(2010) 2010 Brides

morning...

jaq: seahorse made in taiwan right? reliable or not? I want something which can last for min 10yrs or more

booy: yup agree...so many things to buy, see also cannot see finish. U got which model of slumberland? how much? what freebies u got?

there's quite a lot of places with mattress sales...those mattress centres, expo etc. maybe wait for yr end to buy wld be a better idea?

morning all~~

thomas: I think is HKG? my bf bought the bed 6 yrs ago..now still alright wor.. min 10yrs ah..then maybe get sealy or simmons? rem to rotate ur bed every half a year or a year

Randyce: morning... relax... dun stress urself up... =) thanks that day... the shoes are comfortable... just that it's slightly big for me... but still can wear la.. =P

eelynn: hee okok... yup their shoes are quite comfortable... trying to relax myself too... Taking leave on wed and thur to prepare for the test...

Thomas > bought the bed but haven deliver yet cos need to paint hubby's room first ...

Alicia > the bed comes with the bed frame leh. If buy those $200 type I find it quite hard. Moreover still need to use the bed for about 2yrs until my new house is ready. Moreover my ideal bed is those memory foam type which will be around $1400-$1800 le.

jaq: good luck testing then lol

eve: if got chance to try let me know ur feedback ok? thanks

alicia: every shop I went to also got promo...but price range really differs a lot btw the brands...go see for urself and u'll understand what i'm saying

juz an advise: for choosing bed, pls lie on the bed b4 deciding to buy which 1..coz nowadays got so many kinds, firm, extra firm, soft, medium etc..

jaq: everyone we tried, we laid on the bed liao, that's why I said the more we tried, the more confused we were

somemore got latex, foam or pocketed spring etc etc etc...

didn't know buying mattress also so headache one zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Thomas> Mine is Royal Regency.. So far I have not seen it in Singapore's store.. Heard it's quite new.. The freebies that I got is pretty normal like mattress protector, pillows and bolster.. Mine has 3200 pocketed springs and costs close to $2K, can't rem the price now.. The more springs it has, the more expensive it is because it means better support for your body.. Going by the no. of springs, it should cost around 2 - 3K...

The most impt thing in buying the bed is comfort! Pocketed spring is more common nowadays..

Alicia> You can consider buying a slightly more expensive bed.. In the future, you can put it in the other rooms..

jaq: oic...looking at whole package type

booy: me never heard of this brand also...u have peace of mind in buying sth which u've never heard of? for me I will be worried, esp on the warranty part or if it closes shop before the warranty is up. That's why am not very keen on those ulu brands which I've never heard of.

Hi people,

I am back after so long.. Just spoke with Angelia last week, she ask me to come back and see you guys.. Glad that most I know de are still here, people like Thomas, Alicia, Booy, Jaq, Randyce (hey are you the lady who add me in facebook?), eve, Aveline, DS_Gerl and many more wor..

You all talking bout houses now? Got your house already? I still long long way sia.. Queue number very far away.. (Dead chances)..

Anw, I headache now.. Need you guys brainstorm ideas with me:

As some of you recall and Angelia know about this since we just chat last week, I am opting out the dinner and will be having a cocktail reception from 7-11pm on Saturday.
What should I do for the 4hours? It will be free sitting as my htb & I wanna encourage mingling around rather than people stuck down the 10ppl tables throughout the whole event.

So I have have sofa seats, some coffee tables and chairs, cocktail tables, waiter walking around with wine glasses on trays, buffet style, all in all is very western kind-like.

I have 3 videos to play but I dono when and how to play. The most I only have 2 march in.

Ok, this is my current plan,
1st march in play the MDW MV that we took in HK etc.
2nd march in play DCz animation

Then what should I do with the 3rd video (express highlight?).

Also what should I do for my 2nd march in? At least for 1st march in is for solemnisation purpose say 'I do' stuffs like that. 2nd march in lei? I don've cut cake and champagne pourin stuffs... The most just 'I would like to propose a toast' then everyone has a glass on their hand kind-like...

Next, I dono what programs should I plan for the 4hours events.
This is my current plan:
7pm: wait for guest to arrive
7.30pm: Play MDW MV and solemnise
By then should be 8pm le ba: Then guest walk around take food eat etc..

After that I totally no idea liao. If my mingling plans really work, I dono how to do the 2nd march in also. How to coordinate them back to the center to see me walk in so that I can play the animation before I do the 2nd march in..

Would appreciate sincere comments and advice..
I know this is still Singapore and my cocktail recep idea is still not yet widely accepted. But I am willing to be a starter just like in e past when lunch and buffet is not that widely accepted but it is now.

welcome back diane, sorry can't help u much cos am quite bad at planning stuff.

booy: I see...lol. tot it was a brand somemore, no wonder nvr heard of it. slumberland not bad, tried the 1200, 1600 and 3600 last sat, tempsmart model (latest one), not bad. $2698 for king size

Booy> New hse will haf all new furnitures including beds, coz MIL 1 2 rent out the whole hse after we got the new hse. Now the current hse me hub & last time SIL is sleeping on mattress onli, no bed frame at all.

