(2009) Brides of year 2009

miss cupcakes - i guess one good thing about going with a BS that's related to ur HTB is that they'll pay extra attention to u and ur HTB. am sure that they'd wanna do a gd job too, and won't wanna sour things between u both. Perhaps the trickiest is in negotiating price, but guess a reasonable benchmark is what the pricing on the market. all the best!

curious btb - haha ok gotcha. I think Marriott will prob notify you once the slot on 4 Jul is freed up, but yea, shld start considering other options la. are u looking at any other hotel?

and not to worry, I also haven't gotten my BS yet :P

Twinfairy,

Jimmy is a nice n fun guy. i also under him de. haha.. n another co ordinator call shirlyn. yup. he at eunos. mayb u can go there to try the gowns. c whether u like or nt b4 u decide.

quite true. inside the package alot of tings can b taken out or exchange if u dun need it.
Btw, did he absorbed the GST?

But i muz say shirlyn n his service is gd. i went there afew times. so quite click wif them lor.

me ar. mayb 4 ba. still haven confirm. as 2 of my gd fren are married. so worried tat they are preggie at tat time, so nt confirm yet.

Jie mei is basically ur helpers for the day. they will b the ones playin the groom at gate crashing. n also help u through the day like carry ur tings, ur co ordinator, ur recep, n help u when u chg ur gowns, etc.

as for xiongdi, they are also helping out for the day. co ordinate, pick up bride, drivers(maybe), recep, ushers etc. depending on the job u allocate to them.

they might b ur emcees for the nite, or even PG/VG if u do nt wan to hv professional PG/VG.

haha...

hehhee....mashi, wat's ur budget?? we asked weddinginharmony to perform for us...i tik for the latest prices, u have to check with them directly cos i understand frm them they r revising their prices again....or else, u might want to check out their latest performance at Megu...heard it's in Aug but nt sure exactly when...

btw, Curious....one of my gfs also took her BS pkg with Precious Moments....her pics v pretty...shd check it out....u can always call them for appt n then ask them first...

Grace,

I also dun knw wat budget i hv, haha.. juz wan to check out the prices first. knw the rough amount needed. then tink whether wan or dun wan lor.

haha... very jia lat hor. like the idea but then dun knw wat budget to hv. lol..

Hi Cherie,

I'm big too, i got my rom dress from bridal foc. In fact, they provide me with handflower, makeup & hairdo. That's why my hubby wanna sign up with bridal b4 rom.

What's yr email, i've the list of things to bargain for BS. Pehaps i can email you.

You can also try city plaza level 4. Got up to sz 5.

I actually wrote to LittleDreams band. They reply me back by asking me a few questions. eg. budget, where. I think they are trying to customize to something what we need. Anyway I didnt reply them back coz my husband said he will ask his cousin to do the singing for us. He is actually one of the actors in sg. If you gals got budget problem but still would like to have some performance like, maybe I can help to ask for his price. I think those bands at least cost more than S$1k, which I dun think I want to.

Hi kel..
Wow! What coincidence!! Cool!!!
Hey if you're thinking of Chinos has to be at the restuarant cause they only have 1 ballroom.. I took it... think 22nd may still be available.. ballroom....
Must act fast cause heard that 21 nov quite a hot date!

Thanks for adding popprincesstrin

having my banquet at Grand Copthorne Waterfront... still waiting for my contract.. had confirmed the banquet with my co-ordinator last friday, till now still haven receive my contract... quite worried if anyone will accidentally release the ballroom anot...

just dun feel secure since deposit is not paid yet...

Janice, i tik also, for the pricing, it also depends on how many sets u r getting them to perform for?? some couples prefer 2 but some prefer 3....it all depends....i believe they count by no. of sets...

anyhow, mashi...there's quite a few....weddinginharmony, littledreams, yourstruly...

mashi,i mean digital camera. i will be meeting jimmy on 23 on e pkg. heard my fren say he nt bad wor. not pushy kind.

Anybody got co to intro me @ golden horse award? i'm gg down tis sat to see their pkg. thanks ar.

My detail:
AD date: 10.10.09
AD venue: Bliss @ spore expo
AD PG: Foto-u
AD VG: TBA
BS: TBA
Lovenest: Bungkok

hi gals.. sorry out of action.. busy with work...

grace & mashi.. thanks for ur advice.. guess hv to really depend on myself for the feel..

