(2009) Brides of year 2009

Hey Kervin, I heard of this BS named VENUS in m'sia which is quite well recommended. You may want to google and read from forum.. I'm not sure where is it located.

Hi Kervin, I have racky about 20 BS at JB, including all 4 areas which you had mentioned. To be frank, I do not have pleasant experience with most of the BS as think they are too hard sell or too busy usually. Initially wanted to go City Sqaure too as it's more convenient but think their price really too steep. As you need to factor in the AD makeup which JB package does not include. Then, Johor Jaya & Tun Aminah is really too far. It's about 30mins from Custom so travelling will be quite tiring, considering the fact that you have to go to the BS at least 8 times.

In the end, I selected a BS at Sentosa called Elegance. I strongly recommend them as their service is extremely good. I feel that wedding is a once in a lifetime experience & we should be happy with the whole experience. So far, I had done my PS with them & very happy with it. Now, waiting to select my photos. If not, I can share with you. And with regards to price, I think they are very fair. My package is RM2388 only but it's a slightly smaller album as I prefer a less bulky one. Their package comes with 8 gowns as well & all the usual stuff. I think the bigger album starts from RM3088, if I'm not wrong. All their gowns are very lovely. I managed to choose all 8 gowns withinn 1.5 hrs as I so spoilt for choices.

Let me know if you have any other queries on this BS or any other BS you have in mind. Will be happy to share with you on my experience in the BS hunt.

Hi Princess, I think I have added you. Let me know if it's still pending. :P

Hi Tricia, actually jie-mei dresses not complusory de. It all depends on yourself. If you will like them all to wear the same dress, then, I think it will only be fair to sponsor them. But, if it's only a theme, like everyone wear pink. Then, I think they can go buy their own. Of course, I feel that you should check with ur jie-meis first if they are ok to wear the same as some of my jie-mei dun like to wear sweet jie-mei dress or some a bit plump & dun like to wear tube dress so now I'm still struggling which design to choose for them. For me, I will be sponsoring them as the online website which I'm ordering from is quite cheap, maybe less than $60 per dress.

Anyone interested to buy some wedding gowns or jie-mei dresses, maybe you can check out my multiply. I'm planning to buy some gowns online for an extra photoshot. So, instead of renting from local BS, it's more worthwhile to purchase online & you get to keep the gown as well. If you are interested, you may go view my album. My multiply ID is verafaith. The online seller has wedding gowns, evening gowns & jie-mei dresses as well. It will be all MTM.

Hey ladies of Jan_09,
I have uploaded some of my pre wedding photos in my website. If anyone wanna view them, pls pm me in my multiply acct: weddingsongs4u (I wont be sharing my photos public)

Hui,
now then u know ah... LOL~~~!!

Hi Tulips... Think my fiance see so many portfolios until blur. So in the end he just categorise into like and don't like (in terms of style/art), then from there choose based on budget. But that's just pre-wedding shots. AD photography will be another round of selection. So much to do...

Hi Veracity. I'm buying a customised cheongsam for my EG and based on preliminary research, will cost about $500. I think that's a fair amount to pay for a cheong sam that can be worn for future formal functions (if I don't gain too much weight... haha) and it's much cheaper than paying for a customised EG elsewhere. Maybe you can consider that.

Maybe the flats will be done up earlier @ Mashi (Be Prepared
). Mine supposed to be ready in Apr 2010 however I've already collected the keys. Was taken aback when we received letter to collect keys. Luckly we have savings to do up the house as planned (bring forward original plan by 2 years)hehehe...

Hi Yen,

My colleague took up with yew Kwang,I saw her ablum and love it! He charges 1500 for AD PG.300 pieces with album..You can make appt with him to see the actual album..Actually his price has increased,if im nt wrong he used to charge $1000-$1200..but i still think its worth it..he does not do VG..

wah charmaine...u r quite firm lor i must say...

babyfaery..actualli i never "plan" my AD on my birthday de..just that the master say this date is good for both of us (we are born in the yr of the sheep) and generally a good date for weddings/guo da li/opening ceremony etc...

Babyfaery> Should be nothing to take note. :P Actually I didnt see much of the hotel but my hubby attend b4. He said is nice so I said ok lor. If you need guest for oversea guest you can book now.

Iris,

The date given by HDB is very early liao. haha.. I doubt tat will b earlier lor. as the supposed completed date is in 2012. but HDB latest news say 2009 4qtr can get.

i went to c the area b4. so dun tink wil be getting any earlier. unless they can do faster. haha..

hi Gals,

i have just collected my wedding photo's CD (selected photos, but un-edited). As i am not doing digital design, please feel free to take a look and advise, thanks.

Multiply ID : cua00

Thanks for sharing jolinr! The photos look great!

Updates on my part:
My AD is on 28th Feb as well. Just finished my PS two weeks ago. While the rest are all ??? Haha.

Hubz and I are currently busy with tying up final works for our renovations. Will be looking into the guest list soon.

