(2010/04) ROM in April 2010

oh no! just one day and u girls have posted so many things! i cant catch up with it.. haa..

Lee : wow! u know the procedure so well.. i have received Dr. Phua lic number.. so can i proceed with the filing? or is there anything else? do i need to wait for him to mail me the consent form? cos he said he will be posting out to me..

u mean i have to print the form again for JP to sign?

hey! thanks for the info.. =)

Sophia : oh, u getting pinnacles @ duxton.. yes yes! need a lot of $$$$$ for renovation etc.. thats why i have yet to shift in though i have collected the keys.. hehe.. other than renovation, gotta buy furnitures etc.. sigh!! gonna cost a bomb + AD.. *faint*

Yup! I thought of marching in too.. any nice song to recommend?

Am inviting 40 guests (only relatives).. thought thats consider a lot for solemnization.. normally is there a number of ppl to invite?

Yes, i think we need a hand bouquet on ROM.. look nicer.. hehe..

Oh ya, any emcee on that day? is it necessary?

Hey! u girls mentioned what collection of certs on 30 March?? whats that abt?? Did i miss out anything important?

the three of us having solemnization on same day right?

kunniqinwa: Girls are talkative lol.

Yar go ahead with efiling. Make sure you have the name and NRIC of the 2 witnesses. If he said send you then no need to print lor.For mine, i print and sign then send to my JP. He sign then return me.

If you all find nice songs, must share. Need suitable songs for the march in.

There's no "number of people" to invite. Usually just family/relatives and maybe a few very close frens. I have many relatives, so just inviting like one-fifth only. Quite hard, like invite this never invite that so bu hao yi si.

Hmm then need to look for flowers but like no budget already. So many little add-ons.

For me, no emcee. No $. Not even engaging VG or PG. Trying to cut cost. If you need emcee, then ask a fren to help. Think just a few sentences only.

You need to efile first then will know when to collect cert.

Yes yes. Interesting hor. I choose cause long weekend. U?

Yes we need bouquet..

I like the song "I'm yours" from jason marc.. don't know if i got the singer's name correct.. but i love this song.. maybe u all can consider.. haha.. will inform u all more when i done my research.

Kunniqinwa: yes Lee is right, emcee u can just get your fren to help. cos only need to announce "let's rise and welcome the new wed couple XX & XX to march in now".. aft that the solemniser would take over the mic i guess.. haha

And yes three of us solemnising on the same date.. cool!! i believe ur appt to collect the cert should be the same as us ba.. faster go efile and u would know.

Lee: Yupz, i also invited close friends and some close aunts and counsins,,

Ya lor, everything need money.. i still need to buy wine.. my fren requested for it.. lol..

I don't think i need emcees lar.. since i not doing march in..
FOr me, i'm quite lucky.. my fren whom is a pro PG is helping me to take my ROM as a wedding gift for free.. i can't be more glad than this. =D

Oh i selected 3rd apr because i need to ROM by apr and so i went to a master to count the auspicious date for me.. and 3rd apr is the only sat in apr. haha..
and i didn't know it's a long weekend until i wanted to apply leave on fri to collect my dress then i realise it's a long weekend. Consider lucky.. haha..

What u girls intend to do after the solemnisation ends? go out with frens? go home? and what should we call our in-laws? lol
i have been wondering for a long time.. should we call them father & mother after ROM or customary?

hey ladies, so long never come to this thread and suddenly its so lively.. haha..

anyways, just want to comment on dr phua tan tee.. im getting him for my JP but previously didnt have prior experience with him... then last sunday i went to friend's rom and realise dr phua was their JP.. so i thought might wanna let those who are getting him as well knw how he is from my own personal experience.

my friend's rom was at amara hotel and the solemnisation was supposed to start at 2pm. however, guests late and the whole thing started of a little shaky, so the ceremony ended up starting at 2.30pm. dr phua was quite patient and spent that 30mins talking to groom, bride, witnesses and the guests.

ive been to a few ROMs and i think the best way to describe dr phua is "humorous". he has a comical voice somehow, and he's powerful at loosening the atmosphere. we were laughing at what he said 1/2 the time. my friend requested him to speak in hokkien because there were elderly in the guests and dr phua ended up speaking in hokkien, english and chinese, which was quite interesting. his language isnt fluent but can do. he seems to be a more chinese speaking person.

one thing which wasnt as well as i felt it could was the vows part. i would like my vows-reading to be romantic and touching, bt somehow.. dr phua delivered it too 'boomz' and it sounded like he was announcing a new brand of washing machine or something(like, "nowwwwww, WILL <name> place the RING upon <bride's> secooooond last finger!) quite dramatic reading.

