(2010/09) Sept Brides

lawlipop > if you can, try to go today after work? Usually more variety to choose from and smaller crowds on first day. Hmm.. Seahorse? My new mattress if somewhat similar to tempur - foam mattress, I think.

Belinda : 31st May coach n kate spade sales also at expo. =P

Lawli : I bought my mattress frm Serta/Missouri
for less than $3K. It comes with bedframe, 1 long pillow+cover, 2 pillows , 1 bolster and a bench.

tried seahorse also that time when I was still scouting ard for mattress...nth against them, price is good cos they having sale but I find even the softest one too hard for me.

lawli, buying mattress is another headache haha. The more u try, the more confused u will be. I went to so many places over a few mths to try on all the brands while waiting for sale to come lol.

A tip for u when trying: try to sleep for at least 10mins in different positions (on ur back, on your side) and also go at different times of the day. The feeling may be different even for the same model u trying.

icager: ahhhhhhhhh serta...nice brand, almost got the Aberdeen but didn't cos I found out that Serta's mattresses are unusually THICK and buying bedsheets in future will be a big prob cos all the normal ones can't fit like Aussino etc. U will need to get special bedsheets from places like Taka, Robinsons etc and these come with a higher price tag. That's the only turn-off for Serta, other than that the price and comfort is good

p.s. the serta salesman kena squeezed by me for freebies till jialat that time hahaha

Thomas : Yes..i agree that Serta is a nice brand. Find their mattress really comfy n reasonably priced. The model i purchased was 12" thick and standard bedsheets can fit in.
I bought my bedsheet from Intero, was quite cheap that time as there was a sale going on.

Muahaha.. the Serta salesman also kena squeezed by us, cos i kept asking for freebies too. Maybe we are talking about the same salesman. =P

thomas: didn't really fix a budget ba, but want to get one that is reasonably priced and comfortable cos mattress is important to us. Maybe about $3k? yeah, it is quite a headache cos i think you never really know how good it is until you buy it and use it! thanks for the tip anyway!

belinda: can't go after work today but think i will try go early tomorrow. i suspect most ppl will go around lunch time only...

icager: i was looking at serta as well but haven't tried. Just walked into the shop and look look see see only. Sounds like you managed to get a lot of items thrown in! I will go check it out. thanks! must go squeeze the salesperson like thomas did. :p

Lawli : Serta was the 2nd shop i went into, tried the mattresses then decided to get it. Me and hubby prefer softer mattress. So it really depends on yr preference. U may wanna compare around and now its the GSS u will surely get a good deal.
The salesman i spoken to was Steven. Hes a very nice and friendly guy. U may wanna look for him. Hes located @ Jurong Point on Tuesday and Friday.
Hope this info helps. =)

icager: thanks very much! this is definitely helpful!

haha, feel like i can't really shop much this GSS cos need to save money for wedding!

Lawli : You're most welcome.=)

We've got to control spending during GSS. hee..
But its also a good time to get the things we need for wedding @ a good deal ohh.

icager: muahahahaa...which serta branch did u go to? I squeezed the salesmen at IMM, Marina Square and Centrepoint =P

lawli: what size u looking at? too many ppl at expo tml, high chance u will be testing the bed with somebody else =P

Thomas : I went to the branch @ jurong point. Wah..U squeezed the salesmen at these 3 outlets. The next time they see you surely scared le. Must be thinking "jialat liao,hes here" haa

Btw, saw yr pics on FB.. yr wife looks really lovely and the pics are really nice. =)

icager: muahahahaa...yalor...most paiseh thing was ended up I din buy from them after squeezing them =P

thanks...she will be over the moon when I tell her tonite haha

yes, agree it is a good time to get the stuff we need, especially stuff for the home.

Thomas: Just for serta alone, you went to 3 outlets? So how many shops did you go to in total before you got your mattress? jialat lah you... must have scared all the sales people lor...

good day everyone...

ysday went in msia with hubby and MIL to see furniture.. bought our bed, mattress and wardrobe le.. din get our desire wardrobe size cos MIL keep saying that its too big even though can fit in =.=..

huisi: i went malaysia to see furniture too but only found sofa that i like. the rest were either not nice or too expensive (by malaysian standards) so no point ordering just one item. Which store did you go to?

lawli: haha thats why I said I went to so many places to try until I blur lol. It took us a few mths to finally shortlist and select our dream bed

I also lost count of how many shops I went to :P no lah, I did not squeeze those I wasn't interested in lah...only Serta, Slumberland and Dunlopillo salesmen kena me only cos we shortlisted these 3 =P

coden: simmons and sealy both high end stuff...serta is more affordable =)

lawli: got the slumberland royal excellence in the end. 3.2k for queen size. salesman kena squeezed till face turned green =P

hello all!

I got slumberland too

have any of start printing your inserts in the invitation cards? where are good places to recommend? i m collecting my cards tis wkend but havent thought what text/where to get it printed.

thanks thomas and ev3. i will go check out slumberland.

thomas: how did you come up with the chinese wording in the invitation card? do you have to tell the printer exactly what to say in the card?

afternoon all.. have nt been active here..

