(2010) 2010 Brides

morning all

ds> all pharmacy carry it but good to still bring along a spray.. im v prone to mosquitoes bites so the patch not very useful for me.

randyce> buy the calfornia baby one.. not so smelly, but effective

morning...

oh me and my HTB are very prone to mosquito bites but patches work very well on us leh. was surprised that one small patch can be so powerful... haha

guess the effect varies for different pple (or different mosquitos)

moooooooorning...

now sitting in my house waiting for fridge delivery while the workers do some grouting work on my tiles... there goes the effort of mopping. :S

now my new house... upstairs doing renovation too. my L box got a hairline crack liao. my contractor said he will fix for me, but need to monitor the ceiling for problems.

mosquito ... only solution is to be thick skinned larr.. skin too thin sure get bitten.

Darrel, Thomas> the process of receiving the furniture is great! I took quite a bit of photos when the delivery arrive..

Bought the XD ties.. $5 each.. One more task off the list..

zao an all~~ yeah fridayyyyyyy

bet xfz bz prep for sunday liaoz..kekeke..then after tat is most of u's 'mth'... think will be v quiet in the forum le... :P

Hi fellow BTB, need ur advice.

I had my ROM last year(2009), had my PS at Taiwan last year(2009), we will be holding our Banquet this year (2010)Nov. My FMI requested for a Ti Qing session soon. This is a part we try to avoid, thinking of the awkward moment we might be facing when Pin Jing is being asked.

Behind the sense, my FB n I had already decided a certain amount for Pin Jing (S$3888), as we are both hosting our wedding on our own w/o any help from our parents as both our parents are no longer working, separated and has no saving. There are a few questions I want to ask about Ti Qing.

1. Ping Jing – I’m very sure that my mum will answer “give as u please†if she will be asked upon the amount of Pin Jing she wanted. Afraid that she may have any disappointment when she recv the Pin Jing, is best to tell the amount beforehand. I asked my FH to voice up “S$3888 ok?†if required. Do u think is ok and w/in S’pore range?

2. Normally we need to return partial of the Pin Jing to the groom’s family, how much to return? Is returning S$888 ok?

3. Tables for bride side – as both of us are the host of the wedding banquet, if my mum asks for a certain no. of tables, does that mean that the Ang Pao will be given to her? We are afraid that we can’t even up the price if she has to take the Ang Pao.

4. 4 Dian Jing – Instead of the 4 Dian Jing, I actually wanted Phoenix bracelet instead. Does it look “cheapo†to have just one item compare to 4 items from 4-Dian-Jing?

5. Gao-Da-Li – What to ask? No. of boxes of cakes, Roasted pig, what else?

6. Should I ask about what MIL want during Ti Qing? Eg. Jia Pao Sea (shoes for MIL), sister-in-law’s cloth or dress.

Appreciate your reply. Thanks

memorable chocolate, here r my replies:

1. If u afraid is awkward n both side not happy about the ping jing if never verbally relay msg, better to ask ur FH's father to ask ur mum whether 3888 is ok anot during their meetup dinner. Be open abt it if both sides r not really tat traditional.

2. Returning how much is up to ur, any amount will do de, $888 is a humble amount ah..no worries..anyway is a yi si yi si nia...

3. if ur mum request for no. of tables, usually the angbaos for all the tables r given to her but u have to be clear with her, if the angbao is 'underpaid' for the number of tables - for example, she receive only 5k for 6 tables but ur 1 table cost is $1k, is she gonna 'absorb' the cost or u all have to top up for her? Same goes to 'overpaid' as in receive more than the value of tables, does she still take or will return bal to u...this is very very sensitive $$ issue..have to talk it out calmly n asap.

4. 4 dian jing is actually not a must nowadays.. now pure gold is damn ex, ur 1 phoenix bracelet can be cheaper than those 1 set of 4 dian jing..I dun think is cheapo..for me, I only get white gold ala carte 4 dian jing coz I wan to wear it on normal days as well..

5. GDL: discuss with ur parents how much they want..usually give 1 box per relative family, roasted pig can be cans of pig trotters, then hard liquor, oranges, ur ping jing, the phoenix dragon candles, then u have to plan wat dowry u all wan to give groom side too.

6. yup, shld ask whatever both parents want n agree to avoid conflicts etc..

darrel: ur stuff all delivered yest?

jaq/rand: we will still come in here to chat next mth after our AD lah...miss u all too haha

ds: have fun for ur PS today! hope u bot the mozzie patch liao hehe

rand: have fun next mon too!

chocolate: if ur future in-laws insists on a ti qing session, u can't avoid it so best to go along with it. imho ur PJ is a very decent amt so not to worry =) if u feel overstretched by this amt, its ok to give sth which is both comfortable for u and hubby...I'm sure ur parents will understand since its coming out from ur pockets.

2. how much to return will depend on ur parents...usually most ppl will take a small portion of it and return the rest to the groom's parents...this is to signify that they are not selling off their daughter, just taking a token sum only.

3. Yes. So in this case if ur mum asks for some tables, maybe u can tell her to lower her asking for PJ since she oredi has APs to cover?

4. are u teochew? if not then forget abt the SDJ. if u are then up to u, no hard and fast rule over the no. of items to have.

5. its Guo Da Li, not Gao. Usually will consist of wedding cakes, oranges, dragon phoenix candles, GDL tray with all the different assortments, suckling pig (optional), peanut candy etc. No hard and fast rule again, this is just a guideline. Can substitute anything in the list above as long as both sides' parents are comfortable.

