good morning everyone...
congrats, juski on ur confirmed venue!! 1 less worry liao
Kath - actually for a lot of ppl, they dun discuss the bride price n no. of tables till pretty late n many take the opportunity for foodtasting so tat both families can gather n discuss that...n tat's v v near to the AD...i shd say tat CNY is indeed a good chance
oh ya, regarding the rings...i tik it's seriously up to u...for some ppl, they would want to wear both at least frm now till before they get preggie cos by then, their fingers would have gone fatter n usually many wouldn't be able to wear their proposal ring then...anyhow, the bottomline is, do wat u really want
oh ya, btw...dun get mixed up between bride price n dowry...
bride price is wat the guy's side give the gal's side as a form of 'repaying' the gal's parents for bringing her up n some ppl do include things like 'nappy money' in it as well...it all depends on the families...
dowry is wat the gal's parents will give to the gal which is also known as jia zhuang...some parents will give them $$...some parents will give jewelry or even tennis bracelet...it all depends also...i tik during the olden days (some still do practice tis also), the gal's parents give things like 1 tea set, 1 dragon n 1 phoenix candles, 1 red umbrella n even 1 dozen 'double happiness' towels...
wah, tat's v good leh, xiaokeai...haiz...mine will be both tables n bride price which is the angbao...
btw, just came across tis article...tot it would be quite interesting to check it out...
http://www.divaasia.com/article/1018