Hi Kervin, sorry, for Johor Jaya, didn't really take note of the BS names. Only can remember 1 BS call, Xiao Chai. When I was at JJ, I only look at their range of EG as it's really hard to find a BS in JB with decent EG. Most of their EG at JJ in my opinion, cannot make it. Thus, decided to go Sentosa instead.

I think in Sentosa, there's a BS called SG bridal not bad but a bit expensive. Their gowns are lovely too. Then, there's a relatively new BS opposite Venus, called Fables. Photography also very good. Think same boss as Venus de wor. Then at Tun Aminah, I like a BS called Mondore. Their gowns are very nice too. Thumbs up on their makeup & editing skills.

not sure if i can make it tom either.. how abt wed or fri instead?

we r all such busy women.. so difficult to haf a gatherin also.. sigh..

iris,

ya. can say tat.. tats the reason y we took there as it will be ready eariler than expected. haha...

We dun intend to stay wif parents for 2 long lor. thus trying to get a flat to b ready ard our wedding date...

keke...

Was thinking, to tailor-made dress for my jiemeis, or jus tell them a color code, and ask them to search themselves?

Btw, it doesnt matter whether odd or even no. of jiemei/xiongdi rt?

ggoldfish,
glad can postpone to later date.

At last I am done with my PS last Friday. Will be selecting the photos on 25th this month.

Tricia > I have settled my jie mei already and told them i will have a color theme for them. At first i'm thinking of having same design as well but i know not all of my jie mei will suit the design i chose so i have decided to have only same color but not same design for my jie mei dress.

haha...

mayb nt. tink if the keys ready for collection ard my AD, all renovations will wait til after my AD then we will start.

dun wan to rush all the tings in the end, it turns out otherwise....

wan to give ample time to the ID to do up the flat....

Kawaii, the gowns are quite nice in the pictures but as any other purchases online, I'll still be worried about the quality of the gowns. Have you actually seen their work in real life? Like anybody you knew bought from them before?

April, I can understand your concerns. I also have doubts initially. But, I have purchase 2 gowns from them before & now intending to buy a 3rd one. So, I think you can rest assured on their quality. In additional, most of the photos which I had put up are the photos of the original gowns. I think for the price of S$150-$200 for a WG is really a steal. So, I intend to buy another one just for fun but as it's quite expensive to buy alone. Thus, I decided to see if anyone else is keen to share shipping. :P The last time I bought a short gown to attend my friend's wedding. The other one is a ballgown WG. I think it's really fun to owe your WG. Then can use 1 WG for day & the BS WG for night. :P

I'm more interested in getting bridesmaids dresses. I actually see no point in keeping my own gown as I will not be using it again anyway, just taking up space in my cupboard!! Haha! How much is the shipping for your last purchase?

I can see that most of you have done your PS liao. I also have done my PS last Thursday. Will be selecting the photos next Sat. I have posted some of the PS photo that my sister have took for me. I have so much fun. I was blessed with two PG as 1 of the PG are new in the BS. But he is not new in the industry. So I will have two diff style in 1 album. haha

Hi Tricia

I do not restrict my Jiemei of what they are wearing that day. I just told them to wear white will do. They can even wear jeans for comfort purposes as long as the t-shirt is white.

April - I share the same sentiments which is why I am not keeping my WG even though it's MTM. Will just keep my EG as I can always wear it again for future wedding dinners, etc.

Kawaii - "I think it's really fun to owe your WG". Did you mean to say that it's really fun to OWN your WG"?

ya, i agree...need time to reno and decorate new home...=) for me, i'll be taking the keys way before my AD, ard Dec this year. Was thinking of sub-letting it out for 6 months before reno but dunno if anyone will rent for such short period. Or else the flat may be empty for sometime..not very good i think

Rain and all...am interested in getting YK too...will ask for his quote...

Hi Jun... which Holiday Inn u with? You are one day after me

ya, i agree...need time to reno and decorate new home...=) for me, i'll be taking the keys way before my AD, ard Dec this year. Was thinking of sub-letting it out for 6 months before reno but dunno if anyone will rent for such short period. Or else the flat may be empty for sometime..not very good i think

??? I don't like the idea of renting the new house before staying in it...
To me, it's a place my husband and I gonna spent our lovely days in. I don't want people to "dirty" our lovenest.
Just my point of view...

hiya gals,

sry mia so long...on leave..so not in off..didnt check emails..in e midst of changing jobs leh..Let me koe if e gathering is still on...mi no is 91423426..Sms mi k..

Kath,
Since ur uncle does electrical, he shld b able to recommend u ala carte vendors to do e hacking, cupboards, floorings, etc ma...

Verena
if i were u, i wun rent the flat out. i will do the reno slowly. n buy furniture, once ok liao. will go up the flat mayb every wkend to stay overnite. so at least the flat wun b empty...

Iris,
Its up to individual tinking ba.. there are ppl who rent out the flat b4 her/his wedding as they got the flat very early. but as long u rent to those trustable de. then still ok.... tats y on off muz go "visiting" the tenants. haha... if u hv the plan to rent out....