresses are just so, so beautiful. Oh! I'm sure ANY girl wearing one of those dresses will feel like a million dollars. That said, I'm sure there are dresses that cost a fraction of Vera Wang and still are super gorgeous.. I suppose one will be paying a lot for the Vera Wang brand!
Good luck with looking for a cheap wine supplier! I haven't decided what to do about wine yet, but Fullerton and Raffles both offer a bottle of wine/table and I'm hoping to get a waive of corkage. Then I'll go buy my fiance and my favourite wine for those extra bottles..

caroline: where's your wedding banquet gonna be held? I find that - surprisingly - 8th January is not a very popular date?? Hm! Better for me as I'm such a slow poke! Heh

To answer your question - depends on your size of wedding I suppose? If yours is rather large and can accommodate more, then invite. It'll do you good too, to be more chummy with your new boss/colleagues. But if it's small, then really have to think of a way to get yourself out of it, maybe by talking about it at work but saying 'oh! my fiance really wants a super small wedding! how???' etc. haha.

I'm not inviting a single colleague (ok, maybe one). My wedding is too small! :D

Hi there I'm jan15 bride. I will prob be sendin out my cards end dec.. Oh anyway I will b inviting 4 tables of colleagues for my side n my hubby side will invite 2tables of colleagues.

hi binnie,

im likewise a 15 jan bride! (: sending out cards end of dec may be abit risky cause singpost might be busy with festive period. 1st jan is my GDL which i will be giving that cards out to relatives. for my friens whom i see every weekend then its ok to give later cause u see them rather often. pple like ur mom/dad relatives or friends its wise to give out earlier. just a penny of my tots (: