(2010) 2010 Brides

thomas: ya will consider highly S&C since we buy the headboard bed frame fr him...quite worth..else will be IKEA liaoz,my hubby's fav LOL..he sure wan exp tv,washing machine,bed etc coz he believe in gd quality of exp stuff but not me la..cheap n can use gd enuff le..anyway warranty for exp n cheap stuff also 1 or max 3 yrs nia

jaq: ok lah S&C...of cos u pay that kinda $, dun expect to have Casa standard. For me good enuff, poor man cannot be choosy also LOL

tv lobang I have, u want? I bot both my tvs from my fren who works in audiohse liang court. cheaper than outside plcs like best denki, harvey norman etc.

thomas: ya u mention before..but issit even cheaper than megastore? I heard audio house stuff not really gd leh..always got faulty ones..

courts? that one I dunno, nvr compared b4. eh not true lah...what they sell, harvey and best also selling the same things mah. unless u are buying display set then diff story.

if u want I pm u his contact, u can ask him for pricing first if u hv shortlisted some models. Then go source ard from there, no obligations ya?

no mega discount store at novena square n leisure park kallang..my dad bought a tv 2yrs back n is cheaper than courts by almost 1k...

ok sure..thanks ya~ but think I will only source for electronics in 4th qtr bah..by then sure got new models n got IT fair also selling home stuff also liaoz..usually quite gd bargains..

jaq: really ar.. recently i went to see see the fridge that i shortlisted only cheaper by $200... haha

thomas: i saw his site.. seems like he got some promotion going on leh

Thomas> I agree. It's convenient as well. You are so thoughtful.
I like the laundry hanger too. But cannot fit the layout of my drying area. haiz. So I have to learn to depend on myself.

ellen> who is ur contractor?? haha pm me ur contacts pls?? yupe mine is super run down so gotta redo entire kitchen and toilet and bathroom

thomas> ya lor. i gotta redo everything haiz

rand: saw whose webby???

booy: ur drying area very small? hmm...

all: I took some pics of my budget reno and uploaded in FB liao...feel free to view.

Thomas > now we're cooking everyday even after work... haha :P will expect to cook maybe ~4 days in a week in future.

I wanna go S&C too but haven't got time to go... btw i think randyce is refering to Ide*l house's website, got promotion.

Saw your photos... you have a hi-tech toilet bowl at MBR toilet wor... hahahaha

Booy > also got 1 ID quoted me 10k for a toilet revamp... at that time i also wanna tell him to go fly kite :P

deb > pm-ed you
when are you going to do reno?

morning all! One day to Friday.

Thomas> yup yup. Drying area is extremely small because my ex owner did a lot of cupboards and I didn't change them as they were new. Haiz

Ellen> the focus of the ID company was on toilet somemore.. Peole put feature wall in the living, he put in toilet. But I dun spend do much time in toilets.. Haha

moooooooorning...

so tired, loaded down with work
and so many more things more to go.

Time really flies, been more than 1 month since most of us are married liao. My ROM anniversary is coming up on sunday =)

wish I had the time to cook at least every other day too. I like to cook. Soon, we'll all be exchanging recipes in the forum :P

ellen: wah u so hardworking leh...u reach home what time usually? earliest I reach home also ard 6, by the time I prepare and cook, I think earliest can eat also ard 8 liao lol. by the time wash up I think 10 hahahhaa...

hehe u wanna go S&C rem to look for melvin. that toilet bowl? haha my wife wanted it lor...I dun use it anyway cos find it weird hahahahaha...japan got a lot of these though. Think she will enjoy our HM there hahahahahhaa....

booy: oic...nvm lah get smarties to hang for u hehe

darrel: think those stuff u cook diff from mine leh hahahaa...unless u wanna try mine cos I dun think I like ur type of food lol

morning all!

wow now all taling about hse reno! haha... im still in e middle of my reno. flooring all done, wall tiles also done. this weekend going to buy bathroom and kitchen stuff. quite excited. thomas, what kind of high-tech toliet bowl u have? i cant view facebook pics in office. sian... luckily still can come here to post. haha...

my reno cost 40k in all. and its done by a contractor. i suppose we bu zhi bu jue want many things. maybe we had a bad scare at image cre@tive which quote us 30k+ with minimum stuff. so we rather go to a contractor and do more things. the ID at image cre@tive actually suggested tt we dun do kitchen wall tiles since our budget is so low. *faint*

so far the reno is good. the contractor is very prompt w reply and meets us every now and then to discuss each stage of e reno. but of cos since he is contractor, we will have to give him pics of design we want. he is the contractor for my hubby's workplace so we find him more turstworthy than ppl we dun know. and yes, according to my personal experience, many IDs and contractors dun get back one lor. really wonder how to put our projects in their hands.

so far bought mattress, bed frame, tv for MBR and living room, sofa, wall paper, coffee table, fridge and washing machine. already cost another bomb...

where did u guys buy ur bathroom and kitchen stuff? how much does it cost? and thomas, can u give me ur curtain's contact?

thomas > mm... actually i dunno whats ur preference. cos I do cook chinese food, but that takes more time to prepare. Usually, the earliest i manage to reach home is 7.30 so by the time i finish cooking, geri would have fainted or finish drinking all the milk in the fridge, so I haven't had time to start on the chinese recipes yet. :P

HG > i bought mine at Hoe Kee (main office @ genting lane). They have a bit of leeway for bargaining. For the hangers (towel hangers, soap dish etc) try to go for stainless steel rather than chrome.

jaq > sorry for late reply.. I am not sure.. maybe they feel that job too small for them, or I am too demanding..
My friend also experienced same issue as me.. All willing to come down take measurement, but nv get back regarding quotation. even for those ID whom we visit with floor plan, all say will email us quotation.. But nv do so.

HG: haha its not high-tech lah...we just added a bidet to our cistern, its more for my wife's use. I dun use it cos I find it........weird. hahahaha...u go home then view tonite lor...u got lobangs to buy kitchen/bathroom stuff?

wah 40k is extensive reno...ur hse will be v nice once done up, rem to share with us pics ok? I like to see nice nice houses hahahaa...me no $ to do nice nice for my hse cos pay COV until pok liao
next house I must do up swee swee like I told jaq last nite hehe =)

my ID is good, his follow-up service is fast and when I found minor defects after I moved in, he sent ppl down to rectify immediately too. So far quite happy with him lah.

I bought all my sanitary fittings at Universal Union along Geylang. They gave me some discount cos I bought quite a lot from them. If u want their contact let me know k? depending on what u need...maybe u can tell us what u intend to get first? diff to est costs like that.

I did my curtains in JB, lobang given to me by Chrissy. I give u the contact later...tonite u go home can see my reno pics, inside got a few of my curtains' shots also =)

darrel: hmm I find hoe kee and sim siang choon pricing a bit on the high side...I went down to quite a few places to recce that time. Geylang has a lot of shops selling sanitary fittings, prices quite ok. Balestier ones are expensive though.

bel: haha a few nvr came back to us also...think at that time it was peak period for them ba (according to my ID)

thomas >
mine was not peak period.. because, by time I started sourcing for IDs, my neighbours already moved in..

Jaq > my reno costs around $13.5K, did kitchen cabinets, full mirror feature wall to hide the storeroom, 1/3 mirror wall for the dining room,
wardrobe for MBR, changed toilet door of MBR, painting of whole house + cleaning. Price also inclusive of tempered class at cooking area.. This is to facilate easy cleaning for future cooking.

jaq > if u do not mind, u can get sofa from Seahorse, I got mine there.. less than $400 for a L -shaped 4~5 seater one.. cheaper than IKEA.. Hmm.. some fridges and washing machines do have 5 year warrantly. it all depends on what u want.

walau a bel...my sofa from seahorse also...wahhahahahahaa..

its the only L-shaped sofa which can fit into my living room, the rest we went were all too big. Cheap and good!

even if dun have 5yr warranty, can always buy extended warranty. I bought extended warranty of 5yrs for my Samsung washing machine too, initial warranty only for 3yrs. Best to buy cos u nvr know when motor will die on u.

darrel and thomas,

so far we went sim siang choon, hoe kee and a few more at IMM. i seem to think sim siang choon is very exp. is the selection at universal union wide? ill ask hubby if he wanna go down this weekend. contractor says he has 'special rate' for hoe kee i think. dunno real or not.

actually i din do any special design for my hse. so dun think it will be 'special'. just the ordinary stuff also so exp. that's why we knew it will be impossible for us to ID. think resale is really so much more exp than new flats unless u can use some of the things fr e previous owner.

thomas,

i think its troublesome to get curtains fr JB cos we dun drive. thanks anyway.

bel: dun say that lah...every house is nice in their owner's eyes
any pics to share for ur reno? =)

chrissy: yalor...that ah bee so busy until no time to deliver to me...had to chase her so many times zzz. Installation that day damn terok, drilled until dust everywhere...had to mop twice after it was done, so dusty! so to all here, make sure ur curtains are done before u move ur furniture in!

i agree with thomas. every house is nice in their owner's eyes ...

HG > actually reno doesn't have to be too fancy. For ours, we went with the design principle of simple and easy to maintain. then add in our own personal touch with small deco items. end of the day, have to think about house cleaning also. look nice but hard to clean is just finding trouble for yourself :P

HG: IMM stuff are not cheap...their rental there is high so by the time they sell stuff to u, its marked up there liao. try geylang that stretch, those small shops def sell cheaper than those shops in departmental/shopping centres.

Universal Union has a wide selection dun worry...they have 2 storeys somemore. They even sell ceiling fans! I found whatever I wanted from there, no probs. Your contractor told u he got 'special rates'? Maybe he wants u to buy from Hoe Kee cos he got commission from there hahahaa...very normal. Up to u ba, u decide.

actually its not troublesome, from JB customs just take a cab will do. SG curtains are expensive, its abt double the price of JB's. I spent total abt RM740 only on my MBR and living room curtains and that's less than 300 Sing. U can't get this kinda pricing in SG def.

thomas - haha is it? I heard different story ...she told me that you didn't give her the measurements ... anyway i was there to customised my bathroom mirror and heard that..

