(2010) 2010 Brides

Eve - hubby support my thinking..but he also like sandwich in between so very hard for him to do thing also..but what annoys me is that what he say also he will this this this for his parents but then in the end also never happen - this is what pissed me off..
I really foresee alot of headaches coming up..and seriously i starting to hate myself for agreeing and giving in so much

eve> perhaps u got to explain to them that if they dun cfm the relatives’ attendance, there will be difficulties in planning their sitting arrangement…
they wun want to see ugly situation whereby 2 families sitting in the same table but pulling long faces rite….

chrissy: cheer up, dun let ur relationship with hubby sour over these things, not worth it

ask u, ur rain shower got from where and how much? can share with me?

xfz/booy/all who finished reno: how's ur payment breakdown like to ur contractor/id? as in how many % for downpayment, how many % when work is half done and the balance upon completion and satisfactory handover?

DS_Gerl > explain umpteen times le ... my hubby also tried to explain also no use ... den my hubby joke if they still refuse to budge den if there's a loss ask them pay .. haha

lidat bo pian liao lor eve...older ppl thinking sometimes hor...haiz...they just fail to see the big picture sometimes

u also paying for everything out of ur own pocket? me too. I also got minor probs lah but not as bad as urs...but still not very happy lor...

We also paying everything out of own pocket. Really very siong. So far no major issues..hope it stays this way. Last wk, i asked my mom, what she wants for GDL. She said "anything, she not very particular type" Last nite, she told me, she wants the jia nu bing...

thomas > my fil even say 'told u have banquet very mafan liao' .. but i wanted a banquet cos i dun wanna think back next time and regret why i did not even have a proper wedding since it's once in a lifetime ..

ds_gerl> honestly i not very sure if they even plan to pay anything ... but my sdj is they buy de la ...

Thomas - For my payment, my contractor dun really specify how many percent to pay... usually is when he has completed some work he will ask us to pay him some... first of all when the L-box is up, and the painter has done the first layer of painting we pay some... then when carpentry is up we pay some... solid surface, window grill is up we pay some.... the last payment we left abt 2k.... after we sift in everything ok then we release the payment to him...

Val - i got it at $240, for 35 litre storage- it's the cheapest i can find..got it at the shop near the ikea opposite queensway shopping - the very famous shop - can't remember the name now - will let u know when i got home..

Thomas -
haha it's been sour like mad now ..I got my at lookz www.lookz.com.sg - quite pricey cos of the brand..but they have excellent after sales services - they deliver the wrong hose and they ask me to go ahead and install first and they will send a guy down later to change it for me.. think my rainshower set cost about 400 or less can't really remember as we bought most of our stuffs there - need to check the invoice.
we went to poo joo as well - heard that their stuffs are cheap but not quality stuffs and their services sucks so decided to go ahead with lookz even though they are abit more pricey..

val: our house BTO so i guess end 2010 or early 2011 den will get the keys.. shoes wise i think we will go source when we come back from bkk first...

Thomas- i forgot to mention they allow me to change the shower head design for free cos i dun like the original set's one..

PILs won't pay one leh they say will pay then ended up won't pay one..

Eve - me opp case with u.. we don't want banquet and they insisted on it *signZz*

Val- good for u..the old thinking ppl will never understand what's siong for us..

eve: they only know how to talk I guess...empty vessels make the most noise. Sometimes I wonder are we the ones getting married or others, have to see so many ppls' faces to do things. Really damn fed up when I think back.

xfz: thanks for sharing! so no fixed amt lah? then I guess will be up to us liao how we arrange with our contractor...

chrissy: thanks! wah not cheap also hor? I saw Hoe Kee selling some ard 100+ only, how come so cheap? cmi ones? thanks for sharing the heater lobang! time to ask my ex-owner whether his current heater is an instant or storage...how come instant ones cannot support rain shower heads? tot of installing leh...

Eve: how come they dun wan banquet but wana have so many tables? If they dun wan, den shld just take afew can liao, the rest shld b for u all to decide mah... . n u r so nice to increase the tables for their sake some more...

for me, it's my parents tt wan banquet, my in laws, my HTB n I can do wout. hahaha... boh bian... otherwise, i will happily say hello to my LV n Chanel in Europe liao...

Thomas - Totally agree with you- haiz what to do we are at their mercy

rain shower mst see brands one..Poo Joo ones mainly came from china.. the ones i got from lookz are mid range think from 1 europe and 1 from taiwan.. agree not so cheap..But we decided to go for quality now than to have more headaches in the future when things are installed. i think i saw before the 100++ pricing does not inclue the mixer one and is only 2 way..my ones are including the mixer and my rain shower set is 3 way..hence the price ..

PS: just got a call from my ID..he say will get back to u once he's out from his reservist.

chrissy: oh is it? no wonder so cheap. so must have mixer? what's the diff btw 2way and 3way? sorry ah, pretty noob at this...yeah he replied my email liao, thanks

Eve - PILs are like that one leh...

Thomas - no worries mixer is where u turn on and off the water . 3 ways is where you have water coming out from the rain shower head, the hand held shower and the bottom where u can collect water into a pail, 2 ways - only have the head and hand shower . (sorry if my description sounds bad that's the best i can come up with lol)

Eve> Cheer up.. Weddding planning is definitely stressful.. Tell your PIL that you want everything to be swee swee and then his friends and relatives will be happy at the end of the day.. Or else really have 1 RSVP, 10 turn up.. 9 of them will have to sit on the floor liao.. He also dun want to throw his face away when everything goes haywire right..

Thomas> I got my rainshower from Universal Union, it costs me around $410+.. Mine is Joven storage heater, 25L.. But rem to install timer for the storage heater.. then you can ON it and then it will auto switch off on its own.. This saves electricity and your storage heater will last longer because it won't be constantly heating up..

