(2010) 2010 Brides

darrel: tried..no use de..i used to eat ice cream daily few yrs back..
sat i ate alot: 10am wantan mee, 1pm - mcdonalds filet meal upsize with mcflurry black forest, 6pm eat fish beehoon soup..11pm I hungry liaoz..my bf ask me to go slp..hahaha

Happy Girl> Not really into vegetarian.. I met my JP somewhere outside to sign the consent form.. It's for me to know him better.. But you can also fax like what Darrel did..

Thomas> Not everyone will have wisdom.. My dentist told me that I have missed the boat.. haha..

Darrel> Then think it's tough.. If you are xiao bai lian, then your wife cannot be tai tai.. so doubt she will give in.. hee..

Getting married is such a headache process with so many parties involved.. haiz...

HG> Low ceiling still okay to me ba. My bf just called them. They say they will have wedding from wed onwards so prob arranging an appointment with them to see the wedding setup etc.

I also need to lose some weight if not wont looks nice on PS and AD.

jaq: I shld have transferred all my fats to u...lol

try eating pork lard rice everyday? haha

HG: for me, our hotel needs us to confirm with them final list 1-2 weeks before our AD..so I guess we will be calling all of them up ard there too. However sometimes it's really due to unforseen circumstances that they can't make it...things like falling sick on that day, someone hospitalised etc etc. So u have to factor in these potential no-show ppl lor...

as for when to give out our invitation cards, I have not discussed with my wife yet so I can't share with u...sorry.

jaq: that's not a lot leh...still 3 meals a day wat. Try eating more carbo food/sugar laden food, sure can gain weight fast.

carbo = bread, noodles, rice, potatoes etc.

sugar = cakes, coffee/tea, chocolates etc.

Thomas> cognrats on achieving ur goal! now is the maintain...

Jaq> u really send many of us to so much envy...

HG> i'm not very into vegetarian. myfren brought me to a vegetarian rest at Suntec before, quite nice. not sure still there anot. hee... it's near tot the sky garden de.
The part abt sending to thosewho has verbally agreed to attend, YES. I heard abt that & many of frens had practiced that. They usually start to send out invitations 2mth prior to their wedding.
ya, agree with Thomas. guess will call them perhaps 2weeks prior to the actaul day, to get the final cofirmation, but if due to unforseen circumstances, then bo bian le.

thomas,

actually i din mia la. i read the threads everyday, just tt din comment. my everyday routine is: check facebook, check this forum. hahaha...

jaq,

lingzhi is all vegetarian right? only my bf's father is vegetarian on 1st and 15th every month. so we r all gonna eat da yu da rou, while he eats his veg... kekeke. i wonder if sichuan douhua have veg set meal... u r so lucky can eat more. i simply love food but got to control now. wonder how my life will be if i have to eat simply for e rest of my life to diet...

thomas and darrel,

i think traditionally groom's parents pay for tables and pinjin. but nowadays many couples pay themselves le. unfortunately my parents not so modern so still wan the tables lor. it's true i heard if take many tables then wont take so much pinjin. but i think my mum only wants a token sum. i did asked her and she said my cousin had 10 tables and ard 2-4k pin jin.

alicia,

i believe my parents will be taking the angbows for the 10 tables. pinjin they will return some to the groom's side. i hope they will return some of the angbows to us, just that they dun wanna tell us now. u know la, these old ppl, they wan face mah.

my rom venue is fullerton. its a hotel suite, 2 storey high. after e solemisation then go eat dinner. i did consider peony jade. but it is considered far as compared to si chuan dou hua at uob plaza. the best is within walking distance. even suntec is a bit far to walk, dun you all think so?

kk: thanks!

all: so rem to factor in those no show ppl ok? ard 10-15% wld be fine...best to draw up a reserve guest list too just to be safe.

invitation cards is tricky. Some people tell me, cannot give out the cards until after the 'guo da li' part.

The fastest way to start is to call/email/phone all your friends 3-4 months ahead and tell them you are getting married, ask for address to send inviation cards etc. Even though you may end up giving to them personally, its a way to tell people.

thomas: kill me pls..I eat what also no use....LOL

KK: dun envy...sikali my body not healthy..all the worms eating up my food..hahaha

happygirl: I also 1st n 15th n 3 times 19th of the month vegetarian. lingzhi all vegetarian..if u want vegetarian set meal juz for 1...I believe all chinese restaurants have them..just request will do.

HG: hahaa I see...for me, we are also paying the whole banquet costs ourselves, so my MIL not asking me to give her tables, just pin jin will do. But how much, I dunno cos have yet to discuss with her....hopefully not too much ba. She will take some and return me the balance also.

