(2010) 2010 Brides

think my nightmare will start in feb…cos my htb plans to invite my parents over to his place for dinner and then discuss on all these stuffs…. zzzz….

I will be having 2 VIP tables.

valerie > my mum only asked for 5 tables. Initially she only wanted 3 den I told her aiyah just take 5+1 lah ...

Eve> same...my mom also wanted 3. But when i did my own counting, i tot 4 or 5 tables safer. But most prob lesser than 5 tables since she not inviting friends, only relatives. =) She will be keeping a certain amt of $ from the PJ and the AP from the tables given to her...

People afternoon...

All of U have the same problems of the tables issues. Luckly for me, I has no issue as my PILs n my dad did nt asked for any tables from both of us... *phew*

chrissy/valerie > oh my case is my parents needs a total of 11-12 tables but my mum only asking 6 tables cos she feels too much if she ask total 12 tables. Moreover in laws not paying.

busy until now then got time to reply...

chrissy: thanks, ur explanation is more than enuff, got it

booy: thanks, will hunt for the timer also

all: I will be having 2 VIP tables also, think its the norm nowadays ba. 1 for the groom's side, 1 for bride's side. My MIL told me to give what I deem fit for pinjin when I asked her how much she wanted. Asked around and generally got the idea that pinjin must be minimum 4-figure sum otherwise will appear too 'han suan'. Bride's side will keep a token sum and return the rest to groom's side, usually they will return in even figures.

She didn't mention anything abt giving tables to her, but she did mention that any APs that goes to her from my wife's relatives, she will not return to us...treat like the $$$ she deserved to bring my wife up
very sian when I heard that, somemore everything out of my own pockets

ds: better to ask ur hubby to ask ur parents how much they want for pinjin, later give too little ur parents wun be happy one I tell u...this kinda thing cannot say 'chin chai lah, up to u lah' etc etc.

I think my AD most likely will suffer losses liao, only a matter of how much nia...damn sian

if losses too great, maybe no $$$ to go HM also sobs

Snoopy u damn shiok ah.. so envy

Eve- I ask my mum to take more (she only wanted 3 only) then in laws say they will pay but now kenna bounce back liaoo..

Thomas confirm will have losses one it's a matter how great the losses are

i always dun understand now is we pay for everything, when they nd tables, we just provide n we take all APs can liao wat... if got profit from the parents' side, then we return all profits to them. It's nt as if after married, we r not giving any more allowance to the family (or at least i still will do for my case)...

the best is i din know got such thing n kinda of feel got sabo as now pple start implanting all funny ideas to my parents... I already made words clear if things get worsen i will called off the banquet.... lol

blueystar> Money is the root of all evil, not banquet, coz ultimately wat the parents wants is money! It's the AP they r eyeing, not the banquet. =P

thomas> that’s wat my htb wants me to find out hw much my parents gv to my sil’s family the other time….
so can benchmark from there lor…

bluey> hahaah… me too… I also told my parents I regretted booking the banquet so early…. after seeing wat my bro has went thru….

Lucky Lol...Maybe aso I dun have much tables, Think maximum will be 15 tables. If they wanna tables from us, I think I will lose everything.
Somemore, only my PILs attend, nt his other family members nor relatives..

Alicia > Hmmm..nt considered a small & private event. Minus out my hubby's side, only left my side, relatives, friends n collegues. I think nt all my mum's relatives will turn out cos nt so close (met oni once a yr - CNY). The rest has a higher chance of turning up.

I wish to have a more cosy event, trying to skip the "yum seng" part. I will feel embarrassed to shout "yum seng"

And aso thinking of having "live" performance during the banquet. This bring all of the ppl closer, rather than eat n chit chat.