Gals.. can share w me your experience of choosing gowns ie. do you get rushed to choose or hv to fight for space bcos the BSes schedule very tight and the person aft you is already at the shop? Share Share please

I am also thinking of buying anti-cellutite cream.... anyone got brand to recommend?

ixoral - thanks! =) fingers crossed that I can find a venue that i like with this date.
btw would u be able to share with me ur package that you signed w NCQ? they offered u the benefits of the bridal show?

jaslyn - haha, i tink great minds tink alike, i hv actually spoken to cornelius fr OPH, but not managed to see chinois after renov..mebe goin down couple of weeks later. Did u manage to see the bridal suite already?

See u peeps were talking abt how u all met ur htb.

Me and bf met in IRC (tat time was rather popular with this chatroom) when we were 17. Counting, now we knew each other for abt 10years. Consider is really fate ba, back then i always don wanna give him a chance. When we wanted to try, there will be another guy who attracts me more ending up dumping my this bf. LOL~~!! Its been like tis on and off till 2006 but whenever we met up, we are like normal couples holding hands walking together.

Only in Sept 2006, then we happen to met up and talk abt tis BGR tinggie. Then i tink we both get matured as times goes by, and we decided to try one last time. If it doesnt work out, we shall nvr meet each other again. Indeed, we tried our best and not to let go of each other anymore. So now we are getting married! ^_^

Recalling, it was so drama and poor me, kena trapped already. Haha~~

Kel> ya i would be entitled to the benefits of the upcoming wedding show on sat. they're pretty strict abt giving more perks as the standard perks given by NCQ is actually quite comprehensive as compared to others. eg. free 1 btl of wine per table, free barrel of beer. HTHs
u may also refer to the NCQ thread in sgbrides for more info posted by the rest!

Grace,

hmm. mayb i can look ard on the ideas. so far did mentioned tat will like to have the band. but haven go into tat idea. mayb can explore the few tat u mentioned. keke

hi cymk,

i haven choose my gowns yet. but based on wat i saw on my sis when she select gowns,her BS have enough changing rm to cater for the btbs there, no need to fight for space. mayb the schedule ba, norm wkends will hv more couples there to choose the gowns. but then norm ur co ordinator would assign the whole afternoon for u to choose ur gowns lor. thus, shld nt b rush.

my sis went there on wkdays, so lesser ppl. the co ordinator did mentioned that go on wkdays better. less ppl n u hv all the time u need.
but if u unable to choose the one u like, u can always arrange n go bk on another day to view the gowns again, no need to choose the gowns at the first fitting.

mashi - no leh, he din mentioned about absorbing the GST.

But yesterday, one fren told me her sis used White Link and it was not a good experience.

mrswang - which branch of Golden Horse are you going? They have a new branch at Marina Square. I like the clean cut design of Golden Horse and their albums are the best so far for what I have seen.

I am still wondering which will be better, to go for ala carte or package. Becos the bridal shops sell their photos to us at a range of $68 - $85 each. So, if I add another 10 photos, easily cross over the 4k mark.

Then if i do ala carte, might have to spend 5k upfront, but i just get all the photos back.

Aiya... dunno how

21 Nov is such a hot date leh.

I am still waiting for both sides parents to give their approval, then I will be 21 Nov bride too.

And one of the hotels we are considering also has been booked. haha... as shown in the table

mrswang,
when is ur ROM? so that i can also input tat data in as well..

Twinfairy,
I believe its up to individual feeling when comes to deal wif the BS. All of us met up wif diff ppl wif diff attitude. thus sure got positive n negative remarks de lor.
I also hear nt so gd comments b4. but i quite happy wif their service so far lor.
U can ask Jimmy to absorbed the GST. normally they can de lar. haha..

so all in all it depends on ur guts feeling abt them. tats i can say lor.

hmm quite true on the topping. but still depends on wat u prefer... i dun like ala carte is tat i dun wan to b headache over alot of minor tings for the wedding. haha

Germaine: My AD is 6 Dec 09 too! AND i also signed up with French Bridal. haha that answers Cherie's question too! heh so qiao we're same AD and same BS! :D

mrswang,

I can intro you my coordinator Sherry from GHA. She is located at Yishun branch but you can choose to meet her at Marina Square branch too. She is easy to talk to and not pushy at all. Just tell her Hui Xiang intro you. She knows me.

My details:
AD & ROM date: 02.10.09
AD venue: Holiday Inn Atrium
AD PG: TBA
BS: GHA
WB: TBA

Updated.

