(2010/03) Mar 2010 BTB

Thomas > can't find his name among the photographers in SWPJ...except for a small testimonial at the bottom of the website..

thomas > i think so. Can't find it. Mayb the full list of registered photographers not available for viewing?...thanks anyway. =)

Mel & thomas > jus curious, will u guys be giving a thank you speech on your AD? And r u guys intending to get a gift for your jiemeis and xiongdis? I'm thinking of baking soomething, muffin or cookies, but my htb thinks itz pointless. He said guys don't appreciate that..

thomas > yup. Still considering. =) But haven't reply him yet coz i can't squeeze in a free slot for him at the moment. Mayb after my rom...

val> yep we are but are thank you speeches only meant to be given by the groom? (noticed that only the groom gives the speech in quite a few weddings that ive attended so far) cos if not, maybe i'll do it.. hahahaha

as for the jiemeis & xiongdis.. i think the angbaos and thanking them during the wedding speech is gd enough..

will u guys be attending the wedding show hosted by the photographers assoc next wk; 21 - 22 may? i will be gng dwn with my hubby to check out if i can get rly rly good rates for a videographer

val: not sure but I think most prob will need to prepare a TQ speech lol. Gifts for jm/xd? erm, dun think so, no time and dunno what to buy for them also. Will give them each an AP only ba.

agree with ur FH, I wun appreciate also lol

hmm ok, he wun take long, prob 20mins or so only, that's my experience with him that time when we met up. Nice and friendly guy.

mel> yup. think i'm going. Wana c if i can get a really gd package there too.. Regarding the speech, i noticed most usually given by groom too. I attended one before which was given by both bride and groom..abit cliche though. A long and teary speech..I was busy eating away btw. haha.

Mel & Thomas > Is there any angbao rate for jiemei and xiaongdi? Do u guys mtm the dresses for the jiemeis? Looks really nice when all wear the same but kinda ex sia...

Thomas > thanks. I will get in touch with him soon then.

thomas > yea .. its this wkend.. heh..

val> i tnk market is rate is 38 and above for jiemeis .. and 58 and above for xiongdis (cos theyre the ones driving, to cover their petrol as well)

im nt MTM-ing the dresses.. so ex!!! but i told them i wanted chilli red coloured tube or spaghetti dress.. i tnk chilli red will stand out in the photos! striking!

val: hahahaha u and ur food...

no specific rates, up to u to give. dun think my wife wanna mtm any dresses for her jms, no point wasting unnecessary money.

Gd morning everyone!!

thomas > What do u think of the following terms and conditions?

- Best effort are put in creating your wedding images and video, however, in any case of lost or damage of original images and vide, compensation will be limited to refund of deposit(which is $500) paid only.

- A photographer of similar experience and skill will be arranged f assigned photographer is met with an emergency or serious illness.

Mel & thomas > do u guys hv the above terms & conditions in your contract with ur PG as well?

thomas > yup. My fren's photographer last min cannot make it for her wedding and arranged an alternate PG for her. Since she never heard of this PG, she also unaware of his skill etc. Unfortunately for her, she dun like the works of this PG and demded a refund. They declined and offered her another photo album instead. HOwever, tHe album is of no use to her since she dun like the photos taken by this photographer..haiz..

I see...I think it's to protect them also ba. U met up with YS oredi? are u comfortable with his T&C? if yes then I think shld be ok ba

this is a risk which we have to take, no choice. Unforeseen circumstances do arise at times, we have to accept it.

thomas > yup..i guess so. M htb wants to consider first. =)

Mel > hey, i tink chilli red is hot. Gd choice. =) I like blue color...wonder if dresses in sky blue color r common. Was a jiemei at a fren's wedding. All of the jiemeis came in all shades of pink...

