(2010/10) Oct 2010 BTB

DS>> how abt la senza? They hve sales and should be quite affordable

DS_Gerl: Actually VS not that expensive leh... I think it's the shipping cost that cost alot. You can go to their online store to see. Alot of nice designs.

halo, sorry to sidetrack here.

How do you ask your friends to be the swordbearer on your wedding? I can't seem to fit the wordings into sentences. All turn out sounding wierd to me. TIA

deb> i'm fine with this idea... but need some1 to coordinate cos i'm really bz with work... only can log in at nite...

missy> i'm looking ard nw... but havent really get into details yet... want to settle my cards printing first...
i think Caro did mentioned a wine wholesaler in chinatown here...
i rem reading in 2010 thread that carrefour has consignment too...

i'm now also looking ard for jie mei dresses.... any1 hv gd recommendations...
still contemplating on tailor make...

missy> ya, i meant asking friends to be swordbearers juz like asking for JMs & XDs... JMs & XDs are made up of cousins & long-time friends so easier to ask but for swordbearers we dunno how to go abt it... lolz

i got my wine for my ROM @ http://www.onestopliquor.com/index.asp

price reasonable + there's wine tasting b4 u decide on what to buy... there's consignment available too

finish photoshoot finally. one item off my mind finally.

ds_gerl:me looking at jie mei dresses too.

how bout those blogshops like bonitochico.
but my budget is lo.

:D

erm gals, how much is the shipping costs normally? if its not too exp after adding on to the cost of the lingerie, I dun mind buying one for my wife *blush*

eileen: wah ....that is va va voom hahahahaha...

I bought 2 piece + 1 gift box from VS recently. paid a total of S$129..think about half go to the shipping cost. hhehehe...but still consider reasonable because it is not cheap to buy from RWS outlet too.

Yeah!!!! I have just confirmed my GDL cake order from sweetest moments online. hehehe.. too lazy to go down to Pine gardens.

Packaging looks nice and comes with personalised gift card. hehe... very pleased with the artwork and prompt reply.. But wonder how it taste like. Hopefully it taste gd.

hahaha... u babes talked alot of things leh... i read till blur.... from Euro Trip-> printing cards -> reno-> wine-> lingerie.....

I got to know some1 from forum that can get gd n affordable wine... will try to contact him n let u gals know the pricing den mayb we can consider getting together.....

Printing of cards is aso provided by my hotel... unless i wan to print extra lah... wat's the mini printing at T&T?

I was aso thinki of doing standees but troublesome lah after the wedding... cos occupy space in the hse esp. my new hse is like a pigeon hole so small!!!!! *faint*

I got my bridesmaid dresses from bonitochico but like wat ds_gerl says bridesmaids have to be all similar sizes cos BC dresses fit at most up to UK 10....

off the topic, any1 went mng sales? i so wanted to go but busy w work n today mc but medicine so drowsy lo

val> bonitochico dresses r nice.. but only hv std sizes and some of their dresses r quite short…
I’ve bought some of their dresses b4 but sometimes even myself feels that it’s small or juz nice for me… so dun dare to buy as JM dresses as I hv some JMs who cant wear that fitting clothings…
so online blogshops r def out for me…

will be looking at newlook online… some of their dresses r quite nice and material not bad too… my fren has bought some dresses from newlook in dubai… material is better than F21…

Thomas> VS always hv sales de… so if u getting those sales items at least it can offset the shipping costs…

Eileen> cant see the link… cos office block…

avatar> my bro is thinking of getting sweetest moments for his son’s baby shower too… and it’s like 1 mth difference to my GDL… so relative might be getting the same stuffs… at least for the cupcakes…
my bro bought some of their cupcakes to taste and he told me not bad…

bluey> so good to hv cards printing by the hotel… at least no headaches to think where is cheap and good…

waiting for ur lobang on wines

blueystar: wah.. ur hotel gd leh. provide printing. haven't go for mango sale. Wanna buy some new clothes leh.. went to Forever 21 at somerset 313 last weekend.. but nothing suit me. So sad.

DS_gerl: Since ur bro using sweetest moment, so most probably you won't be using the same vendor? or else your relatives will receive same food stuff... hehehe...