however, he did say some really touching stuff which made the groom tear(i think, i was seating too far to see the actual tears but groom looks teary and rubbed eyes).

so overall there's element of comedy, boomz, and a hint of romantic.

he also took twice the amount of time for the solemnisation as compared to those i went to bcos he talked quite a bit. bt in a good way. probably bcos i was really engrossed to see how he performed as he is going to be my JP too, but i could see a couple of my friends getting bored at the last 5-10mins.

overall, i think dr. phua is:

funny: 4.5/5
romantic: 3/5
skills &amp; expertise: 5/5
communication: 4.5/5
spoken communication: 3.5/5
overall: 4/5

for me, i think i really like him, especially after having a close up experience with him. its like a preview of my own rom. haha. i wont divulge the stuff he said bcos i dnt wanna spoil the surprise for u btbs but i think he said some pretty unique stuffs.

Sophia: Me too, i will be getting sparkling wine. It's our engagement wine so we would like to share it with everyone on our ROM.

So envious that you have FOC pro-PG. What a nice fren.

It's auspicious date. Hmm hope it is for us too haha. I never find master to count.

Have not decided what to do after that. Everything will end early afternoon so plenty of time.

What to call? I also dont know. Think react accordingly. See what he call haha.

Judy: Last time you said "Relax, relax" so how's your preparation now?

Yar, Dr Phua is good. You did a good description. For my fren's one, the vows part was ok.

Judy: THanks for the detail description of Dr Phua. You make me feel like changing JP. LOL.

Lee: how come sparkling wine is your engagement wine? If you are using sparkling wine, you would need to arrive early to chill the wine right?

Actually ROM no need auspicious date one.. i think it's more for the customary. But for this master, he gave me 3 years of auspicious date up till 2012 for me to pick my AD, so i might as well use it for my ROM. haha..

For mine everthing will end ard 4pm. I'm wondering what to do after that. Haha.. going home seems boring..

He proposed at the winery, overlooking the vineyard. So we had wine and lunch after that. The bottle of wine we had on that day was hence our engagement wine.

Will be there early for make-up plus still need guest arrival time and solemnization time so more than enough time.

OIC. Which master did you go to? I was thinking customary want to go count or not.

Mine will end at 1pm. Why is yours so long? 11am-4pm? 5 hours?

awww.. so sweet.. *envy*
you know what? My boyfriend has not proposed to me.. and our ROM is in 51 days!! lol..

We are so call 'forced' to ROM so sudden cos of the flat.. anyway he told me he would proposed before our ROM. Hopefully he keep his promise. Haha.. Else i'll make sure he get me a big big diamond ring as compensation for not proposing to me.. haha *oops*

Oh i went to Master Long, not sure if u heard about him. But i think he quite nice and pro. He charge $100 for the 3 years of dates, plus he teach you on guo da li, an chuang and stuffs. And he even teach us how to save money on unnecessary stuffs. Oh, and he also count if you or your husband got any bad/unwanted 'tao hua yun' in your marriage life. If yes, he will teach u what to do/and how to avoid it. If you want his contact you can pm me! =)

No harm counting the date though. haha

eh.. long meh?
11am - guess arrival
11.30am - Solemnisation
12 - 3pm - Lunch
then i give myself one hours to change, pack, etc.. i think my close frens might come up to my room also.

Maybe he is planning to give you a nice one so need more time. Dont think about it then you will be surprise when he do it. I told my bf that i dont want to apply flat till he proposed. So wont have this problem. Dont like to get married cause of flat.

Master Long??? No idea. Not sure if i will be counting date.

oh, so it's 4 hrs. Mine is 3 hrs only.

Sophia &amp; Lee : Ladies, thanks for the wonderful info that u've provided but i have yet to do the filing.. workload is piling up.. i will have to really sit down to do it tmr!!! haa.. yes! yes! hopefully we will collect on the same day and get to see each other! haa.. so excited abt it ^^

I didnt invite any frds.. like what Lee said, bu hao yi shi.. cos afraid i will miss out anyone so better keep it to simple only to family =)

We didnt find any master to see the dates.. chose that date cos flip thru the 'tong shu' ourselves and thats the only auspicious in apr that falls on Saturday (almost same as Sophia).. ha! cos like i mentioned earlier, we have collected our keys mths ago, requested to defer our ROM date so gotta submit the cert to HDB by apr.. Yuppie! its a long weekend.. no plan yet.. how abt u girls? gg out after solemnization? i think we be tired after it cos mine end at 5pm.. haa

Sophia, dun worry.. I believe your HTB will give u a big big sweet surprise!! i didnt expect mine to propose too cos its like we alr applied flat and been tgt for so long.. =)

Judy : Thanks for the feedback on Dr Phua!!! He agreed to be my solemnizer and i'm glad to see all the wonderful comments u have for him!! im so looking forward to seeing him ^^

so how's your preparation coming along? did u mentioned that yours is outdoor? doing DIY deco? ;p

Lee: haha.. my bf is not someone romantic nor will give surprise one lar.. so i better dun think abt it too much.. else will disappoint myself. LOL..

