(2010) 2010 Brides

i just collected my ROM gown yesterday....my first fitting is in march and the second fitting is 2 weeks ago...... and my ROM is next week........

so it's like 2 months before have to fit ur gown lor........ anyway they will resize the gown on ur second fitting.....

EL> I think u will receive a letter informing u to change your IC… but u will be given a period to change… abt 6 months after ur birthday…
u changing urs soon??

xfz> u hv gd lobang in getting CS??

all > hvn log in for a long time ..

just wanna find out if anyone of u whom have ROM still having ti qing session? If yes usually how long before the AD?

ds_gerl> idk.. have not receive any letter asking me to go change ic. i will ask my frenz c if they have been asked to do so. if face never change still nid to go change?

wad is cs? i only know cs = counter strike. hahaha!

Jaq - Thanks for sharing... just now lunch time saw a shop selling dresses and CS so i go see see look look lor... then happen to see this CS which I quite like it, thinkin to buy for my future bro-in-law's wedding in Nov.... but last pc and the size not my size hence need alteration... so now comtemplating whether I should buy it or not hehe...

DS_Gerl - No lobang just happen to pass by this dress shop during lunchtime... their OTR range abt $250 and above...

visha/Alicia> orrh, understand le...

Jaq - Where is GS? Their pricing usually range from how much for OTR (for those sequin design)? Alteration free? This shop that I went to charge alteration fee cos the lady say discount item, if regular price item then FOC alteration...

EL> r u also suppose to change this yr?? is ur birthday over ardy?? shld hv receive a letter b4 ur birthday bah…
it is a law set by govt… so face got change or no change also hv to change IC… treat it as an upgrade lor…
i rem the new IC has got some change in design also…

xfz> where is this CS shop u talking abt?? do they hv MTM and any idea how much??

xfz: people's park..the building tat is opp OG, got hawker 1st floor n 2nd/3rd floor got shops.. Golden Scissors at #02-1116.Their range is $100-$200++, not sure abt alteration..left the namecard at home.

think we will receive 6mths prior our bday for changing IC bah..

jaq> not sure when we will receive the letter… but I kw we r given up to 6 months’ time from ur birthday to get it changed

thomas> good??? wadever it is i take it as a compliment.. LOL!

ds_gerl> idk... actually when r we supposed to change? no my birthday not over yet for tis yr. den must pay to upgrade? den passport leh?

EL> btw, we only change to new IC at the age of 30… and since it’s govt law so it’s free… passport no need to change unless it is expiring…

jaq> ic ic… cant rem when we suppose to receive the letter,… 2-3mths b4 birthday plus 6mths period to change… more than enough time to take nice photos… heehee =P

DS_gerl: hahaha.I thinking to do before or after my AD..since my bday is 1 mth before AD..
eh but nice nice also no use leh..is B&w..

Jaq - I see... thanks...

DS_Gerl - I dun think they do MTM CS, they are just a boutique selling dresses and some CS, the shop is located at OUB Centre...

Eve - I'm not sure if I will be having it... but both side parents will be meeting for dinner prior to our ROM in June... my parents not so strict with traditions...

can i ask a sensitive question.... ur know what is the "market rate" for pin jin? my bf dont know he ask me lah... haha

Eve> im not sure wor... if my parents say is better to hav ti qing session then we will proceed if not i dont think so bah... hmm

eve> my bf plan to invite both my parents to his place to hv dinner during next yr CNY and discuss abt our wedding stuffs… but b4 this, we hv ardy intro them during his sis wedding last Jan… is this consider as ti qing??

eve> ey... not sure if will be doing that anot. cos our parents have met before le, & will be meeting on our ROM oso. they r not very particular with traditions, so might forgo that.

annisan: as much as i wld like to help u, I have no idea also lol

best part was, I asked my MIL how much she wants for pinjin, she said chinchai lah...

annisan > i also got no idea ...

my MIL said she will take a token sum and give most of it back to us ... but i have no idea whats "a token sum" and how much to give.

I was thinking of $2888 or something. hopefully can get back at least $2.5K

DS > ti qin is the custom where th grooms parents go to the brides parents to formally ask for their hand in marriage.

I decided to act blur and skip that.

Next time they meet is probably and informal session to discuss what they want for the GDL.

my mum says it's a must to have ti qing session .. she says it's the time my fpil come with my husband to my place n discuss those pinjin/gdl stuff ..

my gf was telling me so weird cos i ROM liao ... haha

both side parents met even before my ROM but my mum felt it was too early to discuss abt the gdl/pinjin stuff then..

Thomas> its okay, cos i did ask my mum, my mum said is depen on my FH de...

Darrel> oh~ $2888... i need to know a rough amount so i can tell him how much he need to save.. haha :D Thanks yah...

think the amt is up to ur FH ba annisan...diff to tell u also. Just give a reasonable amt that's comfortable with both sides can liao

i agree with thomas actually... its really difficult to say, cos different people got different expectations. Usually parents that are not taking tables (or ang pows), prob need to give a bigger pin jin. Mine, cos 8 tables add up to a significant amount, thats why a token sum will do. So I just put some 4 digit figure that sounds quasi-auspicious. Dun think my MIL will make be bankrupt...

Was looking for this article for the past 1/2 hour ... :S...

Results of a europe traveller survey by tripadvisor

These were the results of the survey of more than 1,100 travellers:

Best Bargain European City: 1. Prague 2. Budapest 3. Lisbon

Most Expensive European City: 1. London 2. Paris 3. Rome, Venice, Oslo, Moscow

European City with the Most Friendly and Helpful Locals: 1. Dublin 2. Amsterdam 3. London

European City with the Best Cuisine: 1. Paris 2. Rome 3. Florence

European City with the Best Shopping: 1. Paris 2. London 3. Rome

European City with the Best Nightlife: 1. London 2. Amsterdam 3. Paris

European City with the Best Public Parks: 1. London 2. Paris 3. Barcelona, Amsterdam, Copenhagen

Most Romantic European City: 1. Paris 2. Venice 3. Rome

European City with the Most Attractive Locals: 1. Rome 2. Paris 3. Stockholm

Cleanest European City: 1. Zurich 2. Copenhagen 3. Stockholm

Dirtiest European City: 1. London 2. Paris 3. Rome, Athens (tie)

European City with the Most Unfriendly Hosts: 1. Paris 2. London 3. Moscow

Most Boring European City: 1. Brussels 2. Zurich, Oslo, Warsaw, Zagreb

Article is here ....
http://www.breakingnews.ie/world/mhojcwqlqley/rss2/

mmm ... dunno how much need to budget for a europe trip

where u planning to visit ?

i think i got about 10,000,000,000 suggestions from friends :S
easy to suggest when they're not paying for it.

europe ah..depends where u go n wat u gonna spend on...
some go there is to buy branded goods..some just for sightseeing n enjoy the culture n food..

I confirm will wanna go france, italy,spain n switzerland..

darrel> work within budget lor... for us, we spend almost all $ on wedding n house liao.. no $ go honeymoon. so we r not going anywhere for now.. =(

actually i wanted to go to one or 2 countries ... for 2-3 weeks... I tot spain, my wife tot italy ... hrmm

i think too many places, get confused, rush like crazy and no time to enjoy ...

actually italy sounds nice too ... can go rome, tuscany, venice ...
and can't go wrong with the food... =P