(2010/09) Sept Brides

randyce: thanks! maybe i go check it out.

JoleneTan: yeah very qiao! I also thought same dress, but this we are from diff BS. Would your parents be ok with dressing the jiemeis n xiongdi in black? Thought the more traditional ones may veto. LOL

Jolene , Lawlipop : YEs... i also tot we chose the same gown frm same BS..hee..

Jolene : Yup..called to change makeup artist le. Saw on the forum tat theres tis makeup artist whos good so my co-ordinator (who's my current MUA nw) will arrange a time for trial makeup..

For the themes i cant choose dark colours as PIL veri superstitious type. Dun wanna get into trouble..Yes posing is very xinku..smile until cramp and body aching..=P
Yr corsages for xiongdis is for AD day / night?

Randyce : $100 for 3 dresses is veri reasonable. Do u have the link?

Belinda : When is yr PS. Enjoy tat day as those r precious memories to keep.

Huisi : Previously my colleague's wedding she asked me to help DIY an angpao box. I also got the box from Daiso. Its a pinkish silver shiny heart shaped box. Used ribbons to go around the side and decorated the top with 2 small wedding bears and blings. Costs me less than $20 for it. If im not wrong, they hv tat in pink n red.

icager: yeah, if PIL are very superstitious and not sure if they will mind, better play safe. Cos if they get offended over this, even if not really your fault, also bad cos you will need to face them for a long time after wedding.

lawipop, hehe.. think these r common colors ba.. so will be qiao.. me n randyce oso veri qiao, have e same color theme + same wedding heels.. think shld not be a prob.. cos i alrdy told our parents banquet will be black theme.. no objection, so i shall go ahead..hehe

Icager, wish u have better luck with the e new mua.. ya i rem u told mi b4 ur inlaw is pantang abt black.. the corsages for xiongdi will b for day, dun think they will need for nite.. e color theme for jiemeis oso for day only.. nite they r free to choose e color.. hehe

Lawlipop : YeaH.. i rather play safe than take the risk. I actualli wanted to choose a black gown for night but didnt. Have u finalised yr AD evening gown and teadress?

thanks everyone.. yes, we all will look stunning and all attention on us.. once in a lifetime experience.. woo~

icager > mine is next Friday.. Today's weather is not sunny, not hot but just humid.. ok, thanks!

btw, how's the sourcing for moms' dresses?

JoleneTan: true, quite standard colours.
Good thing your parents quite liberal and allow black. I think nowadays getting more common to have black theme too! Will you be choosing black theme for your banquet?

icager: another coincidence! I also almost chose a black gown for the night and didn't cos not sure if PIL will mind. In the end i chose it for PS only. Quite a waste cos it really was very nice and fitted very well too! I chose a light blue AD evening gown. Haven't chosen tea dress yet cos deciding between kua and tea dress. Not sure if kua will be too weird if wear and walk around the streets on AD?

Anyone wearing kua on AD for tea ceremony?

lawlipop.. im wearing kua for tea ceremony at my mother's side.

i tink e usual procedure is tea ceremony at guy side, then go outside take photos. after tat go back own house to change to kua/ tea dress then go bride's side tea ceremony. after this, will b end of ceremony....can relax liao... so u wun b walking ard w kua and walk on the streets.

huishan, for me will have a bit cos i will change to kua at church then head back to my place. but it will be short distance only...

oh yes, my BS said can wear during banquet also, when seeing the guests off...

icic... hee i tink its fine... its your big day. its ok for ppl to look at u on the streets... haha... during PS, people already look look liaoz... i tink our face should b thick enuff after that le hahaha...

Lawlipop :Initially I wanted to choose a black kimono liKe evening gown with red & gold sash. Luckily they hv the same one but in blue. Again, we both chosen blue but mines a diff shade,more to dark blue.

Guess u wont hv any issue with wearing KUA on the streets as Huishan said , u'll b wearing kua for bride's side ceremony then its over to your wedding dinner venue. And the distance and time of u walking ard the streets while @ the church will b short.
Im thinking of custom making a KUA liKe short cheongsum but not sure where to hv it done.

Icager, initially i saw a black eg frm BS quite nice, but then e theme alrdy black.. later black gown, cant find e bride.. so in e end chose another color.. i think i noe hw ur EG look like frm your description, cos there is this Kimono inspire eg that is black & red & another i think in white or ivory very popular among la belle bride & saw it in bridal mag.. e design is nice..

Randyce, veri qiao lo..

Lawlipop, think wedding, BS like to use e few colors.. but then, of cos there is oso special color oso la.. erm quite lucky lo.. will b chosssing black theme for my dinner as well..
Dunno wan chose kua or nt, cos e kua i wear liao nt veri immpressive, nw thinking to check out e teadress again or chose frm either of e 2outdoor gown tat i wear for PS.. eh some brides do change into thier teadress or take additional gown frm BS to wear to send off their guests..

WOW~ seems like many of u are gg to choose Purple for Jiemei... and i m oso choosing purple for my jiemei.. cos my ADG & EG all got purple..

feel so royal~ hee..

lawlipop > I am also wearing kua for tea ceremony. IMHO, felt that wedding is once in a lifetime event, also only time one can get to wear the kua.. We dont get to wear kua and walk on the road during other times. As for the tea dress and CS, we can wear them during functions like D&D, CS pops up more during CNY.

We will look stunning on our big day, I suppose most of us will not mind the extra attention from people.. Heehee, also.. it is the only time where we get all the attention..

icager > thanks..

