(2010/10) Oct 2010 BTB

DS>> it's 1.81 now. Dunno will still increase anot.

Bluey>> me is opp from u. I'm gng EU for honeymoon, come back then save for reno.

missy> no choice lor...

shld hv go for pre-wedding HM trip during the period when EUR is very low and all brandeds hv not up the prices... lol

Ds, ya agree w u haha go before wedding n can take the ps there too.
now w the price like that dunno shd postpone to next yr. Anyway I read from another thread, someone just booked w chan bros $4000, 16d, 6 countries.

DS>> ya lor... At least not so heartpain. But no choice lah... Now can only look fwd and pray that no more increase. Mustafa rate is 1.78 today.. Slightly better than ytd.

Coco>> izzit consider cheap or exp? Cos their or rather most agencies' 12D, 3 countries r ard $3k+ leh. So I reckon it's cheap?!

Missy, given the current situation I think shd be cheap, cos so many countries, how many countries r u looking at? We thinking of France, Italy, Spain n Switzerland but maybe 1 of these countries we will f & e ourselves. Do u hv any idea, For package tours, do they allow u to extend n come back in a later date? Or fly back from a diff country? Cos ig we take up a package for 3 countries, we need to fly from the 4th country ourselves.
I think 1.78 is still good, cos I changed 6k at 1.83 n 1.82. Not changing any more.

coco> but 6 countries in 16days seems like quite tight leh... considering the travelling time...
i rem some1 in 2010 thread booked their flights & accomodation with local tour agency and then book land pkg tour in EUR via local tour agency here... and i think she also extended a few days F&E in paris... cant rem is beginning or ending...

i think depend on where you are flying to and back.
e.g. if i take Chan Bro, the last country is France (Paris) so i might go to London from there since the travelling time from Paris to London is only 1 hr. my preferred locations are italy (Rome > Florence > Venice > Milan) and france (Paris). but most tour packages incl swiss in, so i might extend to London from Paris lor.

For tour packages, they do allow you to extend and come back at later date via other cities. only thing is top up $$$, as long as you pay, everything is poss

missy> but if going europe then dun go london like abit waste leh... think shld be able to use EUR in london also bah...

right now i juz saw both the promos from Chan Bro and SA Tours, think Chan Bro is cheaper than SA... but cos most europe flights r by SQ for SA... whereas Chan Bro nv state is fly by which airline... but Chan Bro do hv some dep dates in feb & mar next yr wor

btw, finally received email response from wine mansion.... but still they did not answer on my qn for bulk purchase... probably they do not hv this kind of offer bah...

they hv abt 10 different brands of wines from different countries... price range from $15-$20... there is free wine tasting in their shop... they are able to provide 100% consignment... they do free delivery of wines to the appointed venue usually is 1 day prior to AD but we will hv to return the unconsumed wines ourselves and settle the payments...

but i realised that there are some discrepancy to wat i was told when i went down to the shop in early july... the staff there told me that price range starts from $12 and min purchase is 24 btls thn they will consign another 24btls

gd mrng!!

all of u are discussing abt hm liao... envious wor... seeing all the travel pkg promo so tempted too... but muz restrain!! i'm keen on the eastern europe tour... kekez... but still, gotta work out my finances first... see how ba

when and where is natas fair btw?

hehehe... looks like everyone v onz over the honeymoon. hehehe..anyone buying LV bag? hehe.. was wondering whether i shd buy neverful, hampstead or cosmic blossom design? like cosmic cos got my favourite pink colour. hehehehe...

DS_gerl: hehe.. i like all these designs, but cannot decide which one to buy. So was looking out for reviews and comments.

Missy: Actually neverful design is the most practical and the cheapest. But it's too common already. Almost out of 10 pple who carry LV bag, 8 is using neverful. .. Cosmic is unique, but is double the price of neverful.. really hard to decide. hehe..

avatar>> ya, true that neverfull is veri common nowadays.
even common than speedy! but it's really useful cos veri big and can put alot of things. good for aunties like me :P next common bag is palermo. cos can put alot of things, can sling, can hang carry and there is a zip! :D

i get veri high when talk abt bags. keke~

melody>> i think $28 is quite reasonable now. but of cos, must depend on your budget.. i'm sure your helpers will understd
if you can afford to give more, y not? =)

DS>> Euro at mustafa today is 1.77, drop by 0.01 today. keke..

missy> i juz went bishan J8 and the rate there is 1.785

btw, i've juz booked my trip to BKK in early Sep
hopefully i can manage to get some last minute buys for wedding...

DS_gerl: wah... will it be too close to the wedding liao? sept must be a super happening mth for you.. hehe... nice! I went to BKK in Feb, there's alot of wedding stuff you can buy. hehehe...i bought alot of cheap accessories.

