(2010) 2010 Brides

thanks for welcoming..i see all are enthusiasts =)
> Alica, you r so fast. think i'm stuck somewhere between pending and waiting..not to mention my bf needs all the dragging pulling pushing knocking hammering & boxing to move a cm..~sigh
> booy, u are the only other one AD is in Mar too? have you got your venue and bs?

Booy> Haha! Ya, i oso tink i very fast... I'm a typical kiasu s'porean... lol...

natelyn> My bf needs to be pushed too! But i keep warning him of the consequences if he doesnt do wat he was told. Now tink he sort of settled down on the idea liao, coz he suddenly asked me the costs of each ting, eg, how much is the BS package, the banquet package, the AD PG & VG, etc. haha!

alicia> so fortunate..lol, i dream of such a day to com for my bf..he's head still stuck in mud..

I'm looking at novotel but their rates for 2010 still not out yet. Kept pushing them liao until i think they quite fed-up..any one got any reviews on novotel? my gf told me traffic there (clarke quay) would be bad on wkends...but no feedback on service or food...

ROM still pending...bs still pending..guess the thing that is most settled is photoshoot, that what kickstart our plans. haha..'chong dong' to sign up so early so now my photoshoot is a year ahead of my AD..~sigh..by AD think the album collect dust liao...

natelyn - dun worry, u r not the exceptional. me too, presently bf show no interest on the wedding plan too. Now just collect info and try to shortlist a few important items then when the day come just approach the few selected (save time on "hunting"). U r not alone

Jaq> Orchard Grand is too big for me.. While the remaining ballroom 1,2,3 are too small.. Stuck in the middle of nowhere...

natelyn> Welcome! There are quite a few in Mar 2010.. Offhand I can think of are snoopy, Alica, Jaq, deerixp.. My BS is Sophia Wedding collection.. AD venue is still pending.. A lot of hotels that I'm interested in are all not prepared for 2010 packages..

Alicia> Better to be early than late.. At least now your bf is bucking up.. Your bf can keep track on the $$$ which is really impt.. If my bf asks me to budget, think everything will exceed budget.. haha..

natelyn> I too faced the same prob as u & most gals here, but dunno y yest he 1 2 tok abt the tings, i'm surprised too! I'm planning to book a nite stay at sentosa on my ROM day (20/3/2009). Tink mayb bcos our ROM drawing near le, so he 1 2 noe abt those prices tat we're gonna be paying. At 1st he doesnt 1 2 book for a nite stay de, he say he gotta work, but i ask him again the 2nd time, den he keep quiet, coz i told him his company gif him leave is to take & rest mah, den the 3rd time i spoke to him on tis, he ask me i 1 2 go is it, den i say of coz i 1 lah, den he say ok lor! Haha! Den i ask him beta go take leave fast, or else later his other colleague(s) oso take liao den he jia lat, den he say i ROM leh, if they dun gif, i resign lor... -_-" lol... But i said if u tell ur boss u ROM tat day, i'm sure ur boss will let u go lah...

Booy> Haha! My bf everytime will say leave the money matters to me. Although i'll let him noe the prices, he'll still leave all to me. So no worries abt tta lah...

Alicia> I sat down with my bf to have our first "family meeting" on the wedding stuff soon after he propose.. I'm very KS, so he just play by my ear.. luckily he's still very supportive so far.. Accompany me everywhere to the hotels, BS, house viewing.. Now he just keep track of the budget while I source out the places and ideas..

So you are a better budget controller than me.. hee.. That's why your bf can leave everything to you..

natelyn> You are taking your photoshoot already? Think some guys just need to be pushed..

mm&pw> yeah i know..i guess it's always the case for the guys. just that u know, it gets to me that he's like a block sometimes..my bf. like yesterday he agreed to go bs hunting, i was in cloud nine..until we really reach TP area. His idea of bs hunting is really back in the stone age..he just drag me straight down the stretch of shophouses, not even stopping to talk to the peddlers outside the boutiques..merely just take a handful of namecards and off we go..home (record time less than 30 mins i finished my "bs hunting" at TP)...i nearly burst...ayy..now think back..find it very funny...

seems like most guys not ethusiastic abt hunting stuff for wedding n the preps.. :S
my bf also like that... but actually he wanted juz ROM n that's it..no banquet etc.. -_-"

Booy> Booy> Gd for u! My bf so far onli accompany me see the banquet venue, & it's after much persuation & pushing den he agree to come wif me lor... So far hse we haven decide yet, so no hse-panning yet. Haha! I can control his money, but i usually cant control my own! lol...

jaq> My FMIL oso told my bf if can, no need banquet, but wen my bf spoke to me abt it, i said i 1 2 haf a banquet. So he agree lor... Anyway, his aunt said b4 tat if we getting married, they sure will come down (from m'sia) to attend de!