Luckily my bro set a good example.. My bro gave my SIL 4 figure and the MIL only kept a few hundreds.. The rest were all returned to my bro.. So now the token sum in my parents dictionary is few hundreds.. Hopefully things dun turn too ugly..

bluey> hahaha... yah lor... ours r hot dates....
juz heard from my hotel coordinator that 23oct is very highly enquired even until nw....

booy> my sil's family also took only a small token for "yi si"... but in the end took so many tables' AP from the dinner... i think like this more lugi lor...

bluey - you are a star..totally agreed with what u say..

I seriously dun understand why the parents can't spare a thought for their own flesh blood children? is face/AP more important than their own child?

blueystar> hahahahaha! Man r realistic. =P

Snoopy> Oic.. Mine got a lot of relatives. Tat time my sis's wedding, coz her venue cant accommodate too many tables, my dad finally managed to reduce his tables from 10 to 8 (inclusive of VIP) den almost all tables r full tat day. So i wld expect mine to be similar.

Booy> Gd luck! Wen's ur GDL?

Hi all, wedding at Oct 2010 right? Did I come into the right topic? Wah it seem like u guys are preparing already! It's still 10 mths away & u guys r talking about GDL.. hee

Snoopy: no worries, Oct n here all sama sama.. i m aso Oct bride

Chrissy: thanks for the compliment. Anyway, i tried nt to think too much till much closer date den c how la....

Alicia: totally agreed...

dun say Parents, friends now aso start giving ideas like telling me their friends providing MUA for their makeup as jiemeis... i m like kaoz.. if i got total 6/7 jiemeis + 2 mums den i nd to hire at least 3 MUAs? my other friend who heard still say dun worry, she will get MUAs for us for her wedding. I just kept quiet cos even got $ i aso nd MUAs lah ... plus i intend to get dresses instead... haix, i dun care wat pple expect liao as long as i know it's my wedding... if live to everyone's expectation, i will die first.... lol

hi all .. another oct 2010 bride coming in here to peep peep also. other threads are pretty quiet.

i think the rationale of parents on female side taking AP from the banquet is because when other relatives or friends invite them for their children's wedding, the parents will have to 'payback' AP to those relatives / pple. and usually relatives wedding, my mum will give 1 AP for the whole family.

my brother's wedding, my mum also gave him all the AP in the end to pay the banquet expenses .. usually when she attends our relatives wedding we give her the cash for the AP. just have to communicate openly with our parents.

luckily, my mum told me that end of the night she will give me and my htb all the APs she collects from our relatives. that's definitely a huge relief on the expenses. but to show our gratitude for bringing me up etc, def hve to bao her an AP.

JL: dun worry, all are welcome here...I'm one of the grooms snoopy mentioned haha

dyeann: not everyone is as lucky as u...u have an understanding mother

Ds_gerl> my parents already told me they will give all the AP back to me.. They know the banquet is paid by us.. So no point taking them from us.. In fact my mum even offer to give me a super big AP which I rejected.. So I'm pretty lucky as they are very understanding..

Alicia> Havent fix a date for GDL.. Should be before CNY.. Meeting up both families next month.. So far my parents already told me what they want.. Less than 5 items now and all can replace by AP.. So hopefully everything stay this way.. No big mouth three aunties six grannies come to mess up..

So cham... only 2 grooms are here LOL

blueystar, agree with you le... can't possibly live to everyone's expectation, esp when different pple have different expectations~

booy> i also alot of things for GDL replaced by AP. But like that how much to give for the AP? My mom said "yi si yi si" can already but did not say how much...

Anyone know?

Morning all..

Thomas> I shall keep my fingers crossed.. Never know if there will be anyone who come along to wash the brain of my parents.. haha..

Valerie> My mummy also said yi si yi si.. So I asked and she said it can be like $18, $28 kind.. But different people might have different expectation.. Better to check with your mummy..

Wah Booy you are lucky... For my pin jin, my mom and MIL both said "yi si yi si" but their scale is in 4-digit one... And I just found out that last time, the pin jin my BIL paid is 4x of what my hubby is paying now... scary siah.

booy> that was wat my bro told my parents… to return all AP to us…
but juz worried that there r last minute changes….