As for reno breakdown.. Mine is also not very fixed because contractor mah.. around 20% before work start.. 20% after tiles are delivered.. 20% after carpentry are installed.. 35% once most of things are done.. 5% once all rectification are done...

Christy> you need to buy separately.. It's sold in those diy shop.. But you need to ask the electrician to install that for you..

moooooorning all

Collected my keys on monday afternoon ... so been doing an inspection of the now empty house.

I realised that actually there's a lot more to do than we expected, so there goes my reno budget :S

eve > *pat pat* ... i think we all go thru that

i still can't get over giving my MIL 9 tables

need some feeback from you guys-
For the è˜é‡‘ (Pin Jin) - x banquet tables given to Bride's parents - does this have to come from our own or the groom's parents?

chrissy > traditionally speaking ... The Pin Jin, pin li, 4 dian jin, and the banquet costs supposed to come from the groom side.

But then, nowadays, i think most of us just try to pay for it on our own

val> my parents also said anything for my GDL… but also scared they last min say want this want that….. zzzz…

all> btw, ask u all something….
those that ardy completed the meet-the-parents session… hw do we start the discussion on hw much pin jin to gv to bride? is it side face to face?
u kw when comes to money matters, it’s quite sensitive….

Valerie> I'm getting instand heater but not for new hse, for MIL current hse, theirs spoil liao, wen turn on, water not hot at all, it's still cold water.

DS > our parents never meet up... after a while, no one bring it up, so we also diam diam =P

but supposed to be ... the pin jin is for the grooms side to decide. The bride side can ask for x number of tables + x boxes of cakes, jewellery etc.

supposedly, then the bride side ask for tables, it means they keep the ang pows. so this one have to make it clear.

eve> but wat if the guy side gv too little leh? then the ger side will not be very happy leh…
that’s wat my htb is worried abt….

he told me to ask my mum hw much she gv to my sil then inform him so that he can prepare his parents to gv hw much….

All> yalor, i'm curious too. How to ask for the sdj huh?

Randyce> Enjoy ur trip. =)

Chrissy> From groom's side. But me and hubby paying it on our own, not depending on parents.

DS_gerl > dunno leh ... My mum only asked for 6 tables but she think alot liao hence she feels guy side wun give alot de la .. cos htb side not very rich ... but i think my FIL is those typical teochew wan face type de la ...

darrel> for the no. of tables requested from the bride side… it’s either the bride side keep the AP money, or the groom side gv the full amt per table x no. of tables requested?

actually we r intending to pay whatever we can on our own… other than si dian jin & pin jin…. if really need help from them is till the end of banquet and we really suffer a great loss…

eve> if ur fil want face, he sure will want the banquet to start sui sui and end sui sui de… maybe they dun kw hw to start off with the calling up to relatives bah…

ds_gerl> usually for the no of table requested by bride side, the bride side keeps the AP money .. hence if e.g. like my mum ask for 6 tables but she needs 11 tables, she will pay for the additional 5 tables n all the AP for her side goes to her loh ..

DS > it differs from family to family...

In the traditional sense, what it means is the groom pay for the tables, the in-laws keep the ang pow for those tables.

Hopefully urs is not like that, cos mine is, and its a very very big expense there.

This one also have to be clear.

Most cases, its they ask for the table, the groom pay for it, but they keep the ang pow.

DS_Gerl> Better to get both sides to talk face to face.. You can touch on GDL first, then automatically will go to Pin Jin and tables.. Before this, sound your parents out first.. I ask my parents to tell me whatever they want and dun give me surprises..

My parents said keep everything simple, pin jin will be a token sum.. Ang pao will all go back to us... Hopefully it can really be simple...

Christy> I bought mine from a shop at Sim Lim tower.. You can find it in the homefix DIY shop as well, but slightly more expensive.. It's called a digital timer, specify that it is for water heater.. It looks a bit like those that you use to time the cooking time of your dishes with a knob on it.. You need to fix this to the switch, so instead of switching it on/off, you will turn the knob of the timer to heat up the water and it will auto off on its own..

Darrel> my mom also intend to keep the AP for the tables. Lucky thing is she will only ask for abt 5 tables at most coz our relatives not alot.

Booy thanks for the heaps up..will go hunt for it..

ALl - i would have though that have to come from the groom's parents.. haiZzz another can of worms open...

the problem is the word "token sum" i never figured out how much that is. Lucky my mum said, just give the same amount as my brother one. I tot that if they are not happy, then too bad. cos they asked for 8 tables liao.

all > do note that the red table is not counted in the number of tables that the bride side asks for.

oh my mum just told my MIL she want total 6 tables including the VIP table .. meaning it's 5 + 1 loh .. cos in case my PILs think that 5 tables includes the VIP tables.

eve> we are thinking of vice versa… to pay for the no. of tables requested and groom will keep the AP money… cos that’s when we need the money to pay the banquet…
but was thinking wat if the AP money collected is lesser thn we will lugi liao… hahaha….

darrel> that was wat happened to my bro’s wedding lor… in total he loss abt 13k lor…
other than giving them the no. of tables requested, he also returned all the AP money during the tea ceremony at bride’s side…

my fpil are quite ok with either way…. that’s y they r asking me wat my parents want….

booy> after my bro’s incident, my bro actually helped me to tell my parents that for our wedding, everything will be simplified….

darrel> if the vip table is not inclusive and the bride side will also hv to keep the AP money from the vip table, then I will tell my bro to gv me his AP personally… hahahaah….

DS > my wife is the eldest in the family. The other 2 siblings not even working yet... so give or dun give, also dun affect me :S

but u can tell ur brother to give u during the tea ceremony =P