(2009) Brides of year 2009

wow... thanks girls! Do we have to also bring a nude bra? Cos i saw from some other parts of this forum that we have too. My fiance's suit is also MTM. So should he also bring along shoes and a shirt? So i would have to go back again some other time to look at his design before he starts rite?

Hi jasmine, my EG is MTM too. What poohise said earlier mostly covers it.

- designs you've found from bridal magazines or websites and some ideas in your head on what you wld like your EG to look like. Do some research on which necklines, patterns, cuts, flatter you. Your designer should be able to help.

- your EG shoes (or rough height) and your hubby's shoes also. [for measurement purposes only]

- note your wedding colour theme and the colour in mind for your hubby's suit. some couples like ash grey suits (like my hubz and I, but we decided to save $$ so didn't MTM the suit) while others like ivory, beige, black, etc) or a tux! so u 2 shd think and discuss abt this beforehand. His shirt not included in MTM? Maybe just bring/wear a shirt just in case. A guy's suit is quite standard. There may not be a first look. They'll make it straight away, maybe one final fitting before it's done. Bride also may only have one fitting before the dress is done and the 2nd fitting is for minor amendments.

- a lot of articles I've read recommended a nude bra, but I don't think its necessary, cos most BS want you to go into the dress with NO bra whatsoever. The padding is most likely sewn on the dress already. So.. actually not really needed la methinks.

Good luck and enjoy the fitting process.
It'll be fun.

Some relatives also a bit boliao. Most prob after the wedding they also never look at the card again lor.

my GDL is this sunday too and everything is bought, except change money for angpow. Heee, for show.

I got a question...those dowry stuff like those personal toiletries and stuff that i put the xi word on them & tie red ribbon, when then can remove ah? The tea set must take out during GDL a not?

i never hear parents must give angbao to them one leh, i thot they give us during tea ceremony.

My MUA is charging me $80 for extra person.

good morning everyone...

congrats, juski on ur confirmed venue!! 1 less worry liao

Kath - actually for a lot of ppl, they dun discuss the bride price n no. of tables till pretty late n many take the opportunity for foodtasting so tat both families can gather n discuss that...n tat's v v near to the AD...i shd say tat CNY is indeed a good chance

oh ya, regarding the rings...i tik it's seriously up to u...for some ppl, they would want to wear both at least frm now till before they get preggie cos by then, their fingers would have gone fatter n usually many wouldn't be able to wear their proposal ring then...anyhow, the bottomline is, do wat u really want

oh ya, btw...dun get mixed up between bride price n dowry...

bride price is wat the guy's side give the gal's side as a form of 'repaying' the gal's parents for bringing her up n some ppl do include things like 'nappy money' in it as well...it all depends on the families...

dowry is wat the gal's parents will give to the gal which is also known as jia zhuang...some parents will give them $$...some parents will give jewelry or even tennis bracelet...it all depends also...i tik during the olden days (some still do practice tis also), the gal's parents give things like 1 tea set, 1 dragon n 1 phoenix candles, 1 red umbrella n even 1 dozen 'double happiness' towels...

wah, tat's v good leh, xiaokeai...haiz...mine will be both tables n bride price which is the angbao...

btw, just came across tis article...tot it would be quite interesting to check it out...http://www.divaasia.com/article/1018