Yeah ya 4 hrs.. give the guest more time to eat and mingle ard mah..

Kunniqinwa: yaya.. think most prob our appt is the same.. i has change my appt back to 10.30.. got something on in the noon.. think we can all see each other there at 10.30am. haha.. doing the vows.

wah u nv invite frens alr 40 pax.. i only invite super close frens and relative.. trying to keep it to 30, but quite hard though.

kunniqinwa: Can see that your workload is piling up. You are still posting at 1.44am!

I never check tong shu. We just anyhow choose date. Hmm so it's generally auspicious day.

Sophia: Mine is not romantic either leh. But guess most guys will put a bit more effort for the proposal. He need help? Can I ask me lol.

I kept mine short cause need more $ to rent the venue for longer duration. 2 hours should be enough for buffet lunch and photo-taking =)

Have you finished your ROM prep?

Kunniqinwa: ya lor.. you no need to work in the morning? how come you slept so late!

Lee: Haha.. i think most guys not romantic one.. so most of the time is we girls expecting too much and end up disappointing ourselves. If we don't expect anything, it might turn out to be a big surprise for us! haha..

oh.. ur venue is count by hours? for mine it's not.. it's in the package.. 11-3.30.. something like this..

More or less finish i supposed.. i don't know what else to prepare.. JP, Venue, Dress, PG, efile, shoe, wedding band, hand bouquet, MUA, still searching outfit for my htb. Did i miss anything out?

Sophia: Yar quite true haha.

It's a package but yes, they factor in time.

I am short of hand bouquet and outfit for htb.

Did you miss out anything... hmm... how about guest list, invitation cards, accessories, pen, ang pao box, guest book, music and photos?

Sophia &amp; Lee : Haa.. Of cos i need to work else no $$$$ for wedding ah! lolx.. I have to wake up at 7am everyday, work starts at 8am till 4.30pm! slogged everyday! how abt u girls? so gd can be online while at work? ;p

Sophia : yup, dun think too much.. it will happen when u least expect it! u will be caught in a surprise and be so touched by then! thats how it should be.. hehe..

Yeah, i will be doing the e-filing after this..

My package at Gallery Hotel is actually for 30 pax but we added another 10 pax.. cos my mum has total of 7 siblings! ha.. what a big family i have.. HTB's side only a few attending.. ha..

Lee : Seems like u girls having longer solemnization time? Mine is only from 2pm to 5pm! ONLY 3 hrs.. will it turn out to be very rush?

WOW! need to prepare invitation cards too? accessories eg.? ang pao box as well? guest bk? photos? need all these?? OMG..

kunniqinwa: your post is so late again lol. Must sleep earlier. We need beauty sleep before our ROM.

Still have not efile? You said for many days already. Jia you.

7 is not a lot for last time. Both my parents have more than that. Try to imagine mine lol.

My one is same as yours. 3 hours.

The country club giving me invitation cards and guest book so i will have. Mine is a tube top so need necklace and earrings else look bare. Ang pao box is optional, if the groom has lots of pockets then no need. But i was thinking consolidate in a box and ask someone to take care so we no need to bother about keeping/losing the red packets. Reception table put small photo frame and pretty pens will be nice. Up to you, these are all add on. Just throw them out for you to consider.

Lee : Ha! Yup, i usually sleeps at around midnight.. will have to start changing my routine n have more beauty sleep.. Hey, r u all having any supplement?

lolx! i have been talking abt the e-filing since the first day i started this thread.. and finally i have just completed.. yeah! *phew*

wow! both your parents have more than that? how many guests u invited? mine is 40 pax and majority is from my side.. hehe..

the country club provided u with invitation cards and guest bk? hmm, am gonna request for it too! thanks for your suggestions!! really appreciate it! i didnt thought of all these.. will have to really sit down and write out the list of things to do.. i have not choose my tea dress, will be gg down to my BS end of Feb to choose.. =)

kunniqinwa: No routine. I only take multi-vitamins when i dont feel well or when travelling.