Mel & thomas > Wonder if our conflicting animal sign is the same on our AD? Mine is snake. But my youngest sis and htb's sis are both of that sign. WHich means me and htb can't see them on that day rite?

val: mine's monkey. means both of them cannot come out and play any gatecrashing games before u two step into his house and yours. After stepping in then they can come out of the room.

val> mine is snake too. they can see u but just that they have to hide the moment ur htb step into ur hse.. after he step into ur hse already they can come out.. and the moment he leaves ur hse.. they hv to hide too ... same goes for ur htb's side at his hse

thomas > Since yours is a lunch affair like mine..u will still be making a trip back to your own hse ar? Am thinkin to ask htb to fetch me go our NEW flat for phototaking and then go straight to hotel. Tea ceremony for both sides at the hotel...

Mel > our bazi like more similar. haha..

val: I doubt I have time to make a trip back to mine, so most likely will skip that process. Will do tea serving at my wife's place the moment I go fetch her, then we will proceed to our hotel and do the 2nd round of tea serving there. Have yet to finalise though.

U dun have any gatecrashing?

JMs being single is an old belief last time which was probably passed down from our elders, have no idea why too. Nowadays ppl are more open-minded, they dun mind their JMs being married also. Understand from my wife that some of her JMs that she's intending to ask are married with kids, no choice cos we are not that young anymore and also most of her friends are already married, so getting single ones is a bit tough.

if u dun mind of cos u can get married ones to be ur JMs as well.

thomas > we're still considering whehter to hv the gatecrashing or not. Coz my sis is out since her animal sign is snake. Some of those that i intend to ask won't be coming to my wedding coz they are getting married soon themselves. They told me that the "xi" occaisions cannot "crash" and they can't attend such events for 1 year!!

Mel > Yup. But think some of my frens r very pantan. No choice. =(

Well, we bought a BTO at Punggol, coralinus. We applied and got the unit while he was in his last yr at ntu 2-3yrs ago. So we are entitled to special grant too since i'm the only one working back then. =)

val> im gonna buy one unit at punggol tonight too!!!! hahaha.. wonder if its impulse buy cos i only viewed it yesterday.. ahhaha.. but i lk the deco of the plc.. i tnk mine is at punggol field (i dont even knw the road name..)

whn are u moving in? i'll only be getting my keys beginning of dec cos will be allowing the owner to stay till end nov as the condo they purchased is not ready yet.

Mel > Is this punggol field near the MRT? Mine is opposite the MRT, across the road only.

We'll be getting the keys at the 4th quarter of 2009. So will most prob move in ard jan/feb 2010 aft the reno etc. Deco is impt if u're buying 2nd hand, if not refurnishing gona cost loads. So if u like it, go ahead. =)

As for me, i gona be busy looking for contractors soon. Flipping tru all those mag abt home design gif me headache sia. Hard to decide wat kinda deco i want sometimes..

val: like what mel said, it's not 1yr, it's 3mths before/after. Explain to them nicely, think they shld be able to understand ba. Gatecrashing is the most fun part, it wld be a real pity if u were to skip it bcos of this. I'm sure u have plenty of other friends as well?

lucky u, can get ur house done up before ur AD. I'm still looking for mine though.

mel: congrats in advance...how many rooms? COV?

val> i hv a friend who owns an interior design company (ministry of decor located at B1 of M&M building beside china sq central) his rates are reasonable and he does a gd job. u can call him to get a quote with no obligations at 90400991. his name is ronald (quote my name melissa; his classmate)

mine is at kalador LRT.. i think quite far frm urs.

oh gosh .. ure moving in ard jan/feb 2010.. ur AD is in march ! ure gonna be so so so so so busy lk crazy!!

thomas> 4-room resale.. but the owner knocked dwn one wall and enlarged the MBR.. we'll probably build the wall back whn we want to sell it.. COV is 10k and valuation is 340k.. thats a whopping 78k in cash we gotta fork out! (cos we cant use CPF for the deposit)

SIGH!

mel: 340k is considered ok liao lor...my wife and I looking for central areas, 4rm min asking 470-500k

that's a lot of cash indeed...oh my

thomas & mel > thatz alot of money indeed!! Thank gdness we can settle the hse tru cpf...

I hv colleagues who are married and yet staying apart or they stay at each other pl on alternate wk etc. This practice seems to be the norm these days rite?

