(2010) 2010 Brides

I also just want to get over with the wedding now.

Valerie> Still ongoing. Now need to first confirm on the relatives ones as I need to send that out first thing after GDL. Most friends also came back after personal reminders.

Booy> same. hope to get it over soon too. The weddin prep is super stress lor. sianz.

All> can invitation be send out during CNY? Am tinkin to pass the invites to my relatives durin hse-visiting. heh.

Anyone tinking of getting a real cake for cake cutting ceremony? Need to distribute out to the rest of ur guests? Coz if need to..the cake will hv to be very very big...hmm

Valerie> Yes.. Very stressful as it coincides with my peak period at work as well.. My geomancer advised me not to distribute cards during CNY.. He said that it is disrespectful to do that.. Therefore, I shifted the GDL earlier to send the cards immediately after that.

Jaq> how many kg is ur cake and how much? u distribute durin the dinner? pack up nicely in a box for them to bring hm or on a plate to be eaten on tht day?

alicia> same. itz convenient since everyone will gather at grandma's pl durin cny. heh..

Booy> any idea y giving out durin cny is disrespectful?

valerie: I dunno how heavy coz they dun go by weight..they go by measurement..if not wrong mine is 14inch diameter.. $250 include delivery to hotel..ya when 2nd march in the staff cut it nicely then distribute after the main course before the desert buffet...OH is nice enuff to provide box n place it nicely in plastic bag for us to bring home. They also give us 2 slices with our dinner (tats suppose to be served during banquet for us). Now then I remember, I forgot to give 1 to the banquet mgr n 1 to my coordinator LOL

good afternoon

val: 20 over pax...depends on how u cut..OH cut rectangle piece..so I think even 30 pple can eat..yi ge yi shi...

think I can be unofficial wedding planner now..hahaahahah

jaq> Like that only can serve VIP table only. Our relatives add up tgt abt 50pax. Tink can serve up to 50 pax if cut to very small pc?

valerie: erm..imho, most of them dun wan the cake..LOL...else u just ask ur coordinator or banquet mgr to serve the VIP n immediate family lor..our relatives add up got about 100, but we only give 3 tables(senior relatives n immediate)..

Jaq> i see. Erm...besides the jiemei, xiongdi, pg and vg...who else do we need to gif AP to? my fren spent abt 2k on AP alone...the figure is kinda scary..

valerie> My MIL says to gif AP to younger kids (cousins, niece, nephew, etc) for those unmarried de. Am gg to gif her 20 AP for her distribution. Tea ceremony if u got younger siblings they will oso serve u tea, so u oso gotta gif them AP.

damn freaking busy day at work today, no time to come in...super sian

val: so good, mine haven't even started yet
this sat gg with peter to buy our stuff for him to fix

those wedding cakes are exp leh...easily few k for those few tiers like the one Michelle Chia had...u sure u wanna splurge on that? imho save the $$$ go honeymoon better, nobody will rem u got a nice cake one lah...

me planning to give out my invites during CNY also.

Valerie> mainly is disrespectful because there is no sincerity.. And CNY is a big occasion so my geomancer also advised me not to do any major wedding things during this period.. Depends on how pantang you are..

2k for AP sounds ridiculous!

Valerie, Booy, Thomas> my dad says it's too early to gif out the invites during cny. He says abt 2 wks b4 den send. =.=! I told him 2 settle his own tables himself, I'm not gg 2 "jar gar" 4 him.

Morning all..

Alicia> 2 weeks is too late lah.. Some relatives might think that you have no sincerity because you send too late..

All> Morning all. =)

Booy> i see...i heard of this from a fren sometime back but not sure y disrespectful. Now i know le...hv to check with elders to see whether they mind or not then. thks.

thomas> the cake so ex ar? But jaq's cake cost her abt $250 leh. hmm...mayb hers only 1 tier cake? Hv fun shopping for ur hse with peter. Wat stuff will u be getting?

Aveline> i also tink 2k for AP is alot. i tink it is inclusive of the xiongdi and jiemei AP etc and the couple are the eldest in the family. Lotza younger cousins i tink. Same as me coz me and hubby are eldest in family n hv lotza younger cousins. Scary sia. Erh..any mkt rate for AP to younger kids?

Alicia> i agreed that 2 weeks to send invites is kinda late coz ppl usually take own sweet time to rsvp...

All> MIL wants to custom made dress for my wedding event. Any recommendation of shops to get her materials? Or recoomendation of any seamstress that provides material as well so that we dun need to go ard sourcing for the materials? Coz MIL can't walk much...=)

alicia: usually relatives ard 2 - 3 weeks before one..mine also like that..gave out during the GDL..abt 3 weeks before...maybe u can juz get ur dad to tell them verbally 1st?

2 weeks a little too late..i rather send my cards early so at least if i know if so and so can't make it, i can think of a bad up plan..