Haha, finally efiled.

60. Half from each side. Not inviting a lot of relatives since there are so many of them.

Yar, just ask cause hotels should have and doesnt cost them much to throw in for you.

Easier for you since you already have BS. So they will cover your MUA, flowers etc too? Mine is DIY so lots to think about.

oic.. cos heard the gd comment on fancl tense up, am considering.. =)

yes, finally efiled.. so is there anything i need to do next after efiled? they will contact me to confirm?

oh! u not inviting all the relatives? (as in aunts / uncles / cousins?) thought of inviting frds but kinda in difficult spot cos not possible to invite all frds so beta not..

have emailed the hotel, hope to hear gd news from them

yup, they should cover it cos its included in the package.. so how's yours coming along? DIY alot to do right? are u working? must be tedious to juggle between work and the DIY if u r working..

kunniqinwa: Just rem the consent form and to go collet the certs nearer to date. Think nothing else liao.

Cant invite all relatives. If all then i need 10 tables for my side.

I'm more or less done with the major stuff. Looking into small details now. DIY just have to find dress/suit and MUA. Yes, working. But still ok to DIY for ROM. Plus I have cousins/friends helping me (duties all assigned - coordinator, receptionist, decorator, JP in charge, PG, VG and my personal asst) =D

Got to go, 15 more mins to countdown. Oh ya, Happy New Year!

sorry was busy with CNY these few days.. wow u all posted so much stuffs. haha..

Lee: the hotel gave me invitation card.. but i dun want to use lar.. i just mass sms my frens and relative. for ang bao box it's more of a AD thingy mah.. so i tot usually solemnisation ppl wun give ang bao.. so i not having ang bao box too.. the thing i want to find is pen.. i still don't knw where to look for nice pen.

I'm wearing a tube dress too.. and i can rent accessories with the dress. so shouldn't be a problem.

Do we need coordinator? JP incharge do what? entertaining the JP? need personal asst? i haven't even think of all these.

Kunniqinwa: Yes collagen is good for our complexion. But tense up is quite expensive. maybe you can try taking powder form collagen. Much cheaper. =)

And yeah.. Happy CHinese new year!! Gong xi fa cai. <3

Sophia: Me too. Busy with CNY visiting.

For pens, did you take a look at the links which I sent you previously?

Depending on you. For that day, I am leaving everything to my helpers. Coordinator will have the say in everything that day, direct liaison with club in case anything not done. JP in charge is needed cause ROM said that "Please ensure you have arranged for a friend or family member to receive, keep him company and send him/her off." PA will be beside me to run errands etc.

I dont have to think or do anything on that day since everything has been assigned to someone. So can just enjoy the event happily.

Lee : Sad news! Gallery hotel not giving any invitation cards or guest book!! sigh.. they said its only for wedding day! ha.. anyway i was hoping fr guest bk.. think gotta make or buy one myself.. u girls have any idea on how to make? haa..

yeah, think we collecting certs on same day 30th Mar (Tuesday) the timing is between 10.30 to 11.30 right?

wow! u have so many ppl helping u out.. i didnt assign task fr anyone.. hmm, think will get my aunt to be the emcee and cousin or HTB's sis to usher the JP..

Sophia : Happy CNY~ whats the col of your tube dress? hmm, both u and Lee wearing tube dress? hmm, i will be choosing next fri.. have nt decide wat col..

Yes, tense up is very ex.. i have tried one box.. am considering whether to get another box.. ha! cant see much effect since its only my first box and i didnt take it regularly.. ;p

kunniqinwa: They are not very nice. Also dont cost much to them. Seem like before signing must ask for everything.

If you want to DIY, can go craft shop and buy nice papers. If not, then just buy one. Guest book should be available off the shelf. Invitation card have to hunt around for nice ones or you can get it custom printed.

Yes, same date, same time. See you!

Yar, 1 person cant do much. Everyone in charge of a little then not taxing mah. Big day must enjoy.

Yar, mine is white. Tube top, knee length. Has a white flower at the waist there on the side. Maybe you can consider white too. Feel more like getting married lol. Dont get pink.

Both: For the decoration, do you all have any colour theme? Choosing any flowers?

I'm still thinking what to do after ROM. 1pm only hmmm.....

Are you all looking for hotel soon? Decided on AD date?

Lee : Ha! Ya, they were saying invitation card charge at $3 per piece and guest bk $20!! sigh.. sound so unfriendly right? i have nt send in my deposit chq and sign the contract but have confirmed the venue with Dr Phua alr so wont be changing.. hope it will turn out well on that day.. *cross my fingers* ha!