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>AD Day</TD><TD>AD Venue</TD><TD>Bridal Studio</TD><TD>Estimated Date for PS</TD><TD>Pre-PG</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG </TD></TR><TR><TD>jadeite</TD><TD>05/09/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Orchard Road Presbyterian Church</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>Neo Xiaobin</TD><TD>Neo Xiaobin</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Miow miow</TD><TD>09/09/2009</TD><TD>Wednesday</TD><TD>Marriott</TD><TD>Sattine</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>Sattine</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>* </TD></TR><TR><TD>guinguin</TD><TD>10/09/2009</TD><TD>Thursday</TD><TD>Grand Copthorne Waterfront</TD><TD>My Dream Wedding</TD><TD>09-Mar</TD><TD>Adam Ong</TD><TD>Tom Shen</TD><TD>* </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pearline teo</TD><TD>12/09/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Riverfront Hotel, Mercury room</TD><TD>Double Up</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Dream coffee</TD><TD>Dream coffee </TD></TR><TR><TD>gracelourdes</TD><TD>19/09/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront Hotel</TD><TD>FranceTaipei Bridal (Penang)</TD><TD>9 and 10 Apr 2009</TD><TD>FranceTaipei Bridal (Penang)</TD><TD>Yong How (1950 Photography)</TD><TD>Daniel (Wowmedia) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gal</TD><TD>19/09/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>Divine Couture</TD><TD>09-Jun</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>Derrick Ong</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lesley Lee</TD><TD>19/09/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Marina Mandarin</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>* </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fish Hu</TD><TD>19/09/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Le Meridien</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>Feb/Mar-2009</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Mr Wu (Depixel)</TD><TD>Pistis </TD></TR><TR><TD>Noknok</TD><TD>19/09/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Crown Plaza Hotel (T3)</TD><TD>Sattine</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>* </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meow</TD><TD>20/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Mandarin Oriental</TD><TD>Ted Wu</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>William Chua</TD><TD>Daylight Pictures</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>ju_ed</TD><TD>20/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Four Seasons Hotel</TD><TD>Blush Blush</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>Eng Hong or Chi Kuang (39East)</TD><TD>Chi Kuang (39East)</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kath Lye</TD><TD>20/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Amara Sanctary Sentosa</TD><TD>The Infiniti by Whitelink</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>* </TD></TR><TR><TD>Andy N Eva</TD><TD>20/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Novotel Clark Quay</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>09-Jun</TD><TD>Stanley (SLCC)</TD><TD>Chris woon</TD><TD>* </TD></TR><TR><TD>XiaoKeAi</TD><TD>20/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Beach Culture @ Watercross</TD><TD>Di Gio</TD><TD>Apr/May 09</TD><TD>Ben from Di Gio</TD><TD>Regina (John Lim Photography)</TD><TD>* </TD></TR><TR><TD>Glamourous</TD><TD>20/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday &amp; Monday</TD><TD>Shangri-La Hotel</TD><TD>Ted Wu</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>Sam (Vocare Media) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Darkchocolate</TD><TD>20/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>GCW</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>09-May</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>Dreamzcoffee</TD><TD>None </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lena</TD><TD>20/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Regent Singapore</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>09-May</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>Nickg</TD><TD>Nickg </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lalaa</TD><TD>26/09/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Bliss Garden</TD><TD>La Belle Couture</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>La Belle Couture</TD><TD>Nozza.net</TD><TD>Nozza.net </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fifteenmay</TD><TD>26/09/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Merchant Court</TD><TD>Venus (JB)</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>Venus (JB)</TD><TD>Daylight Pictures</TD><TD>* </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hui Sheng</TD><TD>26/09/2009</TD><TD>Saturday</TD><TD>Park Royal Plaza</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>* </TD></TR><TR><TD>~Cor~</TD><TD>27/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Grand Plaza Park Hotel City Hall</TD><TD>Bridal Concept</TD><TD>Mar/Apr-2009</TD><TD>Chris Ling Photography</TD><TD>Simon Video and Photo Service</TD><TD>Simon Video and Photo Service </TD></TR><TR><TD>grace</TD><TD>27/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>The Marriots</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>* </TD></TR><TR><TD>mstomrs</TD><TD>27/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Grand Copthorne Waterfront</TD><TD>Yvonne Creative</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>* </TD></TR><TR><TD>elstrial</TD><TD>27/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Grand Mercure Roxy</TD><TD>Sophia Wedding Collection</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Chuian Feng (1950 Photography)</TD><TD>Zhi Hua (Vocare Media) </TD></TR><TR><TD>sun_tan</TD><TD>27/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Rasa Sentosa - Shangri la</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>09-Apr</TD><TD>White Link</TD><TD>Kelvin Koh (lightedpixels)</TD><TD>Kevin Yap (yappiesprod) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Fav09</TD><TD>27/09/2009</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Bliss Garden</TD><TD>Golden Horse</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>* </TD></TR><TR><TD>juski22</TD><TD>27/09/2010</TD><TD>Sunday</TD><TD>Riverview Hotel</TD><TD>Superstar (JB)</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>* </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chloe</TD><TD>29/09/2009</TD><TD>Tuesday</TD><TD>Novotel Clark Quay</TD><TD>SG Bridal</TD><TD>*</TD><TD>Kelvin</TD><TD>Tom Shen</TD><TD>Kaiwen (image of wisdom) </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

