(2010/04) ROM in April 2010

wow u're so fast!!! i have nt reserve my venue, have nt find jp and do e-filing... so worried.. hope will be in time..

Lee - where r u holding your solemnization?? and where u buy the wedding bands?

no mine all not done yet!! sigh... will try settle my venue and JP by this week so that i can start the e-filing.. i have to secure venue and jp before doing filing right??

so where's your venue? who is the jp?

Oh dear.. U got to be fast.. Left with less than 2 months..
Yupz got to secure venue n JP to do the efiling..

I shortlisted a few places n end up choosing grand copthorne. And for JP I invited MR Chan Kai Yau.. How abt u? And where r e venue u shortlisted?

Oh have u got ur wedding band? Cos if dun have ur size might need 8-12 weeks to custom make..

most probably choosing gallery hotel for my solemnization.. oh u getting Mr Chan Kai Yau.. was considering him too but read those comment abt him so now consider Dr Phua Tan Tee (hope i didnt get the name wrong).. have nt contact him.. have nt decide on wedding band! nt sure to get one or not.. cos am now wearing the proposal ring almost everyday.. kinda waste money.. haa..

Have you been to gallery hotel to view the site? I went, but i find the function room too big for a cosy rom, then the space beside the restaurant is just too weird.. like anyone can see you doing your solemnisation. But it's ok if you like it. =)
I shortlisted Dr Phua too, but when my fiance called his office he wasn't in, so we contacted Mr Chan instead..
Maybe you can go look ard for wedding band.. if there isn't anything you like.. then stick to your proposal ring.. but i think wedding band has different meaning and purpose from proposal ring.. so just get one! haha

kunniqinwa: Got my wedding band from Soo Kee. I'm holding my ROM at country club not in hotel. What time is your ROM? Dr Phua most likely wont be free. He's popular, you need to book in advance. I saw him conducting my fren's ROM. He's good if you can get him. I tried but he's already booked for my time slot.

If you are getting wedding band, better do so asap. No time already.

Sophia: I'm now sourcing for MUA. How did you select yours? Any trial session? How much? Any recommendation?

Hi Lee, i also got my wedding band at Soo Kee. =) When is your rom?
Btw Love & Co wedding bands are quite nice too, Kunniqinwa, maybe you might want to have a look there. The sales person, Calvin @ Vivocity is really helpful and patient, though i didn't buy from him in the end. lol..

Lee, i'm engaging the MUA (Catherine) that did my friend's ROM last month. I have not go for the trial session, would only go aft CNY. But she did a good job for my fren, and you might want to take a look at her portfolio. And her price seems reasonable, she provides bouquet of flower too. her portfolio: http://fblisses.multiply.com/

Hi Sophia, it's quite hard to get a pair of rings that look good on both. We went to quite a few stores. Not easy to decide. What a coincident, you got yours at Soo Kee too. We are same date as well. My ring has to be custom made cause no size so can only collect on 2nd April. Such a rush. Oh ya, did you get the soft toy bear? It doesn't come with the rings but she still gave it to me.

Thanks for the recommendation but ours clash haha.

Ya we also went to many stores before finding something we both like..how long did e sales person told u tt they need to custom made the ring? They told me 8 weeks.. So I should get ard march.. Eh what soft toy bears? The person nv tell me leh.. But she giving me the ring pillow..

Haha.. U also 3rd apr? Well.. Mine start 11 am.. So she should be doing make up for me ard 9+.. u? If Urs is at a later timing then shouldn't be a prob.. =)

Wow! so many of us having solemnization on 3rd April.. ha! hopefully i can get Dr Phua.. i did not go to Gallery hotel to view the function room.. oh dear! will have to discuss with my htb.. left with so little time, think most probably sticking to it then else gotta source out again..

Lee, whats your time slot? mine is in the afternoon..

Sophia: Yar, I shop till I forgot which shop is which ring haha. She said 10 weeks cause CNY. But I only gave them 8 weeks only so it's a priority case i guess. She said sure will give it to me by 2nd. If late then I will have no rings haha. Yar ring pillow is included. I asked for the bear (A white gal bear with a veil, Embrasser), she got extra cause a customer did not want it so gave it to me. So nice!

