(2010) 2010 Brides

DS_Gerl,
It is so sad after reading the forum regarding the licence fee... ... Pay And Pay singapore. My back up fund for the wedding is running low liao. I think i will not care and jus go ahead doing it w/o paying any fee (my DIY photo montage). Just pray hard no one will come n spot check.

Alicia > at least for you, the 7K go to someone you know... my losses from banquet are purely between me and my wife. go to the hotel

i just finish clearing the bill earlier this week, thats why so happy can buy camera :P

memorable > just make sure that the hotel don't stop you from playing cos u dun have the licence.

U all have your wedding over liao? Congrats, wahh i still hv half a year to go, I'm tire already. So u guys manage to cover the banquet cost? I have like $8k for back up (only for banquet) if i can't break even. Hope $8k is sufficent.

My hotel manager didn't mention to me that i have to produce any licence slip after asking him abt licence fee (my hotel paying annual licence fee). Keke. Just act blind for now.

Memorable> My wedding was over in March.. And my banquet break even..

Darrel> You need to save for your HM.. Dun spend too much on lens ah.. Go and rent one if you need one..

Alicia> I just plain lazy to count the remaining AP and note down the AP.. haha..

memorable > mine confirm not enough to cover. still have to give tables some more
most people give the "market rate" of $100. close friends will give more. so be mentally prepared first.

jaq > not lens ... camera :P. buy liao can teach my wife to take photos too. then got more things to do when we have a common hobby.

shopping is not my preferred hobby

booy > count money also lazy (especially its your own money) :P

Booy> At least all ur debts are settled, so the remaining AP u can take own sweet time to count. Me count all on tat day liao & my debts all not yet settled fully.

Darrel> after wedding, I'm busy packing and then HM.. Now is work work and more work to catch up.. Weekends just wanna rest le.. and now must study for exams.. Zzzzz.. Laziness naturally develop.. Hee..

Alicia> Yes, Luckily my budget is sufficient to cover all.. You are still paying CC debt. If no interest then can slowly pay..

Darrel & Gerl> I think i'm lucky, my mum don't intend to take any AP money from us. Just tables for her to invite relatives n some friends. AP i keep as hubby n i paying for wedding, she doesn't want us to go into debts after wedding. Talk nicely to her n she acepted it. But i told her, if we manage to break evem, we will give her some. =)

Morning all..

Alicia, then must quickly pay up ya.. Getting married really needs lots of $$.. I'm happy to receive about $1000 rebate from CC.. hee

I wana ask, if my C.C. allow me to pay my banquet, then can i bank in the AP money den pay a big sum to C.C. using cash at the bank counter few days later? (so don't hv to calculate AP on the night.

Which are the C.C. with cash rebate? even for up of credit limit?

memorable> can ask the bank to increase credit limit for CC for wedding banquet. As long as you pay within the mth, then no interest incurred.

deb> Thanks, how many days/weeks in advance need to ask for increse? And is there a limit to increase up to? Sorry, nv increase before. I have a few c.c but will call one by one asking for the best deal den will use that.

MemorableChocolate > The CC with best cash rebate should be Shartchart's Manhatten as of now. Their credit limit is higher than other CC, you may not even need to increase credit limit if your banquet is not so big.

btw, i like your idea of banking in the AP cash... then no need to count on your own hahaha

oh actually, if you have a few CC, then split the payment among the few CC... so dun need to increase credit limit and waste all the points away

memorable > we tried increasing about 1 week before. for UOB, they called my banquet manager to confirm the details, and increased the limit within 3 days. Citibank never get back to me despite promising to call me back. (even now 2 months after my wedding, still nothing from them).

best is to increase to cover the cost of the entire banquet. then get 2 cards. in case like mine, citibank sabo.

UOB told us the extra credit limit increase will still get points, so we signed 30K on that card *eyes light up* :P we just need to clear the amount over the credit limit within 1 week. After we bank in the money, i wrote a check to the bank to clear the card.

ellen > bank in cash, you still need to count first cos they ask u the amount u want to bank in, and our parents asked us for the record of who give how much. so end up have to count ourselves

Darrel > if go to those auto cash deposit machine, the machine will count for you :P but if you need to keep a record of who pays how much, then really bobian but count every AP....

you are lucky wor... they still give you points for the increased limit portion

I just call three banks to ask about their c.c. and points/rebate

POSB/DBS-1mnth temp increase
-Now promotion, if you charge ur banquet bill into ur DBS card (I ask abt women’s card) within 31Dec2010, will get 3 times the DBS dollar. (Normal is $5 spent = DBS $1). So u r getting $5 spend = DBS $3.
-POSB Everyday card give cash rebate of 0.3%. But this cash rebate can only be claimed on certain participating merchant (Carrefour n a few others).