6. better to ask, some old ppl wanna feel respected so better dun offend them.

hope this helps =)

snoopy: yalor...next mon start work will be March liao, then my AD will be coming up fast and furious...urs coming soon after mine also

Thomas : Ya lor...

For the Si dian Jin, my father said cannot buy white gold cos no value..pure gold is better.

For the dragon phoenix candles, U guys got heard before got electric types?? They ask me to buy that...

pure gold damn exp now...see the price also eyes pop out haha

electric type nvr heard b4...but I bot the latest type which is smokeless and 'unisex' hahahahaa....

Dunno MIL will buy so expensive jewellery for me or nt?? I seldom wear gold cos sensitive to it..Think maybe will top up by myself to avoid such situations that father see such "cheap" jewellery

Unisex???? That sound new to me.... U all buy is the traditional ones ah??

snoopy: 'unisex' as in the candles now got both dragon and phoenix pictures on it...so no chance for ur hubby to bring back the wrong one (yes, there are pple who brought home the wrong one!) hahahaha....traditional ones is one pc dragon, the other pc phoenix.

thomas-unisex can meh??? my in laws bought unisex..then in the end have to go back change normal sex cos traditionally cannot accept one leh :P

chocolate > actually the pin jin amount will also depend on how many tables your mum ask for. my MIL asked for tables (they keep ang pow) so my pin jin is really anything goes. we gave $1800 and got back $800. (the table costs run up to around $12K). as for gold/jewellery, up the your discretion. GDL list depend on the groom's dialect group. maybe during the ti qing, no need to bring up. when it gets closer to the date, then discuss ?

thomas> yup... all delivered...

Delivery report...

Curtains Installation - 1015 (expected 0930-1100)
Table (S&C) - 1015 (expected 1100-1400)
Fridge, Microwave - 1200 (expected 1100-1200)
Toilet Installation - 1530 (expected 1100-1400)
Sofa - 1600 (expected 1500-1700)

so you know how long you have to wait for the delivery .... =P

kelle > nope, never heard of electric type one :S

MemorableChocolate> There are a tons of guidelines to all the questions that you asked and it depends on how traditional your families are as well as dialect group. If your families are very traditional, better to engage one geomancer and just follow their advice. If not, like what the rest say, there is no hard and fast rule to follow. A lot of these traditions have changed over the years and modernised.

For my case, my mummy only took $200 from the PJ that my hubby gave. And the tables AP will all come back to us. I believe all the GTB/BTB have various ways of handling these sensitive $$$ and traitional issues.

Si Dian Jing is usually for teochew like me. However, I also heard that non-teochew families requested for this.. Think my Si Dian Jing will just collect dust as time goes by.. haha

Thomas> You just reminded that my AD is coming soon again.. haiz... The unisex or non-unisex candle to buy depends on your dialect group wor...

Having XD/JM meetup this sun to brief them..

chrissy: my MIL is ok with it =)

darrel: wah not bad, almost all on time except ur toilet bowl installation =) how come ur PJ give the end figures 00? usually ppl will not give 00 cos elderly think its pantang...most ppl will give ending with 8...I gave mine all ending with 8...

booy: ur mum is really nice...somemore giving u back all the APs...not everyone's like her.

yup...our ADs are only one day apart...time to buck up now

u hving both JMs XDs together? like that ur XDs will know what games to expect on that day liao right? no more fun...

the boring part about the delivery was waiting while the workers were doing the floor grout... so the whole floor feels sandy, and you are wondering where got clean spot to put your furniture...

also, the electronics actually delivered to my parent's place (2 blocks away). just nice i got tired of waiting and went back, intercepted the uncle delivering the fridge at the lift, and ask them to confirm with the shop on the delivery address. apparently, the shop never update the warehouse on the delivery address. best part is there was no one at home, so lucky for the uncle...

Thomas> My parents are the best! My mummy even offer to pay for our wedding which we rejected.. It's a substantial sum and it's coming from their retirement fund somemore..

Yes.. The session will start off with makan and briefing at our new home.. Then JM will go into the room for further discussion on how to "Zhen Si" the groom and XD.. haha..

Randyce> mutual friends is good.. For me, not all know each other.. So better to meet up together.. Afterall they run the entire show, good for them to build rapport..

Snoopy.. I have two more brothers.. I'm the only princess.. all parents love in different ways, no need to be envious..

Darrel & Geri and Booy,
Thanks for your advice. My wedding date is fixed by a geomancer (a relative), he gave us 3 AD dates and we alrdy choosen one n even booked our banquet, need to go back to him to talk about what to do on bed setting and GDL

Im still negotiating w my mum hoping that she won't take Ang Pao for the tables, we don't mind giving her many tables to invite ppl, but jus want Ang Pao $ back as we paying for it using our two years to save for this wedding. We only put aside S$8K for the banquet just incase we can't cover it using Ang Pao $.

Hi everyone, i'm a June 2010 bride and will like to ask whether u guys know where to get cheap and nice gowns/dresses for mothers? My mum keeps asking me where to get, as if im an auntie too..hahaha..let me know please..thanks..

chocolate > i know what you mean... my MIL have the impression that the guys side supposed to pay for everything. but my wife and I agreed (since we work for so long liao) that we would pay for the wedding ourselves. My parents retired long ago (in their late 60s) so I didn't want them to fork out a cent for the dinner. The challenging part is convincing your mum... cos between me and geri, both failed.
now we just do the next best thing... which is still give her the ang pow, but get back things (e.g. sponsor my house TV, geri got a pair of diamond earrings... etc)

ice > my wife haven't start looking... but maybe a good place to start is daniel yam.

sigh...damn sian...one of my bros just dropped out cos kena company posting overseas...so last min how to expect me to find another to replace him?