DS>> i think the rate at change alley and suntec will be better =)
i oso wanna go BKK or HK for bridal shopping.. but if i wanna book HM this natas and fly on oct then i dun think i can go cos is extra expenses

i will be holding a simple dinner in jakarta end of the yr too..

btw i asked JP international abt their EU tour package.. cos my frd went with them and was given 2D free Dubai tour in it. but they said they are preparing for Natas and not convenience to reveal the packages yet. so juz gotta wait for natas...

keeping fingers crossed for good deals!

missy: u holding dinner at jakarta? u are indonesian? nice nice.. hehehe...

JP international? Are they taking emirates airlines? gd leh.. can take this opportunity to go Dubai.. hehe..

yup, JP international flies to EU via EK.. so can have 2D in dubai. i dun mind going to the Middle East too!
then i wont extend to London liao.

any PAssion card holders? saw this promo on PAssion card webby:

<font color="0000ff">SA Sensational Mega Travel Sale

Date: 14 &amp; 15 August 2010
Time: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Venue: Suntec Entertainment Centre Atrium (Outside of Carrefour)

You are invited to our iconic SA Sensational Mega Travel Sale where enticing promotions and offers await you.

We have new and exciting tour packages to your dream destinations! Take this chance to snap up some fantastic deals for the whole family! What's more, every S$500 you spend entitles you to a chance to participate in our hourly draw, where you stand a chance to play exciting games and win exciting prizes!

PAssion Card Privileges:

S$60 off per room for Group Tours to:
Egypt, Europe, New Zealand, South Africa, USA.
S$30 off per room for Group Tours to:
Australia, Cambodia, India, Japan, Korea, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Turkey, Vietnam.
Terms and conditions:

Valid at the Fair on 14 and 15 August 2010 only
To enjoy the discount, presentation of your PAssion Card is required
Valid for selected departure dates only
Not valid with other discounts and promotions
The Organiser reserves the right to amend the terms and conditions without prior notice
Contact Details:
Phone No: 6535 8911</font>

missy> yah, i always see long queue at the money changer in suntec... the one opposite to Watson's rite?

my fren been to dubai b4 and some of the brandeds are also cheaper there... Rolex and loose diamonds are a great deal there

wat does it means by $60 off per room for the Passion Card promo? i do hv a passion card many years back... expired liao but did not renew then recently received a new one again...

melody>> are u paying for their service?
if not, maybe say $38 - $48? i'm giving my JMs and XDs $28 cos both parents will give them $8-$12 angbaos when they come to our places. so add up, they can get ard $48. but i dun think our parents will give emcee angbaos separately unless they are alrdy your helpers.

if you are alrdy paying for their services, $28 should be fine
but i will give my PG, VG and MUA $48 cos they helped us from morning. maybe i will give my MUA more cos she is really helpful and nice to me all these while =) keke..

For me, mine is just a simple church wedding service + hotel lunch banquet. I don't have gatecrash, so i will only have about 7 main helpers. Each one will get either minimum $50(non driver)or $60(driver) for helping out at recep/carry some stuff. hehe..I give angpao based on the no of hours and the type of things I require them to help. About $10 per hr. Think quite reasonable.

For church choir, since i already provide banquet lunch which is quite expensive, I will probably be giving a token sum of $200 for the choir.

Altar boys: $12 per pax

Readers: $28 to $40 per pax

For MUA/PG/VG/wedding car driver,since I have already paid for their service and will provide hotel banquet lunch, I will not give extra angpao.

For emcee, I have signed up for emcee package. Since I have already paid for the service, I will not give extra angpao also.

Think if you getting your friend as wedding emcee, you might wish to consider giving at least $60 to $80 for his effort put in at the banquet. Not easy to stand on the stage and keep talking. hehe...takes alot of courage.

Thanks missy and avatar for the advice! I'm getting frenz to be emcees but having a tight budget.. would you think a range of $28-$48 be ok?

Melody>> it's your å¿ƒæ„ and of cos must within your budget

I'm oso running a tight budget and I've told my helpers that I can't give too much liao.

missy> juz chk with HTB that we cant book our HM trip yet... cos if book nw he can only claim from the enable acct for himself... we hv to wait after AD thn i'm able to claim from that acct too....

For emcees I'm thinking of $28 to $38 each. For jm n xd, we thinking of $80 to $100 per pax including jie mei opened door ang bao. N those mua, pg, either 18 to 28, since mua will be charging for ampoule n lashes etc. N we need to prepare many spare ang bao in case many relative come n serve tea to u or those ppl who help u serve tea etc
total we calculated we need to spend $2k plus just on ang bao alone as we have total 18 jm &amp; xd...

N for our case, htb wants to give more to the xd because he studied overseas last time so most of them are based overseas. They hv to fly in or drive just to attend our wedding so he want subsidy them a bit. So now hv to go thru the list n see where we can save some money etc