Booy: thanks, but still looking out for jobs, hope can find one soon.

As for ur AD venue, prob u can wait a while? I expect prices for 2010 to drop, even if slightly also good. A lot of hotels their price lists for 2010 are not out yet, just play the waiting game ba

Nat: u need patience to educate him...guys are usually not that receptive when they hear they have to sit down couple of hrs in a BS and listen to them talk...been there, done that lol

will add u in FB tonite

alicia:wahahahha..seems like nowadays is gals wan banquet n guys dun wan :p
I also told my bf I wan banquet..me only child leh.
wah his aunt so fast confirm her attendance..kekeke..

jaq> Haha! Ya lor... Wen his mum told him abt not having a banquet, he was into the idea too, & he seems excited abt it, but i said no! Although me not onli child, but i tink as a parent, i wld 1 2 see my gal gets married off grandly, so i said i wld prefer to haf a banquet. Ya, tat time his paternal aunts & uncles came to visit coz of his dad's demise, the aunts liked me a lot, & keep asking bf to marry me fast fast, tat's wen both aunts said will surely come to our wedding.

Thomas> Tink his dad used to be m'sian? Or mayb his grandpa? Not sure whether his dad is ma'sian, s'pore PR or his dad is a s'porean. My bf is definitely a s'porean.
His paternal side mostly from m'sia de.

Jaq> Asked them before.. But think they are reluctant to lower the min. 40 tables as I'm looking at weekend date.. The link that you point me to still reflects 2009 prices.. So the wedding show will reveal 2010 prices? Keep us updated!

Now looking at central area.. Toa Payoh, Kallang, Bishan etc.. All ex..

Thomas> Must look harder for a new job now.. All the best..

I'm still looking around at the AD venue, but so far no one told me that the prices will drop even by a bit.. Some only say they will remain as 2009 or increase by a smaller percentage...

booy:ya will ask orchard hotel when Im there on sunday definitely then update u guys
coz now already almost end of Dec09 they should have the pricing for 2010 liaoz.. very excited to see their black theme tho..coz from the photos seems gd.

booy> yah..i was too chong dong and signed up for photoshoot at the last wts wedding show.partly due to our holiday trip to taiwan so we sign up..now a bit regret cos it was all w/o planning loh. but on the bright side, it kickstart the marriage planning. i'm doing my photoshoot coming Apr'09 even b4 my ROM is settle..lol.

see loh..maybe will take a SG photoshoot too next yr end if come across a good bridal package. it all boils down to budget.

natelyn> Apr 09 is not too bad lah.. It's not super early.. Yours is JWN? ROM is easier to plan.. Just plan it to be Mar 2009 like me.. Then your taiwan trip can be a ROM honeymoon trip.. haha..

Jaq> Hopefully, 2010 pricing will be out.. I'm also anxious on all these hotel pricing..

Booy: thanks

Alicia: I see...

Nat: me also going ahead with my photoshoot first cos of my FW's dad's condition, we want to get it done first before anything happens. BS now in the process of making her wedding gown, will go try for 1st cut fitting in mid Jan 09.

Jaq> my bs is taiwan based. not JWN..it's called fashion bride..just got the photography package only..you?

Booy> no, not JWN..i was so chong dong tat time that i din even know JWN exist...hahah

thomas> i just read the past msgs abt ur FIL. agree you should get the photoshoot done early in your case..maybe all the more you should be the pillar of strenght for your FW, help her when she couldn't..very impt

natelyn:oh fashion bride..we din go to that booth after browsing 2 taiwan based BS..we loved romantic life but feels is not realistic as they dun have any branch in sg tho c/o sophia wedding collection.
fashion bride looks gd..saw the photos n gowns in WT mag..

we sign up for JWN instead..coz their HQ in taipei n got branch in sg..got many gd reviews abt them so we sign up together with the taiwan promo also.

hi natelyn

why dun you put a deposit first w novotel, i think like tt they might let you book now... even though prices r nt out yet.

btw, anyone has the PG pricelist for ***************?? specifically the rom package. cos i asked my bf for opinions and he said he likes this PS best!

