(2010) 2010 Brides

Afternoon all! been months since last post here..
so many updates here already..

Hi Xiafeizhu83, just realised that ur ROM venue is at Swissotel Merchant Court, mine too! will b in Dec.. can let me know how's the deco like? cos im thinking shd i still engage external florist to deco the place (but we'll only be using it for like 15 to 30 mins max).. hee.. thanks!

Hi Eve,
can update my details as follows:
AD Date: 18 Dec 2010
ROM date: 05 Dec 2009
ROM venue: Swissotel Merchant Court Poolside

busy day today. went to my customer place in the morning to look at some issues...

now back in office looking at some issues ....

urrghh

my wife asked me when the photos will be ready too... time to bug my photographer... hee

Darrel> congrats! =) waiting to view ur ROM photos.

cloud> just realise our date is the same! hi5*

all> think i still do not have all in my fb/ multiply. can add me. =)
fb: [email protected]
multiply: [email protected] or ID: wskat0606

what have i miss out these few days? been busy DIYing my ROM favors.

KK> yup! hehe we were bit KS to book the venue le.. haha. cos was at the wedding show n perks was good.. decided the date w/out seekin any masters..
what favours are u giving for ya guests?

ARGHH I am sooo tired searching and deciding on AD venue....URGhhH!!!!!

We finally shortlisted the following 3:
Pan Pac
Marina Mandarin
PR @ Beach Rd

Any comments??? Pls give me some ideas so I can settle tis once n for all...

Hi everyone...newbie here!
Waaaa...so many BTB in 2010 ha...

Hi Eve, my details as follows:
ROM date is 9-Aug-09 National Day...easy for my hubby to remember...
AD is Aug 2010, prefer National Day also as long as Feng Shui is good
Others not confirmed yet...

looking for some nice place for my upcoming ROM cos we only have a small group of 20 pax, and most of the hotel doesn't really care about us

so sian...approach Marina Mandrian and the sales directly reject cos min 50 pax and somehow maybe working on Sunday not happy, attitude not very good...

Anyone do ROM at Villa Halia @ Botanical Gdns can share some infor?

Also start looking BS, approach IMM New Image, but haven't try gown yet...i insist to try their gown first before i negociate further with the lady manager...price quite attractive compare to tanjong pagar's BS...

kk: u din miss out much, threads hardly moved cos everyone's bz at work

Fiona: hahahhahaa...I'm with NI too! such a coincidence...welcome here btw!

cloud> oh.. u took HIP, rite? i know holiday Inn hotels r always pretty generous with their perks. heard they r renovating their ballroom. the artist impression looks nice.
u mean for my ROM?

Felicia> Pan pac is nice. huge ballroom (Pacific). they gave quite gd perks during their recent wedding show. bridal suite pretty comfy n spacious.
Mandarin Marina is having a wedding show tis Sunday, u gg?
For PR @ Beach Rd, i think there r pillars rite. a fren of mine is holding her wedding there this Nov. but i haven been there.

Fiona> Welcome! wow! National Day leh! special!

Thomas> oh really ah? gd gd... hee. saw somewhere that u guys were talking abt next in line for ROM, izit? lots of ROM in June ah.

base on my personal view:

Pan Pac food just ok...seems the lobby is quite dark...my friend have 100 tables there...scary...not much impression

Marina Mandarin food better, they have a small bollroom quite nice, but ceiling is very low, seems their business is quite good now, don't even want to entertain small customers

PR @ Beach Rd no comments, never been to there for weddings

maybe you can try Amara Hotel also, how about Royal Plaza on scotts (max 11 tables only)? food very nice...

felicia> heard from my mum that Pan Pac food is good.. she went for wedding lunch sometime back n she was pretty impressed.. but if i were to choose, i think i'll prefer Marina Mandarin cos ballroom n bridal suite is nice.. hee..

KK> i took up HIP.. hopefully the renovated ballroom will turn out as nice as the artist impression..
yup, what will u be giving away for ur ROM favours?

