(2010) 2010 Brides

hmm diane..if you dont mind me asking..how old are you?
i mean age is all relative..even though my wedding is in less than 1.5 yrs time I still don't think I'm ready for a big commitment like marriage, even though I will be 30 by then. But what's most important throughout all of this is that you are happy. If you are comfortable with the timeframe that you've set yourself, you are doing the right thing by sticking to your guns

hmm..just my 2 cents' worth - hotels seem to have wisened up too. Even for the current packages (2008/2009) hotels are generally charging us the same price for a buffet or a western meal (ie Chinese banquet pricing). I have only come across a handful of hotels which do not practice that, but even then I think the difference is not very much. I signed up with the Hilton for 2010, and they are charging the same price for a buffet, so it made more sense for us to stick to the Chinese banquet since it is more value for money

diane > hehe it's okay to choose your own ring..im sure there are some of us here who also had to choose their own rings! my fiance wanted to custom make my proposal ring from scratch behind my back but he is *really* not the arty farty sort and I told him 'eh if I'm wearing it for the rest of my life I better like what I see...'

so in the end he ended up bringing me to the store to sit down with the jeweler to select the gem and the design of the ring, but he worked with the jeweler to get the stones set, etc. i never knew when he collected it or saw the final finished product until he proposed. heng it turned out okay! otherwise i will really whack him liao
i was half tempted to go back to the us to get it designed but we found a store here that fit our requirements..hahaha..so you can say technically I chose my own ring too
don't worry about it..it's a ring for life, it has to be what you like

agon-e, thx for ur fast reply. I am currently still skooling but my htb is in e working force for a couple of yrs ardy.. I will b 21yo & him 26yo by then..

Thanks for ur advice, I feel so right on hit by ur words.. Yes i know myself that it is the right timeframe.. Yes, I will also stick to sit dw dinner rather den buffet..

ur htb so nice.... Still initiates to do all this for u.. Mine?? Really don expect & cannot expect.. LOL... My proposing ring is not worth mentioning actually but i very excited to share.

Honestly, I don dare tell my best fren that i choose my own proposal ring..

Many frens asked me when I told them I getting marry in 2010, they ask 'hw this idea came abt, he propose?'

immediately my face sunken.. He propose on his own accord? I wait long long.. I know he will propose but not so early, den I also cant wait so choose tgt lo..

agon-e> looks like we are same yr

Diane> can't help but admire you. agree with agon-e, i'm still don't find myself entirely ready for marriage. in fact i nv thought of wedding so soon.

Before this, i always question myself and every couple frens i come across - what makes you want to get married? for knowing he/she is the one or for all the superficial things that made us singaporeans. They always gave me different answers, some agree they get along fine and thought in this case might as well apply for flat early cos difficult to get and marriage comes as a package. some told me they are tired of searching and since the one they are with makes them comfortable so why not. a few told me it is their one without any superficial attachments. This group to me is the most blessed in my opinion. Some married couples may not even know whether it is the one or not for a long long time to come.

Therefore Diane, i think you are truly blessed to know he's the one.

For me, i think after my endless debates and romanticism, it's such an irony that i decided to get married over an impluse. nevertheless, i'm starting to enjoy this process and i'm glad it's helping me see my relationship in a different light and new possibilities. While i'm still feeling iffy about marriage, by the end of the process, i do hope to be as ready like you =)

Diane or anyone, can enlighten me what's express highlight? thinking of starting to look around for pg & vg for my rom and AD..what should i be checking out with them? does pg & vg package includes photo montage for the AD dinner?
*paiseh...totally clueless....

diane > no problem at all! I'm glad you feel better. don't let what other people say get to you
meh, my fiance is still a block of wood, very blur (typical guy). dont say that your ring is not worth mentioning!! what's important is his intentions are there and you really like it

natelyn > an express higlights video is essentially a video documenting highlights of the AD morning (gatecrashing, make up process, church, tea ceremony, etc) that couples can opt to have done up on the same day of the wedding. the video is usually done within a 5-6 hour timeframe (includes editing, etc) so you can show it during your wedding dinner to allow guests who may not have been present in the morning to have a glimpse of what has taken place prior to the dinner. when is your AD btw?

usually packages do not include photo montages, but most PG/VG places offer that as an optional additional service. HTH!

natelyn: yeah..is open house.

diane: haha..my bf even tot of engaging wedding planner but told him no matter how bz I still prefer 2 of us to plan for the wedding instead, although conflicts might arise..at least is like a trial run of what will it be before getting married..putting our heads together n work for something which we never did before.
my bf also anything, abit bo chup kind but I dun really like it la..what if I taken the choice then end up he dun like it n we quarrel over these..not gd lor..

diane: so u got ideal BS n banquet in mind already?

i think guy tend to be bo chup when come to wedding matter... my bf also the same.. keep waiting for me to plan everything...

y|ing3er:we got 1 guy here..think he abit different from other guys.. at least he took effort to come in here n read abt wedding stuff...haha ;)

i am a 2010 HTB as well.Used to be in the Nov 2009 thread, but due to change in my wedding date...then thought of drooping by to say hi.