Blueystar> Your hotel is Intercontinental? They provide printing of cards? Hmmm weird coz I had to pay for my own printing. Do let us know bout the wines

haha okie.. lets organise VS spree then. shall we put end of the mth as deadline?? i will try to co-ordinate k.. so email me ur orders at [email protected].

bluey> let me know bout wine too ya.

ds> i got my jiemei to buy their own so only doing colour code, cos my JM all different size.

Caro: hahaha... opps... or mayb i got it wrong as in they only provide the cards? if so, then siao liao.... hahaha... i better ask my htb to check again cos the stuff r w him

Bluey> Yupz, think they only provide the cards, and the printer they recommend, is pretty expensive, when I have to also print church invites. Especially also when I read how much avatar paid for her nice cards printed in Malaysia
But we are also lazy to travel to JB, so I guess we just went with what was recommended.

Ya agreed w bluey that u girls r talking abt so many things fro
euro to pjs to printing of cards to jiemei dresses to cakes hahaha

yes I'm in for the vs spree too!

sorry to ask, why r u girls searching for wine? Tot hotel already provide for every table?

When is a good to get the cards from hotel?

to share my experience, I have 8 jiemeis n all different sizes, from xs to xxxl! N I spent a lot of time online to search for a design that fits all.
ended up trial n error a few wasted pieces n settled for two different designs. N there are still a lot of complaints from them abt design, length, size, material etc so u girls better consider carefully before buying for them, it's either mtm or just go for colour code.

Ya agreed w bluey that u girls r talking abt so many things fro
euro to pjs to printing of cards to jiemei dresses to cakes hahaha

yes I'm in for the vs spree too!

Sorry to ask, why are u girls searching for wine? Tot wine will be provided by hotel for every table?

When is a good time to request for the cards from hotel?

I have 8 jiemeis n all different sizes, from xs to xxxl! N I spent a lot of time online to search for a design that fits all.
ended up trial n error a few wasted pieces n settled for two different designs. N there are still a lot of complaints from them abt design, length, size, material etc so u girls better consider carefully before buying for them, it's either mtm or just go for colour code.

Avatar> Nope, its Jasvy. The coordinator said that they usually print the hotel's cards. So we just went with it....plus also got some ang pows customised with our names and cartoons.

Deb> Please also include me, though I will be going to US for honeymoon, but thats 2 months after the wedding and I really want something "special" for the night... keke *embarrassed*

Coco> My hotel only provides limited bottles of wines. Will need to get extra. I think usually hotels will recommend to collect about 3 months before the wedding, but we collected earlier as we wanted to print the cards fast.

Anyone of you also prevented from doing any wedding preparations during the Chinese Ghost Festival? That's one whole month cut off!!

caro> haha no need shy shy.. me also looking for something "special" though htb might be too drunk to appreciate. lol...

coco> i requested for unlimited beer i think instead of wine. so looking for something nice and cheap haha.

deb> i wanted the jie mei to wear the same colour tone and am looking for bright colours

avatar> yah lor... if he getting sweetest moments then relatives will be eating the same thing again... another similar choice will be choz confectionery... but from the website seems like they dun hv cupcakes leh...

thomas> deb will be consolidating the VS orders... u can take a look at the website thn email her ur orders

caro> u can source for other printing vendors in SG to compare price first.... dun need to hv to print with the recommended one...

if i can settle most of my un-done stuffs b4 the 7th mth, thn will avoid lor... if not, hw to waste that 1mth juz pass by n do nothing...

coco> to avoid having much complains on the dresses, i bring along my most "fussy" jie mei to dress shop with me... lolx
but as i will be only having 4-5 JMs and they r also the chin chye kind, dun think will hear much complains bah...
anyway, it's only wearing for a few hours... juz tell them that's wat JMs r for... =P u will def do the same when it's their turn

we r getting some extra wines in case those free wines r all consumed b4 the wedding ends.... it also depends on the guests u inviting r drinkers or not...
for me, we kw for sure that the wines/table r def not enough cos most of htb's colleagues drink alcohol like drinking plain water.... lolx... so def hv to stk up extra...