A great website I found while researching for my friend's wedding last year.

http://www.chinese-wedding-guide.com/

I found it quite informative. =)

I'll be wearing my wedding ring on my right hand (according to Chinese tradition) and my proposal ring on left hand. Most of my colls wear both ring on their left hand. So their wedding bands are usually of a very simple and thin design. It's really up to you what works best for you. So, think it over before deciding on your ring. =)

AD on birthday? that must be super memorable! our ROM and AD will be on on two diff dates, just one day apart, so not much diff. maybe can negotiate with hubby for TWO gifts. muahaha!

Gd mrg everyone.

Grace, i totally agree w the article. Can't be more true.Btw, how do i add into the table. My AD PG n VG is Coffee &amp; Tea. N regarding the parents meeting session, act maybe CNY is abit early. But HTB n I hv been arranging brunch on 3rd day for both sides since 3years ago. So they can juz discuss over the session. No need to arrange another day...easier for us.
But Im not sure if our parents noe wat to discuss anot leh. because it's the first time for both sides. N my mum not e traditional kind. maybe i shld go research n tel her wat shld be discussed. haha

the PS is fun but tiring!!! i was so worried abt the weather cos it was raining very heavily during the indoor shoot... but luckily the sun came out after tat!!!

Just to share the places i went:
- a stretch of railway tracks near portsdown ave
- kent ridge park
- labrador park

had my sunset shots at labrador park... really nice &amp; romantic... we even went down slightly into the waters... dirty but quite exciting =)

hope the photos turn out nice!!!

hi johra,

i also never heard of must give parents angbao. Heng, my side no one mentioned. I think you can leave it on till you happy lor. I didnt take out the tea pot set cos my in law side has their own so no need to give. For me a lot of stuff no need to buy cos my in laws not particular abt dowry. So we short cut a lot. All toiletries and pails all no need to buy. Just buy towels, lamps only.

flower_freesia> ya lor...my hubby v smart lor >_<||| hee hee somemore i would be 30 on the my birthday...old old liao...hahaha...he say then like that surely can remember de.... :P i am still hoping for a surprise bday gift this year...hee hee..

hi vallous,

actually my in-laws also say no need buy all those pails etc. but my mum insists she wanna buy. Since it's supposed to be her gift to me, I'll let her get what she wants

Hi Grace,
I thought I'm the only one 'special' hv to give ang pao to parents &amp; in-laws..haha.

johra4,u r right, I also nvr hear b4,even my parents also nvr hear b4.none of my frens got such practice &amp; also nvr heard of giving ang pao to parents &amp; in-laws.They suppose to give us during tea ceremony.

cosyouaremygal,
I doubt is a common practice to give ang pao to parents.Think this is a 'special' request fr my mil.But my fren did tell me groom have to give one ang pao (consider as nai fen qian,thank them for bringing us up) to our parents when they pick us up in the mornin

aroh,
im wavering aft seeing ur pics..haha...im am so So SOOOO keen to buy smting i like(esp when i got 60% discount) rather than smthing to keep...Haizz...shld i follow my heart or follow my brain...

Hi dreamz81,
I have went to b@rworks ytd..taste their wine..seems alright 2 me.hv plc order with them.

Wow..Vallous, very xiong le..u paid so much for the mk up svc..

Gals,r we suppose to tie red ribbon on the dowry &amp; paste 'Xi' sticker??

Grace,I got my dowry at chinatown..i will go home check the add for u.is near CK shopping ctr.is not very cheap..there's a mkt just beside..newly renovated got the shops also..u can check it up..can compare the prices.

my mua charge me $60..for makeup...

vallous: u and me same.. my in laws not very particular bout all this ting also..so we only buy lamps only...

xiaokeai, our aim was to have something that she can wear even for dinners and functions...so we chose something that's unique yet practical. gold would be really for keeping...so it depends on your aim for the set...something u can wear or something u can keep the value...

anyway i got this set at 30% + 13.8% off...last night the sales lady told mi now the max discount off this set is 20%

You're welcome, kath.

