(2010/10) Oct 2010 BTB

DS>> thks... See u gals on fri.. I'm recovering and no spicy or oily food
non oily still ok but I love spicy food!
sigh.,,

Xiaomau>> u can always go Europe once your house is ready. Save more while u can later. I'm gng to save harder after my trip too. House should be coming next Q3.

Ummm.. How come there is a deposit de? Maybe it's a new practice in this industry. Cos it's under the package le so they shouldn't be asking u for gown deposit. Unless u bringing it to overseas? But still veri strange.. Hv u checked with other brides from your BS?

xiaomau> my understanding is to give them a cheque when we collect the stuff. Upon returning the gowns and suits, they wil return the cheque. I think is juz in case they find defects on the gowns or suit.

missy> u take care and see u on fri

xiaomau> i do kw some BS requires couple to pay some deposit when collecting gowns for AD... but 1K is like abit too much leh...

ds gerl- yea its quite alot but well...they told me they wont use it, so we shall see. if they do try to be funny- i suppose they'll get 5k worth of bad publicity for them...
------

missybrooklynn - i actually didnt check because if it's just something done towards me and not other brides, i'll go telling everyone about them.. a few of my friends getting married and wanted to check how is my bridal studio- till now i m not giving compliments yet.

however my jiemei has already spread to their frens on the inconsistency in their policy. word of mouth works the best i guess.

and yes- the house is gg to cost alot.. my reno n stuff is like a good 70k... *faint*

amanda ang- is your wedding in oct too? its quite a coincidence to see you at cang ai thread replying to me and here also explaining their policy.

have you taken your pics? can you show us?

to all other brides... maybe im abit slow- but anyone has pre-wed pictures to show? i wanna see leh...

xiaomau> yes, my wedding is on 23 oct (also my bday). i didn't know how much is the deposit but was only told to provide a cheque and the purpose of it.

actually, my experience with them is quite ok. i am quite happy with their make up artiste and photographers. But i am not taking their actual day photographer due I found someone else to do it.

I have taken my pics in Gao Xiong & Ken Ding in taiwan. People who have seen it were quite impressed by their photography and makeup skills. They also commented that the gowns are different from local bridal.

btw, who is your coordinator?

DS_gerl: Paiseh... i got something on this friday.. cant join u gals liao. Enjoy the dinner!!!!

Xiaomau: wah... ur reno and stuff cost $70k? is it a new flat or resale flat? Just now view HDB page... my new house completion date change from 3rd quarter to 1st quarter 2011. hehehe.. looks like got to start looking for contractors. hehe.. hope i can keep everything below $50k.

amanda- cool. i actually took the ps package too, but ended up i went to china to do my ps...
the gowns from cang ai.. i think are nothing new actually.... i've seen really nicer ones in china.. but.. because i've signed with with cang ai, no point bringing it back.
i wanna see ur pics ... link link... hee hee

avatar82- its a resale flat- tats why alot of rubbish need to do... headache... and expensive... sigh..

if urs is a new house, 50k shld be enuff i think.. i think we spend alot of money on hacking... tats why...

xiaomau> hee.. i din post it anywhere cos' my wedding is not over yet. hope you understand.
Yes, i do agree that those gowns in Singapore Cang Ai are not very fantastic as compared to the ones that i saw in taiwan. i was abit disappointed too. But, in the end, i told myself that the reason why i opt for Off the rack is because to me, gowns are the same... the design can't differ that much and it realli depends on how it fits your body and style.
haha. Just that the gowns in Gao Xiong that I saw have heightened my expectations for Singapore Cang Ai.

xiaomau> where is ur lovenest? wow 70k plus is alot. haha i also did alot of hacking but guess my place is smaller thats why cheaper.

xiaomau> does ur $70k include furnitures & electronics? i spent abt $70k also, but this include my reno, furniture + electronic items... mine is 5rm resale btw

Wow.. sounds expensive. I opt for HDB tiles and doors. no hacking too. hehehe.. hopefully my reno will not be that expensive eventually. hehe..

Mine comes with the tiles, which I hope not to hack cos of $$$..
Hopefully the Reno wont go beyond $40k. But I told hubby that we will buy wat we need one at a time. Things that r least impt, buy later. Must hv electronic goods are washing machine, water heater, fridge and tv. Laptops and printer can used back our current ones. Lol... :D

mine comes with flooring too... but juz worried that if the contractors did a bad job, then jia lat liao... but i will def hack down a wall to connect to another room...

missy> we are the Fabulous Four.... wahhahaha...

amanda- okay, no problem. its okay for me to find in cang ai just it aint fantastic too...

to all others
my 70 includes everything else.. if not i think gotta take loan liao... mine is at s.k- 5 room resale.. i hack everything away except the living room tiles which r granite.. if i had more money.. i will get them hacked too.. sadly no such luck..

michieyun- maybe 70k is ant market rate? dunno.. sigh..initially we budgetted only 50 but suddenly so much extras... scary..

enjoy the meetings girls

xiaomau> we only budgeted $40k juz for reno (w/o furnitures & electronics)... but after some modifications while having the reno, the contract ballooned to $45k... then came the bill for lightings, aircon & curtain which add up to another 10k liao... followed by sofa + tv console, etc... heavy financial commitment there but i'm sure u will feel the sense of satisfaction once u hse is completed

electronic items can wait, especially if u r doing hse warming... coz friends & relatives will likely to ask what u need & try to get for u if it's within their means... we bought almost everything we need b4 our hse warming except for the fridge. thus we asked for best denki vouchers whenever friends asked us what we wld like to have a hse warming gift... kekez... we rec'd ABs mostly though... the mrng aft our hse warming, we went to purchase our fridge liao... lolz

Girls, share with me also, is $40k still enough for a new hdb 4rm Reno+furniture+electri? $70k is freaking me out, my new flat is coming in nov n we already stretched our budget on wedding.

