(2010/04) ROM in April 2010

kunniqinwa

Hi, I am new here and would like to find out abt the procedures on the e-filing and recommendation fr JP etc..

My ROM will be on 3rd Apr and have yet to do the e-filing.. Not only this, I have not decide on the venue and JP as well.. Do I have to secure a JP before doing the e-filing? And how do I go abt doing it? Am very lost now!

hi kunniqinwa, yup it's best to
1st, decide on the venue (best is to confirm)
2nd, shortlist and contact the JP, cuz they'll want to know the venue.
3rd, confirm the JP, get their JP license number either when they sign the consent form for u or via email/phone call
4th, e-file on ROM website
and lastly, go to ROM on the date/time given my ROM when filing to get the documents and also submit the JP consent form.

HTH!

thanks Jiening! but how to contact the JP? wont it be weird? haa.. do u have any recommendation? i read from the thread that Mr Chan Kai Yau is gd but recently there's updates on the negative sides.. Yours is in Mar? Have u prepare everything?

wow! on april fool day! so u will be the first among the apr batch!! congrats!! so how's the preparation coming? who's your jp? venue?

hi kunniqinwa, no prob! :D
yup mine's march. i've already booked Mr Chan before reading the negative comments, but i think i trust the history of good feedbacks. I believe as long as it's start on time and with appropriate ang bao amount, everything will be fine.

it's best to call them on the phone number provided. you can browse around the threads on JP and shortlist some you feel comfortable with the feedbacks. then get their contacts here if they are not available in the threads:
http://app.rom.gov.sg/internet/reg_info/rom_interpreters.asp

if you are ok with having the ceremony in English only, you can look for Mr Teo Chong Tee
http://www.rom.gov.sg/rom/reg_info/pdf/Justices_of_Peace.pdf
He was the JP of my fren. The ceremony was heartwarming and he cracked a little jokes too. I like him!

Or Dr Phua Tan Tee of Nee Soon Central
http://app.rom.gov.sg/internet/reg_info/rom_grassroots_all.asp
I've never met him, but i like the fatherly figure he represents.

HTH!

i've done the stuff listed here, but have not place deposits for the restaurant and choosing my gown.. and oh ya, finalize my guest list. lol...

thanks fr the info, jiening!

I've actually shortlisted 3 JP.. Mr Chan Kai Yau, Mr Chia Ti Yu and Mr Phang Tai Heng.. Have not discuss with my HTB.. he said its ok there's enough time! *faint*

we have yet to decide on venue, time, call up my BS and guest list too..

wah, no it's not enough time!
better settle all that need to settle first, so later wont be so stressed up. can go at slower pace..

ya lo! actually he wanted to start planning mths ago but i was the one reluctant, kept saying still got time etc.. now drawing nearer i anxious alr.. haa!

e-filing can de done 21 days before the date right? hope i can finalise the venue and JP within January.. and do e-filing by Feb!!

hahaha, ya a very special day for April. My rom will be in the Office itself. So dun have the kind of prob finding JP and venue. How abt u??
Solve the JP and e-filing problems liao mah? Hope all went smoothly for u and other April ROM BTB ohh..

i also worry about the bad feedback of Mr Chan.. I seriously donnoe hw to state the amount of AB to him... Lol..

@ kunniqinwa you should start sourcing for your venue, clothes n mua... if not nearer to date veri rush somemore i heard that those brides loves to go oversea for shoot during April period as the weather overseas r just perfect.

Jiening - Yup, now i'm the one asking him why arent u anxious and excited at all.. haa! felt that there's so much things to be done.. ha.. have to start keeping fit too though its just a ROM.. hee =)

Ali_chew - Oh! what do u mean by in office itself? in office itself dun need find JP? Nah, i have yet to solve my probs but have shortlisted a few JP, waiting to discuss with my HTB..

Queen - Gd to hear from u.. wanted to PM u to ask something but forgotten what it was.. hehe! im very forgetful.. so when's yours? btw, how do we ask the JP and do we need to ask abt the amt fr AB?

Hmm.. i will call up my BS by this week to tell them abt my ROM date.. =)

Thanks ladies for all the sharing!! =)

ya if u choose to rom in the office then no need to find JP. if u got no venue in mind maybe can opt for that? just have to make sure during e-filing that the day still got slots available.

thank god i came to this forum.. ha! so if opt to ROM in the office they will find a JP fr us? ok maybe i shall do that.. but its a room or garden? i remembered my frd doing hers in thr ROM itself in a garden and it comes with a buffet..

it's in a room, and the max guests is 12 pax (although i read that they are not that strict about it)

the garden with a buffet one is by a provider.. suddenly cant rem the name. iirc their office is near ROM.

but har, no need to look forward to the garden thingy i think.. cuz ROM is gonna be temporarily relocated to MND building from jan 2010 to feb 2011.

oic.. fr 12 pax only.. ha! think thats too little..

think that buffet or garden thingy is call 'love that binds' but i cant find their link.. ya, saw the announcement on ROM site..

finally a thread for apr 2010 brides (: my rom is on 25th april.. my htb and i invited dr. phua tan tee as our solemniser on recommendation of friend. he seems to be nice - very grandfatherly. so far havent seen any bad comments about him.

my rom outdoor, DIY. now i still relac relac cos got 4 more mths left. lol.

Yeah! we can start our discussion here fr all Apr brides! hehe.. Where will u be holding your ROM? I've no idea... sigh! U done the e-filing already? Ya, 4 more mths sound long way to go but there are so many things to be done!! haa..

@ Judy U r one day before me wor.. haha..