Pls let me knw if got any data is wrongly input.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>ROM Date</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>AD Venue</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Wedding Band</TD><TD>Love Nest </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xiang</TD><TD>02/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>02/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christy</TD><TD>28/09/08</TD><TD>Marriott Hotel</TD><TD>04/10/09</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Melvin Ho Photography</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>Love &amp; Co</TD><TD>Nil </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrswang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>10/10/09</TD><TD>Bliss @ S'pore Expo</TD><TD>Foto-u</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Buangkok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Verena</TD><TD>10/10/09</TD><TD>Wesley Methodist Church</TD><TD>11/10/09</TD><TD>Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Big Day Pictures (Yow Siang)</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Toa Payoh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashi Mashi</TD><TD>05/06/09</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>16/10/09</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>Dreamcatcher</TD><TD>Wowmedia</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dover </TD></TR><TR><TD>||</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>The Aisle Bridal</TD><TD>Cartier</TD><TD>Nil </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bubbly19</TD><TD>08/09/08</TD><TD>Peony-Jade Restaurant</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Carlton Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Love &amp; Co</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aggiegal</TD><TD>03/01/08</TD><TD>Goodwood Park Hotel</TD><TD>30/10/09</TD><TD>Intercontinental Hotel</TD><TD>EdmundLeong Photography</TD><TD>RedHat Media</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>Fairy's Inc</TD><TD>LA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peareys</TD><TD>11/10/08</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>31/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>SG Bridal</TD><TD>eClarity</TD><TD>Commonwealth </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>
Xiang,
ur ROM venue is same as AD venue??

I'm a 2009 bride too! AD is on 10 Oct 2009. I've been posting in other thread, so excited to see more BTBs 2009 gathered here as well.

I'm leaning towards signing up with My Bridal Room for my BS, I like the gowns there but haven't brought my HTB there yet so will need to get his opinion as well.

Booked my AD venue at Hotel Rendezvous already, currently still looking for bands / emcees for reception. Anyone have any suggestions / recommendations?

hello gals,

not to dampen your moods on hiring a live band, but to share with you my observation.

my cousin had his wedding this year and he got a live band. The band was good but the audience was too busy eating to appreciate the music. And the worst is that there could be people not realising is a live band performance. One good example is my brother sitting next to the stage. He thought it was a CD playing.

I mean, if you have the extra dollars to splurge, then go ahead, if not, save your $$ for other things bah.

hi cherie,i've got one contact so far but the other one my friend got to check first =) Coz it's her mom so she wanna check if her mom can cope =)

Kim: 96478146

haha wow~ is 21nov09 a very gd date in the tongshu? anyone checked the latest tongshu yet? My FMIL gave me 4 dates to choose, and hb and i just randomly set on this one..cos the day(21) coincide w my rom one so easier to rem :p

Thanks for that pointer, twinfairy.

As of now, I haven't fully decided whether to hire a live band or just an emcee. You definitely make a good point though, will scout around and see what the options are.

Hi Mashi!! waves~~~ long time nv come in liao...heres my details:

ROM Venue: Peony Jade Restaurant
ROM Date: 21st May 2007
AD Venue: Novotel Hotel
AD Date: 25th Oct 2009
BS: Julia Wedding News
AD PG: Daniel Beh
AD VG: Big Day Studio
WB: Fairy's Inc
Love Nest: Yishun

haha...so many 21 nov BTBs here, guess this date is Reaaaal hot
i actually wanted 15 nov but was told it was a super "zhong yang" day, not good for wedding.
but then got to be faster for hotels liao since decide this date ~~ =p

thanks ixoral, i will still be goin to the NCQ wedding show this weekend to see the plc
hope i can cfm my hotel soon, else i may need to switch to another date, hope not though~ *fingers crossed*

HI Sorry lately have being very busy so didn;t really got to post.

Hi Love or Money,

I got my wedding band from gold heart.

Hi Lesley lee,

So you taking Conrad Centennial, i did call and ask but they said is taken up ....

Dianna! ^5! me also know HB udring IRC times.... also know each other abt 12 yrs le.. together 4 like 9yrs liao!!!!!!!!!!! WOW so qiao ah!!! hehe

Hello... *wave wave* wah, many and many more gals coming in. That's good!

TwinFairys> I like GHA becos they don't hard sell. They are really confident in their work, thus maybe that's why they don't hard sell. Yishun branch has the widest range of gowns, followed by Tampines. If you are choosing Yishun, besides Xiang, my coordinator is Aileen (you tell her Agnes intro). But Marina branch is the newest, &amp; this guy called Cole designs many new and daring designs (if that's ur taste, you can try him). But be careful that you may not get a lot of freebies thrown in cos he is very proud of his works and don't believe in alot of freebies thrown in, making as though his work is cheap). For their PG, highly recommend Steven (based in Yishun). He makes you very comfy and took the pics the way we wanted it =D Kudos to him.

