(2010) 2010 Brides

Alicia > the package price seems reasonable~ enjoy your trip hee hee

Jaq > how much is the land tour package and air fare? Hainan is actually a good place for short trip

Thomas > when i applied back in 2004, got add in the AWS and bonus... anyway, should try to go for HM, even a short one at nearby locations... it's important to relax and have some couple time after all the hectic preparation le

Standard Chartered is good.. Can rebate up to $300 in one quarter.. So both my hubby and I apply for the Manhatten card and use to pay for banquet.. Can get back $600..

Snoopy> Save save save and go to a far far trip.. Or else, as time goes by, we will get tied down and cannot go that far anymore..

Thomas> Now sending reminder to the guests.. Tonight going to BS to choose teadress.. Then tomorrow is AV rehearsal.. Busy busy busy..

Booy : save save save is for my current & future home...sometimes feel a bit disappointed & sad that no HM for me

kelle > i bot at best denki. series 6 samsung $1299. we decided to go for a mid range one so it can connect to our gaming console... and we got a $1000 sponsorship :P

booy > one thing you need to check about the CC is whether the points extend amounts above the credit limit. Last time i checked, banks stopped giving points, rebates, etc for amounts over the credit limit. so if the limit is $8K, and the bill is 40K, you only get the points, rebates, etc for the 8K.

Manhatten card cashback also quite strange, cos they don't do cashback for everything, only selected merchants. I used to hold one for 3 years, then cancel cos they can't waive off the full amount for the annual renewal fee.

At this point, what we're planning to do is split the bill into 5-6 cards so we can rack up the points.

Darrel : I nt sure mine is what series..go home n check my receipt.. ;p. My hubby will be glad cos have large screen for him to play games

ellen/jaq: even if got $$$ also can't go imme after my AD...got a colleague took 1mth leave despite our dept being shorthanded somemore...

booy: u so early send reminders? I will send 1 week before only...later too early do will have to do again...

darrel: same same...we gg to split the bill among several cards too...

Thomas> Me flying off on 2 Apr, check-in airport on 1st Apr, coz is midnight flight, so considered 2 Apr fly.

Booy> YA lor, i told hub tat if now we din go switzerland for HM tis time (he's always been wanting to go there for HM), den we wont get to go 4eva liao, coz it's getting more & more expensive & soon our hse will be ready den we need to spend on hse. Now tat our hse still building, we can take tis opportunity to go, so next time wont regret tat din haf a chance to go..

Darrel> Can it be done, abt spilitting the bill into 5-6 cards?

alicia: oic...have fun then.

check with ur hotel if it can be done...I dun see any probs with it.

my guest list? given up liao, passed to my wife the empty slots for her to fill up...not bothered anymore.

jaq: yalor..no choice...

Darrel> This manhatten card is not very consistent with what they claim.. By right it's rebate for all merchants.. But somehow like what you mention, they only rebate for selected merchants.. We already experienced some rebate problem with them for the last quarter.. Anyway, my hubby has 4 times for his credit limit.. So we dun need to use so many cards to pay off the banquet..

Snoopy> House is more impt.. Save up for that first.. then in the future can always go for a trip...

Darrel - HMmmm ...My hubby have all points issued for his card leh.. what bank is that? my hubby is UOB.. and he only use 1 card to pay ... just call bank to increase the credit limit temporary for the wedding will do..usually they approve one...

Alicia - just called up and advise them....my hotel coordinator told us the same thing too..so we just do

for us we didn't show any proof and banks usually approve to raise credit limit for wedding one..just call them 1 week before your actual day..

Alicia - just called up and advise them....my hotel coordinator told us the same thing too..so we just do

for us we didn't show any proof and banks usually approve to raise credit limit for wedding one..just call them 1 or 2 week before your actual day..

chrissy: check with u, ah bee don't reply emails one ah? emailed her sth so long liao also no reply one...no choice maybe have to call her then...

think i'll split the bill among a few cards too...

