(2010) 2010 Brides

missbrooklynn> wah...the effect of nubra so gd ar, make me very keen oredi. How many wash can the nubra tahan? The effect dun last?

VV> u consolidate the nubra order ar? when u goin to buy?

jaq> i'm also making AP box. Mayb will go there see see. =)

morning all...

yeah..very addictive..everytime we go in, cfm will come out with smth...tsktsk..cmi..hahahaha..

valerie: yup they have many little flowers n those wrapping stuff..I even bought those bags to put the angbaos in the angbao box there... :P
now thinking to buy their xmas decor stuff for our wedding anot..

Morning all..

Jaq> Daiso had a lot of xmas deco liao.. And I have even bought some.. If you have the budget, buy a christmas hat from those party shop for everyone.. That will be fun!

coz we already put theme as chic 80s n xmas party..will get some schooldays stuff from bugis party shops n put on tables..n maybe some candy sticks

Morning ALL!!

Booy - yup not cleaning them that often hehe... everyday go home so busy, wash clothes la, iron clohes , do this do that wa not much time to watch TV also =(

Jaq - Last year I attended a ROM on Xmas eve... each guest receives a party pack with hat hehe... can use these as props for pics...

XFZ> Party pack for everyone will kill Jaq's pocket...

Living on your own is tough lah.. That's why I'm so comfortable till I dun want to move out... I have been telling my hubby that I will get a part time helper if I cannot get used to doing those chores.. You can consider that as the last resort..

Jaq> Candy stick sounds good.. at least it's cheap..

Booy: tats wat i tot too... i also considering employing part time maid to come do housework.. Best will be my mil bring her maid to "visit" us...hahha

mooooooooooorning all =)

one of my friends got a part time maid that comes in on sat mornings to do cleaning. 4 hours, incl laundry. they charge by per hour too. Though i haven't get my house, We're considering that =P

alicia > what type of hacking ? walls ? floor ?

vv > labrador is one of the better places to get sunset... at least from a photographer perspective. Problem is sunset also depend on weather. My website is down, if not i'll post a link to some shots taken at the swing area+labrador park

I think after married still ok, but when kid comes along u wun have time to do chores anymore haha.

daiso even got those stuff got halloween...lol

Exactly 5 more mths to my AD...time really flies

morning everyone!

all> thanks for your nubra review... haha i can see a lot of happy customers
so Dorothy will teach you how to wear the nubra?

thomas> tell your wife not to be shy la. everyone is the prettiest & handsomest during their PS/AD. so share her meimei-ness with us :D

val> I don't mind cosolidating. Besides you, who will be getting it? think most of the ladies got the nubra already.

xfz> hmm think go to the triumph counter and get them to teach you. if not wasted. i'm still trying to figure out how to use it.

DS> thanks, i'll email them and find out.

vv: if u find the original nubra expensive, u can try other brands like Triumph etc. MY wife bought a similar one (forgot the brand liao), it costs less than $50 only. U can try OG and other dept stores to recce first before deciding.

hahahaha I ask her whether can share share or not first k?

vv > here's the link. but the server is not very stable. I must first declare that I do not shoot pre-weddings for profit, so they may not be very good (i already took out the hopepless ones). I did this for a very close friend of mine, so don't take it as any form of shameless plugging =P

http://weddingsbydarrel.com/blog/mygallery/edwin-and-belles-pre-wedding

shots #1 - 4, #7-8 are all at labrador park. #5 is at hyderabad road (swing area) though i never put up the swing photos. Maybe i should go dig them out and post them in my blog ... =P

my bf suggest to go for 2nd PS next mth when he is back with our casual clothes..think maybe hortpark can b 1 of them..I wanted to go lim chu kang the new organic resort also or pulau ubin hahaha

actually for PS ... just need to think of what type of background you want. e.g. lallang field, old buildings, skyscrapers, seaside... or places that have significance to you. then tell the photographer. they should be able to suggest.

mine prob going to the barrage and muesuem (yes... and pay the $100)

darrel> i thought you were still KOed from your road trip. haha didnt hear much from u. ooh! send me the link when your website is up, if not you can also email me if you don't mind.

darrel/ave/booy/xfz> haha my house is not even ready, i have already planned for part time maid liao. bf n me will handle normal chores like laundry/ mopping etc. Part time maid will handle the heavy duty ones like wash toilets, clean windows. Can cut cost since the maid will only need to come in on fortnightly basis

jaq> haha i think so too. initially i wanted to do the 50s-60s period, but i gave up. My gowns are so not 50s-60s -_-". not to mention i think most ppl wont make the effort to stick to the theme

VV: not neccessary what u wear have to fit in the theme...my gowns not following theme as well I think..coz we not westerners who can really source for such stuff.

part time maid..think I be the full time maid lol, wife/mother in future..

jaq: hort park is v popular with couples for PS, when I was there last fri, easily saw another 2 couples there also.

darrel: barrage = marina barrage? I saw someone's pics taken there, like nth much leh...

thomas > acutally geri wanted the ferris wheel in the background ... I can't really think of any places that can get that. though I think when I'm free, i can go recce a few places and bring my wife as a model =P

Its been a while since i did some portrait photography anyway

jaq > what type of bg do you want to go for ? have u considered the kg buangkok... if it still exists.

Aveline> Can still try out on your own first.. If both parties work together to maintain the house, it's still possible..

Thomas> With kids it's definitely worse.. During weekdays, by the time I reach home from work, it's already too late and tired to do household chores.. On weekends, if I need to work to clear my office stuff plus I need some time off to rest, household chores is the last thing on my mind... So it's really not easy..