@ Kunniginwa I will be havin it on 26 April :D

I think lovethatbinds are not doing the ROM anymore lei..i try to access to their website many times oso cannot find.. Have to faster source for venue and MUA liao ah.. if not when date is nearer than headach wor.

Kunniginwa,

Jiening was right. if u choose to rom in the office then no need to find JP. sad is they have moved to a temp place at MND building. Have anyone went there b4? WOW.. more n more April ROM Brides here... :D

Oh ya.. Now headache.. trying to find a nice shoes for ROM. Hope can find a suitable n nice one.. Anyone have any idea where to find those type of shoes that hv ribbon?

Queen - Yeah, welcome abroad.. hehe.. Ya, i tried to access to their website but there's nothing.. (my name is Kunniqinwa and nt Kunniginwa..) :p

Ali - Oh ya, need to find heels to match.. have u decide on what to wear??

Ladies, which BS are u all with?? Mine is LaBelle Couture.. am very busy this week, have yet to call them..

kunniqinwa, i'm with Jazzz. LaBelle ah, they left a very good impression on me. I spoke to their designer Candy before at a wedding show. she's super friendly and helpful, and totally not pushy unlike the other BS! Gave me lotsa tips on choosing gowns even though she knew i wont be signing them. really have to thank her for that.
I find their gowns nice too! So i guess you are in good hand! :D

I havent decide wat to wear for my ROM, as my bridal package with Bridal Concept come with ROM package. Mid March then go n choose my tea dress. So, dun noe whether to buy first or not.. Did anyone went for the bridal Show last weekend at Suntec? Saw from the newspapers there r 28 bridal shops having their road show there..

Ali_chew, i went.. and it's crazy!
everyone was standing there waiting to grab anyone who walked pass. i was only 1/4 in there and i gave up. i just wanted to look around cuz i've already signed.. but they just wont give up!

i know it's typical of BS, but it's really really crazy!! i ended up telling whoever came up that we are already married... to stop all these nonsense. guess what one of them said to me?

"THEN WHY U COME??"
like im giving him false hope.. -_-

my bs is in msia wan.. the taman sentosa area nicknamed 'bridal street'. im ok with msia lah cos i have many relatives there. got rom package included so im getting my rom dress from the bs as well.

so sad. im a little on the bulk side and i have legs which are GIGANTIC from all the leg sports that i feel the usual short rom dresses look horrible on me. not to mention the medicine i was on contain steroids and made me balloon up. for the sake of my rom i have been off those meds for 1 mth now. must jiayou ~

so i chose to go wil an evening gown, but not so elaborate cos that one will save for my AD, for my rom. i just feel that rom belongs to the bride and groom and it doesnt have to follow the stereotypical short cute rom dress pattern.. my htb and i have decided to DIY decorate our venue to make in poshier to suit our evening gown theme.

ahh.. hope it works out.

Opps sorry kunniqinwa hhehe

I m not with any BS shop... hehe.. I do it ala cartel.. My gown will be from Ted collection. have u all settled the venue?? Till now i cannot decide on the JP...headach

my venue will be my condo clubhouse cos we got this really beautiful open air rooftop with ironwrought spiral staircase.. i hope with all my might it doesnt rain on that day(choy choy~)

as mentioned above my JP is Dr. Phua..

jiayou on your JP search.. i read of some cases where they couldnt find a JP one week before their ROM.. lol.

Ur JP is Dr Phua ah.. lol.. I just send email to him he say mayb he can wor.. But mine is monday so the time he is avaliable is quite weird as i believe he is working

Jiening - okies, thanks! hope they are really good.. haa! we signed up 2yrs ago when we first attended a wedding show.. shall call them up tmr to update the date.. haa! all these yrs i have only attended one bridal show!

Judy - wow! DIY deco.. i cant imagine myself doing it.. im lazy and dun have the patience to do it.. hehe.. cant find JP one week before ROM? why? thought need to find one JP before doing e-filing??

I've nt find venue.. sigh!! everything nt done yet!!!! looks like many of u are getting Dr. Phua.. hmm, maybe i can consider him too.. now too many options..

kunniqinwa : "why? thought need to find one JP before doing e-filing??" --> no idea. saw it somewhere in the forum.

haha.. for the DIY part, i guess HTB and i are on the more creative side as both of us do arts. lol.

jiening: dr phua is so cool. i googled him and there were all nice comments about him. he looks like a teddy bear. lol.

Jiening,

I went to the bridal road show at Vivo yesterday. Its much better than the one at Suntec. All the sisters here, if havent get any BS, can dropby Vivo n see oh~~

vivo today last day! seems like there's quite a lot of things going on at the bridal show. i saw it at the centre spread in TNP. fellow btb, do drop by and see(:

We're currently running a promotion on ROM which includes makeup and hairdo,made-to-measure dress and a hand bouquet at a very attractive price (for a limited period only).

Do check out our website at www.fabulosity-web.com for more information.

Please feel free to call me at 9101 4995 for more information. You may also drop me an email at [email protected]

anyone got good n resonable price ROM photographer to recommend? Am considering to do SIMPLE ROM before AD to get one off e load also so that can get flat lol. But if gonna incur more $$ then maybe not worth it. AD day in Sep so dun wan to spend double

ladies, how's your preparation so far?? i have not decide on the venue!! was considering gallery hotel, one twenty six and gardenasia.. any feedback / comment??

Hi, I'm also having my ROM on the 1st April... April fool day... i have not even prepare anything... My htb is not worry dun have slots, etc... haiz.. i m so worry

kunniqinwa: I have settled venue,JP,efiling,dress and wedding band. Almost cant make it for my wedding band. No size so it can only be ready the day before my ROM date.

I'm looking for an affordable MUA now.

Dued to budget, not sure if i should get PG or VG.