(2010/03) Mar 2010 BTB

thomas> sigh. thats why im not getting a VG. costly.

have u/wives decided on any makeup artist? ive booked mine as well. her name's fanny rao. you can try yahoo-ing for her portfolio (on some carvin photo website)

darrelandgeri > how's your rom at Villa Halia? I'm gona have my rom there as well on 14 June. =) Is the food gd? The menu looks yummy though, but never get the chance the try. We tried the black pepper softshell crab a long time ago, which was really gd. =)

valerie: what's ur budget like? over the course of our 'homework' done on PG/VG, we have quite a number of quotes. If budget is not a prob, I wld suggest u look for Yow Siang of Big Day Pictures, his works have been showcased many times in bridal mags. He was our 2nd choice after Aspire, too bad his price was a bit steep otherwise we wld have signed up with him.

Nvr heard of Melvin sorry

melissat: yup, she oredi 'booked' her MUA le

Melissat > wow..the price is steep!! Anyway, the melvin quoted me $2300 with abt a coffeebook (abt 60 pages i think)

valerie> oh well.. its once in a lifetime. wads most impt is u like ur PG's works.. so choose one u rly like ! =)

melissat: hahaha yup...good MUA must quickly book if not later no more lol. Her MUA recommended by our BS, she did a very good job for my wife on our ROM in Feb so we were quite pleased, hence we 'booked' her for our AD also. U gals got facebook? my ROM pics are there, if u have then add me and I'll approve u before u can see my pics... [email protected]

my AD PG/VG total is ard 2.5k

thomas > My budget abt $2500<..How steep is Yow siang's rate?

Melissat &amp; Thomas > i'm thinking of using the MUA from my bridal studio. Her reviews from the forum is quite gd...May i ask y u guys r looking for a MUA? Tot that is included in e bridal package already..

thomas> huh!!! i chked with a VG and he wants to charge me 2.7k for just AD VG!

faint!

have just added u . my PS gown selecting and ROM pics are in my FB too. u can chk them out

valerie> cos my im getting my wedding photoshoot from a BS in JB. the pkg excludes the AD photographer, mua and car rental.

my MUA charges are 600. have not cfmed any car rental though but looking at rates from 350 - 588 (with chauffeur)

Melissat > of coz. I hv been doing my research these days. Leaving my e-mail in the PG forum..now my e-mail is flooded with quotes. haha..Is the $3k for a whole day event? Mine is a wedding lunch..

thomas > 2.5k is very reasonable i tink. Gd for u man! =)

valerie: YS used to charge 1.8k but he just increased his price to 2.2k. Check with him see if he can give u at the old rate, no harm trying. His works are very good, no doubts abt that. Check his website http://www.bigdaypictures.com.sg/

as u can see, he's also a member of WPJA just like my PG Aspire Studio, so rest assured quality is top notch.

my wife's MUA is from our BS also, just that they have quite a few to choose from and she happens to be more well-known, so we chose her. All included in our package also.

melissat: that's very exp! usual rates start from less than 1k all the way to few ks...the one u asked must be top-notch I guess

sure, go home approve u tonite

Melissat > icic. I hv not cfmed the car rental too. But not easy to find one with chauffeur rite? U guys got any lobabg? Tinkin of getting htb to drive the car himself instead..lol

thomas > no, i dun hv facebook. but can use my htb's facebook to add u instead? =)

valerie> yup 3k is for full day. but his overtime charges are $200/hour. im gonna try to work his svcs within the 10 - 12 hr time frame. hahaha

hw much are u paying per table for lunch? urs is in mandarin oriental rite? i wanted it for my dinner but its a little off my budget

thomas> my cousin is wrking in the VG company and the quote is still so steep. gosh!

valerie> i chked online and found weddingcars.sg but i feel that its rly expensive.. if ur htb is ok with driving the car himself, den rent a SLK or any 2-seater! look very cool! my husband refues to drive the car himself on our AD, he say very tiring ..

=(

melissat: I see....no wonder no MUA, I was wondering why...haha. I opted out from my package for bridal car cos it's the usual boring Merc...will be using my mum's cute cute kei car

valerie: ^5! mine's a wedding lunch too! thanks, we think so too, esp more so we got a top-notch PG to help us remember our big day for yrs to come
My wife and I are quite pleased after all the tiring homework done...

melissat: thanks, ya he's really good, he used to do VG (see his blog) but gave up as he wanted to concentrate on PG more. My wife and me love his pics, he's able to capture those emotions at that time in his pics which made us feel as if we were there also...wonderful.