Coco: dun worry, 40K shld b more than enuff for new flat.... I dun do hacking but we lay new tiles for our kitchen, living rm n bedrooms (cos the living rm n 3 bedrms dun come with tiles)... the total reno + electronics (impt ones)+ furniture = $32K ....

Missy: i maynt b able to make it cos gotta b at Changi at 6pm later.... damn sianz.... will sms u all again

Pipi & bluey: after reading that the girls mentioned that they spent $70k on reno, really freak me out. Cos even though mine is a new flat, I intend to hack part of the middle room to make the masterroom bigger. But we only hv $40k budget. Bluey, I tot they already hv tiles in the kitchen?

bluey/deb/bluey>> hey, think i have to give this meeting a missed too.
still not feeling veri well.. feeling weak after my lunch
so paisei... we meet up again soon, ok?

enjoy yourself...

deb>> paisei... cos i need to go hm and take my medication.
hope to rest earlier tonight T_T

Euro is 1.73 at mustafa now! its veri near my ofc, make me giak. but i cant find my hubby. URGH!!

ladies, how was the meetup on fri?
my hubby juz changed another EUR1k at lucky plaza.. the rate was 1.735, but he bargained for 1.73, which is so far the lowest...
we wanted to change more but hesitated cos we still need $$ for AD. so i guess we will change more after our AD, hopefully the rate will be good.

@ Coco
Have u engaged any ID/contractor for the reno?

It's so nice to see you ladies planning for honeymoon. Me & hubby decided to postpone our honeymoon coz we've spent alot on reno & wedding banquet

Pipi>> cos my house is still constructing, that's y can go HM first.
if im renovating for my house now, HM is definitely out of question.. anyway, when my house is here, it will be your turn to plan for HM le.

Bluey, I'm not sure, think mine cld be beige too. So u change to which colour?

Pipi we tried looking for I'd but because we want to engage Fs master, all the I'd I looked for dun want to draw for us before the master see our place. And the master said they can only view after keys collections so now we stop lookingard, wait till we collect the keys in nov probably after hm then start looking.

Missy, r u feeling better now? Must take care b4 ad.

@ Missy
Have to see how le...lot of times ended up nv go for honeymoon >.<

@ Coco
We engaged contractor then let FS master to let us know which date to start reno. Reno start le FS master will make a trip down to take a look, and advise us wat r the things we need to do. U want I can let u take a look @ the workmanship of my contractor if u're keen

coco>> thanks for concern

pipi>> my frd went for her official HM 4 yrs later!
meanwhile, it's either short biz trip or getaway and amazingly she is a cabin crew! so i think as long as there is planning, there will be a chance to go!

missy> u feeling better?

we din meet up last fri... hopefully we still can arrange 1 b4 our AD??

eur 1.73 is not bad ardy... arghhh.. shld hv waited 1 more wk...

DS>> yup, better.

Ya, hope we can meet b4 AD.

There were a few 1.74 to 1.76, so dun need to feel too shortchange.. My hubby said y save $10, I oso so happy. I told him, I'm a typical SGrean, keke :p I hoping it will drop to 1.7 or the historical 1.69 b4 my trip! Yay!!..

Coco: change to dark grey cos we r using light colors for the kitchen cabinets ... U shld start looking for id/contractor cos the gd ones r usually booked way advance n it takes time to get quotations, meetups n view the handover flats done by them if possible. Mine is like tied up all the way till yr end liao.

Any must go places for Bali?

Yup, must try to meet up ESP. I nd to show Deb my layout hopefully to help her to decide 1or 2 albums to take heez

Bluey>> I might hv Bali itinerary.. Let me go back and find...
Some places r like nusa dua, ubud (but quite far from city), kuta (veri touristy but good for shopping), jimbaran (yummy seafood by the sea), tanah lot (temple by the sea)... The sea places that I took my ps, one of it is water blown but oso veri far from city. The sun set place, I dunno where. :p

I will PM u my blog that covers Bali
my first trip to bali covered more things but i closed that old blog le. Lol.. anyway, u can join their 1 day tour, which is easily available in your hotel.

bluey> u gg Bali after ur AD? pre-HM or PM?? heehee~~

i'm gg BKK next wk... hw abt meeting up mid sept? 17 or 24 sep??
we still hv scrapbooking class yet to plan hor...

val> u also prefer matt album to glossy ones...
glossy one will tend to stick together after long time

DS>> enjoy your BKK!!
let's bring out our photos to show each other on the next meetup! will be fun,i think. =P

my sis damn funny lor. she went to check out Euro for me - sis: simei's money changer's rate veri good. he is selling euro at 1.76!!!

She actually thought that i can use S$1 to change for Euro1.76 lor! -___-|| **speechless**

missy> LOL~~ ur sis is cute lor... but she has the thots lah...

my photos are all in soft copies... someone muz bring out a lappie or netbook...
i can bring along my ofc lappie if we r meeting on a fri evening... cos usually will bring hm to clear some stuffs over the wkend...

DS>> mine oso in softcopies. think it's gonna be heavy to bring out the album :P
can copy into your iPhone! that was wat i did.. keke..

ya lah, i told her i changed at 1.73, she said so low. simei's 1.76 is better =_=