Most likely i wont be sending out invitation cards, will mass send text to my relatives or call them to inform.. =)

I'm nt gd with DIY, might get ideas from colleagues who r creative.. ha! A guest book will be nice for everyone to sign and leave a sweet lovely note in it.. something memorable.. ^^

I'm doing almost everything myself.. plus work! its tedious! now am down with sore throat and flu!

Dun get pink? ha.. pinnk is actually my fav col.. but was telling HTB that pink doesnt suit my age anymore.. lolx! i was thinking white, purple or black? haa..

col theme?? the hotel gave me 4 col options, will have to discuss with HTB.. i want something to match my dress..

Mine ending at 5pm.. no where to go at the moment.. but wat will u be calling his parents? daddy mummy? ha..

Nah, have yet to decide the AD date.. it will be next yr end or even 2012.. must settle financial first... will have to spend a bomb... scary!! how abt u??

kunniqinwa: Wow, they trying to rob you. That's so expensive. Negotiate? Ask them to throw in the guest book before you sign?

If you dont want to DIY, then just buy one bah.

Try to get some help. You need to stay pretty and not worry about anything on that day. Take good care. Hope you recover soon. Must be in your best on that day.

Pink is usually for bridesmaids or associated with 2nd marriage for bride. If you want pink then get a shade nearer to red. I think white or purple is ok. Dont see people wearing black for wedding.

Hmm cant answer you yet. I also dont know what to call. Should we ask parents or decide by ourselves? And if you call both mummy, how to you differentiate when both are together?

I'm looking at end 2011 or first half of 2012. My flat likely to be ready end 2012 or early 2013 so was thinking of settling the wed dinner before house. After wed dinner can concentrate on renovation/furniture etc. If everything together will be too stressful, both taxing on finance and time. But house not ready have headache also, after dinner should stay together? Moving twice will be energy draining and so troublesome. Is it weird to stay apart after wed dinner till flat is ready in a few mths time?

Will you all be going on a trip after ROM? Pre-honeymoon? Since wedding dinner is not so soon yet?

Lee : Ya lo.. daylight robbery! lolx! how to negotiate? in my email i said "thought there will be complimentary invitation cards or even just a guest bk?" haa.. i sound so keen on guest bk alr but still a NONO.. sigh! anyway, nvm la.. will DIY or buy one then.. i have nt drop by to meet up with the lady from Gallery.. was wondering is it necessary?

Yeah, will try get help.. hopefully everything will turn out well... getting nervous as the date draw nearer.. ha!!

oh! i didnt know pink is usually for 2nd marriage??!! really??!! hmm, we were thinking of getting pink then htb can wear something pink too.. ha! think i better reconsider then..

yup, kinda weird la.. shall wait and see what they want me to call then.. hehe..

Oh! mine is ready but we are nt ready to shift in.. ha!! think should be ok to stay apart but fr me i would prefer to stay together.. anyway, me and htb have been together fr 11yrs, sometimes stays over at each other's hse so makes no diff la.. haa!

I thought of gg fr a shirt getaway but can only travel during sch holiday so even if want, the earliest will be june.. How abt u girls?

Oh ya, where's Sophia?? still enjoying CNY?? MIA fr days!! hehe....

Girls, i'm back.. haha.. still in CNY.. everyday slack, rot, go visiting.. lol

Kunniqinwa: you don't email them, you call the person in charge.. usually in person they don't reject you that much. Tell them almost all the hotel that you ask for quotes has complimentary guest bk and invitation cards for solemnisation. And now you are only requesting for guestbook. They are really so unflexible.

My dress is off-white. cannot remember also.. cos haven go for my fitting yet. Dark purple or dark pink is nice.. but im thinking that for my AD tea ceremony, so stick to white for ROM.

Wah you and htb together for 11years? you all together since sec sch? haha im only guessing, For me &amp; my htb only together for 2 years!! lol..

Lee: think im not having any trip aft the rom.. cos i need to save for my renovation/furniture/electrical appliances. Maybe will go for honeymoon trip aft my AD.

We plan to have our AD 4th qtr 2011 (subject to financial availbility). haha.. now need to headache about my flat first.. we plan to go find hotel after june. How about you girls?
Which hotel are you girls considering? And what's your budget per table? I hope to have a table less than $900 but quite hard for hotel right? *headache* haha.. When you girls plan to go look for hotel for AD?

