(2010) 2010 Brides

Thomas> We went down yesterday to check out the ballrm look ok to us just worry abt the pillar cos there isn't any wedding set up so cant see how is it? I totally agree with the underdeclared angpow. cos last mth my sister had her wedding in a restaurant my relative really got the faces to bao 300 for 5 ppl. I think usually is the relative that will do tat

darrel: urs is $121 per head, will ur colleagues/frens/relatives give u that amt also? based on personal experience, not many will give that much, usually ard $80 to $100 at most. So u are staring at potential losses liao...

Ave: ur mouth better now? when going extraction?

Darrel> We dont really have a budget issue. Just dun wan to lose too much money on the wedding. Just like you say de if want to lose also lose happy not like tat lor. That y we are still keeping GWP under KIV.

Thomas: thanks for asking.. still pain... haven go extract yet.. probably next week or so...cos my colleague went on leave.. i need to cover his..

Darrel: sad to say.. no... 99yrs onli...

Yup. I got a spreadsheet to calculate the potential losses, and set aside 20K for that liao. We didn't hope for an instant, that we would break even. Which is also why my wife said the kids plans is on hold until we have our europe honeymoon. Probably need a year to save up for that.

rand: I see. when me and wife went down, just nice they were setting up the place for a dinner that night. If it's anything like 25 tables (think min requirement is 25, forgotten) to 27, shld still be ok. If more than that, some tables will be blocked.

yup, usually ppl think that restaurants sure cheaper so no need to give so much. 300 for 5ppl is ok liao lor, there are ppl who bring along their kids, ah kong, ah ma etc etc and give only 200. Eat until full full.

Darrel> Then look for houses which the owner lives less than 5 years... After that, you can tell your WTB that it is wasteful to hack the tiling.. it is so NEW... Tiling and carpentry are one of the most ex..

Have to bear the pain of discussing with the elders.. It's quite hard to change their traditional thinking.. So have to slowly convince them...

randyce> I also considered GWP previously.. Ballroom is decent but bridal suite is pretty old indeed.. And it's really quite ex considering that the other factors do not match up..

Aveline> I also wanted to go to see these new launches.. but no time.. haiz...

ave: I see...tahan a bit in the meantime ba

darrel: good that u have prepared urself mentally for losses. we set aside 5k for ours, anything less than that is a bonus. dun even dare to dream of breaking even, much less abt making profits.

Darrel: ya.. we think so too.. somemore simei has dbss coming up too.. but it will onli TOP in 2015.. 8yrs!?!!!?!?! siao!!!!

Booy: its nice to see new launches..

Thomas: very sian leh.. pain.. and fever at weird timing in a day...

Thomas> I see. Then like tat for ours shld not be a problem since we only have 25 tables.

Ave> Oh. Mine was an extraction previously. I still have 3 wisdom tooth have not remove. Thinking of getting them remove soon. But it will be operation too as they are still inside the gum.

Booy> Oh so in the end which hotel u short listed?

ave > 8 years !?!?!?! ... they build brick by brick issit ? we like to see showflats too ... can "borrow" reno ideas .. hee hee

no painkillers ? the pain is coming from a nerve/gum infection ? last time I had that, the pain lasted close to 1 week.

Randyce: ya lor.. mine is under gum.. so its operation too..

Thomas: ya.. its the nerve pain...yes..given pain killer and antibotic.. taking antibotic.. painkiller onli when i cannot tahan the pain...

Darrel: ya ya.. we also like to borrow their id ideas.... 8yrs leh..

Thomas, Ave> Ya, i jus got in the office, went for docs verification. Supposed to go tml de, but bf say last min his company ask him go OPL (out of port limits) tml (last min), so he called registry to change appt date, registry say ok, so we went verification jus now lor. So many ppl waiting there!

Darrel> U can oso go watsons buy garnier brand de mask. Like wat booy said, no sponsor. haha!

rand: u just managed to hit the min requirement? better make sure of that, another reason (which I just remembered now) that we dropped OPH was also bcos we may not be able to meet their min requirement of 25 tables.

ave: good good...rem to take if pain persists. dun worry, next week pain will be over le gal

alicia: hahahaha...was thinking where u went to this morning. so did u wait long there?

Mask... actually i got a few which my wife bot when we went to korea. but all not the whitening type. I think i must ask her to get the whitening type for me. Told her I dun mind stay at home and cook/clean, and be her xiao bai lian. I think thats why she hide all her whitening masks.

alicia: hahahahaha...u reached there so late, of cos had to wait long lah! I reached there 8.30am that time lol

all: btw I managed to lose that final kg liao haha, so quite happy lah. Total lost = 7kgs, waistline down by 2 inches hee. Very happy that I can wear back my old size 30 jeans last sat also hehehe...previously had to wear size 32! Now office pants also very loose LOL

Thomas> We are looking at 25 to 26 tables. We already write out a list of guest leh. So shld not be a problem. How many tables you are looking at?