Melissat > Yup Mandarin Oriental kinda steep. But their service is very gd and we loved their themes. There are only 7 course for their lunch, Foodwise standard is really gd, includes lobster &amp; prawn for appetiser, cod fish, tiger prawns, duck etc. But no vege =( Per table is 728++. We are thinking of adding an extra vege to make it 8 course...that will be another 60++ extra or change the lunch menu to a wkday dinner menu (8-course-abt $828++)

valerie: if u can't find a chauffeur, why not get ur siblings or ur xiongdi to drive instead? easier that way
sure thing, can use his acct to add me also if u want.

melissat: oh my $200 per hour overtime? mine's only $120 per hour and I find it exp liao....haha. Ours for 10hrs but think not enuff cos after our wedding lunch, my wife intends to go out to take some more pic...may need to extend hours then.

agree with u, it's tiring to drive on AD but I have to cos our car only 2 seater hahahhahaa...

valerie: Melvin's not bad but pricing I find it to be on the high side, it's 2.5k? if ur budget is ard there, u have plenty of choices

valerie> wow thats ex . i had to settle for marina mandarin and i already think its ex ! its like 1038nett per table (huge losses expected). initially wanted grand copthorne waterfront (888 nett per table) but it was tken on my good day.

sigh . heart pain.....

melissat: wow 1k+ is way out of my budget...haha. Potential losses is great, too. That's why me and my wife decided to go for the cheapest if possible to minimise our losses.

GCW is nice!

thomas> yah !!!! and worst is.. i had enuf tables to book the grand ballroom! but so sad..... it was gone before i cld even view it.....

Melissat > yup..not expecting profits AT ALL. if only can break even...that will be gd..=)

thomas > budget ard there for PG coz almost all that we shortlisted abt these price..but if hv any cheaper and gd lobang can let me know too. =)

btw i have a blog.. nothing much (have some pics of my gown fitting only) nw except for some boliao ramblings.. u can PM me then i'll reply with my blog address

valerie: yeah, me also hoping can at least break even, dun dare to think of making profits too =)

2.5k is a very good budget to work with for PG, why not try asking YS first? Can tell him Thomas intro u to him, see if he can give u at the old rate (provided if he's not taken up on ur AD)

too bad u gals share the same AD as me, if not I will intro u my PG/VG liao

Melissat > Yup.. marina mandarin's ballroom is nice too. Quite grand. I been there for dinner b4. Too bad they dun hv room for small scale weddings. We hv only abt 16 tables at most. =)

Thomas > Thanks. Will check wif YS sooon. Hope he can gif gd rates. =)

Yup..going off for mtg now. Will be back soon mayb tonite or tmr morning/afternn. =) Nice chatting wif both of u.

thomas > i'm the eldest in the family. We hv 5 siblings in the family. Lol. Sis just got her drivin lic, but can't trust her skills. Hmm..shall ask htb to check wif his frens..=)

valerie> their max is 25 which will b very very squeezy. did u tell them u have 16 tables?

hey i can go chk out ur wedding lunch( if u dont mind)! cos our hotels are so near to each other, and i tnk it'll b my rest time!

heehee

mel: yup MM is very nice, I just been there abt 2 weeks ago with my wife and her family for buffet, not bad!

valerie: u're welcome, nice chatting with u too

oh ya btw mel, oredi approved u liao, u can see my pics now

oh ya btw saw ur FB pics Mel, u work in Citibank?

saw u went to Old Trafford too...u MU fan? it's been my dream to go there one day...been their diehard fan since 1992

u gals have msn? mine's [email protected] ...can add me if u want

Melissat > Not so sure. Coz itz my htb who did the calling last time..Anyway, that time we were asking for about 12 tables only. lol...didn't expect the guests no. to increase. =) Yup, no prob, u're welcome to drop by anytime. Mayb i can drop by at yours aft mine.

Mel &amp; Thomas > haven't add both of u (blog &amp; facebook) yet. Been busy working last nite. Yup, i hv msn. [email protected]. Will add u both as soon as i can. =)

thomas > how many course is your wedding lunch? Mine is 7 course(no veg). Htb feels not necessary to add veggie since food shld be filling enough already..=( But i feel abit odd w/o it. wat do u think?

val: no worries, take ur time

mine's 8 course with one veg dish I think. I feel u shld add cos all meat and no veg is weird. Plus too many meat dishes can be quite a turn-off actually too.

thomas > yupyup..datz wat i feel too! And 8 makes a nice number too. Ok, will talk to him again. =)

Yup, just e-mailed to Yow Siang. Will let u guys know more when he get back to me. The rate stated on the website is $3800 for a comprehensive package. Super ex sia...

Melissat > thinking of getting a vintage cute beetle for weding car. Duno whether htb likes it or not...since i'm not the one driving, i respect his choices. DO let me know if u mange to find any cheap car lobangs ya. =)

val: yup that's his charges for a comprehensive package. Even that time when I asked, 1.8k was just for PG services ONLY, no album, no coffeetable book, nothing. U may want to sms him, it's faster that way.

wonder where's mel today? haha

here here! was out whole morning. haha

thomas> yeap. prev frm citi but left before i went overseas. old trafford was great! u must visit it one day! (for ur honeymoon perhaps) they tk u ard the field and u can even go into the players changing room. we did not manage to bump into any players cos they had a match the night before. (so sad!)

val> yes yes pls drop by! i found a number from another forum that this guy is providing full rental of mercedes and includes with chauffeur at $350. think quite reasonable? (his number is 8189 1888)

my MM pkg comes with 9 dishes but i cut dwn to 8 cos i tnk 9 dishes is too much