(2010) 2010 Brides

i dunno y, i feel kind of weird to approach those BS roadshow in shopping mall haha... anyone like me?

i haben really been to any BS at roadshow. Only went to hotel bridal shows.. hee..
Booked mine at Grand Copthorne Waterfront during their bridal show this July.

I've attended a few already. Just booked our BS. Moving on to the venue now so am going to get some quotes first~

keke...I think it's about right to start doing some homework since hv to chope venue like more than 1 yr in advance... I was supposed to b a 09 BTB so have done quite a bit of research liao =P

Now juz hv to wait for hotels to open the 2010 dates...

ya... started to read thru the relevant info in this forum and do alittle research as well. Me n bf have rough idea wat kind of wedding we are looking for i.e. garden wedding. presently, his family is in the process of changing house and alot of things to settle so i guess we will go into practical moves after the house matter is settled. Cant wait to go into that haha it should be an enjoying process to prepare own wedding huh?

hi all 2010 btbs .. haven't been here for sometime but good to see there are more btbs in 2010 joining this thread.

yup there are a couple of wedding shows coming up at the hotels.. u may wish to take a look... will see a lot of couples there also..

so far i only went 2 and signed the GCW...hee coz i like the garden landscape of the grand ballroom.

may go for some bridal shows if there are bridal studios being tied up with hotels..

hi girls

i booked my bridal studio already. fr golden horse award (tamp). actually i didnt even go to the shop to look at e gowns. but fr e magazines, i felt tt golden horse's gowns suits my style. next on e list is banquet. but i emailed a few hotels and tt all said tt prices for 2010 (June) will only be out in early 2009.

deerixp, how much is ur banquet at GCW?

I signed up my Bridal Studio too at the recent GCW show; but not the banquet. As BS will definitely increase price, best is to get an open-date package and lock down the price now. Once u've decided on the date can start looking at PG/VG/Banquet.

hi Happy Girl, the prioe is valid for may 09 to april 2010 for the bridal show promo.
mon-thur 838, fri and sat 1058 i think (not sure if 1068.. somewhere there) and sun is 888.

it's during the bridal show on 13 july. the perks during the bridal show is gd. i took the sunday package.

Not sure wat's the pricing and perks now. u can call up the hotel to ask.=)

hi girls, how's everyone w their preprarations?

deerixp, i heard many gd reviews bout GCW, tt the place looks grand. personally i think so too. but our relatives dun live in that area so im sure they will sure complain like mad if we book tt place.

im looking at novotel but the hotel got bk to me tt ey dun hv e prices for June 2010 yet. somemore i STILL have nt gotten my dates cos got to wait till aft e 7th lunar month. im going for their 'open house' on the 16th this month just to take a look. anyone going as well?

so have u girls rom yet? looking for house?

hi kerine

if possible i will also hope to book with an open date. but i dun think many hotels allow us to do that? my tentative month will be june. how about u? do u know of any hotels tt allow us to do tt?

deerixp, ya I signed up with Divine. My ROM dress was from them too so quite please their quality so far. I also cannot carry well, need to slim down.

Happy Girl, GCW and Novotel both are quite popular. But the venue not for idea for us too. I'm not going for the open house cos my fren's having a wedding this month so can shunbian take a look. I've gotten a BTO flat already, waiting to be built. You?

My opendate is only for the bridal. Some hotels allow pre-booking w a deposit, like GCW and Orchard Parade, if I'm not wrong.

hi kerine,

oh i tot u mean we can book e banquet even if e prices are not out. but the ones tt i emailed dun allow tt. i cant hv orchard parade cos my tables exceed their max capacity.

i dun think i can get bto flats. cos i dun wan to wait till 2012. when will ur bto be ready? most probably getting a resale and hopes the price goes down soon. i haven been to those WIS though. heard there's one in oct so will go take a look.
so how old are u n ur bf?

true true. never mind lah. a lot of ppl says we shld enjoy the progess of the wedding preparations but i find myself getting stressed only!

shld try to relax and see how it goes lor. anyway it is just a dinner... :P

deerixp, i see u r only 22? that's so young

huh? happy girl: i am 25 now..

i am still thinkin of the bridal studio..not sure if wanna one-stop bridal or ala carte... but if ala carte will be more ex...

pai say, i joined the forum last time to help my elder sis browse info.. that was when i was 22.. just realised tt the age dun auto generate...hee

hi everyone!!

Happy Girl...me gg for the novotel show.. hv heard great reviews abt it so wanna go take a look for myself.. only worry is if i book tt place.. will people think it's not 5 star n give lesser ang pao.. need to think abt $$... i m $$ sensitive hahaha

yeah im also $$ sensitive. how not to be when we have to think of house and reno and so many things. having a wedding is very expensive lor.

cymk, booking is only available till dec 2009 during e novotel show. so mafan lor. as for ur qns, there are many ppl who will give a standard angbow for either restaurant and hotels. they dun care whether it is 3*, 4* or 5*.

deerixp is definately more exp. unless u dun mind or have e contacts. for me, i know we shouldnt spend so much on wedding. cos there are so many expenses aft wedding. but every girl dreams of a perfect wedding mah...