Diane> Welcome back! Super bz 2day wif work.. Will let u noe if i've got any ideas for u. =)

Hi ALL!!

Been a maid for the past weekend preparing for my house-warming on this saturday... so looking forwad to this sat cos its also a gathering for frens.... so long nv gather with them since everyone started on house and wedding preparation...

Thomas - I bought Serta Pasadena... that time got 50% discount so paid abt close to $1.9k for a Queen mattress.... if you are interested in Serta, please go to IMM branch look for Kelv*n (weekends).. very nice chap, able to provide abit more freeb*es...

xfz: hmm I'm quite inclined on getting the Serta Aberdeen...pricewise of all the renowned brands I've asked, it's the cheapest...after 50% disc it's ard $1999 for king size. Good buy?

p.s. think I spoke to him already last Sat when I went bed hunting at IMM, he was busy so didn't talk much

lolz...he said if we wanted more sheep he can throw in as well...haha. Can't rem whether it's latex top or not, have to ask my wife but the feel is good when we tried the bed

so what freebies did u get from him?

Alicia> wah.. all new ah.. Then really have to go for something cheaper for the time being..

Thomas> I love that sheep.. Give me one sheep if you have extra.. hee..

XFZ> Once you have a house, then most prob the "maid" status is forever.. haha..

Thomas - I only took one small pink sheep cos we are not that interested in the sheeps haha cos we wanted other freenbies more... I bought only the mattress w/o divan... I also dun wan the bench... In total I got 4 serta normal pillows, 2 mattress protector, 2 set of bedsheets, 1 small pink sheeps.... Maybe I did not drive my bargain hard enough haha.... I quite like their bedsheets so I think I get 2 sets quite worth as its exp... plus if you buy bedsheets for 14" mattress outside its very very exp also...

Booy - Ya lor... Ku Ming... from Mistress become Maid... but lucky hubby will help in some chores =)

Booy> Ya lor.. Coz even if we shift over, den the old hse will not haf enuff bed frames to rent out liao. If got full furniture den rental will be higher mah.. keke!

thomas> my bro also bot the serta mattress but duno the model name... think he bot during the 50% sales.... he exchanged the sheeps to additional 2 more pillows

diane> hello there... really long time no see...

is ur MDW MV a video clip of ur PS shots from HK? if so, u can consider playing it (with auto playback) during the reception.... some guests may turn up quite early.. so can keep them occupied... like this u can also save on displaying the actual photo album... everybody will get to see the MV... no need to q up to see...

thn u can plan to play ur animation b4 1st march in and express highlight after 2nd march in.... since u dun hv any cake cutting or champange pouring.... like that, u will also be able to see the "happenings" in the morning....

u dun hv to worry wat to make plans for ur guests during the 4hr all round...
guests can mingle ard themselves and u can take grp photos with them...

it wud be advisable to get a few of ur close frens to help u ard...
a emcee - to introduce/announce couple for 1st & 2nd march in...
an overall coordinator - a "Bao Ka Liao" person so that the couple do not hv to worry abt a single thing
a gal fren - to help u in changing... unless ur MUA is there to help....

hope my advice somehow do help u in a way

booy: sure sure

ave: u go buy serta and pester him to give u also lor haha

xfz: wah that's a lot of freebies liao leh..u good bargainer sia

ds: wow he also dun like sheep lol

i also wanted to get a serta bed when we got our lovenest...
but i noticed that serta beds r kind of higher compared to the rest of the mattress.... so when buying bedsheets, got problem... cos major brands dun carry such thickness and got to invest in more expensive bedsheets....

this is my personal encounter from my bro & my bf's sis....
wonder u those who hv bot the serta mattress has this prob... and where do u ppl get full set of bedsheets (sheets, pillow cases, bolster case, quilt cover) from??

hi diane,

i think ds_gerl's suggestion for the sequence is good. u can consider getting a few friends to do some performance or play some games to 'make fun' of u and ur hubby.

or get someone to come up to say a few words, like ur best friend or cousin.

can also get those photographer to print photos out for ur friends instantly. most ppl like it.

moooooooooorning all...

looks like this week topic is beds & mattresses. Quick question. is there a turnaround time between ordering the mattress to when it actually arrives ?

diane > welcome back ! ... for yours, it may be interesting to get a string quartet or a band, or wedding singer, or even a DJ to provide the music. then mix in videos, speeches from close friends and relatives. Even better if you can convince ur guests to come in formal, and make it a black tie event. Something classy and relaxed atmosphere.

but then again, sometimes its hard to convince relatives to come in suits and jackets :S

:S .. a few months is long.

I haven't really started looking seriously, cos my house reno also haven't finalise. Scully everything done liao, no mattress...