Bel - it's your home ma , as long as you are comfortable and like it can liao ma

huh? she does mirrors also???

we gave her the measurements v early...but seemed like she dun understand what we want. anyway issue closed, curtains are ok so doesn't matter.

thomas - hehe i was surprised to hear her also..she a bit blur blur one leh..ya lor as no issue can liao.. yup she does mirrors and framing as well.. was there to redo my frame and happen to find out so shun bian do heehe..

thomas > wahahaha.. what a coincidence! Lol.. Yes, Seahorse is cheap and good.. Lol.. Initially wanted to get furnitures from JB, but then, do not know which furniture shop is good.. and there is the taxes issue.

Pics ah.. not sure if hubby got take pics or not..
Heehee.. I intend to get Fish & Pakyal's washing machine and fridge because both comes in 5 years warranty.. not sure is it inclusive of motor or not..

Thomas & Chrissy > thanks thanks.. but then, sometimes, when ppl give the same comments, it does get to me at times..

ya seahorse is gd..their beds, sofas very cheap...and is like 50-70% off kind I always see the ads in papers...

I vet thru my lovenest floor plan..I dunno where to start lol..juz realise I might not b able to do feature wall on my household shelter coz the main door next to the household shelter wall, no space in between..zzzz...n dunno where to place my shoe rack also..sigh

Finally got time to come in...

Thomas > hahaha not hardworking... just that my family members dun like to eat out. normally i reach home around 8, sis & BIL reach home around 8:30+... so we usually have dinner ~9:15pm. we only do simple Chinese dishes... if i cook i'll take around 45 mins, but my sis is faster, she can complete everything within 30 mins...

Ya lor Japan got a lot of those hi-tech toilets... i like the warm water jacket function LOL

Read on Renotalk that a lot of pple go to Poh Joo @ Jalan Besar for sanitory stuff shopping, yet to explore that street though....

Darrel > agree with you... ease of maintenance should be a priority for any home...

HG > i also heard that a lot of ID suggest pple not to use wall tile for kitchen... just painting will do. but wall tiles will be easier to clean compare to painted wall la...

I also got my sanitary fittings mainly from Universal Union. I find their price more competitive. Poh Joo is pretty cheap, but the designs are not as good as universal union.

I'm glad that I didn't do a lot of fanciful stuff for my house or else cleaning would be even a worse nightmare than now.

Thomas> Your curtain is cheap leh. I have not even done mine, still using ex-owner's. Can PM me the details and address?

bel: fisher and paykel is a good brand, my mum has a freezer of this brand also, so far haven't broke down.

jaq: I used my feature wall shelvings as shoe racks...showed u the pic last nite liao hehe. shoe rack place in the bomb shelter?

ellen: poh joo is good also, many good reviews in RT. my kitchen is wall tiles, easier to wipe I feel.

booy: haha u also bot from there? a lot of designs indeed...see liao also blur lol.

ya...u can never find this kinda pricing in SG...cheapest I found in SG also 1k+ for the same thing...somemore price is inclusive of railings, tiebacks and hooks. If u want installation, just pay another RM120 will do...they will come out to SG to install for u.

I pm u later =)

jaq: those wash butt system is called bidet. lol.

if u get those built-in ones, sure exp. Mine is the add-on type, only $200+ per unit. Got higher end ones at $400+.

Thomas> yes, majority of my fittings are from there. But I bought my toilet bowls elsewhere. I saw those bidet kind of toilet bowl. It costs abt 1K. Your add on is quite cheap. Prob can consider.

Curtains was my last priority during reno. I saw your shiny curtains.. So bling.

Thomas: i contacted Peter liao.. think will most probably meet him first den c how... thanks for the recommendation

Ellen: can pm me ur id pls? thanks

I only getti my hse in 3rdQ this yr if the govt wants to hand over.... hopping to get reno done b4 we get married if possble so nw like ks sourcing for ids.... we r lucky to get a new flat w no COV but aso on budget so praying hard tt things will do well eventually....

booy: yup we chose the cheapest cos to us, as long as can use can liao, no need buy so exp one.

hahaha bling ah? dunno leh, we both like this colour lol.

bluey: no prob...have fun talking to him! lol. btw saw ur PS pic, u looked like a babe leh...very pretty!

blueystar > mine is contractor not ID, you okie with that?

deb > i'm hoping to finish by mid July cos AD is last day of Jul...
have you called him up?

Thomas > didn't know bidet can add on de... i thought must be built in together with the toilet bowl one hahahaha

Snoopy dog: yah i have colleagues who studied acca.. it's tough juggling both.. Jia you! .. i am a non-practising cpa now (grad from local university last time).. it's not easy to be accountant.. but since u started, just persevere =)