(2010) 2010 Brides

angelia: dunno leh..now thinking how to cut lo..coz colleagues ard 6 tables liaoz..cannot dun invite my bosses too..sighz...=((

darrel: who is ur PG??hee...

darrel> ya most of the hotels also haven't released bookings.. oh halia.. it's open by my frd..mathew rite? a very nice guy.. =)

actualli we wanted to get married last yr but i tink better save a bit more to play safe.. intially i wanted to postponed it even later but bf don't want..

sharlene> open the vip rooms? wat u mean? i tink as long as the rest. side can expand i tink still alright, but like wat my bf say if reali no choice den frm best frd becomes good frd, and good friends become acquaintance.. invite lesser frds.. else make up for them.. another simple get together dinner...

darrel> u looking at resale or new flats?

my PG is one of my close friends. I know both him and his wife from Uni, and he always borrows my camera.

actually my wife was kind of looking forward to tekkan-ing him, cos he's the fun type.

sharlene ... well, here's how we made our parents filter the list.

1) If you don't see them at least once a year, they're not going to be in the list.
2) if they are not in your immediate family tree, they are not going to be in the list.

Too distant, and dun see often, very likely that they will either not turn up or give smaller ang pows. sure lugi.

shar.. u got so many tables ar.. maybe like wat angelia said cut down on frens lo..

i haven bought mine yet.. still searching.. urs is at bishan or sembawang am i rite?? have u start ur hse reno??

actually if you are paying for the dinner yourself, you shouldn't cut friends, cos they are the ones who will help you break even. Relatives, maybe one whole family come, give $200.

sorry if i sound kinda $$ minded. Costs was one of the things running thru my head when I was looking for venue.

my own view is, i feel that it's very hard to cut down on relatives as it's up to ur parents. say if ur the eldest and only son, ur parents will need to invite alot as compared to the daughter.. so even if make a loss also LL... unless ur parents gives u the flexibility of who to invite or else it's kinda hard to cut on relatives..

wow... so many posts!!! must take time to read.. but today in office v busy.. running in/out of office LOL~
good afternoon all! had ur lunchie?

angelia > i agree its hard, so no choice, we turned a bit nasty on them. If not, the list will just keep growing. we told our parents. 12 tables, that all you are going to get. Its our wedding after all. :P

Some of the people in the original list was those super distant type relatives, and the reason they were inviting them was cos the other party invited our parents first. Its those ... grandmother's sister's grandchildren that we have never ever seen before, so my wife told her parents flat out. If i never see them before, I dun think we should invite them.

Cos my wife's side, her dad is the eldest son, so whenever they have weddings and didn't want to invite the entire branch of the family, they just invite the eldest son, so they've attended really a lot of these distant relative weddings.

darrel> i wish i can be as firm as you.. haiz.. i feel the same way but my mum say i have to and when we talk to my bf's parents that we don't want to invite certain relatives, their voice become loud and say how can don't invite! ... den we didn't want to agrue so just keep quiet and agree.. even the theme that we want, his parents also say a big no.. feel so restricted..

angelia > well at least u haven't book venue. Do what we did. We told our parents, find venue not easy, so u all MUST sit down and write out the guest list of the people of people they must invite, then if we have spare tables, then we give give to you (unlikely :P).

scarlet & black theme ? seems like the in thing now.

oh .. and my wife and I had this agreement, which is whenever suggestions come up, I will take to my parents, and she will talk to her parents. If its your own parents, then easier to work with.

Another thing is to question them. if they say ... "no we must invite so-and-so" counter them nicely, why ? If its your in laws, then ask ur hubby to ask. then tell them the venue may not be able to fit so many people.

Hehe.. its only 1 hour away from the message i posted just now and is in the archive le..

I haven't really set my AD, FH wish to have it b4 he turn 30, now 27.

My AD date maybe range from 2011 to 2013. AD date is really not my choice but i think my job is to get my photos and gown ready for that day.

HFL (Pretty lady!) can share your photo with me?