Thomas> DOn't worry ya. i'm sure u'll get ur fream flat soon. =) Recently there's a design & build proj at bishan rite?

Mel> yup. Gona b super busy. Coz my mom, insisted that i move out after AD. We are not sure of the exact date of the collection of keys, based only on estimation. Coz 4th qter of 2009 can be anywhere btw sept-dec. We estimated that renovation needs abt 3mths. So flat shld be ready by jan/feb lor.

Thanks for the contact btw. Juz wat i need. =)Will drop by ur fren's pl someday.

thomas > Flats these days are getting more and more pricey. A fren of mine just got a unit BTO unit at punggol at slightly over 300K already. Central confirm expensive de.

Maybe u can top up a little and get a 2nd hand condo? Dat what a fren of mine did too...

mel: no choice, we have to stay near my MIL. We prefer central areas too cos have been staying there for so long liao. Not looking at private yet at the moment, next time maybe yes.

val: some of them do practise that but I dun think it's the norm. Thanks...it's too exp, we dropped the idea.

my MIL also insisted we must stay together immediately after our AD

not interested in condos, too exp plus we prob wun make use of the facilities too

thomas> haiz..I actually dun mind staying apart for awhile until when my hse is all done up etc.
But my htb wants to move in (with me) after our hse comes and when itz nicely renovated etc. He said itz kinda wasted if hse left alone for long. That y we hv to plan in a way such that the hse is in a ready to move in condition and come before AD. Of coz, itz a tiring process....=(

val: well, it's tiring but u will feel a sense of satisfaction when everything's done up and ready for u to move in. So cheer up!

I hope to get mine done up before my AD too but seems unlikely now.

thomas > Don't dismay..still hv chance de. =) Y don't u try punggol too? Muz it really b at the central? Itz cheaper too and the flats are relatively new as compare to central which u may need to spend alot more on reno...

yup, must be at central cos MIL staying at Bukit Merah, we need to keep her company also, worried she'll be lonely.

valeria/melissat: i am at punggol too..Punggol lodge @ Punggol Road (10 min walk to MRT) is ready end 2010 or Q1 2011.. after wedding will stay @ bf's place in tampines for 1 yr before moving in.

Deerixp: Punggol Lodge looks gd. Seen the showroom before. My sis's new flat gona be there as well.=) Urs a 4rm or 5rm?

morning everyone!

i bought my new plc already! took some pics which can be found on my blog!

=D

val> i found out the name of the rd yesterday.. its punggol drive.. heehee

Gd afternoon, everyone. =)

Mel> congrats on the purchase of ur new pl. Shall look at ur blog tonite. =) R the pics available in the facebook as well?

Mel> so ur new pl everything done up already rite? No need reno izzit?

Everyone> How much wld it cost (approximate) to renovate a premium 4room flat? Most of my frens spent abt 40-50k including furniture etc. But i also hv frens who spent abt 20k, furniture inclusive...

val> yah no need reno at all..i did not post it on FB.. dun wan too many ppl to knw how the interior of my plc looks like.. hehheh..

actually it rly depends on wat kind of reno u want.. if you customize alot of carpentry work (custom-made wardrobe, bedframe, tv console.. et etc) then it will cost you quite a sum.. and the cost of electrical works and lights will cost quite a sum too if u opt for alot of downlights..actually it wld be best to have your budget ready and let the interior designer knw hw much u can spare and they will work out something for u but beware for addtional costs so u sld play ard with ur figures.. (like lets say u have a budget of 40k.. only let the designer know u have 32k - 35k max to spare for the reno..in this way it wont exceed ur budget at all)

val> u can check out silver river furniture(around paya lebar area) for their furniture.. esp dining sets & bed frame.. very reasonably priced and they look v gd too

and get ur coffee table from IKEA (the glass ones.. wood ones also ok.. but might spoil easier).. dont spend more than 200 bucks on the coffee table.. super bo hwa one.. the ones selling in furniture shops cost like 380 and above.. no point

mel: congrats! envy u, got ur lovenest liao...

val: depends on what u want like mel said, if want branded stuff like Scanteak, sure exp lol. Best if u have a budget for them to work with.