Citi BANK-1mnth temp increase
-Citi Clear platinum c.c. has $1 spent = Citi$1.
-As for cash rebates, need to apply for Dividend Card which give u 0.5% cash rebate, you will receive a cheque later on. I like this

UOB-7days temp increase
-UOB Ladies card. $5= 1 Uni points. Try to pay w/in 7days or else ur card limit will exceed. Or u can choose to pay w/in 1 month- wait for c.c. statement to come first den pay.
-As for cash rebates, need to get One Card (white color). But very mah-fan, to get the rebates need to hv min spending for 3 months continuously. No point when it comes to wedding which we only do one time payment.

All of the above mention points/cash rebate applies to credit limit increase too.

Booy>What card u using to get the $1000 cash rebates? How many % rebates that is?

Ellen> Shartchart's Manhatten is how many % Cash rebates? They give cheque?

Memorable > the catch is, each quarter you can only get max $300, this translate to max. $6000 spending to get 5% effectively.

So what we are going to do is... we will split the bill among a few cards: mine, HTB's, good fren's... LOL... troublesome but sure worth the effort.

morning all..

Had a sleepless night..sigh..

wah all talking abt paying the banquet..mine lost almost 13k..the 5k is deposit paid when we book the ballroom, out of 8k , FIL help us 4k..phew..else now lagi jialat..still pay n pay

Ellen> Im abit confuse abt the quarter thingy...

Tell me if i'm right. Example:
If my Banquet cost $25k. I need to have like as many cards as possible to hv more rebate. For example i manage to get 3 cards.

*Card-A i charge $12k, after 1 quarter, i will get $300 (5%=$600 cuz max cap at $300)
*Card-B i charge $7k, after 1 quarter, i will get $300 (5%=$350 cuz max cap at $300)
*Card-C i charge $6k, after 1 quarter, i will get $300 (5%=$300)

But ofcause, if i get more of this card, i will get more of that $300, as long as i charge min of $3001 and above to each card. Am i right?

But problem, if all 3 cards need to apply for credit limit increase, later StandChart see all same Hotel n same day! haha. May not aprove wor.(they likely to call hotel to check if u really hving wedding there)

hello all...me back

I see we have a few new members here...welcome coolie and coden =)

hello qwerty/deerixp...looking for me?

alicia: now only May mahz, u just had ur wedding in March leh...ours totally paid off only after my hubby back fr thailand exercise in March LOL...

memorable: I had mine @ OH, is western fine dining so more ex..and my hubby side angbao $$ not much..my side managed to cover 95% coz some who din turn up last min still pass me angbao after..I think 830 if include wine, should be able to cover or breakeven bah..where's urs?

thomas: welcome back!! Saw ur photos in FB last night..wah seems very fun hor...

Memorable > you're kinda correct... maybe i try to elaborate more.

The quarter is based on when you get your card. For example, you card is effective from 1 May '10, your first Q will be 1 May ~ 31 Jul. You will get your May's bill on 1 June and so on. July's bill will be on 1 Aug.

Then your 1st Q's rebate will be credited to your Aug's bill, which will come on 1 Sep.

As you have mentioned, the more cards you have, the more $300 you will get. As for the credit limit, do take note that Manhatten Card has a much higher limit as compared to other cards - for most CC, credit limit is about 2~3x your monthly salary, whereas for Manhatten is about 4~5x.
As a result, Manhatten have stated clearly that since their credit limit is so high, they dun expect you to increase your credit limit, and a fee is chargeable for each request of credit limit increase.

How many tables you have? you can start planning now to maximise all the credit card priviledges
$830 nett is quite a good price le...

thomas > so how was the trip ? any sakura ?

jaq > *pat pat* to make you feel better, i'll say that my losses was close to 20K. which is also why i'm not in Europe having my honeymoon right now. Of course, the 20K includes the 9 tables we gave to my in laws.

alicia/jaq/darrel: trip was wonderful, the memories we left behind were truly priceless
yup, we extended 3 days there so managed to catch abt half of the trees blooming there...this yr delayed blooming cos of the erratic weather. Was told by my tour guide that weather was very kind to us, it rained one day before we reached and thereafter it was clear. Only rained on 1 day during our extension so we were quite happy abt the whole trip...if only my wife didn't fall sick during the last few days of our HM, it wld have been even better...

jaq: actually not supposed to let u all see first, I forgot to set the privacy mode LOL. Tonite see if I can finish uploading all then I let u all see

Jaq/Ellen> Mine is at Grand Park City Hall, is a Sunday package. Only have 1 bottle wine per table. And additional 6 more bottle wine for using UOB credit card for deposit that time. I'm looking at around 28-30 tables. Wonder how many more bottles of wine should i buy... hmmm