Yar. Mine start at 10am so cant haha.

The sales person didn't inform me abt CNY leh.. And the re receipt stated tt I will get within 8 weeks.. Btw how come ur solemnisation starts so early?

I only ordered the ring last weekend.

Early meh? We just choose the time we like.
10am - guest arrival
10.30 to 11am - solemnization
11 to 1pm - lunch

Is your ROM same day as wedding dinner?

Cant decide my MUA yet lol. Still researching online.

Did not get BS for ROM. I just bought the dress. My bf is looking for a white jacket, any idea where to get? We shop around, mostly black or dark colours.

Hi Sophia, i just went down to Gallery Hotel this afternoon..hmm, we find that the place is alright as our max is only 40pax =)

so, where will u be holding yours? will be calling Dr Phua tmr (hope he will be available on tat day)

Lee -- No, my ROM and wedding dinner is different (it may be a yr or two from now).. I have signed up package with LaBelle, will be going to the BS this mth end to choose tea dress.. now working hard to lose weight n keep fit. hee..

Have u girls buy heels to match?

kunniqinwa: Oh, our timeline about the same. But i only intend to find BS when the date is nearer to the wedding dinner.

i bought a pair of white heels from U.R.S & inc. But feel that it's not high enough so will still look around to see if there's a better pair. I also saw nice heels at Far East Plaza but dont have my size. Can also try Parkway.

kunniqinwa: Nodnod. Think most guys are like that. They dont really care about details. That's why mostly girls on this forum. Dont worry, it's normal haha.

Lee: no lar.. initially u said 10am start, so i tot the solemnisation ends at 10.30, and i wonder will the guest be having breakfast or lunch. haha..

Mine is one hour later after your timing.
11: guest arrival
11.30: solemnisation
12-3: Lunch

My ROM and AD not on the same day, we decide to have a AD in late 2011 (but have not started preparing anything yet). I have no idea where to get white blazer leh, never go find also, cos my htb not gg to wear blazer on the ROM. haha.. doesn't want to look the same on ROM and AD. Guys doesn't have much choice on their attire.

Kunniqinwa, glad that you like gallery hotel. no need to source for other place! Anw did you choose the 2nd or 3rd level function room? If i remember correctly, the 3rd level function room is nicer right?

For heels, i bought a pair in silver from Guess last year for my friend's wedding. so most likely i will be wearing that.. don't waste extra money buying something that i will only wear once. haha.. i didn't engage any BS also.. everything is more of ala-carte.. =)

ANd yes, guys usually dun bother abt the details, so we girls usually do most of the preparation! haha..
My htb always say, " anything, as long you like and happy can liao." haha.. i wonder if he really mean that or he's just lazy? haha

Sophia: yar same same. My AD also late 11 but may also be early 12. Nothing done yet. Want to settle ROM before looking for hotel for wed dinner.

So he's only wearing shirt and tie? What are you wearing? Gown or a day dress?

So for your ROM, are you doing indoor or outdoor?

Sound so familiar "anything, as long you like and happy can liao" Hahahahahaha.

Ya lor.. Me too.. Maybe start searching venue for dinner ard June..

Ya he's wearing a shirt n a small tie.. Dun wan to be too formal.. I'm wearing a short tea dress mtm..

I'm doing an indoor event.. U? Actually I like outdoor, but I just dun like the idea tt us and our guest would be sweating like mad for the whole event..

Haha.. Familiar? Lol.. I suppose ur htb says the same thing to u! All the guy hor.. *shake head* haha..

Sophia : Yes, the one at 3rd level looks more cosy.. i didnt make any appt, just happened to be in that area so decided to drop by. hopefully they will give me the one at level 3 =) Ya, had a hard time choosing venue, glad dun have to source again.

Oh, yours everything ala-carte? even for AD?

Yes, Yes. that sentence "as long as u like n happy can liao" sound so familiar.. i even have to contact JP myself! he said since u're checking out from forum then u decide la.. u know who is better.. haa..