Hi All! Been missing out quite a bit.
Finally, boss is coming back tmr le. Phew...

nat> u looking at Novotel oso? my top choice as of now. still waiting for their 2010 package.

we sat at Fashion Bride's booth for almost 2hrs. Had a gd chat with the co-ordinator, but didn't sign up. My FH is worried about the hassle as they do not have a branch in spore. but their photos r nice, i like thw feel n the way they took the photos. But too bad, have to stick to Spore or those in JB bah.

BTW, anyone gg for Amara's Wedding Exhibition on 20th?

nat: yes that's the reason why we decided to get her gowns done up first cos our BS told us they need abt 2.5mths to make, I don't want to rush later shld anything happen. We will get our shoots done up first definitely

Happygirl: oh..haha..***************?haha..gene goh..he was my ROM pg earlier this year..and i have to agree..his works are nice!!haha...=)) think u can give him a call to check out his prices..haha..

happygirl> I got the package from *************** last week.. I can send to your email address if you want.. ROM is $640 for 4 hours I think.. Seems like increase in price liao..

Thomas> Good that you are getting prepared.. Think you can wait and see now..

KK> Yah..we sat there fr 3 hrs & they are the first booth we visit. true abt the hassle..i understand now..i need to re-neg with local bs for a decent package that can fit into my budget..when it could have been easier if everything is from sg. no choice loh now...bf quite angry then..but now, think he used to my rashness..maybe tat's y he use laid-back to counter me..haha

novotel climbed to my first choice after feedback that merchant court wasn't too good in their service and environment. deep deep in my heart is always a place for intercontinental..i think any bride will fall in love with the ballroom...but ex loh...pity

kk, u got reviews on novotel? i went down for viewing and like the ballroom. the bridal suite tho not so lovely like M, it also has a jacuzzi and a guranteed superb view of clarke quay & sg river..Just wonder abt the food now...

i'm going for amara wedding exhibit too..considering their poolside for my rom. hey kk, can see you there if u going leh =) u considering them for ad as well?

natelyn, alicia & jaq,

ur bfs are so much better than mine. Due to him working in Air Force, our timing & lifestyle are so different that I need to go hotel ballroom viewing alone. He only acc me to 2 outta the 6 hotels I visited. Somemore not only view ballroom lo, sumtimes heng still view suite all this lei... Checking of prices, BS, AD VG & PG all I looking for info de... But now we settle BS & AD VG + Animation le.. Also bought our wedding band le.. Can get on fri.. EXCITED TO WEAR!! So we decide to wear till 2010 before our ROM & AD, we will bring back replate & polish...

Now left hotel as e major left undone. Btw, I wanna ask, why the hotels I went, their buffet price more ex or same price as their dinner price de ar?

Isit only for the 1st few pax then so ex, subsequenly after that is cheaper?

Diane> u impressed me..despite your bf not always available u still mng to get so much done..inspire me =)
Hmmm..The buffet u check is international buffet izzit? cos if it's dinner and international buffet style, it will cost almost or more than the usual 8-course meal. like you are providing 200 to 300 pax to a dinner @ The Line, something like that??

thomas> amara show is @ 1pm - 5pm..

who else going? anyone going for crowne plaza changi wedding exhibit this Sun too? it's free...

natelyn:I wanted to go but their ballroom can hold max 30 tables..so out of question

going to orchard hotel to take a look instead...

wah seems like this *************** got so much reviews...gotta check it out liaoz..

diane: my bf is in army..he also v bz..some wedding shows he din go too...like this sun..he got live firing so unable to go for the orchard hotel one..moreover most info also I research on...he did nothing...
I'm more worried abt next yr coz he be away most of the time ...then left me to get the wedding preps done...sigh.

Sharlene> Yup.. think it really increases a lot.. Or maybe must nego like BS to lower the price..

Diane> You are indeed very efficient.. Which animation did you take? I'm looking at creating a cartoon as well.. Thinking of creating one myself, but doubt I have time..

nat: thanks

Jaq: how many tables u looking at? >30? that's a LOT to me! I'm restricting mine to max 25, told my FW already. Initially she calculated to be 30+ also omg...told her to cut down, those not very close friends no need to invite.

natelyn, actually if dinner & buffet same price, I rather get 8-course sit down dinner.. But I tot buffet should be cheaper? If I am going for hotel like meritus, what should I tell them? As I told them to send me thier buffet package, then they send one that is I guess ya you r rite 'intl buffet' so the price is same as normal sit down dinner lei...