Ave> Hmm i see.

rand: u have to be prepared too for those ppl who last min cannot come, 'no show' ppl etc etc. Typically u are looking at abt 10% of ur total guest list? meaning if u have 20 tables, 10% of 20 = 2 tables will end up telling u they cannot make it. Best if u can draw up a reserve guest list to fill up their places if this happens.

we are looking at 18-20 tables now.

Thomas: congrats!! maintain!!!!!!! i also very happy that everyone said i lost a lot of weight.. from my collegues( whom see me everyday)....and friends... must maintain....

Darrel: u very funny lah. xiao bai lian...

Thomas> Ya lor, bo bian leh... He drove his mum & sis to hospital for check-up oso, tat's y we reach there so late.

Darrel> The timing they gave is usually like 8.30-9.30, so go there b/t the timing lor. But like wat thomas says, mayb the earlier u reach, the less waiting time lor...

ave: thanks...u so skinny liao leh, why still need to lose weight?

darrel: check with them, they may be having their lunch too

Thomas> I'm just going to these showflats to kpo.. And borrow their reno ideas... hee..

I only cater for 5% no attendance...

rand> I'm with Orchard Hotel now.. Dun dare to commit too expensive banquet.. dun wish to lose too much as well..

Aveline> Dun bite too solid food.. These wisdom tooth really give adults a lot of problems.. I'm glad I'm without wisdom.. =)

Darrel> Looks like you are thinking of being a xiao bai lian everyday.. haha... Buy the whitening mask yourself, then can be bai bai...

how's everyone? i see we have more gtbs here le.

updates: i have found my jp, mr koh kim choo. he is my ex-colleague's husband. but haven let him sign the consent form yet. did u all go down to ur jp's hse or met him somewhere?

thomas,

congrats! so now u just have to eat healthly lor.

randyce,

oph is good. i would have held mine there if not for the small capacity. i think e price is reasonable and somemore in orchard area wor. hee. i have been there for wedding too. the food is good but low ceiling if u dun mind.

darrel,

my parents requested for 10 tables too. on top of that still need to give pin jin and all these will be fr my bf's pockets. i did tell my parents tt if they ask for more from my bf, then he will have less savings for us to start a family. but i think my parents feel it is a tradition so they want to follow if not no face?! somemore they feel i am still young (im 27!). so could have waited longer to get married after we 'save enough'. i think parents dun care if the tables cost 1221 or 600.... they only know tt they want e same tables as so and so. i only hope they wont request for a lot of pin jin. my tables cost 888. so 10 tables is an immediate loss of 8888. a lot le leh!! still need pin jin.

btw, any recommendations for restaurants tt serves vegetarian set meals on top of the usual food? im looking for a place to eat after my rom.

booy: I see...how come u got no wisdom teeth? tot everyone sure have?

HG: welcome back...u MIA quite long liao. Thanks...yup have to maintain my diet/lifestyle now otherwise all my efforts will be wasted.

me also hope my MIL wun ask for a lot of pin jin...cos cash strapped for our banquet and house liao
How come ur bf's parents not paying for the banquet instead of him paying? usually if parents ask for pin jin, they wun ask for tables liao and vice versa. In ur case, ur parents want BOTH? gosh...

happy girl > my consent form, I faxed to my JP, and he faxed it back to me, even though it says somewhere don't fax. He said it was OK, can go collect the certs with that. I'm too lazy to go meet him anyway.

i guess all of us are on the same boat. I told my wife, on that banquet itself, the relatives pass the ang pow to her parents directly. whatever goes into the box become ours ... hee hee. But i'm pretty sure its a lame idea. Probably won't work.

HappyGirl, Darrel> My dad oso asks 10 tables from both my sis's banquet & my banquet. But he said pin jin any amt will do & he said the ang pows from the 10 tables will go to him, out of wich he will extract $5000 from those ang pows received & return the rest to us (if any). haha!

HappyGirl> Where's ur rom venue?

jaq: aiyo u so hard to gain weight huh? can eat and eat also lah, but cheaper stuff only lor. how many kgs do u have to gain? envy u leh...we are exactly the OPPOSITE lol

thomas: I simply dunno..the way I eat, if I tell u all, cfm faint...I need 6kg...n my PS is only 6mths to go..1mth 1 kg..ki siao liaoz..sigh..hahaha..dun envy la..I dun wan to be corpse bride~~

all: u all talking abt tables n angbaos n pin jin..I abit terrified liaoz..coz parents meetup most probably in May09..dunno what will happen..scare scare.

how do u think we can remind our guests not to no-show? besides relatives, when will u start to invite ur friends? 6 months in advance? then when will u give ur invitation cards? this is my plan:

close friends: can start to tell them my wedding date now

all other friends and colleagues: invite verbally ard 6 months in advance

2 months before wedding: confirm again if friends / colleagues can come. if can, give out the wedding cards
(i heard tt the is an art to giving wedding cards. u DONT give to ppl who have said they cant come. cos once they received, they have to give angbow.)

2 days before wedding: sms to remind friends of the wedding.

do u think it is necessary to ask them again 1-2 weeks before the wedding for a confirmation? cos that is when u got to inform ur hotel/restaurants le. otherwise the last time they confirm coming will be like 2 months again and they might have changed their mind?

do share ur invitation plans....