Booy > Manhatten Card got such problem? mind to share what are the things that they didn't give rebate? cos what i heard so far is okie le... hmmmm just signed up for one...

chrissy: she called me b4 cny saying it was ready for collection but I got no time to go in, so wanted to ask her how much to deliver to sg + install. how much did she charge u for delivery + installation?

Ellen> Rebates will not be given for financial transactions.. They are also unable to provide much explanation to us on the rebates, just give us some default answers.. No time to chase up with them.. I just hope I dun have further issue when come to claiming the rebate for our banquet..

Alicia> Now can go, should go.. Darrel is spliting up into multiple cards such that he does not need to increase the credit limit.. Credit limit can be increased easily with banks, just need to call up.. However, if e.g. you increase the limit by $20K more, this 20K will not be able to chalk up any rewards, points and rebates based on most bank's policies..

Thomas> I only started reminding yest.. 2 weeks before then I have time to shift the seats around.. I dun intend to call and fill up empty seats.. Whichever is empty will be empty, just trying not to have many empty seats in 1 table..

But I'm very appreciative of friends who msg me on their own to inform me that they will be attending or not attending without me chasing after them..

Booy > what do you mean by financial transaction? from what i understand, things like bill payment doesn't get rebates, but general shopping and dining should be ok...

Banquet should be okie ba... cos already got pple that have done it and got back the rebates... hmmm i'd better call the bank to check.

Ellen> Because we use the card to buy funds and there is no rebates.. F&B should be pretty safe.. But based on our calculation, it did not give the rebates that we think should be eligible.. And they are also unable to breakdown for us.. So up till now, I also dun know what is eligible and what is not..

I previously had problems with the cash rebates for Manhatten card for
1) renewal of web hosting. (local)
2) overseas purchases.

but these are online transactions, so maybe thats why it doesn't work...

Alicia > I don't know if it can be done or not, but I'm going to ask my co-ordinator when i meet her this wed

all> also, the thing about banquets is, most people will just see that there is points, but some banks have a policy that the amount spent beyond the credit limit will not chalk up points, if not, I'll just pay with one card liao. e.g. My bill is 40K, my credit limit is 8L... so i get 8K of points. The remainder 32K doesn't get the points.

On cashback, I dunno about standard chartered, but i think DBS has already issued a statement to say that their cashback card will not rebate wedding banquet costs.

darrel> not really due to rain... cos we rch at 11am... think start ps ard 12+ bah... we requested to start earlier but bs is quite persistent... so be it lor... anyway we still manage to go all places we wanted to go and had some "bonus" shots... sad thing is no sunset due to raining .. it was still cloudy when we rch punggol end which is our last stop

Booy & Darrel > thanks for the info... will call Stanchart to clarify
i only heard that Citibank dividend card won't have rebate for banquets, and DBS normal cards can get 2x points for weddings.

Sry I mean shag...
Thomas/ds: it was fun but very tired. Yup very hot day almost melted... But dunnoe whether the photos will be nice anot cos bf dun really smile showing teeth plus we nt very good with posing hopefully it will come out fine... Sunday choosing photos

good moooooooooooooooorning =)

thomas > jia you !! not many weekends left. have you started moving your stuff to your new house ?

yesterday my wife told me, the "official" move in date on the 14th, need to cook rice+veg+fish+1meat... mini housewarming *faint*
can't imagine cook for so many people. after that still have to clean up and get it ready for the wedding. :S

11 days for me then... yawn...

Went for fitting yesterday and chose a modified CS for teadress.. Tonight going for rehearsal..

Randyce> The photos will usually be good... Dun worry too much..

Darrel> So fast and you are starting cooking.. It's very siong.. haha.. I had a steamboat at home the other day and realised so many things were missing.. End up we need to buy everything in a rush..

Morning ppl, Y u all so sianz with the preparations? Cheer up, ppl

For the An Chuang, can we do it ourselves or parents have to do it??