(2010) 2010 Brides

Mich/yinger> i choose purple and white as my theme for my ROM too... haa~

iluvpurin> My FIL passed away last yr alr, left MIL now. She'll be moving in wif us once our new flat is ready. She's got blood cancer & hubby is the eldest & onli son, SIL will be getting married tis sept, so tat makes MIL in the hse alone & hubby is always working late. Hubby promised FIL at his death-bed tat he'll take care of MIL, so MIL's gonna go where we go.

iLuvPurin: yup.. i like Lucky also... hee

Darrel: who is ur florist? think it's in previous threads but abit lazy..hee.. pai say..hee

Alicia > i see.. life is so beyond control. with MIL's present state of health, she definately needs someone to take care of and your hubby is fulfiling his son's duties. i'm sure he's someone whom you can go through thick and thin..

deerixp > when i first heard lucky, i really wanted to use this song in my wedding, at least in my photo montage.. but dunno it will be outdated by then (late 2010) or not lol.

Felcy > how is Oriental's ballroom? Is it high ceilig? I'm also considering Oriental, didn't know they had a wedding show.

I heard alot of raves for Oriental's food, but besides the food, i'm looking for a nice grand ballroom too...

thanks all. I collected my pics on sat =) now my wife say i need to photoshop her eyebags away =S

deerixp > my florist is
De Floral Gallery
Pauline
+65 65367857
74 South Bridge Road, #01-01 Singapore 058704
http://defloralgallery.blogspot.com

I posted the details in my blog as well.
http://darrelandgeri.wordpress.com/

The flowers we used :
Tulips & Eustoma
Roses & Hydrangea
Orchids (for the water feature @ the solemnization)

Some of the flowers are recommended by our florist... Laymen like us dunno what is eustoma and hydrangea ... i only know roses and tulips =S ... and pauline did a fantastic job for us =)

Our colour theme is blue-purple. Make sure the dress you pick doesn't match the table flowers or your hand bouquet too much. Our florist told us to use different but complimentary colours so that can stand out. It won't be nice if you look like your table center piece, or flower stand.

iLuvPurin > Oriental has a very very very nice ballroom. and it has a unusual oval shape. The colour themes and flower deco is superb =)

We didn't try the food though.. cos ours was one of the by-appointment visits.

Would have picked oriental except for the price =S

Has anyone checked out capella ? we're keen to go kaypoh and see the suite and ballroom =P

annisan, iluvpurin > i guess my photographer has incentive to shoot nicer photos... he's a good friend of mine, and I know where he stay.

Well, its my personal opinion but sometimes, its good to invest in a good photographer. =) I still paid my buddy his regular rate for these photos.

Good Morning

Darrel> i love Hydrangea... the blue hydrangea is very nice... Err, you get the florist to decor up ur venue??? cos im still hunting around for decorator to decor for my ROM venue... Capella? din check out wor... cos mine only in year 2011 so im kinda slacking now... =D Yeah,Ur PG did a good job so hopfully my PG will do a good job too.. haa~

ylng3r > when i booked him, he was $200/hr. now its $250.

annisan > yup. My florist provided the following for us, cos our venue does not come with deco
- Solemnization Table (the bowl with flowers)
- 2x Chair, for my & my wife at the signing
- Water feature behind the signing table
- Dining table centerpieces (10 in total)
- Reception flowers
- Hand bouquet
- Flowers for our flower girls
- Geri's hair flowers
- Flower petals

morning all~~ mc on a monday rainy day...felt giddy manz...

darrel: I ask for quotes for capella before n is super ex..the artist impression that was send to me..the ballroom is similar to shangri la..super grand kind but v inconvenient I feel.

eeyorex > welcome to the super fast moving thread ... kind of ...

once in a while its reaaaallly slow. but we like to talk rot here.

jaq > i saw the artist impression before, but i'm really curious how the actual site is. Capella is under Ritz's management, and i think their target market is at St Regis, Ritz segment. One of my wife's friend is in the hotel industry, and she said they lost a few customers to capella already.

Darrel> hmm... roughly how much u have spent for the above mentioned?? we only need to touch up the venue reception and centerpieces... and touch up the venue...

darrel> my fren has booked capella for her wedding venue and I heard it’s abt 2K per table! she said the table is oval shape instead of the usual round one…
BTW, ur ROM pics r nice…

darrel:capella new n grand mahz..definitely will win over some high crass hotels..was told their banquet started Mar09..but got doubts abt the food etc coz they r new mahz..anyway too ex la..so drop the idea.

alicia: dunno leh. low blood again bah I think

annisan > my florist bill is $640. If you go down and see pauline (best is with photos of the venue), you can tell her your budget, and she will work with that budget... like suggest what flowers is good. using cheaper varieties of flowers (like from china or malaysia) instead of imported flowers...

DS_Gerl > 2K .... faint ! I think i shall email them and get an appointment to check it out =)

darrel> I supposed cos my fren’s wedding date is 10102009… so perhaps the rate is higher bah… not sure abt the perks given…

Alicia > i rather have 1 day leave then closed on the monday ... at least i can still take the leave whenever i want =)

esp now planning for wedding, leave is precious. I know my wife's leave definitely not enough, so she will end up taking no pay leave.

ALL> BTW, wanna update to all that I went Max Couture last week to chk out his prices for MTM CS… according to him, he charges abt $300 for a short CS (knee length) and $400-$500 for a long one (ankle length)… the costs r inclusive of workmanship & material… depending on designs and materials… if u opt to get ur own fabric, then he will oni charge u for the workmanship… he told me that usually he will receive more orders after the lunar 7th month…

Darrel/Alicia> PH falls on Sat on Sun will top up to our leave... like what Darrel mentioned.... Better for us! so this year got quite 4 PH falls on weekends de.. which means i got 4more extra leave...wohoo~ =D

darrel: ya lor maybe too long weekend liao thats why having monday blue. for this sat on we only have leave in due so i think will be taking on the 20 May ba.

alicia: in total i have 31 days but hor company change policy. last time can bring forward 14 days to next yr but this yr only can bring forward 7 days. sian damn boss always dont like we take leave de haiz

randyce> Wow! 31 days, so many ah! Me hor, boss nv gif appt letter, den in yr 2005 he verbally told me i got 7 days leave, from then onwards he nv say le, so i assume i still onli got 7 days leave bah... But as & wen i 1 2 take, i'll jus ask him lor, if he ok, den i go lah. So far no prob taking leave, coz i oso seldom take. haha!

Oriental's food is really good.. It's the first hotel's food that I have eaten that has given me the WOW factor.. Ballroom is very nice either, but it's more worth it to take the weekday package because the weekend's one is too ex..

I'm also having Monday blues.. Everything starts very slow for me as my brain is still warming up.. haha..

Darrel> Think your florist charged you pretty good rate..

Jaq> Take care ya.. Think weather is really bad so most of us are all falling ill..

Annisan> Sama Sama.. I'm also slacking in wedding prep..

DS_Gerl> Did Max Couture mention how long it takes to make a CS?

alicia: oh ic. cos bank gt policy every staff must check 10 days compliance leave. so total i just have to clear 14 days can liao but now my side very short handed so very hard to clear. One of colleagues cannot even apply leave to bring her child for injection. Haiz

booy > I dunno about the food ... but the thought of serving up de-shelled chilli crabs at the wedding banquet .. *drooling already*...

interesting to note is, the friday and sat price difference is $200 more /table .