For myself, I would choose yellow gold. For keepsake and in times of war, when paper money becomes useless, it can be pawned for rice. LMAO

Sorry ah, I'm very 'bo liao'!

er desjo, the reason why i tie the red ribbon &amp; paste the xi because i din buy those already preprinted ones for my dowry, i just search around my house for like new toothbrush, toothpaste, slippers, bowls, spoons, towel, mirror, sewing kit etc and use those! more like got wedding mood ma!!! hahaha

I also tied ribbons and xi sticker for my GDL stuff too...like oranges (sticker only), hard liquor, orange juice....

eylse, we did consider that too...but in the end eva chose the purple gold set cos it's more unique i guess. i left the decision up to her...

everyone have different opinion...there's nothing wrong to choose gold set as well...

Hi Janine! Am happy for u!:-)

Hi hpc! Yup, tought times call for creative measures!!;-) Initially i wanted to use balloons but i couldn't find balloons with Thank You! Most of the wordings are Thank You for a Good Job!? My PS is only in the 3rd week of Dec so you should have sufficient time if u do it in Jan.:-) When are you going to Perth?

celine.. my wedding is on 3rd Jan 09
Venue: Church of Sacred Heart
PG: Brandon Chang
VG: Stanley
Wedding Gown: MTM Zann&amp;Denn (not using BS)

i don't know about you ladies, but i am having sleepless nights alredy. After 10pm i am so wide awake .. and energetic ...till 2pm before i can fall asleep!! is this call Bride to Be nervousness? haha

u all no go makan arh??haha..

aroh,
i gt 60% discount coz gt frends wking there ma..so can njoy staff rate...haha...

juski,
for mi, his parents will buy duno ??-dian-jin(coz i hokkien) for mi, n mi mum will buy oso ??-dian-jin(depending on wat i choose) for me oso..

usuali e PILs will get smting for e DIL de...though some will giv angpow instead...as for e gal side, i do hear of some couples who fork out their own to buy SDJ..

Its really up to individual la..SDJ to me is not a must lor..in e past it used to signify the 'value' of the bride...bt now, i feel tat its more of for show lor...My 2 cents worth..

i had attended my frez (bride) wedding may tis yr. fall on her b'day too. her hb very romantic, aft 2nd march-in he secretly went out n march-in again alone with cake singing b'day song for her. so swt of her hb.. all guest feel so touch n happy for them!

that is soooo sweet! it's really these kind of things that makes a wedding banquet memorable. otherwise they are all pretty similar.

desjO, Grace> actually that time my dad went to the hokkien society there got display those cultural stuff. in the GDL section they did put red packets which is for the female side to give to the FIL, MIL.

desjO> which wine you getting? how much is it?

juski,
dun wry la..most of us have not gotten our SDJs yet..there's definitely ample time...in fact, i shld b getting mine smtime in may ba...cant decide wat i wan yet..hohohoho...

tink aroh cant wait to marry eve...so he faster faster get everyting..then she cant chng her mind..haha..

aroh,
joking hor...kekee..

hahaha...no prob lar...i'm ok with jokes de...torlerance quite high...

we already have our HDB 1st appt...she paid the $5k deposit also...so if she change mind she lose her $5k...:P

yah..xiong lah sure xiong..suddenly everyone wants to have makeup. Wonder its my wedding dinner or their "prom night".

I got my GDL stuff from Richard's Store. Hougang Ave 8 (Near the wet market) his GDL stuff are not expensive at all and he is a very nice person.

I tied the ribbons and xi stickers also lah. Since buy liao then decorate it a little. Looks like xmas tree thingy...i find it amusing so just anyhow stick stick and tie ribbons lor.

Hi desjO,

yeah for me, my hubby will give my parents a angbao when he fetch me on AD morning, i think its wat u referred to as 'nai fen' money bah.

Hi dreamz81, i got give red packet to my in laws because i dunno what they need us to buy for the male side..so in order to make things simple...just give red packet lah. They like they go buy themselves. Save the problems and troubles.

Hi 4placesbride,

I also having sleepless nights. I wondering if I am also having it. I am super stressed leh. Stress on wat..i have completely no idea..but damm stress tats all...my emotions running high and weird...

oh ya..erm...i need to get a maid to help out my empress dowager..anyone got lobang or know hw i shld go about getting?? was thinking of myanmar maid...

my mum and in laws want to GDL next week..so rush leh.. this weekend got to source everything liao...

for me still good leh~ every night still zzz soundly.. maybe i'm too tired...