Happy Girl yalor... yup... not sure if goin for a semi ala carte..
i saw the "ted collection" but calculate, given if i wanna a ok photographer, it will be off budget...

well when u lose something ($$) u sure gain something. if u like it so much maybe u shld get it so u wont regret next time.

but for me personally, i dun need branded gowns la. anything tt makes me look slimmer will be goooood enough. hee hee.

hee hee... true true
i thinking of getting something mtm.. but not sure if worth it or not..
anyway still got some time..will lookout and source carefully

Dear ALL BTB...
Im New here... AD in yr2010 too..Congrats to all BTB.. =)

Eve>>>>
Knew u had booked Orchard Parade Hotel for yah wedd dinner... can i check wif you the CC is under Tung Lok right? and is the ballroom ceiling high? thanks... im considering Tung Lok as alot commented on their food is nice... =P

Hi all yr 2010 BTB! I was wondering, wat's the most impt tings u look out for wen choosing a hotel/restaurant? Is it the free flows of hard liquor, wine, beer, stout, or food tasting, or free printing of invitation cards, or free parking, or bridal changing room, or free night stay at a hotel?

Hi Alicia.. welcome to the thread! U getting married in 2010 as well?

It really depends on what is more impt to you... generally all the hotel pkgs will offer you everything u mention, but in different amts... if u wanna save $$ and ur frens are drinkers.. then mayb u wan to go for deals with free wine per table n free beer (note: pls chk whether it's a free 20 lit barrel or 30 lit barrel beer).. if u wan to save on printing.. then mayb u can look for deals that provide free printing etc etc.

Sometimes, if the co-ordinator is nice and u bargain hard enuff.. you can get more of each items that they are already offering

cymk, yes i'm getting married in 2010. I intend to hold my AD in mar, but still awaiting confirmation from my FMIL. My bf's younger sis is getting married 2009 sept & my elder sis is getting married 2009 oct.

Most of our frens r not drinkers, but my relatives might drink. I've checked out a couple of restaurants, but i'm indecisive on wich is better. I dun 1 2 spend too much on the wedding.

Help! I'm shortlisting these 2 restaurants. Pls gif me ur comments on wich is beta. Thanks!

1. Fu Lin Men Chinese Restaurant
2. Qian Xi (Farrer Park)

Hi all BTBs

I'm also a BTB in 2010... currently also scouting ard for places to hold my banquet... want to have my AD during 1st half of the year. However, would like to get a good date prior to all the bookings... anyone can help to recommend me a good feng shui master? Really appreciate your help!!

Welcome xiaofeizhu! Can call u xiao? Very lazy to type so long =P

You can try Long Shifu... he's quite popular in this forum.. he uses the couple's bazi and not tongshu so he can calculate anytime.. good when hotel bookings are like more than a year in advance =(

Btw gals.. thot to share a little tip I got over the weekend... i went to this gown sale at Martini G and spoke with the designer. She was sharing that if we wanna do a la carte.. we should at least set aside a budget of around 6k (gowns + studio & AD photography + bouquets)... dunno how relevant it will be by 2010 but at least a benchmark =)

xiao: i go to long tian xiang shifu. =)

demongal: u got mail. i have compiled the other time b4 i signed the grand copthorne hotel in july this yr. did not update the list further.

Hi cymk
No prob to call me xiao hehe... i also saw recommendation on Long Shi Fu from other thread, currently considering to go to him after the chinese 7th month. Did you get Long Shi Fu to calculate your wedding date too? If yes, are you happy with his service?

Hi deerixp
Thanks for your recommendation. Do your Long Tian Xiang Shi Fu also happen to mean cymk's Long Shi Fu?? Read from the previous post that you signed up with GCW. I got their quotation and am quite interested to sign with them too but the due date is 31 Aug but I can only get my wedding date probably next week. Is your coordinator Sheena? Do you think there will be chance if I ask them to extend me the promo package in Sep? Btw, do they offer any other extra perks to you other then those mentioned?

hi xiao: i think should be the same.. hee
the perks was offered in july show. that time have cash rebate only on wedding show. other than those, nothing le... i din managed to get helpers room..

demongal: the list.. for some hotels.. with 12 pax per table.. i adjust to 10 pax to compare.

Hi deerixp
Thanks!! Probably will source ard again... actually 1st choice is Novotel hehe but their price list for 2010 is not out yet...

Hi cymk
Can you guide me on the direction to Long Shi Fu place? Take what bus from YCK mrt station or need to take cab?

xiao > yes.. my 'long' is the same 'long' as deerixp kekeke... he is very popular so i advise u give him a call first 9067 5008. He charged me $80 and i m pleased with his service cos he oso talk a little about you n your HTB's character and how to prepare some of the ceremonies

I don't knw how to take bus though cos my bf drove but take cab from YCK mrt should be ok de.

Kerine > Wah... which BS u go to? my $6k not inclusive of pre-wedding/ROM leh.. so yours more hua.. can share share?

Hi cymk
Thanks thanks... but now chinese 7 month can I call him to make appointment and send him my data first or all these arrangement can only be done after the chinese 7 month? I'm abit clueless when it comes to tradition but since it's for my wedding, I hope to be more cautious =)

Anyone can help to advise too?