I have my ROM in 2007, will be having my AD in 23/01/2010...
Got my Bridal package in Dawn's and my banquet will be held at Grand Shanghai...

Hopefully time will fly faster to our big day...hehehehe

Jaq, ya u r rite.. But my bf ardy said rather I plan everything & he just needa show up will do..

My BS is My Dream Wedding.. Sign up with them le..

Banquet I wanna hold in Fullerton de, but tink till 'cfm lose $' den change to Meritus le lo.. Meritus ballroom nicer man!! So I love there!! Waiting for their package & wedding show for 2010 Nov to release then I can book le lo..

Agon-e,
Thanks!! I really feel much better sharing here. I think for my bestfriend pt of view is bcos she nv once tot of marriage/wedding. So she feel very shock that her bestfriend (ME) am marrying.. Many feel I will regret getting hitch so early but I feel otherwise cos no matter isit 2yrs or 20yrs ltr. My HTB is e 1 i'm gonna marry at e end of e day..

woooo welcome blue diamond...wah grand shanghai..mind to share more abt the wedding package? been there for normal dinner once only.

morning eve!long time no see!

morning gers!!woah!!u guys are early!!hahah...=p

booy: haha..dunno leh..i din negotiate with him..hahah..but he is really a v nice guy..=)

blue_diamond: hihi!!

blue diamond > welcome! so rare to see another guy in the forums

ying3r > hahah it's okay I also haven't decided where to get my gowns from..only decided on pre-wedding PG..I think I will wait til mid next year and see what the new designs are like..

diane:MDW..u going HKG for ps? sometimes guys leave the decision to us coz we r more picky n they wanna reduce conflicts..LOL.

eh so our dec gathering is off? no news abt it wor..

Jaq, not true wor... bf leave to me, but when i decide, he keep ask me to change.. zzz

Agone: me haven't decide anything.. lol

Hi Morning all!

natelyn> We were veryt empted to take up the package. but when we sat aside & discuss, it's not really what we want. so have to forgoit le. =( Ya, try to negotiate with the local. they did recommend someone, right? for alteration, etc?
Yup, i've registered for Amara's show le. u gg? then we can meet there. =) Anyway, it's only 10bucks. no harm, go there kpo kpo a bit. hahaha. so far, we only shortlisted the choices based on their packages & ballroom size, cos we need some place that can take approx 40. that's y M-hotel is out le. will start on 2nd round of shortlisting by viewing the ballrooms.
hmmm. i dun have any reviews from friends though. but two of my colleagues (ex-hoteliers) strongly recommend there, just that they told me not sure of the standard of the food now, not sure if they change the group of chefs anot.

Thomas> u gg for the show as well?

Diane & Jaq> u r really independent... *admire*

Diane> it's ok to choose ur own ring. all rings all worth mentioning. it's the special item from him to u... share with us everything... anything under the sun. heee... i chose mine too. I was sharing with the rest previously, my FH prefers me to choose as i worked in Soo Kee b4. He's worried to choose the "wrong" ring also. =) seems like u got quite a number of things done up le. =)

hey all> enjoy selecting ur wedding bands. it's a great process, trying out different designs. I've bought mine also, mine are from Goldheart.

Blue_diamond> Welcome!

Morning everyone… I’m also choosing wedding bands now.. Went to Love & Co and Lee Wah last week.. Love & Co needs to wait for 3 months.. It’s so long.. Lee Wah seems to have a very limited range..

Hello blue diamond.. Happy to see another guy..

Diane> I was actually asking which animation company are you looking at.. Saw coffee and dreamworks animation and find them pretty nice.. But I prefer rh*ma viedo… However, I have not really discussed with them yet.. I’m in IT, therefore will know a bit of IT stuff.. Learnt animation in school.. =)

Getting married older allow me to experience single life for a longer period, to do things the way I like (without taking into consideration of another person’s presence).. And of course to mature myself thru the years in the harsh reality..