Seems like so many here haven't got house also...HFL, Darrel, me...sigh.

Darrel: wow ur AD is only 4 days earlier than mine! haha...agree 101% with u, I fear for those who bring whole family in tow and yet grossly undergive APs...sigh. Losses is sure have, only a matter of how much. Me and wife prepared to lose up to 5k liao...anything less than that is a bonus.

For me, I'm not inviting any colleagues, friends only those very, very close ones (some of them will be my bros on my AD, so no choice have to invite them for banquet oso). My wife's side is the one with a lot of colleagues (cos she works in a hosp)...even got ex-colleagues from previous hosps (faints). Already told her to cut down on her list liao, the lesser tables we have, the lesser the potential to make losses.

chink > the date range very big leh....

thomas > guess we're all waiting for the house prices to drop some more ...
same here too. I only got 3 tables for my friends, colleagues, army friends, etc. my wife has 6 for her colleagues and 2 for her friends... and she complains that not enuff for her friends :S

HFL: haha..nope..not changing venue..getting sembawang..need minor reno only i hope..heee...

darrel: thanks for the tips!hahaah..sighz..for my side i told my mum the same..but coz my dad do own business one..so will have meetings with the relatives..at least a few times a year..and i noe most of them..so muz invite lor..coz my grandfather is the 2nd eldest one ma...

HFL> yup black and fuchsia (new theme frm hotel intercontinental) i love it!! but bf's parents say like funeral (sry if i offended anyone). i wanted to have a black evening gown, his parents say how can? then nvm i say wat about black trimmings, they say how can have black? ok den i suggested black gown for PS, they say it's wedding! happy occasion y muz hav black? ultimate sianz...

darrel> should the guest list be out first or estimation of how many guest and take the min to fit the min requirements of the hotel? everytime we have plans we will sit down together and talk to our parents, but if say it's my parents den i will comment but if it's his parents den he will comment. parents will always say have to invite impt etc etc. i will try to use ur tactic.. but my parents will say it's still early to decide also making it hard for me to shortlist..

thomas/darrel> which area are u looking at? mayb my bf can help u? the cov are getting lower liao but i tink the owner still assume tat it's high...

chink> i tink you can wait till end of tis yr den start planning since u r planning for 2011.. still have a lot time for u to play around with.. =)

darrel: yah..housing is gettin cheaper..i got mine at 8k COV...nicely reno liaoz..juz need to re-paint and er..change the toilet bowl..

angelia: no choice lah, nowadays getting married doesn't seem to involve only the two of us, parents also wanna have their say in everything...dunno whether it's we getting married or them...

looking at central...

Darrel: my fren who's a market analyst in properties told me if can wait, wait until end of 2010 then buy flat cos will be dropping...but how to wait that long? my AD is in Mar 2010 sigh...

thomas> ya tat's y i also forget about it liao.. but some things i don't think i will give in.. keke

shar> so sad rite? donoe since when black eg becomes tat kind of meaning.. lytat the guys also cannot wear black suit liao..

chng toilet bowl? hygiene?

angelia: yah lor..damn sad la..but nm la..i got a similar one in red...hahahaha..and i love it..hahaha..yah...toilet bowl for hygiene ma..lolz...

angelia.. aiyo.. y they like tt ar?? even black trimming oso cannot.. hmm.. i guess hor..PS should be okie wif black gown ma.. afterall its ur album & u gonna keep it not them.. as long as u dun wear black on ur AD should be alrite.. as for e theme.. black & fushia is now e pop color.. maybe u wan to try other theme as a consideration other den black & pink..

shar.. have u go for ur 1st appt wif hdb alreadi??

shar> glad that you got something tat u like! =)

HFL> as long as have black, i can stop tinking about it liao... but lucky my bf is ok with me wearing for ps so i don't care... ya.. tinking of fairytale theme.. white and gold? hmm

Angelia,

My plan is to ROM, settle my home, then AD.
So timing is not under my control.

HFL,

Thanks and will wait for your nice nice photos. =)

To all,

My new home is BTO so have to wait.