VV> Washing toilet is not that bad.. And you dun clean windows every other day.. The worst is mopping and ironing for me.. Takes up a lot of time and strength..

Darrel> Mkt rate is around $5o - 60 per trip for 4 - 5 hours.. I'm seriously considering as well... haha...

Darrel - The server indeed not stable, cant view hehe... Need your advice for 'structural' venue for PS in Singapore? I want to take either city view or cultural type of buildings for my local PS since my overseas PS already taking the sea and natural landscape...

Booy - Part-time maid how much? KIV the info first then maybe CNY spring cleaning can engage them to come hehe...

jaq > actually it may be worth going to look for it if your shoot is something soon, cos last i heard, the plans were there for demolition, but the work not started yet. can always try your luck.

else, fork out some money and get a luxurous suite in one of the better hotels, and do a indoor shoot. Lifestyle shoots are still quite in right now.

hihi all!!

it's been awhile...

how's everyone?

jaq> wat bout pubs? some time ago i saw photos taken in lunar, very nice too.. .=)

xfz > can try
- emerald hill for the colonial styled 2 storey shop houses.
- Raffles place area also not too bad if you shoot skyscrapers on a sunday.
- the former high court turned museum opp the padang. (where people go for graduation photos)
- The area around the asian civilization museum/boat quay/fullerton.
- I've seen some pretty good shots from the esplanade too. but that one may need permission.

darrel: issit..hmm maybe can try..my bf's fren got studio liaoz so maybe can go his side to take some indoor hahaha

angelia: I wan le but dunno my bf wan anot..I wanna go zouk to take actually haahaha but think we need to apply for permit...

thinking of our sec sch also but now is temp holding building while they building a new 1 at the current premises.

if u wanna shoot at pubs, then u need to pay for the venue. if you want paid locations, there is really a lot to choose from.

Free locations that not many people use ... ermmm .. a bit hard to find... not that there aren't any.

jaq> check with your bf first and check out the selected pubs. cos not too sure about the license, but i tink will need to pay, mayb u can try those pubs along duxton hill?

darrel: ok noted..hehehehe... ya wee khim has been PG for Mediacorp decades le..

angelia: yup...we will see how lor..

thinking of theme out of our taipei PS de

booy> ya that's y i intend to employ part-time maid dor the heavy duty chores. heh i'm a jie2pi4, so my toilet cleaning involves chlorine and serious scrubbing. tt's why will "outsource" to part time.

darrel> think your website is down. will try again later. ya post the swing pics too! i planned to go raffles place as well, but i think the CBD crowd will kill me cos i want those "in tunnel with blurry ppl rushing past us" kind of pics haha...

thomas> ya shall recce. only saw a few sites selling nubra, and at least 2 claim they are official & authentic sites. so still thinking.

jaq> hmm but it's weird to be wearing big cancans for a 50s-60s feel. i was thinking of those 50s Shanghai cabaret feel, but it's very hard to get props etc.

for indoor bar/club shoots, i love the interior of Forbidden City and the closed-down Gotham Penthouse.

all> anyone know if taking pics at railway train stations need approval? anyone knows any places that have small shops sellig all kinds of knick-knacks? thinking of going to such streets for my outdoor PS. All the locations which are meaningful to me n bf are either renovated or gone.

jaq: it was kinda funny when we went hort park last fri and saw the other couples there, they smiled at us and we smiled back also haha

xfz: wah u also got 2 PS ah? nowadays seems like its the trend eh? hmmmmmmmm....

vv: shanghai theme easy leh..those feather fans, cheongsam ,big flowers, bright red lipstick...lantern etc

thomas: hahahaah ours even better, the flower garden got 5-6 taiwancouples then danshui beach there got 10+ couples..lagi best..lol

vv: think there's only one original nubra and that's from USA. The Sunshine Plaza one is not the original stuff from what I gathered, only the one from the pushcart in front of Mango store at Suntec is.

railway tracks I dun think need approval, but stations I dunno. Perhaps u can go ask Tanjong Pagar Railway station staff?

jaq: wah so many ah......then must queue up and take turns to take? lol

sentosa also so many couples on the beach, cld count as least 6 couples besides us. Fullerton also got one couple lol

railway tracks better not unless is near railway station, my ex colleague went there for ps on sun..

thomas: hahahaha beach is big mahz..the flower garden we took different place then take turn lor..standard corners to take the photos leh..I abit sian...but still alright bah

vv > yah ... my hosting company server went down, think my website has been dead for 3 days already. But anyway it seems to be up.

for the railway, if you want to shoot along the tracks, then just go (and watch out for trains !). railway station probably needs approval. Do note that within 2 metres of the track (or so), its legally malaysian land.

i would imagine that renting a pub for a 2 hour shoot will cost around $300 up at least. Getting a yacht is something else to look at if you're in a paying mood. But most important (i think) is still the photographer lar.

I wish i could shoot my own pre-wedding

darrel: why? I tot it's always good to let others shoot u? I mean I wld feel that way def, wanna enjoy my big day w/o any worries

Darrel - Thanks ya for the advice... my local PS is on a weekday so I'm afraid CBD abit tough... am thinking of Marina Barrage and Clarke Quay, what do you think?

angelia - I wanted to take at Lunar but I think they charge very high... some time back saw someone posting to share cost to shoot at Lunar but guess what the fee is $350/hr... I dun think I wanna pay this kind of money...

Thomas - Ya I have 2 PS because my package include an overseas PS at Bintan but now I changed to Desaru and Kota Tinggi... so next week is gg to Desaru and Kota Tinggi then early Nov will take PS for studio and local outdoor... when time to choose photo I think I will faint and my pocket will scream...