Thomas> haha...seems i saw your name in the topic of NI...last sunday went down to tanjong pagar, talked to another Taiwan BS - True Love (Cang Ai), they quote my quite high but still can bargain, the sales insisted to have my promise to sign up their package before she can let me have her buttom line...typically hard sale...

cloud> ya, i saw their artist impression. live feed and all seems quite nice... did they say when the reno will be over?
oh... i'm giving paper fans n leis as favors, & some sweets or goodies.
just finish doing the signature flowers, so now working on the fans lor. =)

suddenly so many people pop out =)

national day wedding, then better dun pick the marina area. cos NDP = road closures. your guests will arrive quite late.

fiona > I just have my ROM @ halia 3 days ago =P

mich, kk> I will add u both in FB tonite when I got hm… multiply as well

Felicia> it’s gd that u hv shortlisted a few hotels ardy… next step will hv to decide on ur actual date… i’ve signed up with Pan Pac… if u need my coordinator contact, let me kw… provided that ur date dun clash with mine… hahahaaa…

Hi Fiona> welcome to this thread…

wah ur fren had 100 tables… that is a lot… I thought the pacific ballroom max can oni hold up to abt 60+ tables…

KK> if i din rem wrongly would be ready by Sep 09..
i guess i'll buy n wrap some sweets/choc for as favours for ROM ba.. had wanted to bake cookies but ev1 tell me sure no time for it.. haha

DS_Gerl> thanks! =)

cloud> oh... definitely in time for urs. when r u planning ur PS?
u can view my favors in my multiply. i tot of buying sweet treats & put them in containers.
wanted to bake cupcakes, but might have to put that tot away. heee

Welcome to all new 2010 BTB!!

cloud - Sure, will share the pics after my ROM =)

felicia - Never attended weddings at PP and MM hence no comment... PR @ Beach Road, I got recce also, but IMO, I dun like cos all 2 or 3 ballrooms at the same place thus have to share reception area (will be chaotic), service crew also very 'ruan' cos like duno serving which ballroom and the noise level is very high cos place not big...

iLuvPurin - Never been to AS so no comment... been to Intercon for D&D, food not bad, like the long ballroom and their lightings... seen their actual wedding setup before using big cream roses very elegant!!

KK > Tis sunday is Oriental wedding show. MM also got wedding show?? I like the reception area for MM coz quite private.
Have u tot of buying cupcakes?? My friend's wedding favours r cup cakes..she bought from this online baker which sells really cute n pretty cup cakes.

Fiona > The ballroom looks dark is it because it is too big?? 100 is A LOT LOR!!!

Cloud > Thanks!! Mayb I should ask the coordinator to show me the suite too.

DS >> Most likely mine will be on 20 June. Got clash or not?? keke

Xfz > I m also concern abt the recept area for RP but it's really a lot cheaper!! But also a but inaccessible...dilema..

cloud> I haven fixed the date with my BS yet, but should be Mar or Apr 2010. want to take earlier.

Felicia> oops. sala. got mixed up le. paiseh paiseh. =X
tot of buying initially, but FH feels that there r enuf favors le, but i tot it's nice. so dunno ah...

hi all... i'm penning down my feedback for AS and Intercon, hopefully you guys can help to give me some feedback which one to go for. sorry for the lengthy post.

we visited intercon first, followed by AS.

intercon ballroom is indeed grand and bright. the coordinator showed us the ballroom and it really WOW WOW us. the hotel has very nice themes to choose from, invitation cards and wedding favours. They pay alot attention on details which i like..

it may be a little squeezy to hold a banquet anything more than 35 tables... 35 tables just nice, 37 already abit tight on space and 40 will be super tight and my guests will need to lose some weight.

however, the catch is, the date that i have chosen requires a minimun spending of 40 tables even if i dun take all 40 tables since it's an auspicious date, besides i have to top up additional 100 per table... wah seh.. abit blood sucking now.

AS on other hand, i like the resorty feel of the area, no tall buildings and crowds, pretty exclusive and maybe you could even spot a peacock. the ballroom is huge as it can hold up to 50 tables. if i were to compared, the ballroom is not too bad but it is not as grand looking as intercon and looks kinda dark but the hotel tries to make up for it by using special effect lights, meaning there will be multicolour spotlights shining on the table. besides, the interior design is more modern and chic especially with the high ceiling.

AS does not provide themes, their invitation cards and wedding favours are quite horrid and look cheap imo. I probably be sourcing for my own vendors if i take AS.

In terms of pricing, intercon is just slightly more expensive cos of the additional top up per table so not much of a difference.

Intercon is great for it's accessibility but the weekend parking may be a problem as the hotel shares the basement carpark with Parco. AS has it's own basement carpark which i didn't expect and they have shuttle buses from harbourfront every 30 - 45 mins so that solves my transportation issue by 75%.