However, as agone said, it’s a matter of comfortable timeframe with each individual.. Happy that you have found the ONE.. If you can, go for a marriage prep course with your HTB.. This will allow you to really prepare yourself for a marriage that comes with a lot of commitments, that might be out of your expectation of a marriage.. Rem to budget all the wedding stuff, things easily go out of budget as time goes by…

KK: bo pianz.hahaha

y|ing3r:orh so u have to consider a date in 2nd half 2010 lor..but u ROM already?
wedding show this sun I think got alot : crowne plaza changi, orchard hotel, amara hotel

Jaq: ROM not yet, intend to hold it together... now still consider cause got some holiday during the feb-mar...

Booy: i prefer love & co's wedding bands..

ylng3r: haha..at 840 den i stepped into office ma..haha..den i see alot of threads liaoz..hahahaha...

kk and booy: haha..i agree!!choosing rings are v fun!!when i chose my bands..i went ard all the shops..frm town to neighbourhood..was quite tiring thou..i missed out love & co..coz we saw a pair in Celestial shop tat we both liked and its within our budget..den we bot le..din even go love & co see...sighz..

agon-e> thanks fr ur help..understand liao. my AD shld be in Mar 2010 if no hiccups in booking my banquet venue.

Can i ask those who have booked the pg & vg, what are the normal questions u asked them before deciding.
Read the guide here from sgbrides, have to ask them abt cameras & lens, negatives whether got return, have albums or not? is tat all....i don't really understand abt cameras/lens...

yIng3r> There are quite a upcoming wedding shows/open house. As mentioned by Jaq, & plus Meritus as well.

Booy> I saw coffee & dreamworks too. quite nice. but have not start on my PG & VG search. u r in IT? gd isn't it? any advice? =)
Strongly agree when it comes to bugetting. sometimes tends to "stray" away from the main focus, end up spending unnecessarily. I always told my gfs. it's always dreams vs reality. which BTB (esp) dun want to have the dream wedding of her own? at the end of the day, if overspend, then dreams aren't that dreamy afterall, isn't it? we can have our own dream wedding by spending within budget. just a thought from me.

Jaq> Aiyo, dun say till like that... it's gd in some sense... less conflicts in the decision making. haha.

ylng3r & booy> i like love & co rings too. saw their catelogue tho haven't visit them..nice nice designs..looking forward to go there to try the rings..

blue> welcome!!

morning alicia! morning all!

yeah i agree with what Booy said, should go for a marriage prep course of sorts. most churches will have one, there are also secular (non-religion based) ones. my fiance and I felt it was really helpful when we attended such a course

natelyn > actually it really depends on your personal preference. Are you referring to pre-wedding PG or AD PG/VG? I went with my own photographer who will do both my pre-wedding and actual day PG cos I used to study a bit of photography/visual comms in school and wanted a particular style that I feel will capture the mood of the day. I didn't ask him about equipment and such cos I think that is up to the individual photographer to use whatever is at his disposal, as long as the photos turn out the way I want them to. Negatives wise, most PGs these days use digital SLRs, so there aren't any negatives to begin with, but they should return you all images, especially for AD PG.

For pre-wedding PG, might also help if you ask the bridal studios you are visiting to let you browse through their albums, so you can see if you like the style of their photographers. if you are signing up with a bridal studio, they usually do not return the negatives/hi-res images to you. You are paying $80-$100 per printed photo to get just one hard copy of the image you chose. My PG had the option to pass me x no of hi-res images in soft copy or all the images for my pre-wedding shoot..so it depends on what you feel is important and what you are looking for. For me..aside from the photography style, I felt it was important I got hi-res images of my pre-wedding shoot back

batelyn: i went to different shops to see the rings, the best one still love & co.. simple and nice..

KK: my bf dun like to go wedding shows, any ideas can make him go ah?

Marina Mandarin having their wedding show 10th Jan, I can forward you guys the form if anyone is interested.