Morning all~

Thomas, Booy, Valerie> Dun care my dad liao lor... Dunno wat he's tinking lah.. Mayb he 1 2 call 1st den send invites to those who needs it (like how he did for my sis's wedding). *shrugs* Anyway, he said he'll settle his own tables, so i dun probe so much lor..

For mine, i'll be posting during cny period, and for those church frens, will hand-deliver wen i go church after cny holiday.

Sharlene> Ya lor.. He knows wat he's doing, now got experience liao (he says). hahahahha! So i beta dun "chap" his too much or else later he angry! =P

alicia: yah..hahah..juz leave it to them..my PILs also settled their own tables..so hubby and I had an easier time..haha..less 1 thing to worry is better..haha..

morning gals

was damn mad yest after collecting my car, practically hit the roof when I saw slipshod work done...fired the supervisor and his workers until they had to redo again...pissed

val: I think jaq's one is not the same leh, those real cakes in multi-tiers which u cut after ur march-in are very exp leh, I asked b4. not worth spending that kinda $$$ imho

will be getting sanitary fittings with him cos scared of buying the wrong one, later cannot fit more jialat. lightings we will be buying on our own, no issues

alicia: heee...i feel excited for you all also..ahhah...but on my AD..i actually felt nothing..and cannot rem much..lolz..hahaha...

Thomas: getting sanitary fittings with him?how much ur reno cost u ah?ahah..anywayz..i think for toilet bowls..wads impt is the manhole..dunno wad how many inches..they tell u the measurement..den can go buy le..u goin to the shop he recommended or u bring him to the shop?

shar: total abt 12k excluding all the fittings/lightings

yup the opening size is imp but we scared got other things to look out for, so best he go with us and advise on what to buy better. he bring me go to the shop haha

mornengz all

val: chauffeur need to give also,then if u have nephew or nieces for tea ceremony, need to give also..I got give my hotel coordinator angbao also..the rest like cake supplier, cookie supplier, disposable camera supplier..I give thank you email or thank you card..sheesh I just remember I haben type my compliment letter to OH..lol..

sharlene: I also..can't rem I got take photos b4 banquet with my sec sch mates smore hahahaha.everything just so follow the flow n mine is all on time..so like rushing thru etc not much memories lol

Alicia> Since your dad is going to take care of it, then let them be bah.. I also let my parents and in-laws to settle, but we will just have checkpoint with them.. At least, I know roughly what they are doing..

Sharlene> On AD, it's just following the motion.. This is when we can test if the prep that we are doing is sufficient or not.. haha..

Thomas> Cool down.. Just make sure they do the things right this time round..

Valerie> My reno is considered minor, also cost about the same.. haha..

mooooooorning

thomas > what works are u doing in ur reno ? ... 12K sounds like a lot of work.

all > question, what brand of front loading washing machine is good ? was looking at the 7KG bosch one... but a bit pricey. my MIL said to get something around 7-8KG so can wash the bedsheets and quilt cover in one load.

thomas: haha..mine also ard 10+k in all also..did minor reno too..reno is now so ex!!hmz..ok..maybe u can do some research 1st so that u know the price range...

jaq: haha..yah man!!not much memories at all lor..hahaha..

Booy: haha..yah..heng it turned out fine!!ahahah..

darrel: eh..the salesperson told me wash quilt need 10kg den can protect the machine..sadness..i bot a 9kg one..den tell me best not to wash...=(

40K with wall hacking sounds ok actually... mine is already around 30K excl toilets for full reno.

sharlene > mine queen size only... a bit lighter. but its to wash the cover+bedsheet, not the quilt itself. maybe i should weigh it b4 i wash :P

normally quilt, bring to laundry better.

Darrel> Mine is a 7kg electrolux washing machine.. Bosch is good.. Usually 7 - 8kg is the minimum, taking into consideration that most young couples only wash once to twice a week..

If you want to wash bedsheets and cover, 8kg should be sufficient, but probably you cannot wash it together with your normal load of clothes.. As for quilt, send for laundry bah.. Firstly, it is heavy to even hang out to dry.. Secondly, it will take pretty long to dry.. Before it's dry, prob it already start to rain..

Sharlene> Just hope mine AD will turn out fine as well..

Jaq> My bro did a 60K reno.. 30+ to 40+ K is pretty normal if you are redoing the entire house, without much fanciful things..

darrel> how abt thomson washin machine?

my reno for my premium flat is abt 20-25K. Final quote will be out this wk. hope will not exceed 25k since we add quite abit of stuff in the end..

darrel: haha..o...covers den ok la..curtains also can..but muz wash 1 by 1..hahaha...mine also queen size..wahahha..now reno average ard 30k..ex..sighz..

booy: dun worry!juz relax and things will be fine..hehe...