I am sourcing around alot of things, and joining my friends on their wedding shots day. Gain experience, have been 2 time Sister, went to alot of wedding dinner with my FH.

There was once my FH mother mention that me and my FH don't need to have wedding dinner. Its so sick to hear this kind of thing, my FH have a sister, was wondering if its her daughter getting married will she say the same thing.

My FH restricted me from choosing black gown, also say no door crash games.

Its like what to do how to talk to them... thats why i wanna source and do my homework. Don't wish to be under their control.

I was thinking of going to marriage preparation course to enjoy, simple one but FH says no.

Btw if its you what will you do... pls advice..

angelia > if they say too early to decide, tell them, if not enough tables, then don't blame you. Cos you already asked them for a number.

On a side note, when my in laws were calculating the numbers, they grouped the people in 10 (one table)and gave us the number of tables they wanted. Then we went to book a hotel with tables of 12. based on the number of guests they wanted... I think things will get messy soon :P

for some strange reason, my wife doesn't like black... isn't it supposed to make people look slimmer.

change toilet bowl .... to the japanese type with heating and ermm .. the water jets... actually I was quite fascinated with that when I was in Japan... but well, thats the toilet seat...

thomas > i dun think i want to wait for that long either... I'm looking for bedok/eunos area. My wife has a list of stuff she wants in the house (e.g. attached bathroom, high floor etc etc), but i'm chin chai. as long near either parents can liao. So since her requirements more stringent, then she find lorr.

chink > the no black part, can understand. The no door games part as a guy, i can understand, but some decisions are not made by me.You can compromise. Like i told my wife, when we do gatecrashing, I don't like those... wear women's underwear type etc etc totally banned. she say ok. I guess sometimes we learn to compromise. For every no he says, make him say yes to something. tell him its a tradeoff.

Darrel & Geri,

Tradeoff sound nice, its still early so he don't wish to talk about it but he is tellig me what he don't want. So trading might not work out if the guy doesn't wanna talk about it right..

We are ladies and FH are gentlemen, of cos won't make FH into clowns.

Anyway whats with the toilet bowl? hehe talking about renovation?

Just some suggestions and what i heard about dinners

For wedding dinner, i think we BTB or GTB cannot assume that ANG BAOS will cover the cost, or who to invite cos they might not give enough ANG BAOS for their table.

What i am trying to say is, we invite them as guest not for trading, try to find package within your means and expect for the worst to pay some for dinner.

Experience:
1) I do have relative and friends got empty ANG BAOS or $10. I don't blame ppl thinking that guest ang bao are real lousy these days.

2) Some of my BTB GTB friends even suggest that on the spot reception table will make sure all ANG BAO have names on it.

3) I have friend as a guest told me that he will bring 2 ANG BAOS for the wedding, if no one is there to handle ANG BAO he will give the lesser money without name.

For renovation, many of my friends when for OCBC reno loan, paying $300 to $500 a month for 5 years.

Spending within means is important to me because getting married and new home is another beginning of new life, not beginning of loan. get what i mean.

Just a suggestion!! hehe =p

chink> ur number 2 is what me n my frd did on our frds wedding.. i tink this is quite well practiced.

my AD will b 3 oct 2010. =)

HFL> actualli after deciding the theme wat do we do next? check out which hotel have?

well, I agree with the dinner part. We have set aside a tidy sum as loss from the banquet, and its in a fixed deposit account. Anything less is a bonus for our honeymoon fund... my wife wants to go to Europe.

Hehe me and my FH decide to save up for future 2nd renovation and others cos everyday is valentine day, wish to spend more on home.

But he did mention he will bring me to Japan and Perth and Paris. =p

Darrel & Geri,

Thats nice preparation. Europe, romantic leh..

Where is your dinner?

Can someone update me the chart.. hehe then i won't be asking everyone the same thing.

angelia.. not realli.. coz e theme u wan can be diy or with e deco of e hotel themes they are offering.. u can add in some other deco u wan =)
at least can save alot rather den spending another amt just to do e deco alone..