And i think it's ok to stay apart for a few months until the flat is ready. But i think most parents wouldn't allow it. Maybe you can try to move to his house for that few months until your house is ready?

kunniqinwa: haha, need to learn art of negotiation. Wow, you never even go down before. I have already went down to the venue 3 times. 1st time to see the place. 2nd time to talk about engaging them and our requirements. 3rd time to finalised the changes and sign. My side is quite nice, the manager throw in quite a few things for us except the price cannot change. So add in whatever i can think of and he is ok for most items.

Yar lor, keep thinking what else i need to prepare or miss out. Some things like music etc not yet find.

Colours depend on culture also lah. If you really like the dress then go ahead. Just find the best dress.

Yar, some people say not good to stay apart after wedding. Hmm. Wow, you have been together for 11 yrs. That's since 1999. Sec or JC/Poly days?

You are teaching? Hmm i would like to but no $$. Cutting down on trip to save money for wedding and house. After thinking about wedding, suddenly feel so broke.

Haha. You ask for her and she came in lol. Heard you?

Sophia: 2 yrs only. That's still honeymoon period. Need to learn from kunniqinwa haha.

Same same. We are both "going to be broke". I want a short trip after ROM but i dont want to part with my money. Hahaha. Any lucky draw to win lol. Or any sponsors out there heard my wish? =) Guess not, so likely wont be going. Wait for honeymoon 2 yrs later.

I think i will go look around for hotel in April. $900nett is ok for weekday or if you want lunch. Weekend still possible but for lower range hotels. Means those below $770++, just a few choices only. Think the few below:

Furama Riverfront Singapore
Peninsula.Excelsior Hotel
Parkroyal on Kitchener Road
River View Hotel

I have some quotes, if you want then PM me your email address. My fren forwarded them to me.

Initially i was thinking $800 per table then after asking around, realised nothing much to choose. Hotels are so expensive. So now thinking of below $1000. But that will be very taxing on finance. Still have to factor in pre-wedding photograpy and BS package etc. Plus cost for honeymoon and house renovation. Not sure where all the money is going to come from. Credit card? Then use ang pao to pay after that? Sound so ke lian. But if dont do a nice one then next time look back will it be sad?? Money can earn back next time but wedding only once. Is this correct? Or better to do budget a bit and save the $$ for rainy days? *pondering*

I'm already not having PG and VG for ROM =( Cost cutting. Dont want to overspend. Already decided but wonder why still feel reluctant sigh.

Moving to his house for few mths is troublesome leh. But i guess no choice. Hope the flat will be ready earlier.

hello again.. busy week with cny and all that. finally got time to catch my breath.. haha..

lee &amp; kunniqinwa: i thought my preparations were almost done.. then we had to chnge our venue as we cant accomodate everyone we have invited. initially we booked my condo's clubhse but we can only hold abt 50 people and my guest list is well over 100, so scrambled to find a location which we can hold it at.

finally decided to hold it at Japanese Garden. its a pretty awesome place but the price is a little steep($900). the good thing is we dont need to do decor much as the place is already beautiful enough. we booked the guesthouse and the whole garden area around it.

here are some photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/47678191@N04/

pretty excited about it as the day is coming nearer. im also moving hse on 24th march so its quite hectic for me.

oh by the way, if there are any brides holding their wedding/solemnisation at Changi Cottage(Aloha Changi), pls take note. Seems like there are many couples who held their solemnisations there based on the blogs i googled. a word of caution - my friend recently held his there about a month ago. the management popped by and slapped him with a fine of a few thousand dollars.

Judy: Wow suddenly change place. So you catering food there too? The price is ok lah, such a big place with so many guest. Work out to $9 per pax only. Think like that then feel better haha.

Where will you be staying? New house or moving to your htb's house?

Wow, how come get a fine? What went wrong?

Lee: Actually i like Grand Copthorne also.. the grand ballroom is so nice. haha.. hmm i would have to search for more places before deciding. You going to search in april? then you would need to get your dates ready.

Erm i also not sure where to get the $$ from. But i heard from my friend, some actually call to increase the limit of the credit card on the actual day. As for my friend, she calculate and paid with the ang bao money the next day before checking out. And lucky her, her ang bao money was enough to cover all her banquet and BS expenses.

I don't wish to earn for banquet, i will be contented as long as i don't need to come up with so much money. haha.

Lee, yeah you still got time.. faster save.. i regret not saving earlier.. now everything comes together.. i'm struggling. Imagine.. after the wedding.. the babies will come. *headache* lol..

Since you not engaging VG &amp; PG, you getting ur friends to help u take pics/video?

I getting my friend to help me take video.. haha

From what i know, usually HDB will give keys earlier than the stated delivery date.

Judy: ya what went wrong? how come suddenly fine your friend?