Jaq, u & me must be more independent & hardworking liao... Actually i quite enjoy doing all these alone.. If gt my bf along den conflicts start liao.. He is those type 'no preference, anything, dono everything' person. So i rather I settled everything myself.. I think all guys like this way better.. No pt forcing him to engage.. LOL.. Wedding show if is e hotel u really like & will cfm, I guess try to ask ur HTB go lo.. But if jus go c c, look look den nvm can go ourselves la.. If my hotel Meritus got wedding show (I know got in 20th Dec but my coordinator ardy open e wedding show perks to me le) too bad the date for 2010 not open for confirmation yet...

deerixp, hey thx for e info... I got it le...
For 2009 wedding, i tink if bk nw e coordinator may gif u e wedding show perks.. tt's what my coordinator promise me.. lol... too bad my wed is late 2010 not 2009.. Summore 2010 got price increase..

So thinking of buffet even though I dreaded buffet. But their buffet same price lei.. Or is there other buffets other than intl buffet? They only send me one buffet package. But i just don understand why so ex... Shocking to me..

Booy, I don get what u mean by 'which animation i took'? My animation is a story on how we met, our 1st date & hw he propose. Story line of mine not out yet. It is something very personal.. Even our face are drawn to match us.. The story is entirely bt us. Woah u know hw to do animation? I sux in com.. LOL.. Anyway coffee & dreamworks is a pretty comprehensive package.. I sign mine with them.. Thus is a package comprising of animation, actual day vg & pg, express highlight @ $3800 only.. Best thing is if u book now u pay the 2008 price.. Unlike some other VG/PG outside, when i enquire, they quote me 2010 price even if I were to sign up nw... Damn bohua lo.. I have seen their works.. Especially their express highlights & animation, THUMBS UP!!!

Now excited to get my wedding band & proposal ring on fri.. Too bad needa wait till htb propose then can wear.. I So young cant wait to jia le!! die le die le... LOL!!!

I too kan chong hor??? But i very excited lei though is like 1yr 11 more mth to go... No one to share so I share here lo.. Cos my fren & family don encourage me to enter marriage so early.. They like my htb.. But they think i really too young le..

My mom's worries which I tink is not a worry to be start off: she is worry that by being married will hard to find job when I come out to work..

My dad fully want me to marry off soon..My dad is that kinda ppl like to tc of family de.. So he want his family (me) to start a family also cos my dad grow up in a very harsh environment with stepmom treating him badly.. So when he got his family (marry my mom, gif birth to e 1st child - me), he very happy to have a family..

My best fren don encourage saying I am too young, I should look for other chance (as in mayb there is other better ones out there), but i don needa source further cos I know I love my htb & no pt going 1 big rd source here & there den return to my htb in e end. So i don understand my best fren's rational. Mayb she really think i too young le ba..

Many relative don encourage cos say I too young..

I wanna note something was that all of my family love my bf... He is a very nice guy.. Even wheneva we quarrel, my mom will tok nicely to me ask me to 'don b so unreasonable' (as they know I sometimes quite ba dao).. So they think my bf is someone really treats me very well & will dote on me de...

Like if I 2012 den marry they cfm fully encourage.. But i c no pt to drag another 2 more yr.. Cos 2010 can marry den live tgt earlier even better..

Anyway, most of them think I joking when I told them bt it except for my parents.. But appreciate them for being supportive of me now..

What is your opinions here fellow BTBs??

agon-e, ya lo.. last sun go walk walk in bugis.. Then i wanna check rates of wedding bands so go Leehwa, Citigem, GoldHeart, Sookee lo..

Go c c e pattern & design ma.. Then i 1st look like the sookee wedding band.. My bf choose another one so mix & match lo cos he don like mine design got diamonds de. He prefer plain de.. So anyway our bands are in contrast color which we find it unique & nice..

Den also find proposal ring.. Keep ask the sales ppl of various shop to take those very very small stone gif me.. I don need big big carats cos also not everyday wear so i tink don waste too much $.. So i c their exclusive diamonds such as Lee Hwa destinee, Sookee Brillant Rose, Citigem Rosella, Goldheart celestine (4gt spell).. Almost buy citigem rosella cos of e 'reasonable price' $630 but bf said since I prefer e sookee brillant rose (though is smaller carat den rosella) but more ex $798.. Guys cfm say same ting 'i dono what is e different but since u prefer e brillant rose & e different in price not that great, might as well get something u like'.. But vey envy alot of males in e jewelry shops alone.. They choosing proposal ring lo.. Damn huge their diamonds.. Mine lei? Not romantic..4gt it lo.. Ownself choose rather than disappointment ba..

Ends up all buy in soo kee.. Will be collecting in Fri.. Very happy with my purchase.. Cos is less than half of my budget for all 3 rings..