Coden, my BS has a new royal purple EG with bling bling, but iyo, my mum n mil feel e cutting n e gown nt outstanding enough.. hence gave up..

belinda, true we only get to wear kua once, but hor.. my BS one nt veri nice leh.. still in considering shld go for it or nt..
i agree we sure dun mind e extra attention on our big day..

morning all...

yeah, i see what you girls mean. It is once in a lifetime so i should just wear what i want without thinking about extra attention from strangers.

jolene > I see.. Maybe you can get some suggestions from your mom and mil? See what they say before deciding?

randyce > want to ask you.. Did your PG bring you to labrador park for PS?

coden, u already have a rough plan for AD? I have no idea how to go about planning it..

gals > maybe you all can give me ideas..
Geomancer told us (hubby and me) that auspicious hour is from 9am-1pm. so, hubby has to leave home at 9am sharp, reach my place in ard 20-30min, leave for hubby's home to serve tea to PIL. leave for our love nest to change into kua. Geomancer said need to go to our love nest before going back to my mom's place. arrived at mom's place, serve tea and rush to restaurant for wedding lunch at 1pm.

lawlipop.. yes, jus go for it..

Belinda, mil suggested i wear my outdoor shoot gown as tea dress, mum suggested me to wear one EG that i use for indoor shoot as teadress.. nv say mus wear kua..

Coden, but u will still need to change into sth else b4 gg back to ur mum's plc

belinda, tat will b veri rush,cos my sil have wedding lunch.. we rushed e whole morn so tat can get to hotel in time.. bil pick up sil at 630am

afternoon all..

seems that most are wearing kua... I wanted to wear kua too.. cos its the only time to wear.. but hubby find it not nice.. so I go for cheong sum lookalike teadress...

jolene > :S ya lor.. So is your call. Since BS's kua is not nice, then drop that idea and choose either the tea dress or EG. Choose the one which you like better so you can wear it longer/take more pic with it.. heehee

huisi > heehee.. did you do PS wearing kua? with HTB wearing the male version of kua? at least can have pic for remembrance.

belinda: nope.. I din wear kua for PS also.. cos hubby dun wan.. haha.. he think very lao tu.. haha.. I only tried the kua during gowns selection... when he saw me in kua.. he gave me that disgusted look.. lol..

belinda, hehe.. in fact myself oso cant makeup my mind.. think jul then go try & select again..

huisi, my hubby opp wor.. tell mi i look cute in kua..

huisi > LoL.. during gown selection, hubby was ok with me wearing kua. Yup, some people think is lao tu.. I even asked BS whether they got the headgear for the kua (the big red pearl headgear with you can see in period drama), too bad they dont have it..

lawlipop: i m doing wedding lunch, thrfore after gatecrash i will go take pics then straight away go to hotel to get ready for my ROM liao. so i will only be wearing teadress for ROM & Tea ceremony.

belinda: i think once u reach ur PIL place, u need to change to KUA to serve tea to ur PIL liao.. (this is the usual case)then go back to ur love nest then to ur parent hse.

i have nothing much to plan actually.. cos mine is a lunch.. so cnt do much oso.. =D

Coden, i see i see. So basically because you can't wear the kua for the ROM ceremony and no time to change another outfit, so tea dress more suitable ba.

coden > is it? I was told by both BS and mom that I have to change when going back home, i.e. serving tea at mom's side. for PIL, i will be wearing my WG as tea ceremony at PIL side is done after Hubby comes to fetch me to his place.

haha.. mine also wedding lunch.

belinda: so far.. i been many time as sister.. most of them change when reach the PIL hse then they serve tea.. but if ur mum say so then u just follow loh..

I will b wearing kwa too on my AD and during PS, my hubby wore the traditional guy wear to match my kwa, it turned out very cute and we liked the shots v much hehe. i have a rom dress/tea dress which i have not selected for my AD, but during tea-ceremony to my parents, i will change into kwa. just once-in-a lifetime experience =)

morning all...

Coden, would it be possible to have tea ceremony after lunch? Not sure if this is "allowed", but that should give you more time?

lawlipop: can lah, but if i m gg to do it after lunch, i think all will be tired liao.. so i arrange it like 11am ROM, 11.15am - 12pm tea ceremony, then change bk to gown. Lunch will start at 12.45pm. then all can go home at 3.30pm.. hahha.. =P

bel, ur schedule sounds tight...for my lunch, we did all our tea ceremonies in the hotel, no time to run here and there. We managed to go to our new house for the jumping bed session though.

Mrg all...

Coden : My AD will be veri rushing too.. Cos me and hubby live veri far away. One in North side, another in West side. -_-"

Hello All..

Sigh.. Yup, schedule will be very tight. Hubby lives around 20min drive away from me.. Lovenest is 5-10 min drive away from mom's place. So everything cannot be delay. Cos it seems that we need to pray to ancestors at our respectives home.
Did suggest to mom to do tea ceremony at restaurant but like no response from her.
But one good thing though - good excuse for no gatecrashing games and maybe also good excuse for teasing of the newly weds during the lunch? Since I have to clear the place latest by 4pm?

What do you guys say if the wedding lunch starts at 1pm or 1.30pm?

since both of u are staying so far away apart, its better for u to hold ur tea ceremonies in the restaurant. even for mine at the hotel I already find timing just nice liao...my wife got one of her JMs to be timekeeper to remind us constantly so that we weren't late for any of the events.

honestly u shld have gatecrashing...that's the most fun part.

my lunch was supposed to start at 1pm but didn't start until 1.45pm due to a technical glitch. Still ended early though which was beyond my expectations.

belinda, in that case you might want to consider starting your day earlier. Cos if you normally take 20 mins to reach hubby's house, need to add in additional buffer as you will take longer to get around and walk in your gown etc.

I once attended wedding lunch that started at 1pm. It ended by 4pm. but i think also depends on how many tables you have cos phototaking takes more time if you have more tables. They usually serve the dishes faster for lunch i think. 1.30pm may be a bit late ba.