Have finally gone down to select e card & print e insert.. nw waiting for the artwork of e insert..

For album, hopefully can view e artwork next wk as well..

Completed meet e parents session as well..

Ev3, i printed my insert with Tdragon, actually wanted to go JB to print, much cheaper, but cos my card has cover to print as well.. & e shop in JB dun do printing for tat.. so end up all print in sg..

hi all... yes, long weekend over liao. Thankfully managed to do a few things for wedding/renovation over long weekend, but a bit kan cheong cos only less than 4 months left and i haven't come up with guest list yet....

Hi Lawli and Icager> Same here, i havent started on the guest list. left with 3+ mths only. Starting to feel stressed &amp; work been so hectic >.<.. hotel needs me to finalise a few things in July. I have collected the wedding cards but not the printing.

thanks Jolene for the recommendation. I have visited their website, will check out more. thx!

Hi ev3 : yEs..seems like time is running out. So many things to do yet so little time. =(

I went down T-dragon to collect my cards and do printing but still waiting for the artwork.

Got to finalise with the hotel by early July too..

opps! i haven't collected my cards or printed additional cards for church! actually how long in advance should we distribute the invitation cards? i thought maybe send a "save the date" message via sms or email first then follow up with invitation about 1 month before?

Lawli : My invitations would be distributed 2 weeks before my AD. Not sure if it'll be too rush. Yes, i think its good for us to send them a notification via email/sms first. =)

Im not going for food tasting though but i need to finalise the march-in/first dish songs, wedding favours and decoration with the hotel soon..

i have yet print my card insert nor finalise the guests list.. but i have write down a list of those who i m gg to invite so mayb by mid july i can start sms/email those who i m gg to invite. then will start to send out the cards by mid/late august.

icager: i think it is not too rushed so long as you have informed them of the date in advance. my worry about informing people too late is that will have a lot of last min cancellation/changes then very difficult to confirm final numbers. your hotel requires you to finalise the march-in song so early? why no food tasting? (i am just curious...)

Coden: I roughly know which groups of people to invite, but i just realised that there are other random friends (not part of any particular group/clique) that i may miss out...

lawli : Agree with u. But my worry is i can only send the invitation cards 2 weeks before my AD so dont know if there is enough time to finalise the number of tables and seating arrangement.

I wanted to finalise it earlier because my in-laws are superstitious about doing wedding preps during the lunar 7th month. No food tasting as i opted for 1 free table. =)

Coden : I have drafted out the guest list but doing up the seating arrangement is a big headache..

lawlipop:understand. therefore must sms/emeow them like July, then send the invites by end august. and i actually knoe some ppl last min cancel and dun come..=X

Icager: i oready draft out and seating arrangement done. so later when cfm liao then will rejust again. that will be easier.. =D

Coden : My friend's wedding some ppl didnt come w/o even informing.
Wow.. u are fast. Im lost with the seating arrangements as i have quite a number of tables. =(
By the way, do our in-laws and my family sit together at the VIP table?

evening all..

have roughly draft out e guestlist n sitting arrangement.. nearer e date will adjust again.. for sure like u all say.. sure gt some pple last min will back out de..

Hi Huisi and Randyce,

Notice that you had engaged willyoumarryme for emcee, bridal car..hmm juz wana check..

Did you meeet up with them b4 confirming the emcees and the car?or intro frm your fren?

cuz i saw the link in this thread so emailed them to enquire the price..intend to engage both emcee and rental of wedding car..

Here to look look see see.

Looks like I have to start drawing up the seating arrangement soon!
kao_dizzy.gif

Will u guys be writing the names of relatives, esp. the more senior ones, in Chinese characters? Friends, not so much of a headache, coz can be written in English.

I think we got to pay a bit of attention to how we address these seniors in the invitation cards, esp. the relationships, in Chinese.

Anyone knows all these, or any reference that we can make use of?

morning all..

chilli, my parents will be writing the cards for the relatives.. they will write in chinese.. yes, for chinese, there is certain addressing need to be done, if write wrongly some relatives might b unhappy.. i think i saw a website did say abt e addressing.. let mi find the link &amp; send to u..

icager: yes, if FILs are superstitious, then better just follow cos you also don't want to get into their bad books! my FILs didn't say anything so i will assume it is ok. Haha...

Coden: my dinner is actually during F1 night itself so i am expecting that some people will not come. Hope they don't inform me last min though...

chilli: i think will get FILs to write for their side ba. As for my relatives, they are mostly not chinese (i am mixed) so not so much of a problem. though there are still little things like addressing them as "mr &amp; mrs" or if their spouse already not around, then how to address them.

My problem with deciding on who to invite is that my dad has quite a few relatives that i don't know cos they live in Malaysia. So need him to tell me who but i think got some distant relatives (for eg, granddad's sibling's children) that i think he also not in contact with anymore! *confused*

Icager: if both side are of small family and they wouldnt mind sitting tgt.. then u can just have 1 VIP table. For me, 1 VIP table is enough liao.