Sophia: Oic. I never see Grand Copthorne's ballroom before. Think have to shortlist some and go down to take a look. A lot of nice hotels but budget a bit worrying.

Yar, will have to plan a date. Have to discuss with htb whether to go see master to count date. He's not in Sg now.

If ang bao $$ can cover dinner will be very good already. Then just need enough for BS,VG,PG and honeymoon which will be quite a lot also.

I have been saving, only pamper myself with a few trips overseas. Mainly the $$ go to paying for school fee. So not much savings.

Think can only cope for ROM and wedding with the help of red packets. Honeymoon and House renovation may have to delay if not enough. Babies... will be headache. I like children but cost is a bit of a concern. Have to save up again before having one. One step at a time bah. Cannot think so far else depressing haha.

Yar, no pros. So just take using normal digital camera and normal camcorder.

Yes already factor the time in. It's printed by 2014 latest. Should expect it to be ready by early 2013. If everything go well, maybe will be late 2012. Hence i plan AD to be late 2011 and 1st half 2012.

Are we meeting up when collecting cert at ROM? Just to say "hi"? How to recognize each other haha.

Hi Lee: yeah.. i also wanna shortlist some hotels.. need to do lots of research.. but after the rom i will be busy doing renovation and furniture.. so u update me when u got any quotations &amp; pictures ok? hee..

i actually got dates alr.. but need to decide whether i want a weekend or weekday.. Weekday seems much cheaper. =p

Ya.. my savings has been going into my studies, house and ROM.. need to resave for the wedding.. =( aiyo.. dun get into depression.. that's scary.. lol.. take one step at a time.

i don't mind meeting up and say hi to each other.. but i guess there will be lots of ppl there collecting their cert.. and everyone's appt time seems to be 10.30 - 11.30.. how do we recognise each other? haha..

Sophia: I have sent the quotes to you. Those are from my friend. I have not started searching yet.

Weekend will be a better mood cause everyone no need to rush home. If budget allow then do weekend bah. If you find a hotel that you like but over budget then take weekday.

Good that you have date already. I'm waiting for my htb to come back so can discuss. But he is still stuck there cause jetstar canceled the flight back. Delayed till tmr night then can be back. So inconvenient, have to take extra day of leave and disrupt my plan for the day.

Now busy with ROM stuff. Currently sorting thr photographs to pick a few out and put on the slide show. DIY-ing my own photo slide-show.

Tie a white ribbon/paper/lace on wrist? =D See if fate bring us together wahaha. If confirm want to meet must PM to exchange hp nos.

Lee: you are so prompt in replying! =) Great.. haha.. and thanks, i've rec the quotes.

Ya of cos i would like to have my AD on a weekend, more people can attend and no need to take leave. I will definitely take weekend if budget allows me. Oh and Grand park orchard is building now. Maybe by the time on our wedding dates, it will be ready. Hopefully the price is ok too..

I haven been doing much on my rom stuffs now.. been rushing with assignments and exams. so stress.. you DIY-ing slides show? when u intending to flash the slide shows? Give me some ideas. haha..

Haha.. ribbon? haha.. why not wear a colour that other will not wear, easier? hahaha.. i don't mind exchanging hp no. see what kunniqinwa says. now her turn to mia? lol.

Sophia: Planned to go out today but cause of jetstar so staying at home.

Yar, more hotels popping out with the IR too. Now not focusing on hotel yet. Settle ROM first.

Will be running the slideshows during the guest arrival. Just a front page and some photos then repeat it. Will run it during the first ~30 mins while waiting for everyone to settle down. If everyone on time etc then will start earlier.

Unless you are wearing something like striking lemon green or something else how to have a colour that we have and others wont wear. Hahaha.

Haa! OMG.. u girls have posted so many entries! I'm trying to catch up now.. lolx! Was sick over the past few days.. still having sore throat and cough!

Lee &amp; Sophia : Have discussed with HTB, we might drop by the hotel next Fri to discuss the details with the person in charge.. So u girls having guestbook? Am not sure to get one or not? Is it necessary?

Will let u girls know the colour of my tea dress after i try out next Fri ^^

Yuppie, we've been together since sec sch days.. does that relieve my age? lolx! wow sophia still 2 yrs! gd, still having honeymoon period..

And yes, am teaching so can only travel during sch holiday. How abt u girls? Most likely wont be gg holiday after ROM, need to save up $$$$$.. Lots of planning, gotta spend $$$ wisely! hehe..