Me too wanted outdoor.. had wanted to do it in Gardenasia, like those garden n nature feel.. cant imagine everybody sweating etc.. hehe... so sophia, where u holding it? ;p

the next big headache after the solemnization will be the AD.. my timeframe will be almost the same as Lee.. either late of 2011 or within 2012.. ^^

had wanted to contact JP today but was bz.. how did u girls do it? what did u say? haa.. sound weird to call a stranger.. ;p

Kunniqinwa: of cos AD not ala-carte.. i no energy and time to ala-carte for AD.. definitely will engage BS.. haha..

I holding my solemnisation at Grand Copthorne waterfront.. price is cheaper than Gallery hotel if i rem correctly and the ambience is better in my opinion. Maybe you can go down to have a look. haha.. they have few rooms for solemnisation..

Dr Phua's contact is: 67531028(H)/ 67319575(O)

I didn't call, i told my htb to call.. haha.. maybe you just say, "hello, can i invite you to solemnise for me?".. and see what he says then.

Oh btw do u girls know where i can get those nice pens with black ink to put on the solemnisation table? The hotel only provides the hotel ugly pen. LOL..

Seem like the timeline for 3 of us are more or less the same. Interesting. So why you girls decided to ROM now instead of doing it later together with AD?

Sophia: I was asking about outdoor cause I remembered reading about The Promenade in the hotel where it's a nice outdoor place by the river for solemnization.

kunniqinwa: Just email the JP can liao. No need to call also can. Template:

Dear Mr XXX,

I would like to inquire about your availability to solemnize at our ROM on <date> at <time>. It will be held at <place>

Please kindly let us know if you are still available for this timing.

Lee: yeah.. the promenade is a nice place.. but will incur additional costs + no air con.. haha.. so took the function room instead..

Btw which JP you invited?

We decided to ROM now cos our flat is ready.. and we need to ROM by april. It's more like being forced kind, else we would rather do it next year.

What about u girls?

oic. Saw the photos, look nice. But have to consider weather.

Chia Ti Yu. Contacted 3 JPs, he's the only one free.

Forced haha. Yar most people say this yr not good cause tiger yr. But we dont mind. It's nice that the flat is ready. Mine will only be ready in 2013. So long! Settled the flat so next step is to plan for wedding. So we thought slowly plan ROM and AD. Split up so not that taxing. But after preparing, now I feel that maybe 1 day is easier haha. Now like need to do things twice lol. But cant AD together, too rush and hotel booking need time. No $ to buy resale, COV too high. Did not think of getting flat earlier =( Have to slowly wait for the flat to build. So slowly do wedding planning.

Sophia : ha.. thought u AD also ala-carte! wanted salute u.. its very tedious!!

Oh! Grand Copthorne is cheaper than Gallery? hmm, i didnt check out that place.. too bad cant make any changes cos i have confirm with Gallery alr.. =)

Lee : Thanks! I tried calling Dr Phua, no ans.. had email him, hope he will get back to me asap!! =)

Yes, gotta get nice pen too.. i totally forgotten abt it! haa.. thanks for bringing it up..

Actually we wanted to do ROM + AD on same day but not this yr.. Our flat is ready so no choice had to rush the ROM by Apr.. sigh!

Oh so both of your have flat already. Envy >.<

So I'm the weird one. ROM &amp; AD different not cause of flat haha.

MUA still never reply me sigh. Emailed 3 on sat, only 1 replied.

We also contacted 3 JP only one available.. Anw yes the COV nowadays are crazy!!! Young ppl like us can only afford for new flats..

Btw which flat u girls got?

Dr Phua replied my email.. He's available for my time slot ^^

So now ladies, wat is the next step i should do? can go straight to e-filing? or need to wait for the consent form?

Mine is BTO @ Sembawang Green.. collected keys alr but wont be shifting in so soon.. How abt u, Sophia?

That's good. What's your dialect? Dr Phua is good at hokkien. He uses 3 languages at my friend's wedding.