KK > there is another place my friend told me about last night, I think Eve also linked it up in her multiply page..www.me*wstudio.com. Gotta replace the * with an o, for some reason I was not allowed to include the full word here. Not sure if they are good though..

wah u all so fast looking at wedding bands liaoz..my next step is banquet n getting the exact date of AD then proceed to check out PG.

kk> i think i have already cut down my list to just 2 hotels - merchant court and novotel for me right now cos they suit our budget and high ceiling which is what we want. also looking at abt 40 tbls. been to quite a few hotels already but either they dun give me the 'feeling' or the price not right..so yah, wish you luck on your viewing =)
i should be at amara at 1pm..can meet too if you will be there at the same time? gimme your email, i email u my contact no =)

yIng3r> oh really ah? hmmm. that's tricky. maybe shortlist a feww, then convince him to go lor. i know guys get bored easily with this type of stuff. heeee... for me, i keep a lookout for these wedding shows, then inform my FH. so far, we have skipped a few. Amara will be the 1st one we are gg for.

agon-e> thanks, i will take a look. hmmm... cannot put the full name ah...? hehe

Jaq> happened to c the wedding bands we both like, so buy le. now collecting dust in the wardrobe. haha.

natelyn> i have not really went down to view the ballroomss yet. trying to drag my FH to view. ya, if dun feel comfortable with the co-ordinator, die liao. imagine have to liaise with them for dunno how many time. hopefully can shortlist to just maybe 3.
you can send to [email protected]. see u there at Amara.

BOWS 2009
9-11 Jan 09
quite a no of merchants there. might be worth taking a look.

wah piangz so many replies today, u gals all no need to sleep one ah? Just logged on and was shocked to see so many replies, today u all very 'productive' hahahahhaa........

Jaq: haha that would be me, I'm not the bo chup type, I like to chup on the contrary LOL

jokes aside, I think marriage is btw 2 ppl so each must contribute lah, cannot be one party doing everything right? Perhaps it's just ME, I like to be a part of the planning too which is why I've no complains going showflat viewing, hunting for wedding bands (which I've bought last month liao), searching for BS etc etc. with my FW. It's a once-in-a-lifetime thing, not that u get to do it everytime so to me still ok lah, no doubt it's tiring at times.

ying: I'm not extinct lah lol, I'm sure still got other guys like me =P

blue diamond: welcome! at last another guy here to accompany me lol

KK: do we need to register first before we go? I'm not sure abt my FW's schedule, I will ask her tonight and let u know ok?

Anyway my views on whether u're too young to get married...I feel there's no right age to get married, it all depends whether u are mentally and financially ready or not. If u are, then no probs even at 21...I have friends who married when they were 20 or even younger haha. Given a choice, I would wanna marry earlier also than now (think mmpw shares the same view as me), just that fate didn't knock on my door earlier so I guess no choice ba...marrying early also means your children will be grown up by the time u grow old, and that's a good thing, no need to slog so hard to send them to school etc. For me I think next time when I'm 50, my kid will still be 10+ only lol

Shar: btw have u become a panda? lol

ying: how to make him go for wedding shows? dangle a carrot in front of him? lol

jokes aside, tell him u respect his opinions too so u wld appreciate if he goes with u to give his 2 cents too

Jaq, Yes I am going HK for PS..

KK, ya lo.. I left Hotel as the major load undone. Rest is small tings like JP stuffs like that. I don tink I doing An Chuan, GuoDaLi all these... No extra $ do, no pt doin also I think..

Booy, ya u r rite.. But I am very very good in mgmt.. Be it financial mgmt, project mgmt, events mgmt, I am all up & game for it.. I am kinda perfectionist so budgeting all these I am very gd in it.. But I really sux in IT.. Coffee & Tea Dreamworks very nice I tink, & their price quite reasonable la with the kinda works I quite like..

Thomas, after calculations on our saving that we are gonna save. There is obsolutely no probs in our financial.. Is just a matter of whether I want or not to get married. In which my ans is a want... LOL.. Regards to kids, I have e same mind set as u all. But instead of targeting 50yo, i target myself if 40 yo, I want my child to be 16yo le.. But then meaning I 24yo must gif birth liao.. Too wei da le.. Not for me.. I tink I need enjoy er ren shi jie till i 30yo den tink of child (personally don like children la)..

KK:I be going for the BOWS2009, already sign up.hahahaha..

for those interested, weddingtravel having another fair next mth also. can refer to their website.

welcome all !!!

i also choose my own proposal ring.. reason being i'm fussy and my FH want to get me something that i will wear everyday... we went to many places to see in the end settled with lee hwa destinee trilogy..

age is not the main factor to judge whether are you ready for marriage.. but is more of like how mentally prepared are you and your partner. and are you sure of your other half feels the same way too. of course plus the basic understanding of each others needs and communication. ignore other ppl views and think of what you want in the future, if he's the one then just go ahead... =)

if i can get married earlier i will.. but too bad same as thomas we met our other half a bit late.. even though i not as *ld as him... haha

i will also be gg down for the bows2009. but just wondering if we confirm everything before the event then wat's the point of me gg down.. hmmmm