Thomas> We r oso paying everyting ourselves, both sides parents din help at all, but my dad still ask for 10 tables, pin jin & ang pows from the 10 tables. -_-"

jaq: I cannot kill u...if not ur boy boy will kill me leh...u try lah...I used to eat all those rubbish food so I know sure works LOL

wah that means after u have sent out e invitation cards to those who confirmed 2 months ago, u all will still call them 1-2 weeks to further confirm?

good. cos i was thinking of that and im wondering if that is too kiasu. haha...

i know there will be 'special' cases la. but at least we can keep to a minimum.

kk, i dun wan veg restaurants leh! haha it is only for my bf's father. wah i wan good food for my rom! its my big day!

randyce,

yeah every bride wanna lose wight for wedding. but come to think of it, if we get into such good shape for e wedding, then after tt get out of shap, the difference will be big...

hey all, i bought a camera at e it fair. it comes with this makeup function and will take pictures w ur skin tone looking really good.... i strongly recommend to all of you! casio ex-300. costs only 349. usual price is 399.

HG: yes, we will still call them to confirm again so that we can inform our hotel on the guest list.

aiyo IT show no more liao leh, u tell us now also no use LOL

jaq: piangz...then I dunno liao

Thomas> We are also paying by ourselves. Both side parents will not be paying. My mom wants to take 3 tables. Den the rest she will be inviting herself.

happygirl: I already sms,msn all my guests when I confirm my venue n date last mth..LOL..then will do an update in July to get their address in case n confirm r they bringing partner, kids,babies..then final confirmation in oct..beg nov will send out the invites liao.

Darrel: ya heard we can only give the cards after guo da li..but i think will be too late liao leh..v rush..

Gd morning to all...Cuming to lunch time.... :p

Happy Girl > U bought a camera in the IT fair? yesterdae?? I went there.. It really 'people mountain people sea'..was stuck in the human traffic in the citylink..Mi n my hubby even have to climb over the handrails of the staircase to get through the crowd...
I bought a acer laptop aso, quite cheap..

Now topic abt....????

Jaq> aiyo, won't lah... *touch wood*. like that ah, think i have to start eating worms le, to help eat up all my fats. LOL

All> Think for pin jin, bride's side have to return some back to the groom. Some dialets practice each side half half.
hearing some of u say, i can considered us as lucky, but still a bit worried ah.
have communicated with my mum that she will return AP to us, since we r paying for the banquet. But when relatives give, they will still collect. u know lah, face thingy, but will give us after that. Pin jin still have to give, but haven touch on the amt yet.

Darrel> oops. forgot to reply u. a bit slow. My appt is 8.30-9.30am. think i'll just take time-off. can go earlier, in case of the possible queue ba. =)

all: try our best to accomodate them lor...wat to do? dun sian lah, our big day leh, must be happy ok?

snoopy: errr u bot an Acer laptop? it's not exactly renowned for its................

thomas: hahaah bo pian right..sianz..where to find 6kg..hmmm

nt kiasu la..my date is long wkend n PH leh..cfm some cannot attend 1..so book them 1st..else they will find excuse like..eh never tell me earlier, I got plans la etc... =P

Jaq > dunno larr.. I plan to send out my friends cards secretly if they declare only can do after the GDL. Let the parents settle theirs themselves. For giving us a hard time, we also need to tekkan them a bit :P. If not everything they say, we do, then dunno how hard it is.

My family dun really follow, but its my wife side.
Cos mine is in mar, we both tot it would be easier to give cards during CNY.

HG> oops... paiseh ah. I'm not very sure of Vegetarian food. that's the only one i know. heeee. of cos gd food for ur big day ah... =)

Thomas > well, buying a laptop is oni for basic usages as my PC is dying halfway..Mu hubby has gd knowledge abt computers so trust his choice..

alicia,

the chinese restaurant is jade at fullerton. i heard they serves those fusion 'look nice but cannot make u full' type. dunno whether it is true or not cos i hv never eaten there before. and each tables is 1000? very exp. i only wan to spend like at most 600 on dinner.

darrel: think dun need secretly bah..juz tell them our stand lor..smore we got so many guests..can't be last min then give mahz..

thomas: all r free to donate if really can work hahahaha...

snoopy:hmm maybe bah I only use it at home tho..but recently giving abit problems..coz of the storage space..too much DSLR photos =X lol

alicia,

no la. its only my family and his family. less than 10 person. we will just walk over to the restaurant if possible. if ask our parents to eat those 'mei mei chi bu bao' food, sure kanna scolded!

HappyGirl> Oic... haha! They ok to walk a short distance lah?! Den i dunno where got vegetarian liao.

strawberry> Tink fullerton will roughly costs $11k+, meritus will cost $12k+. If me, i tink i'll take meritus bah, coz of convenience. Fullerton i find not as convenient as meritus?

snoopy/jaq: I have frens working in IT line, all telling me to skip Acer if I can cos of suspect quality issues as it's made in china...but since u bot liao then just use it ba. It's not really a matter of how u take care of the laptop, things like their harddisk up lorry quite fast. It's cheap though, must admit.

strawberry: u ask us which is better? very diff to tell u leh, it's like asking whether chicken or egg came first, very subjective question. Depends largely on urself, ur budget and ur 'feel'.