(1)You need to proceed to do your online filing with his licence number first.

(2)Then print out the consent form from ROM website and sign it. Fax/Pass to JP to sign.

(3)Wait for ROM to notify you to attend an appointment at ROM. You need to submit the signed consent form and collect the pre-printed certificates.

Hi Lee,

Is it possible to book the JP 6 months in advance(cos he's quite popular) and let him sign the form when he has confirmed to solemnise for us?

Hi pink_lady00,

It will depend on which JP. Some open bookings strictly only 3 mths in advance. Some are flexible and will confirm way ahead.

Kunniqinwa: I'm getting pinnacles @ duxton

Lee: wah not bad ya.. U like so familiarize with the system of booking JP..

Anw don't worry.. u are not weird to have ur AD &amp; ROM on a diff day.. Many people does that.. Take it as you got
more Time to save and prepare for ur wedding &amp; your dream home..

Sophia: WOW, can i go visit you? hahaha. Then no need to pay entrance fee. =D

Just book JP mah. Was like a sotong, everything dont know till few weeks ago. Looking for one then start reading forum.

Nod nod. Need lots of $$ for AD.

Lee: lol.. Yeah can come if u want to.. Lol but flat not ready..

Ya really need lots of $$ plus I'm going to spend on renovating n furniture n electrical appliances.. *headache.. Everything is $$ sian right..

Anw would u be gg to collect ur relevant docs at ROM on the 30th march?

Lee, thanks. So i can call the JP and enquire first right? If possible and if he's available, do i let him sign the form straight away or only when i'm doing the e-filing?

pink_lady00: Call and try bah. If Dr Phua, I think should be able to. If cant then just thank him and ask when is the earliest you can book. I know Chia Ti Yu can book ahead.

I think both ways can. Actually all these depend on the JPs. But most people usually do efiling first. If you sign ahead, just keep the signed consent form properly since you only need it 6 mths later.

Sophia: Hmm but your flat will be more interesting than the garden haha.

Reno is a headache. Good luck. My one will come in 2013 so dont think about it first. ROM is enough for now lol.

Money money money... where do you get them from?
Earn $ use for ROM
Earn $ use for AD
Earn &amp; use for house
Earn $ use for children
No wonder always broke. And SG not enough kids.

Not sure when will collect the certs from ROM yet. You going down on 30th?

Lee: yeah.. U will headache ROM then AD then house then kids.. Haha..

Anyway where is ur flat tt u applied?

Tot u already done your efiling? They got put the date ans time for u to go down..

Sophia: Hmm hope not. Actually everything is quite fun except for the $ part lol. If no need budget how nice? *day dreaming*

Punggol lor. A little corner in the North-eastern part of Singapore.

Paiseh i never read. Too many things in my head already. Just checked and you are correct haha.

Lee: keep buying toto n 4D lor.. Haha.. Got buy got hope.. Next mon $10mil draw.. Lol.. (btw I not gambler hor.. Just happen to see r banner just nw..)

wah heng I told u got appt.. If not u nv go take ur cert then how? Lol.. My appt 10.30 - 11.30 but I change to 2 pm.. U?

Ask u girls ah.. If I dun do march in is it weird to start just like tt? Cos me n htb quite shy n find it funny to march In when only got so little ppl.. Unlike AD..

Sophia: I don't buy toto or 4D cause probability so small. Give the chance to others bah.

I know must collect lah. Just never realise the date is there haha. If you never say then nearer to date then panic and check lol. The time given is also 1030am.

Not weird lah. Can just all gather at table then start. Less people shy then AD should be more shy lol. How many people are you inviting? I will do march in, think it's more fun. Looking for music now.

Haha.. My friend jeep asking me to march in but I say I will consider.. But I still have to find music to play for the whole event.. I only inviting ard 30 - 30+.. AD seems like a must to march in mah.. So wun be so pai seh.. Haha.. How many ppl u inviting? Which country club u held at?

Yar lor. Find music is mah fan. But i want to march in haha. Mine 60. Raffles.

Do we need hand bouquet for ROM?