Actually for me, i'm okay with holding AD anywhere but HTB said hold in hotel cos once in a lifetime. So i will do planning for ROM, AD leave it to him. Ha! I would prefer to do AD on Fri or Sat but its definately gonna be more ex than weekdays. Anyway, usually ang pao money will be enough be cover everything. Ha!

Wow! u girls r gonna start sourcing so soon? Hmm, think i will just wait till year end.. dun wanna stress myself on this.. cos am planning to do AD next yr end or 2012 so there's still enough time right? hee.. i always do last min work ;p

Grand Copthorne? Hmm, Sophia doing solemnization there right? Any further discount if u have your AD at the same place? Oh ya Lee, which country club u holding your solemnization?

I have my VG and PG ready fr solemnization and AD.. HTB has signed up VG and PG package..

Yes, usually HDB will release the flat earlier.. Mine was initially stated in Year 2011 but we took our keys last yr Oct..

Lee, u DIY-ing slides show? how to do it? u gonna play it during the solemnization? hey, teach me pls.. hee!! I have not choose songs/music etc.. sigh! think im the only one still so relax.. ha!!

Yeah, i dun mind meeting up on that day! That will be great.. hehe! I will PM u girls my contact =)

Judy : why last min change venue? thank god u managed to find a nice place! =)

U mean its illegal to hold solemnization at Changi Cottage(Aloha Changi)? The management really fine your frd?? I mean, how can they be so inconsiderate? sigh!

U moving into your in-laws house or your new house? Congrats!!! =)

Kunniqinwa: oops sorry, i didn't know i didn't allow pm.. ok now i allowed! =)

i knew u are teaching too, since your working hours starts and end so early. haha.. 2years also no more honeymoon lar.. i think honeymoon only first 6 months. haha..

Eh i don't think got any discount if i have my AD at grand copthorne, but maybe can try asking. haha..

I don't need to choose music alr. cos my hotel told me that they only allow original cd, i cannot play music i burn. But they told me they will play romantic music throughout my event.

Sophia : PM u and Lee alr..

Yeah, am teaching.. how abt u? still studying? Nah, some ppl have long honeymoon period.. Ha! Mine i cant even remember it by now.. lolx!

Usually AD and solemnization same place, they will give further discount or privilege.. no harm asking.. =)

OH, i have nt ask the hotel.. will check with them when i meet up on Fri..

kunniqinwa: Try to take good care. Rest more.

Yar I will have a guest book. It's just for people to drop wishes and messages so you can read after the event. It's optional.

Haha, yar it does. But it's impressive. since sec.... wow.

So nice, he's doing AD. Think i'm mainly doing the prep. My htb dont quite like to plan. =(

Yar, going to start sourcing cause want to settle it. After hotel then can choose BS etc mah. Prefer to spread out and do a bit at a time. Last min will be very stressful.

I mentioned before leh, you never read. Kok! Will be at Raffles.

This means how many yrs did you wait for the flat? Which yr did you apply (select unit)?

Huh i not expert also, how to teach you. I'm just putting photographs together (just like powerpoint slideshow). Pro one can leave it to AD so I just do a simple one for ROM.

I'm also doing a "notice board" filled with photos and a welcome message. My cousin is helping me with that. =)

Then also compiling our little love story so guest can read. Finished the draft already, my htb helping me with editing cause he's better in writing than me. >.<

Need lots of time to prepare those above haha. But I think little personal touches like these will be very nice. So taking time to do them will be worthwhile.

How about you all? Anything to share?

kunniqinwa: Oh, i'm working and doing part time degree. Can't wait to grad. haha..

Does gallery hotel do AD?

Lee: ya i also going to source one by one.. i feel like gg to tw to take photos. But there will be extra costs incurred.

you n htb very sweet leh.. did so much small lil things for your ROM. My HTB did nothing!! haha.. and i also lazy to do other stuffs for my ROM. think need to discuss with my bestie after my exams. but i will only be left with 2 weeks.

The most only customise my own pen and pen stand, and maybe add more decoration to the place.

Let's take more pics and share by then k? would be interesting to see other solemnisation that happens on the same day. haha..

Sophia: All my weird ideas lol. Make him busy as well haha. He always say you decide can liao but every small little thing i will ask him and he cant take it hee.

2 weeks will be enough. When will you be graduating?

I will be buying pen. Just DIY-ing personalised things else too many things liao.

Ok, but i dont have PG. Hope the photos will turn out ok.

Lee: haha.. good to keep ur htb busy and let him know the hard work n effort u put in.

not really graduating lar.. but last paper is ard end march. =)

Where will u be buying pen from? the link you gave me?

normal pics shouldn't be a problem lar =)