Coco: Any time from now is a good time to collect the cards. Can slowly prepare liao since only left 4 mths.

wow.. seems like most of you getting clothes for your jiemeis. heheehe.. I have a tight schedule on AD, so no gatecrashing. I just let my helpers wear whatever they are comfortable with.

My banquet package includes free flow of beer and wine. don't think wanna provide hard liquor for my wedding lunch. luckily save me some trouble..

by right, not supposed to do anything in lunar 7th mth. hahaa.. but i think i might be selecting my AD gown during lunar 7th mth if I can't find any suitable gowns... cos usually all gowns will be back during this mth.

avatar>> im oso getting mine from sweetest moments!

the packaging looks good.. the funny thing is we can pay during the collection, no deposit required. HAHA!! sick and tired of Pine Garden cos i'm a bit turned off by their bad telephony service

im oso trying to siam 7th mth cos older ppl dun like. but if really bo bian, i will have to run errand during these period.

deb>> im getting my JMs to buy theirs too.. cos they are different sizes, keke..
juz nice my sis is looking at a VS dress. she wanna wear for my wedding dinner. so maybe can tap on your spree

DS>> there is a wedding show coming up in my hotel. so i will go down and see look... in case there is something new for the invitation card and i can use it. but veri likely, i will go down to JB to print. so maybe we can arr a road trip to City Square. Wooohoo...

missy> me and htb will be gg in to city sq this sat... perhaps i can chk out the rates for u first?

T&T has yet to reply to my email till now

Sigh I hv been busy preparing for my rom In July so never start preparing all the rest of the thingy like cards, sitting arrangement, GDL, cakes etc oh no!!!! Think I better faster finalize the guest list n request for my cards.

Btw girls, mine is a wedding lunch n raffles will be giving a bottle for each table, n we are thinking of exchanging the beer for 10 bottles of wine instead, do u think it will be enough for afternoon crowd?

Looks like all if u r quite geared haha I think at my rate of doing things n with the rom stucked in between, I think I can't avoid doing stuff during 7th mth.

Will u girls mind having someone with a horoscope that crashed with u or ur htb, or crashes w the date itself as bros or jiremei on ad?

eileen> yes, wan to hv cupcakes for GDL...
hw much did u pay for them? and hw many cupcakes in a gift box?

there's only black for this vs inspired dress? dun see other colours there leh... and i also dun see any updates of their launch... last was in May?

Eileen: wow.. the cupcakes are nice!!! how much u pay per box? I will only be having cupcakes on AD.. got my cupcake wedding tier from simplycakes. The dresses is nice.. your colour theme is black?

DS_gerl: u going JB this weekend? hehe.. can try the tea place recommended by thomas. Think i will only be going on 2nd July. hehee.. my AD gown selection date. hehe..

Anyone noe how much roughly for printing for invitation cards at JB? my hotel charge $100 for hot stamping 1st 100 copies and sub card cost 40cents each.. is it very ex?

Hw much cheaper at JB? Any kind soul pls advise! TIA! ;)

Hi Eileen, I initially tot of buying this dress for my JMs too fr starglance and i chance upon dressabelle (cheaper abit) do sell it as well and i bot 1 for myself for testing.

I would say ur JMs muz b comfy and really know how to tie e dress if not she will uncomfortable wearing it afraid some part of the material may left a "hole" baring parts of their body..they muz tie till very secure..

In e end i gave up e idea of buying it for my JMs as for myself i dun dare to wear out myself..still sourcing for JMs dress..i got e same prob too..range fr S to XXL..

wiwi: sg's prices are easily double or more than jb's prices.

I spent abt S$80 only on my inserts, printed 200 (both sides with map) and T&T gave me another 20 inserts extra which was quite a pleasant surprise for us. Also 3 free animated icons for us to use on the inserts.

I compared the prices with T-Dragon...if I were to print in sg, I wld have to pay 200+.

thomas> okie... will try it out

i wrote to Shirley using the email u posted here lor...

wiwi> we r having the same hotel and on the same day

u also thinking of hotstamping on cards? but T&T in JB dun do hotstamping.... did not chk out on others yet... am gg in tmw... will update in here if i hv any findings