Well, both sides have their pros and cons..... headache headache...

iLuvPurin> I've been to Intercon for wedding dinner b4 last yr. I feel tat their food is not hot enuff wen served to us (guests) and the music for the march-in is too loud. Their lighting throughout the dinner is rather dim too. Saw a few of them said the parking there is not so ideal coz it shares the same parking as the shopping centre? And oso if cars tat's been modified b4, oso a bit difficult to go into the parking, coz will scratch the bottom of the modified cars? HTH! I'll be gg Intercon for a wedding lunch tis sept for my SIL's wedding too.

Oriental is very nice. It was one of our first picks... but the price also very "nice" =S

iLuvPurin > we saw a couple at the sofas at the ballroom area on sat around 4pm talking to one of the staff... was that you ? :P

I think for AS and Intercon type of price range.... have you looked at conrad ?

darrel > where were you? i was at intercon ard 5pm.. and AS ard 7pm.. i was in black and my FH was in red
i din look at conrad or oriental cos i think their ceilings are low right? i prefer ballrooms with high ceilings and intercon AS fit my requirements.

actually i was staying at AS over sat. around 3ish-4, we were checking in, saw this couple with one of the staff at the banquet area.

maybe u can go check out these conrad and oriental. Worth looking at. Actually after we looked at oriental, my wife was looking at all the possible combinations of dates to try to get our dinner there... but at the end, we dropped oriental cos of the price.

My dinner will be at conrad. =). Another place you can check out is the main ballroom of 4 seasons.

i m looking for pillarless ballroom and preferable high ceiling... other than novotel, where fit such criteria? and also, probably looking at 25 tables only..

any suggestions?

hi ppl finally back home.. dunnoe why this few days damn busy at work dont even have time to log in.

iluvpurin: i attended a wedding lunch at AS all of fren felt that the food was good. i think the only minus point some ppl might find the place very wu lu ba

AS ... well, my wife liked it. The great view and the sky pool.

I preferred Sentosa Resort and Spa.

but price wise, AS had a better deal. $268++ incl 2x luge tickets and 2x songs of the sea tickets + buffet breakfast.

of course still tops is Naumi Their deluxe room is comparable to the suites i've seen at some hotels.

Don't bother with hotel 1929. too small and cramped :S

mich> I’ve added u in FB… need u to approve

KK> added u in FB also and multiply…

iLuvPurin> there is a wedding show at Intercon on 17 May (Sun), $32nett/couple, $25nett/couple for UOB card members… if u r interested, can call 6825 1181 or email to [email protected] for registration… BS Divine Couture will be show casing their gowns as well…
perhaps u will get a better deal during the wedding show?? Ask for more perks… or waive off the additional $100/table…

my advice: u got to consider the minimal space if u r having more than 35-40 tables… will b quite squeezy for ur guests… and esp when u go table to table for photos taking… if u really like then u got to minus some tables liao…

as for Amara Sanc, I’ve been to their wedding show in 2007 when they r still newly opened… quite like the ballroom as it is big enough & hv high ceiling… cant rem if hv any pillars anot… think their bridal suite also quite nice…

if u compare both prices… I will think that IC will be more worth it… cos u dun hv to top up again for the invites & favours and also waste time to source… and if u r able to grab a gd deal with IC during their wedding show, then dun think liaoz… hahahaa… cant really hv all the good and none of the bad… I’m also like u… think too much and worry too much le… in the end u oni stress out urself… this is ur big day leh… for parking, think of the bright side… can encourage ur guests to take public transport since IC is at bugis stn… save petrol and avoid traffic congestion

felicia> def ur date does not clash with me… mine is in Oct… heehee… u can contact Linda to chk for availability first… let me kw if u need any help regarding PP… I hv uploaded some photos on their latest wedding themes during their wedding show in multiply… u can add me to take a look… =)

Darrel >>Agree! I also like Oriental but the price is too nice for our pockets liao..
Hotel 1929 is really too small..we went to check that out too..how about Scarlet or Majestic? Tho personally I find Scarlet looks nicer...

Purin >> I don't like intercon's service..i find their after sales service kinda bad..my friend told me they sent them a bill for the sofa in their bridal suite coz it was stained. But there's no proof that they were the one who stained it.

Jac >> Goodwood park's very nice..we went to chcek it out, like the layout everything but it's too small for us..

gd morning all~~

darrel: wow..so pretty n hansome~~keke the MUA is a guy! woah..I always admire guys who know makeup n hairdo..they usually better than ladies =x
eh urs also 3 flower girls n 1 page boy ah..mine also but thinking to get another boy anot to make it 2 pairs....will it be weird to have 3 girls 1 boy?