So up to you de. I'm not pantang just like Mashi, OTRs are equally good, and even better, cos what you see is what you get. Normally most BSs' gowns don't include alot of embroid and lace cos it takes alot of effort, and if done not right, it may look old or very Peranakan. That's why some BSs (who are well known for embroid or lace), they often command higher prices for their gowns/ packages.

As for pics, aim for hot press (a good thing about GHA is that all different kinds of albums are the same price in the package, not like some BSs will charge higher for hot press). Try to get hot press so quality last longer, ppl when they flip your album during reception, will not have ragged page corners in the end. Otherwise you will xin tong de. Like wise, frequent flipping will cause the midline to crack and you'll become sian de.

Wah, very happy to see some who chose the same BS or jewellery shop as me =D

wow yup..irc back then was a bigg thing.

I am just back from my BS. Took a day off to select my AD gowns. In the end I settled for a short train full white gown, 1 maroon brown lace and organza evening gown and a lite green modern lace cheong sum for my tea ceremony as well as my hotel cocktail.

now soo tired...yawns...but glad it all done.

I even selected the flower bouquet and type of car decoration from my BS. My dad's jacket also taken the measurements already. Phew only left my in law side and my hubby suits.

Omg, all these scouring through forums and reading about the different BS has taken its toll... >.<

May I know if any of you actually went to different BS just to try their gowns? If so, how do you do it? I'm afraid once I step in, I'd be pressured to sign a package. The other time me &amp; FH went to the Vivo Bridal Fair &amp; got scared off by the hard sell. So scary leh...

Any advice on the above is welcome!!!

Hi Mashi,

Here's some of my info:
ROM date: 03.10.2009
ROM venue: Changi Village Hotel
AD date: 03.10.2009
AD venue: Changi Village Hotel
AD PG: TBA
BS: TBA
WB: TBA
Lovenest: Sengkang

Thanks!!!

Hi Queen. SO long neber c u.
muz b busy wif work ba. keke....

Jenny Dew,
Welcome here...

hmm alot BS hardsell de lor. U can go to few BS to try their gowns first, confirm more or less got pressure. but u can tell them that u hv to consider lor.

for me, i did not go to any BS to try their gowns. but its always gd to make appt wif ur shortlisted BS and go view n try their gowns. also c whether u like their service or nt..

Hi Queen,
I absolutely love Julia Wedding New's gowns! Haven't been in yet though... do you mind sharing yr experience with them? Thanks!

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>ROM Date</TD><TD>ROM Venue</TD><TD>AD Date</TD><TD>AD Venue</TD><TD>AD PG</TD><TD>AD VG</TD><TD>BS</TD><TD>Wedding Band</TD><TD>Love Nest </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xiang</TD><TD>02/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>02/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jenny Dew</TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>Changi Village Hotel</TD><TD>03/10/09</TD><TD>Changi Village Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Sengkang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christy</TD><TD>28/09/08</TD><TD>Marriott Hotel</TD><TD>04/10/09</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Melvin Ho Photography</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>My Bridal Room</TD><TD>Love &amp; Co</TD><TD>Nil </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrswang</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>10/10/09</TD><TD>Bliss @ S'pore Expo</TD><TD>Foto-u</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Buangkok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Verena</TD><TD>10/10/09</TD><TD>Wesley Methodist Church</TD><TD>11/10/09</TD><TD>Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Big Day Pictures (Yow Siang)</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Toa Payoh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashi Mashi</TD><TD>05/06/09</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>16/10/09</TD><TD>Furama Riverfront</TD><TD>Dreamcatcher</TD><TD>Wowmedia</TD><TD>Whitelink</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Dover </TD></TR><TR><TD>||</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Orchard Hotel</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>Nil</TD><TD>The Aisle Bridal</TD><TD>Cartier</TD><TD>Nil </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bubbly19</TD><TD>08/09/08</TD><TD>Peony-Jade Restaurant</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Carlton Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>Love &amp; Co</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Queen</TD><TD>21/05/07</TD><TD>Peony-Jade Restaurant</TD><TD>25/10/09</TD><TD>Novotel Hotel</TD><TD>Julia Wedding News</TD><TD>Daniel Beh</TD><TD>Big Day Studio</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aggiegal</TD><TD>03/01/08</TD><TD>Goodwood Park Hotel</TD><TD>30/10/09</TD><TD>Intercontinental Hotel</TD><TD>EdmundLeong Photography</TD><TD>RedHat Media</TD><TD>Golden Horse Awards</TD><TD>Fairy's Inc</TD><TD>LA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peareys</TD><TD>11/10/08</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>31/10/09</TD><TD>Holiday Inn Atrium Hotel</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>TBA</TD><TD>SG Bridal</TD><TD>eClarity</TD><TD>Commonwealth </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>